Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Eglinton Casino Annual Team Event

• 10-02-2009 10:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭

It's Back !!!!

The Eglinton Casino are running a team event on Friday 13th March 2009.
    There's €25,000 guaranteed for this event.
    Entry fee is €225+€25 per player with 6 players per team. It is a NLHE freezeout and will run as a two-day event. Starting stack is 8,000 per person and blind levels are 30 minutes.
    Last years structure meant that the top team wasn't decided until the last three players were remaining. It gives every team a chance and creates a great atmosphere.
    There will be individual prizes given out for top finishing players also.

Registration is open now. Any person entering a team must pay a €250 non-refundable deposit in order to secure their place. This event was sold out two weeks prior to the event last year. It is strictly first-come-first-served basis.

All teams must be paid for in full by no later than 11pm Friday 6th March 2009. If a team is not paid in full by then they will forfeit their place and the next alternate team will take their place.
    A full list of rules will be available on the night for all players regarding what is allowed and what isn't. Rules will be slightly different than normal tournaments.
    A TD will be there on the night to ensure fair play and all disputes will be handled by him/her. TD's decision is final in all matters.

Anybody wishing to enter a team can contact The Eglinton Casino on (091) 569222 or email info@theeglinton.com

Payout Structure:

Teams

1st €10000
    2nd €5400
    3rd €2700

Individual
    1st €3800
    2nd €2400
    3rd €1200
    4th €750
    5th €500
    6th €250

100% payout

Points Structure:

Each team starts with 200 points. Players lose/add points depending on the position they go out in.

Position Points Lost

120-116 30
    115-111 29
    110-106 28
    105-101 27
    100-96 26
    95-91 25
    90-86 24
    85-81 23
    80-76 22
    75-71 21
    70-66 20
    65-61 19
    60-56 18
    55-51 17
    50-46 16
    45-41 15
    40-36 14
    35-31 13
    30-26 12
    25-23 11
    22-21 10
    20 9
    19 8
    18 7
    17 6
    16 5
    15 4
    14 3
    13 2
    12 1
    11 0

Position Points Added
    10th 1
    9th 2
    8th 3
    7th 4
    6th 5
    5th 7
    4th 10
    3rd 15
    2nd 21
    1st 30

Blind Structure:

Blinds Ante Duration

25-50 0 30 mins
    50-100 0 30 mins
    75-150 0 30 mins
    100-200 0 30 mins
    break 20 mins
    150-300 25 30 mins
    200-400 25 30 mins
    300-600 50 30 mins
    400-800 50 30 mins
    break 10 mins
    500-1000 100 30 mins
    800-1500 100 30 mins
    1000-2000 200 30 mins
    1500-3000 200 30 mins
    2000-4000 300 30 mins
    break 15 mins
    3000-6000 500 30 mins
    4000-8000 500 30 mins
    5000-10000 1000 30 mins
    8000-15000 1000 30 mins
    break 15 mins
    10000-20000 2000 30 mins
    15000-30000 3000 30 mins
    20000-40000 5000 30 mins

For any more info on this event or any other event contact The Eglinton Casino, Galway on (091) 569222 or log on to www.theeglinton.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Theeglinton

We've got a few teams registered for this event already.
    We have:
    4 teams from Galway
    2 teams from Kerry
    1 team from Dublin
    1 team from England.

Anyone interested in entering a team can contact us on (091)569222.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

We've got a few teams registered for this event already.
    We have:
    4 teams from Galway
    2 teams from Kerry
    1 team from Dublin
    1 team from England.

Anyone interested in entering a team can contact us on (091)569222.

Tactical error here Dave. Who is going to want to enter just to come third?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Skint Reesy

I think I'm gonna have to enter a team in this Dave. Can you save me a spot?

Also I'd love to play a team event at some stage with a buyin of €500 or €1000 later in the year or something...would there be much interest anyone??

No probs Reesy! I wonder how confident Matt will be now ???

Lads I will post details for a hotel in the next day or two I'm talking to 2 of them very close to the club

So to recap
    2 Dublin teams
    2 Kerry teams
    4 Galway teams
    1 English team
    1 Cork ( provisional )

I can be contacted on 0878120869 ( best thing is to text me )

Dave C

Reesy just on the suggestion about the bigger buy team event we are currently working on an inter county event we had one a 2/3 years ago (won by Roscommon if I'm not mistaken ) this was hugely successful and defo one for near future .... watch this space !

Dave

Hotel Accomodation and Breakfast €55 pps ,Forster Court Hotel , just off Eyers Square , 2 mins walk from Club .... stay the first two nights and you get the third night free !!!!

