Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shooting from the road?

• 08-02-2009 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭

k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

missloulou wrote: »
    Need some advise please guys, i live on a R road, my house is about 20m from the road and regularly jeeps go past shining flashlights into the forestry across the road and have shot from their jeeps at deer.

I was under the impression that this is illegal, can you please clarify so I might have a word with the person shooting next time?

hi there ,yes it is illegal to shoot from a road .its illegal to shoot from a jeep also illegal to shoot deer at night unless you have a special licence.
    please report this to your local garda and npws ,be insistent and ask them to call out to you .
    it is a very common problem nation wide and is just a matter of time before some one is badly hurt .what part of wicklow are you in .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭missloulou

q

national parks and wildlife service, there based in troopers town outside laragh also the guards in wicklow town are coming down hard on gun crime

Will report it to both tomorrow, but then again the person could have been shooting foxes, I assume its not illegal to shoot foxes at night, just illegal to shoot from jeep etc?

Many thanks for your replies, you have been most helpful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

they drove on pretty quickly once they saw me being a nosey neighbour.

That's because they know they are being naughty. As jwshooter suggests, report them, & if you can, get a number plate and make & model of vehicle, however, don't put yourself at risk.

Will report it to both tomorrow, but then again the person could have been shooting foxes, I assume its not illegal to shoot foxes at night, just illegal to shoot from jeep etc?

Many thanks for your replies, you have been most helpful

its not your problem ,there shooting at nite 20 meters from your home .

in wicklow this of gun crime in rampant ,the more people like your self that report it the better .dont get involved yourself let the guards and the wild life rangers do there jobs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

Whether they are after deer or foxes, they deserve to lose their licences. That would involve a court conviction which would require your testimony. Guards would probably take up weapons during investigation and if you (understandably) did not wish to testify they would be returned to the fluckars with a caution.

Probably what would happen in my view. Can anyone shed light on what usually happens in practice? If more guns were taken away permanently, poaching would be much less of a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Report it. Someone who's got nothing to hide has no reason to make tracks the moment they're spotted. When I'm out lamping I make it a point when someone gets nosy to stay put and have a chat. By the way, the only road I shoot from on foot is a private one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

J. Ramone wrote: »
    Guards would probably take up weapons during investigation and if you (understandably) did not wish to testify they would be returned to the fluckars with a caution.

Open to correction here, but, I believe that one's statement can be used in court even after withdrawl. It may depend on the charge though.

(I was in court last week giving evidence for the DPP, for threats to kill, & one of the witnesses was going to withdraw in the box. He was told by the OIC that his statement could still be used).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

Need some advise please guys, i live on a R road, my house is about 20m from the road and regularly jeeps go past shining flashlights into the forestry across the road and have shot from their jeeps at deer.

I was under the impression that this is illegal, can you please clarify so I might have a word with the person shooting next time?

as i know most of the lads in wicklow with guns,what part of wicklow you in

J. Ramone wrote: »
    Whether they are after deer or foxes, they deserve to lose their licences. That would involve a court conviction which would require your testimony. Guards would probably take up weapons during investigation and if you (understandably) did not wish to testify they would be returned to the fluckars with a caution.

Probably what would happen in my view. Can anyone shed light on what usually happens in practice? If more guns were taken away permanently, poaching would be much less of a problem.
    its a mine field trying to catch some one poaching deer .
    for the person in question its best to get the numbers of the local garda and the duty ranger and ring them when they see lamping .
    in form them of what is happening and take no further part in it .
    gun crime and crimes against the wildlife act are been committed so its the guards and rangers department .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

don't give your aera or address out here on boards, the lad with the lamp may well read this or may even be replying to you.......... you never know, keep safe, i would how ever second the lads on contacting NPWS/GARDA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

All the snow is gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Is the road even a road or a private lane?

<edit I see its an R road>

Thanks for your replies, you all have been most helpful.

I've deleted all my posts and I would be grateful if you quoted me in a response you could remove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

Report it, I would second JW here 100% - so no need to type it all again.