Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Investigation into shooting of deer Donegal

• 09-02-2009 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭

Investigation into shooting of deer
    ANIMAL welfare groups have reacted in horror to the shooting dead of four deer close to a national park. Trigger-happy young hunters are being blamed for the killing of the stag, hind and two calves in a field in Glendowan near Glenveagh National Park Co Donegal
    The gruesome discovery is now the subject of an investigation by the National Parks and Wildlife Service and gardai.

Got this from the Irish Independent 07th Feb

How do assholes like this get a gun license !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

people like that should never be called hunters.....:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Are the rangers not shooting deer in glenveagh national park and leaving them on the hill .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

How do assholes like this get a gun license !!

I dont know :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Maybe the paper is trying to stir things up...

It wasnt in the National park.

Of course it could be 'Trigger happy young hunters' like the young drivers..etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Elfish

Theres too many deer ... whats the problem?
    I was brought lamping deer in donegal and we shot and butchered a calf... it was as nice as beef. Mmmm yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Elfish wrote: »
    Theres too many deer ... whats the problem?
    I was brought lamping deer in donegal and we shot and butchered a calf... it was as nice as beef. Mmmm yum

Unless you were lamping deer with a section 42 granted by NPWS specifically for the purpose, you were acting illegally and giving a bad name to everyone who hunts and shoots and deserve to lose any licences you have and face the penalties for your offences.

I don't know what sort of licence the people I went with had, I know they have gun licences and we were on family ground...whats a section 42 licence?

It's not particularly likely that they had one. Donegal has a big problem with poaching and people lamping deer from what I can see.

A section 42 granted for the purpose of lamping deer allows the bearer to do just that. They're not easy to get and only gotten in cases where deer are doing damage to the extent that their population can't be adequately controlled during the hours of daylight. It exempts the bearer from the illegality of lamping a protected species.

Yeah might be on shaky ground ... I woulnd't really like to ask family members if they have the right licence... what I do know is that the deer were damaging young forestry so maybe they did have a Section 42. They are easier to shoot / spot at night tho.

Doesn't make it legal without the right paperwork. There's a massive problem with arseholes in this country abusing the privileges they're given, and it reflects badly on the rest of us.

The Irish have a ridiculous tendency to assume the laws don't apply to them, whether it be speed limits, ammunition limits on their licences, drink driving or poaching. There's an enormous culture of *winknudge* "harmless mischief" "shur it'll be fine, won't it?" "doesn't hurt anyone" among us, and when it's related to firearms, which are under threat of further proscription at the moment, that's incredibly unhelpful, and understandably, nobody likes the poachers as a result.

Maybe.
    It was hardly poaching though when it was off our own land...

Maybe.

It was illegally shooting deer. It's poaching to my mind anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Maybe.

Do you reckon ? :rolleyes:

If/when the wildlife ranger/Gardai catch ye I recommend ye don't adopt the attitude you have displayed here as claiming ignorance of the law is not a defence in law ?

The technical term for what ye were more than likely doing is poaching. A conviction for same will lead to all your/their firearm/s licence/s being revoked and the firearm/s being confiscated.

Owning the land does not mean you can break the law while on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

It's not particularly likely that they had one. Donegal has a big problem with poaching and people lamping deer from what I can see.

A section 42 granted for the purpose of lamping deer allows the bearer to do just that. They're not easy to get and only gotten in cases where deer are doing damage to the extent that their population can't be adequately controlled during the hours of daylight. It exempts the bearer from the illegality of lamping a protected species.

Why would you assume they didn't have one????
    Every time i've know a farmer to apply for one they've got one(always to protect broad leaf forestry)
    Bryan

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

Folks, if you want a discussion on politics, morality, legality or other issues in ways that aren't specific to Hunting then the Politics, Philosophy, Legal Discussion or Humanities forums will be glad to accommodate you.