Folks we are delighted to announce a very special deal for Team event players !
    The Forster Court Hotel ( under new management ) have given us a very special rate for the weekend of the 13th and 14th of march.
    There are two options
    1. €75 pps including breakfast , and evening meal ( 5*menu options such as 16oz steak , Baked fillet of salmon , crispy half duckling ) including starter and dessert
    2. €55 pps bed and breakfast

If you book for the 13th and the 14th you get the 15th absolutely free !!!!
    This is purley an introductory offer on the hotels behalf and represents exceptional value for money for a 4 star hotel in the heart of Galway city ( especially seeing as its the run up to Paddy's day )

When booking just quote "The eglinton Annual PokerTeam event"

http://www.forstercourthotel.com/
    Tel :091564111

Regards

Dave C

www.theeglinton.com
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=524886767#/group.php?gid=55908566770&ref=mf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Macau Cork

Hi Dave,

Can put the Macau down for one, more then likely we get 2 i get some names together.

Will do Ken !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

dave

myself and kp are entering a team in this, so keep us a spot.
    (not sure if hes already been on to u)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Reesy just on the suggestion about the bigger buy team event we are currently working on an inter county event we had one a 2/3 years ago (won by Roscommon if I'm not mistaken ) this was hugely successful and defo one for near future .... watch this space !

Dave

Leitrim won it actually. Roscommon came 5th. Was a very good structured tourney.

dave

myself and kp are entering a team in this, so keep us a spot.
    (not sure if hes already been on to u)

I'll hold a spot for you provisionally.

For anyone that's entering a team please remember we need a deposit to secure your place. It's a first come basis and only teams that pay a deposit will have a spot secured.

If you want to secure your place you can phone (091) 569222 and ask for Caroline or Dave.

Thanks,

Caroline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Davewolf

Spot held for you Rob !
    pm sent !

Dave C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

Dave we've finalised our team:

Flipper
    Eoghan O' Dea
    John O' Shea
    Rory Rees Brennan
    Noel Hayes
    Adam Fallon

We're also issuing an open challenge to any team that would like to take us on in a last longest. Minimum bet €1k per team. PM for if you're interested.

Flipper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

we are also looking for an apt that sleeps 6 - recommendations welcome

Hi all

The numbers are building up for the event with lots of people registering teams ( 19 confirmed 28 provisional ) , however we will need to operate this on a come first serve basis!
    To secure your teams place we will need a deposit of €250 !
    In order to make it as easy as possible we will take transfers from your poker a/c's ( as in we will accept transfers of monies from your various online accounts )
    To secure your teams place via this method please pm me.
    We will also take lazer/visa deposits over the phone !

Regards

Dave c
    info@theeglinton.com
    www.theeglinton.com

Join our facebook page
    http://www.new.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#/group.php?gid=55908566770

Leitrim won it actually. Roscommon came 5th. Was a very good structured tourney.

apologies Carlo you are spot on ! I've just been reading your blog fair play to you bud and I hope it all goes well for you.

Dave C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Flipper wrote: »

Flipper
    Eoghan O' Dea
    John O' Shea
    Rory Rees Brennan
    Noel Hayes
    Adam Fallon

We're also issuing an open challenge to any team that would like to take us on in a last longest. Minimum bet €1k per team. PM for if you're interested.

Flipper

Hi Flipper,

Just curious as to what odds are you offering? Surely it couldn't be even money for any team up against what is clearly the creme de la creme of Irish and European poker! I mean, two IPC champions, two ECOOP champions, a serial online tournament pwner and The Kid ... you'd have to be offering at least 13/8 to get any action, I would have thought?

Regards,
    KP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

kpnuts wrote: »
    and The Kid ...

tyty

ive sent over the deposit for our team.

PM sent.

Guys, I'm not sure if this was mentioned already. Apologies if it wasn't.

Every team needs to wear shirts with their team name displayed clearly on it. This helps us distinguish players when we are breaking tables and will move things along quicker.
    It also adds to the event as players can spot the teams easily and can 'hone in' on their target!

It doesn't matter if it's a t-shirt, shirt, hoodie etc just once we can identify your team easily.

Thanks,

Caroline

PM sent.

Guys, I'm not sure if this was mentioned already. Apologies if it wasn't.

Every team needs to wear shirts with their team name displayed clearly on it. This helps us distinguish players when we are breaking tables and will move things along quicker.
    It also adds to the event as players can spot the teams easily and can 'hone in' on their target!

It doesn't matter if it's a t-shirt, shirt, hoodie etc just once we can identify your team easily.

Thanks,

Caroline

can we just run into dunnes or pennys and get ridiculous hats?

Im sure KP's team will wearing panamas.

can we just run into dunnes or pennys and get ridiculous hats?

Im sure KP's team will wearing panamas.

Work away.