From here on, I'll delete or edit posts as appropriate to steer this back on topic. Take the piss and I'll start handing out infractions.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

OK. I've deleted a bunch of posts where they were a) either off-topic or veering that way and/or b) people taking things personally or making them so.

Anyone going down that line from here on in the thread gets an infraction. That aspect of the thread is over as far as this forum goes. If you want a thread about it, start one in the Thunderdome or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 reddeer1

I have been a regular visitor to this forum and have read some interesting threads regarding deer stalking etc. I was very impressed by the comment by It wasn't me, who very clearly stated a true fact. Poaching is very popular in Donegal. Poachers have little regard for their quary and for the general public. The news about the deer shot near glenveagh does not surprise me. I have personally observed people shooting within the vicinity of the park over the years. These people should be brought before the courts and fined a lot of money. There is a complete disregard for the law here. In Europe poachers are tracked down in the field using police helicopters and sent to prison for a number of years. Its seems to me that various people seem to justify poaching due to the high numbers of deer, which is rediculous to say the least. I believe it is imperative that the HCAP or something similiar is made a prerequisite to obtaining a rifle licence. We should follow Europes lead on this. If such a policy is rolled out, interested people will learn about how deer management is carried out in a safe and humane manner.
    Just my thoughts on the given topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

reddeer1 wrote: »
    I believe it is imperative that the HCAP or something similiar is made a prerequisite to obtaining a rifle licence. .

Surely you mean a deer hunting license. Otherwise the lads (and ladies) shooting F-Class or other target events with full bore rifles would be forced to do a course which has nothing to do with their sport.

I agree with you on the vast majority of your points just thought the above needed clarification

Vegeta wrote: »
    Surely you mean a deer hunting license. Otherwise the lads (and ladies) shooting F-Class or other target events with full bore rifles would be forced to do a course which has nothing to do with their sport.

I agree with you on the vast majority of your points just thought the above needed clarification
    do you think the lads and ladies involved in rifle target shooting dont bring there rifles into the field to shoot game or vermin ..
    rd 1 ,is spot on any one applying for a firearm licence should have to do a course ,not a micky mouse one like the ones running now .
    but a intensive course ran by properly trained persons ,that can evaluate the applicant in every way .
    we would not have the government and guards trying to decommission us if we had .

jwshooter wrote: »
    do you think the lads and ladies involved in rifle target shooting dont bring there rifles into the field to shoot game or vermin ..

Have you come across many of these on the hills?

DeSimRedx620.jpg

Sure some people do both hunting and target shooting and therefore have to fulfil both sets of requirements. People who only shoot targets should not be forced to do a course aimed at people with an interest in deer.
    rd 1 ,is spot on any one applying for a firearm licence should have to do a course ,not a micky mouse one like the ones running now .
    but a intensive course ran by properly trained persons ,that can evaluate the applicant in every way .
    we would not have the government and guards trying to decommission us if we had .

There is a world of difference between forcing target shooters to do the HCAP and putting all applicants through a proper screening/training program targeted at whatever discipline they wish to pursue.

The latter is a good idea if run by the correct people, the former is quite simply as dumb an idea as they come

Vegeta wrote: »
    Have you come across many of these on the hills?

DeSimRedx620.jpg

Sure some people do both hunting and target shooting and therefore have to fulfil both sets of requirements. People who only shoot targets should not be forced to do a course aimed at people with an interest in deer.

There is a world of difference between forcing target shooters to do the HCAP and putting all applicants through a proper screening/training program targeted at whatever discipline they wish to pursue.

The latter is a good idea if run by the correct people, the former is quite simply as dumb an idea as they come

im not talking about the hcap or another course .

a new firearms owners course ,set out by the guards and the shooting bodies that every one entering into our sport will have.
    to show they have a level of cop on to own a firearm .
    we pay a lot of money each year in renewals ,put it back into training people in the safe of firearms ,use also it would help filter out the scum bags .

it should be a privlage not a right to own firearms in this country.

p.s. not in that colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

What is the attraction to poaching?
    Meat?
    Money?
    Sport?
    Population Reduction?

Why can all of these not be acheived legally?
    Also, are poachers ever caught? If so, can they say that they saw an 'injured' deer and just shot it to finish it off, as is anyones right to do?
    This is a most facinating facet of Irish society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭tangerinepuppet

This gives genuine hunters such a bad name (all over the country, thanks to Amy Rose Harte's story for The Mirror and the coverage in The Independent). False rumours abound when these things happen, the wrong people get blamed and it makes my blood boil. :mad: Hunting vermin on farms is necessary. Killing and maiming deer illegally is not. Cases like this cause the two to get confused in the public imagination. It's sickening.

Meat?
    Money?
    Sport?
    Population Reduction?

Also, are poachers ever caught? If so, can they say that they saw an 'injured' deer and just shot it to finish it off, as is anyones right to do?
    This is a most facinating facet of Irish society.

poaching for want of a better word is for money ,the shooting and theft of deer for sale is a lucrative business.
    gangs working through out the season can shoot 100 s of deer making a lot of money .
    the lad shooting one for the table is not a problem but any one shooting legally will give you a animal if asked.

im glad to see recently the highest fine in the history of the state for poaching deer was handed out a few weeks ago.
    well done to all involved its much appreciated by all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

[
    quote=reddeer1;59167352]I have been a regular visitor to this forum and have read some interesting threads regarding deer stalking etc. I was very impressed by the comment by It wasn't me, who very clearly stated a true fact. Poaching is very popular in Donegal. Poachers have little regard for their quary and for the general public.

Lets put somthing into context here.This is NOT poaching it is wanton vandalism perputated by a bunch of ignorant AR"""OLES.If they were true poachers they would be collecting the carcasses for their own consumption or for selling for gain.
    NOT leaving their money making targets and evidence strwen around the hills of Donegal!Nor would they have let rumours start or let it become known their activities that they were doing somthing illegal.
    These are just ignorant twats with nothing better to do than shoot at somthing at night.So they dont even earn the title of poacher.:mad:

The news about the deer shot near glenveagh does not surprise me. I have personally observed people shooting within the vicinity of the park over the years.
    did you report it.Will you offer a sworn statement to the fact????

These people should be brought before the courts and fined a lot of money. There is a complete disregard for the law here. In Europe poachers are tracked down in the field using police helicopters and sent to prison for a number of years.

Right! And those who advocate leading the charge should lead for once from the front!!Are YOU going to testify in an open court against somone and expose yourself and family to threats and intimidation and worse????
    If this is a professional gang[unlikely from whats described] they wont think twice at hitting out at you ,your wife and kids or house.If they are not,they are living in the same community as you...well think how "tough" you and your family lives can be made.It is all well and good for people to blather on about how the law should be upheld,and everyone should testify against the bad guys etc.BUT what is the after effect and consequences to you and yours personally???That is the one point not considerd by the advocates of this ...

In Europe...Whereabouts exactly???Most hunting in Europe is privately owned and hunters who lease the reserves of the state are entitled to arrest [if sure enough of conviction and brave enough!!] poachers on sight!They even have the right in the gravest extreme the right of SHOOT TO KILL!!Expect that to happen in Ireland???We would have to have the trust of the Gardai to be able to provide concrete evidence in a court of law of poaching...FFS they dont even think owning a handgun for humane dispatch of deer is good reason for possesion.On the continent it is MANDATORY stalking equipment..We CANT compare like and like here.
    Nor is poaching that common anymore,as hunting is a lifestyle choice over there not a hobby!You will spend 90% of your year looking at and after game ,and 10 % actually hunting it.So you can bet,you the hunter will know every,car,truck,4wd,dog ,cat ,person,house,hen house,and outhouse on your reserve.To the point that the German police will approach the local hunter to know what suss vechicles were in the forest in a certain time period,should a crime be comitted in a forest area.