Although I hear ridiculous hats are all the rage now so you might want to go to a more exclusive shop than Penny's or Dunnes...

Once we can distinguish your team easily and quickly I don't mind what your team clothing is.

Caroline

Crunch time guys.

We have deposits for 14 teams now and there's about 15 more teams that have said they're definitely playing.
    If you haven't paid a deposit yet we can't guarantee a spot for you.

You have a few different ways to pay. You can call into the club or phone and pay by laser/credit card. Or if you prefer to do an online transfer you can transfer with Pokerstars and Boylepoker.
    PM for full details or phone (091) 569222.

Other than that its shaping up to be a cracking tournament.
    But I have to say I'm fairly confident that MY team will take it down :D
    (despite what flipper thinks)

Davey C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

Flipper wrote: »

Flipper
    Eoghan O' Dea
    John O' Shea
    Rory Rees Brennan
    Noel Hayes
    Adam Fallon

Flipper

Kieran,

After a long team meeting we have decided to take ye up on the challange and are happy to accept a bet of €1500 at evens !!!!!!!!!!!! (we should be getting about 5 to 1 i would think)

Our Team

Fintan Gavin
    Pat O Callaghan
    Donal MacIrishname (couldnt attempt to spell it)
    Siobhan Blaney
    Christy Morkam
    Some dutch lad who has just moved to Galway

God I hope I have a good cheltenham this is like burning money

P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

actually I see ye have Noel on yere team maybe we should only be getting 3 to 1 :cool:

Hi Flipper,

Just curious as to what odds are you offering? Surely it couldn't be even money for any team up against what is clearly the creme de la creme of Irish and European poker! I mean, two IPC champions, two ECOOP champions, a serial online tournament pwner and The Kid ... you'd have to be offering at least 13/8 to get any action, I would have thought?

Regards,
    KP

im still trying to figure out which one I am?
    - Ive never won an IPC
    - Ive not won an ECOOP
    - Im not really a kid
    - I dont pwn online donkaments

jaysus, maybe the lads have dropped me from the team :confused:
    carrigeen wrote: »
    actually I see ye have Noel on yere team maybe we should only be getting 3 to 1 :cool:

obv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

Just after seeing these offers now.
    Hi Flipper,

Regards,
    KP
    LOL. Are you crazy?! Your team is pretty solid but will stick our neck out and take some action at evens. €1,500 a side?
    Kieran,

After a long team meeting we have decided to take ye up on the challange and are happy to accept a bet of €1500 at evens !!!!!!!!!!!! (we should be getting about 5 to 1 i would think)
    Cheers Pat happy to take your money action :-) see you up there.

Flipper

Two Cork donks betting on a team sport ......... ironic or what !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭VI_BEAR

I think I'm gonna have to enter a team in this Dave. Can you save me a spot?

Also I'd love to play a team event at some stage with a buyin of €500 or €1000 later in the year or something...would there be much interest anyone??

i reali think you shudb tell everyone why your playin in this........

sly way of getting your pic on the wall....!!!:D:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭toHex

Our Team

Fintan Gavin
    Pat O Callaghan
    Donal MacIrishname (couldnt attempt to spell it)
    Siobhan Blaney
    Christy Morkam
    Some dutch lad who has just moved to Galway

God I hope I have a good cheltenham this is like burning money

P

This team could only be called The Good, The Bad and The Ugly. With Christy on it you would be safer to just give the money (or the burnt ashes) to flipper in the pub before ye start :D

our team is:

Ken Powell
    Dara O Kearney
    Rob Taylor
    Cat O Neill
    Rory Brown
    Paul Coyle

Cheers robbie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭TheDuck32

A couple of other teams confirmed for the event are

The Defending Champions The Tuam Shams
    Dave Cleary
    Bernard Brady
    Seamus Morrisey
    Paul Loofer
    Vinnie Cosgrove
    David Cosgrove

The Gold Club
    Jimmy Kiernan
    JP White
    Cathal Sweeney
    Frank Deery
    Paul Temple
    Emmet O Kane

what time does play start on each day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

I was thrilled to bits when invited to be on a super team, headed up by Big Mick G
    Jay Renihan
    and a couple of other surprise players,
    actually apart from me being the weakest link, this could do well

i am honoured to be invited onto a team of such quality

see you there

Derek

wow, thats some team with rob t - dara K - Kat - Paul C etc
    jaysus if they dont do well, there's hope for us plebs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭TheDuck32

Confirmed teams so far

Any Two Cards -- Viv Browne, Brian Maloney, Martin Silke, Lorcan Browne, Sean Burke, Billy Conway
    The G Stars -- Mick G, Derek Williams, Gerry Flanagan, Thomas G, Mark Holland, Brian Rickard
    Mongs -- Shane Keary, Frank Dunleavy, Colin Finneran, Mary Keary, Pat McFadden, Colin McHugh
    Tuam Shams -- Dave Cleary, Bernard Brady, Seamus Morrisey, Paul Loofer, Vinnie Cosgrove, David Cosgrove
    The Cowboys -- John Weafer, Bomber Nolan, Mattie Doyle, Kieran Given , Ken, David Reilly
    Galway Team -- Fintan Gavin, Pat O'Callaghan, Siobhan Blaney, Christy Morkan, Lajos Van Der Velde, Donal MacAonughsa
    Gold Club -- Jimmy Kiernan, JP White, Cathal Sweeney, Frank Deery, Paul Temple, Emmet O'Kane
    Clear Favourites -- Rory Reese Brennan, Adam Fallon, Noel Hayes, Kieran Walsh, John O'Shea, Eoghan O'Dea
    An Nead -- Cathair Conneely, John Commerford, Christy Nyland, Declan Toole, Padraig Scallon, Gerry Cox
    Hanlys -- Brendan McHugh, Richard French, Enda McGearty, Mick O Hara, Joe McHugh, Kevin McHugh
    The Underdogs -- Tom Christle, George Stoddart, Daniel Rankin, Sean Hegarty, Ian Pomphrett, Mark Spellman
    Cunniffes -- Coilin Conroy, Tom Corcoran, Martin Burke, Aidan Joyce, Padraig Joyce, Pablo
    Limerick Team -- Bobby O Donoghue, Rory Hogan, Paul Carr, Fiachra Meere, Kieran Kennedy, Paudie Humphries
    Five men & a Muppet -- Paul Lecky, Neil McCrambridge, Seamus Birt, Brendan Walls, Bernard Mcconbery, Paul Craig
    Tailors on Tilt -- Rob Taylor, Ken Powell, Dara O'Kearney, Cat O'Neill, Paul Coyle, Rory Brown
    Eglinton Casino -- Dave Curtis, Jaye Renehan, Joe O'Toole, Keith McFadden, Chris Dowling, Tony Rafter

Details of the Macau/Cork team, Ivan Donaghy's team and the Adelaide Casino are to follow

Right Lads there is one spot left for a team it will be filled on a first come first serve basis , whoever wants it will need to contact me and give a deposit.
    There are various ways this can be done ( credit card , poker account transfer )
    I have 4 names but no deposit ..........

Dave C

www.theeglinton.com

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=55908566770

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

I was thrilled to bits when invited to be on a super team, headed up by Big Mick G
    Jay Renihan
    and a couple of other surprise players,
    actually apart from me being the weakest link, this could do well

i am honoured to be invited onto a team of such quality

see you there

Derek

wow, thats some team with rob t - dara K - Kat - Paul C etc
    jaysus if they dont do well, there's hope for us plebs

thanks derek for the mention! lol. ill try not let the team down!

good luck to your team

Im Just off the phone to ken and he's put together the following team

Captain Ken Corkery
    Alan kelleher
    John Kelleher
    Martin Noonan
    Jason Lee
    John Cunningham

thechamp87 wrote: »
    what time does play start on each day?

?????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭thenutpeddler

?????????????

Quarter past

?????????????

Sorry Adam
    I missed your post , We need everyone in the club @ 7pm , for registration and photos etc. we plan to start as soon as everyone is signed up and seated

Regards
    Dave C

Quarter past
    Sorry Adam
    I missed your post , We need everyone in the club @ 7pm , for registration and photos etc. we plan to start as soon as everyone is signed up and seated

Regards
    Dave C

thank you both.

Sorry lads but my mobile phone is knackered ( should have it sorted by friday )

club number 091569222
    Manus 0871208387
    pm me
    or email info@theeglinton.com

The " Clear Favourites " are changing their name to " Team Bundy "
    Flipper asked me not to ask .......... someone else perhaps might :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I'm playing now as a late sub for Team Gold Club. Someone had to step in to carry their sorry asses. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

Team BUndy!!

this comes from the guys hoping they run as well as Ted Bundy!

He went over 100 murders before being caught! now thats running well!!

After a lenghty discussion with Bobby the Limerick team have changed their name to " the switchblades"
    I talked him out of various names such as " the backstabbers" ," the limerick slashers" , the " lets give it a stab gang " to name but a few...... :confused:

All I'll say these lads are on a knifes edge ( sorry , sorry , sorry ) :D

On a serious note lads , there are quite a few indivduals / alternates looking to play if anyone fancies a weekend of good craic and poker in the city of tribes just give us a call we will be sure to do our best to accomodate you or even put an additional team together !

Call myself on 0878120869 , Manus on 0871208387 or the club 091 569222

cheers
    Davey C

www.theeglinton.com

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=55908566770