I believe it is imperative that the HCAP or something similiar is made a prerequisite to obtaining a rifle licence.

I see, so target shooters should have to doo a deer hunting cert as well??

We should follow Europes lead on this

Whose exactly??????The Germans???Be prepared to pay over 8k to learn how to shoot,botany,music,biology,zoology,building,anatomny,law,forestry ,gun smithing,etc etc.
    BTW the HCAP has lifted numerous German hunting bits already that are not revelant to an Irish situation,unless you are doing the hundefuerher test .Anyone tell me what a Totbeller is? Or a Mitbringsel is??? Part of the HCAP test...
    The French ,sorted by having a chat with your local Marie if you are a resident.
    The Italians?? A course in 1st aid in gunshot wounds would be a good idea,seeing they manage to shoot a dozen of themselves each year.

If such a policy is rolled out, interested people will learn about how deer management is carried out in a safe and humane manner.

Do we all drive exactly the same way when we do our driving test????
    It is naive in extremis to think that a "test" or "course" will immedaitely make everyone a honourable and law abiding hunter!! It wont and cant.
    The difference between a honourable hunter and a poacher is many and varied.Mostly it is the persons morality and fullness of belly that decides.

Just my thoughts on the given topic

No problem with that,and I must confess somwhat the worse for wear of wine while typing this:o! But it is not just so simple to sort out or find easy or naive solutions by saying we should do as our EU neighbours do.

We in Ireland have the unique situation of dealing with poaching from inherited English law and now our own,as well as unowned property.
    Under English law poaching is illegal under owned or fenced property,not commonage.
    Under English law in Ireland all our land was "owned" by the aristocricy, or whomever was approved to do so be it our ancestors quater acre of spuds or estates.So poaching was somtimes[1] a matter of survival of you and yours and [2] a strike against the English Crown,no matter how small by making off with his Lordships deer,pheasents etc.
    IMO this mentality still exists somwhat,as us Irish really deep down dont like being told what to do by authorithy types,so this is still kind of looked on as a "Cavallier act" a what harm is done attitude.Or who does it belong to,you are not stealing anyones domestic animals.As deer are masterless animals,otherwise the state or the hunter would be responsible for any damage caused by the deer.[This is the law and responsibility of a hunter on the continent..you own the game ,you owe the farmer if your deer or wild boar make hay of his corn,forestry or spud crop!]
    Poaching is only now being recognised as a crime,as somone is starting to lose money somwhere!Sorry if that sounds callous,but no one gave two hoots about deer poaching in the 80s and 90s apart from stalkers and the very dedicated rangers,there were IMO as much deer innthe last two decades as there is now.

Our solution is bsically [1] a hunter saftey course covering the quick kill areas of a deer,etc.Easily done within 24 hours of instruction.Not a long drawn out course on all sorts of filler information totally irrevelant to the real world of deer hunting.A practical shooting section on safe shooting and the ability to hit the kill zones under various conditions.The basic course...If you want to sell game etc,come back and do the butchering course,if you want to learn about building tree stands etc,do that section.
    IOW a course that allows you to add points to your liscense,so you can then prove you are able to qualify as a master stalker and able to train others

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Meat?
    Money?
    Sport?
    Population Reduction?

Why do people commit crimes?Why do people steal, rob ,murder etc?

Poaching is not a simple crime to describe..In olden times it was considerd an honourable trade for anyone of stout heart and foot.We venerate a poacher known in English litature as Willam Shakespear.He poached the Kings deer in Stratford on Avon.We all know mr Robin Hood,not for robbing the rich and keeping 60%.Any good Irish solicitor will do that on a daily basis.But because he was a damn poacher and hence the reason the Sheriff of Nottingham spent so much time trying to nab mr R Hood and his merrie men.It was also a dangerous profession.The penalty under the Norman law of venison for poaching the lords deer was hanging ,drawing and quartering.Before the Normans arrived in England,deer and game belonged to anyone who could catch or kill it.So traditionaly in England poaching was considerd a blow against the Norman invader,and then later against the English feudal/nobility of the period.
    This was also common anywhere where the commoners lost the right to hunt at will.
    In Germany/Austria the penalty for the poacher was to be bound in the hide of the animal he poached and be cast into the nearest river or off the nearest cliff!!While it could be argued the Normans introduced the first game laws to protect game.It wasnt for the benefit of Lords and Commoners alike.It was for the benefit of the Nobility to [1] hunt for their idle amusement as they really didnt need the food,just the thrills and [2] to keep the peasentry under control tending their subsistence plots on which they were taxed in either coin or foodstuffs.
    So put yourself in the peasents shoes [if they had any ]of anytime from Norman to the early 20th century.Your land is taxed in coin or food,you kids are starving as you are.There deer out on the land proably eating your last few miserable crops..Wouldnt you take the chance of aquiring some meat??This attitude has prevaled up thru the ages to the present day.A strike against the better off[Class war or resistance?]THere is plenty of evidence to suggest this in English litature and history and actual German history,where there was a real Robin Hood in the 17th century known as the Bavarian Heisel [rouge].Who poached and almost started a pouplar uprising as well.

Desperation of hunger?Winter 1945 48 +/- Germany when people were actually starving from malnutrition.There were actual gun battles between poachers and forestry officals using surplus weaponary from both sides of the conflict.As well as shootouts with German poachers,forestry officals and occuping Allied forces,notably US GIs and British personel who werent adverse to some fresh deer.The Russians?They just packed everyone off to the nearest lead mine in Siberia who was caught with an illegal firearm.No such thing as poaching the peoples deer there!

Bravado?Some elite Austrian mountain officer corps units still considerd that you were not part of the Mess untill you returned with a poached Chamois until recently in the 1970s.I'm sure we still have the odd young fellah or oul fellah who feels a need of divlement to shoot the odd rabbit or pheasent to prove his individualism.They are pretty harmless and if caught can be "turned" to a shooters advantage and ally,if done right.

Pouplation reduction.
    This is the intresting one.In some parts of the world where the greenie,enviromentalist,jerk anti hunter or office bound burrocrat rules supreme,and no game may be shot,rather let it starve to death,as there are no natural predators to deal with the aging pouplation[Like NJ USA in the 1980s].There are some people who consider it a CRIMINAL WASTAGE BY THE STATE of a natural resource that should be harvested to [1]Keep a natural balance in the system of harvesting surplus game by any means and [2] supplying themselves with meat that would otherwise go to waste. Or [3] as in Africa with ivory,there is a huge amount of money to be made by some poor sod whose sole possesion is an AK and there is plenty of elephants[to him[] with ivory walking around his kraal.
    That is it VERY simplified.

However what we have here is not "poaching" in the true sense of the word,rather more vandalism and rape of a natural resource. I wouldnt even give these people the title of poachers.

1] They are simply shooting at night any deer that comes under a jack light.Stupid and primitive.And shows no concept of security or how to harvest surplus meat to keep a resource for next year.

2]They are taking trophy heads and leaving the meat to rot.So thats the equivelant of robbing a bank and leaving the 10 and 20 notes and just grabbing the 100and 500 notes.Guess which is more traceable??A trophy head over a bar or wherever or a carcass that will be eaten??Plus any professional poacher would not dream of having any trophies hanging around his house that are not explainable,if any at all.

3]They are blatantly obvious about doing this and dont even bother hiding their actions from anyone,due to fearlessness or contempt of the law.

All in all they are breaking every rule of traditional poaching,which is take what you need to eat or sell discreetly.[2]Let no one know you were there,past or present[3]Have your story squared away to explain everything you do,did or know.

As is said this is not a simple black/white problem or solution contray to what many willsay.It is a social,psychological,enviromental,problem

Indeed they can,but see above explanations,as to why not for some people.

Yes they are mostly thru their own stupidity than anything else.
    Depends where the deer is.if it is on a public road, quite possible,although you could be got on maybe discharging a firearm in a public place.???On your shooting ground depends what you were doing at the time you poached the deer.IE no sect 42 and jack lighting.On ground you have no permission to hunt on,doubtful at best.
    You could possibly???? :confused::confused: get away with it if you saw the animal in acute distress.IE it was entangled in wire via it's antlers,trapped in a fence,snared,trapped,entangled in some sort of human made material,IE wire rope,tyres[has happened],or was physically injured or diseased.
    All in all it would depend on the circumstances and intent and evidence.
    This is a most facinating facet of Irish society
    More of all societies and more in a criminologistical way than in hunting

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

im not talking about the hcap or another course .

Well reddeer was
    I believe it is imperative that the HCAP or something similiar is made a prerequisite to obtaining a rifle licence.

And it was his point I countered

I just stated that I thought forcing target shooters to do the HCAP or something similar is a bad idea. Target shooters should have to do a course that is tailored for their needs as opposed to one aimed at people who want to know more about deer.

So I don't disagree with you jwshooter but I don't know why you quoted me, unless you do think target shooters should have to do a HCAP or similar hunting orientated course, which again I think is a daft idea

I think some kind of course on firearm handling, safety and procedure and firearms law, is a good idea when applying for a first licence. Ideally it would be your only licence under an OMOL type system, in which it would make far more sense. Subsequent courses might be for quarry identification, seasons, basic anatomy and field-dressing skills for hunters. The courses should be general, in-depth enough to achieve their aims of safe and legal shooting and informed shooters, without being specific to the commercial interests of any group or agenda-driven. (For instance, I would object to the HCAP becoming mandatory for non-Coillte stalking, but would not object to a comprehensive course, run by the state)

It could be done as follows:

*One Man One Licence system implemented
    *Application for firearms licence
    ->Course and examination on firearms safety and handling, the law in relation to firearms, storage and best practices.
    ->If hunting is desired, course and examination on quarry identification, wildlife acts, seasons, acceptable and ethical shooting techniques and procedures (Killing zones and such). This would entail information on all quarry, protected and unprotected species of all kinds that are shootable.
    *Upon provision of storage and satisfactory completion of examinations and success in notbeingagobshíte test organised by local Super and FO, licence is granted.
    *Firearms are added to the certificate as necessary, with further courses completed for further requirements. (For instance, if I start with a target rifle, I only do the first examination detailed, but if I subsequently buy a deer rifle, I then must do the hunting examination) Coillte can still specify the HCAP as the only course they accept, but it should not be applied as a requirement nationwide.

Adding examinations into the pile would certainly weed out a lot of the people who just want to own a gun, it would remove a lot of the ambiguity and uncertainty with regard to what people think they can do, which lowers inadvertent firearms offences and makes those blatant ones far easier to prosecute as there's no danger of the individual not having been aware that what they were doing was illegal. It would also promote better hunting practices with education on the matter, rather than people saying it's grand to whack foxes with FMJ rounds or the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

..............it should be a privlage not a right to own firearms in this country.............

It IS NOT a right here so one of your wishes granted :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 reddeer1

Vegata: In answering to your question, I don't believe that non-hunting firearm holders should have to do a hunting competance course. Of course not. It would, however, for reasons of safety be good to offer some sort of intro course about safety, ballistics, law etc. Interested people would probably avail of this. I am not sure if the NARGC offer such a course.

Grizzly 45: With regards to the issue of poaching in Europe, I read this one case in a austrian and german hunting magazine. In germany, if you as the lease holder suspect an individual of poaching on the land you pay so much to hunt on(In most cases), you have the authority to appraoch this person and if need be defend yourself using your weapon. During the 19th and 20th centuries there was often war between gamekeepers, foresters and poachers. In them days it was mainly done for food and in some respects that is fine in my opinion, if someone goes out to shoot an animal the odd time to feed his family. Times have changed and this excuse, werever, is not sufficient to warrant the argument for poaching.

I agree that a hunting course won't make everything perfect. It is, however, necessary to educate the young hunters of tomorow about the issues regarding their chosen sport. It is in my belief very important to learn about aspects of the biology and management of deer if you plan to hunt them. Deer, in all its environments, is part of a large ecosystem and its interactions need to be understood for objective and good management to take place. It doesn't have to cost thousands, HCAP doesn't, but it should encompass the ground rules and basics of sustainable and safe hunting.

Grizzly 45: With regards to the issue of poaching in Europe, I read this one case in a austrian and german hunting magazine.
    One case is about right.If it is the same gang and article I'm thinking of,it was an organised poaching ring that was hitting various different reserves.Not some local potting game for the pot.Different story.
    In germany, if you as the lease holder suspect an individual of poaching on the land you pay so much to hunt on(In most cases), you have the authority to appraoch this person and if need be defend yourself using your weapon

AHEM! Firearm is the polite word round here.:)Weapons suggest you are intending to comit harm rasther than sporting purposes only.
    Indeed you do.BUT the prerequsits in learning to be a hunter and having this right and knowledge in German law of theft,and self defence would make you almost a solicitor over here is daunting to say the least,and ASFIK there hasnt been a case of this in the last ten years.Most hunters would let it go these days,as you will proably find yourself outgunned by somthing fully automatic,and it isnt worth the legal and other hassle of justifying a firefight in a court of law over over a deer.It was a different story in postwar Germany when there was actual starvation,and you the forester were on your own and had to deal with all sorts of chacters still running around the forests.

. During the 19th and 20th centuries there was often war between gamekeepers, foresters and poachers. In them days it was mainly done for food and in some respects that is fine in my opinion, if someone goes out to shoot an animal the odd time to feed his family. Times have changed and this excuse, werever, is not sufficient to warrant the argument for poaching.

Well it wasnt an excuse either back in those days of feeding a starving family.Dunno if anyone is starving in Ireland nowadays...yet.But if the same poacher was to steal a frozen chicken from Tesco it would be classified as theft as well.However the big moral and legal problem is here game is masterless if it is wild,so how can you actually call it theft as there must be ownership in some form for theft to occur.The State does not own it,nor do individuals,unless you have a reserve or have reared it,or it is in a enclosure.Infar off days the nobility laid claim to it by divine right of rulership.As I said before ,we dont have poachers in Donegal,but vandals,which can be prosecuted for many other crimes,tresspass,incorrect liscenses or permits etc.But the actual crime of poaching does not exist in Irish law statute books ASFIK.

I agree that a hunting course won't make everything perfect. It is, however, necessary to educate the young hunters of tomorow about the issues regarding their chosen sport. It is in my belief very important to learn about aspects of the biology and management of deer if you plan to hunt them. Deer, in all its environments, is part of a large ecosystem and its interactions need to be understood for objective and good management to take place

So do I.But do you really need to know the latin name of some obscure pond slime that might be on your reserve,because it is protected by some obscure EU directive,and is important because it is a delicay for moor hens and ducks?Or other totally no doubt intresting info to somone,but totally irrevelant to the matter of deer hunting??That is actually one quater of the German hunting exam..Botany!
    Look! The US NRA hunter saftey course can be done literally in 48 hours for rifle shotgun and black powder.Why cant we have a course that reflects saftey,first,last and all the way down the line,and not the" filler" of alot of courses on stuff that is not really revelant..Do we really need to know as Irish deer hunters how certain aspects of forestry is carried out and how that influences game??Simple there isnt any game around in dark Irish block forestry of spruce,and if it is chopped down,there wont be anything at all.That simple sentence would take a entire class night on the German course!!Fine if you want to be a biologist or zooologist,but I and others want to hunt deer in a safe manner with the least burrocatic and academic hassle as possible.
    I really couldnt care less what the latin name is of the preferred clover is of fallow deer is in Spring.Where it grows,is it safe to take a shot or not.

So personally I would like to see on a course.

Sure safe shooting and revelant hits and how long it would take for an animal to go down depending on the hit.
    Tracking of an injured animal,and what type of blood denotes which hit in the body area.
    How to ID a male and female animal by teeth ,antlers and bodyand tracks.
    How to butcher out a carcass for personal consumption,how to recognise a notifiable disease in the carcass and the procedure for notifying the farmer and revelant dept in the dept of Agriculture,and if you want to sell the meat ,go off and do the EU whatever law on required course to do such.
    How to put together a cull plan.Although I personally think it is an effort in futility if you are doing it all by the book ,but no one else in the district is or cares.
    That is basically the ground rules and saftey aspects.
    Can be done within a 12 hour course.No need for anything more elaborate.

It doesn't have to cost thousands,
    No indeed,but you can be sure there are plenty of those people out there who would think they can turn it into one big money spinner.

HCAP doesn't, but it should encompass the ground rules and basics of sustainable and safe hunting.
    I'll reserve my judgement on HCAP,but I and many others are LESS than impressed with the whole set up of it.It's unaccountability as a NGB to anyone in anyGovt dept.
    The non existance of an appeals mechanism outside HCAP,the non registery with the data protection act.And finally the push to get All stalkers into it's clutches nationwide.It was set up as a method of vetting applicants to Coilte,and that is what it should stay at.Thin end of the wedge.If deer hunters have to be qualified,whats to say bird hunters and target shooters must be as well??Add on the levels of burrocracy and having to pay for all this,and before we know it we are doing three year courses before we can shoot or touch a gun.NO thanks..seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Some excellent posts by Griz, jw.IWM and others.
    Grizzly 45 wrote:

poaching for want of a better word is for money ,the shooting and theft of deer for sale is a lucrative business.
    ~~~~~~~~~

AHEM! Firearm is the polite word round here.:)Weapons suggest you are intending to comit harm rasther than sporting purposes only.

So personally I would like to see on a course.

Sure safe shooting and revelant hits and how long it would take for an animal to go down depending on the hit.
    Tracking of an injured animal,and what type of blood denotes which hit in the body area.
    How to ID a male and female animal by teeth ,antlers and bodyand tracks.
    How to butcher out a carcass for personal consumption,how to recognise a notifiable disease in the carcass and the procedure for notifying the farmer and revelant dept in the dept of Agriculture,and if you want to sell the meat ,go off and do the EU whatever law on required course to do such.
    How to put together a cull plan.Although I personally think it is an effort in futility if you are doing it all by the book ,but no one else in the district is or cares.
    That is basically the ground rules and saftey aspects.
    Can be done within a 12 hour course.No need for anything more elaborate.

No indeed,but you can be sure there are plenty of those people out there who would think they can turn it into one big money spinner.

I'll reserve my judgement on HCAP,but I and many others are LESS than impressed with the whole set up of it.It's unaccountability as a NGB to anyone in anyGovt dept.
    The non existance of an appeals mechanism outside HCAP,the non registery with the data protection act.And finally the push to get All stalkers into it's clutches nationwide.It was set up as a method of vetting applicants to Coilte,and that is what it should stay at.Thin end of the wedge.If deer hunters have to be qualified,whats to say bird hunters and target shooters must be as well??Add on the levels of burrocracy and having to pay for all this,and before we know it we are doing three year courses before we can shoot or touch a gun.NO thanks..seriously.

"Thin end of the wedge.If deer hunters have to be qualified,whats to say bird hunters and target shooters must be as well??"