FC Barcelona Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

cson wrote: »
    The more this season progresses the more it becomes apparent we were robbed when Cesc was sold to you.

We all knew at the time, but we were never gonna get any more money off Barca!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Right lads, we're 2-0 down to a side we lost 8-0 to and haven't conceded domestically this season. It can't get much worse can it...

Then Messi comes on:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Messi messi messi Messi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

cson wrote: »
    The more this season progresses the more it becomes apparent we were robbed when Cesc was sold to you.

Ah ye robbed him in the first place plus he wanted to rejoin Barca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Messi Messi Messi Messi Messi Messi Messi Messi Messi!!!!!!

**** me he's class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

He is something else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,614 ✭✭✭✭cson

Warper wrote: »

I'd argue that his 8 years at Arsenal turned him into the player he is today tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

How the fúck did they rob him in the first place?

Did they force Cesc in a suitcase, send him over to England and put a gun to his head to make him sign for them?

No they didn't. Cesc left Barca of his own accord and signed on the dotted line for Arsenal.

He wasn't robbed at all, stop talking through your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Blatter wrote: »
    How the fúck did they rob him in the first place?

Did they force Cesc in a suitcase, send him over to England and put a gun to his head to make him sign for them?

No they didn't. Cesc left Barca of his own accord and signed on the dotted line for Arsenal.

He wasn't robbed at all, stop talking through your hole.

Poached would be the term I would use. Because players of his age when at Barça can't sign a professional contract, he wasn't earning much at all. Arsenal waved a nice big contract at him and his parents and he signed it.

aaronh007 wrote: »
    Poached would be the term I would use. Because players of his age when at Barça can't sign a professional contract, he wasn't earning much at all. Arsenal waved a nice big contract at him and his parents and he signed it.

I remember him saying a few years ago in an interview that he left Barca because he thought he'd get more opportunities at Arsenal.

Anyway, whether he left for money or first team football, it was Cesc himself that left of his own accord so Warper saying he was robbed by Arsenal strikes of bitterness tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,243 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

kmart6 wrote: »
    Imagine that, obsessed with the football of our next door neighbour, when it just happens to be one of the best leagues in the world...disgraceful!:rolleyes:

The two best and biggest teams in the world were playing matches and it hardly got a mention ,yet there are loads of posts about trivial EPL matches .
    Just a comment ,not a criticism mind you.

Eight years before he left..Summer of 2003? If Messi had been old enough, I'd say he'd have left the Barcelona of that age...comparatively dark days.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Would have left too had it not been for a work permit, if you believe the rumours!

Which I choose not to. It'd make you crazy.

I remember him saying a few years ago in an interview that he left Barca because he thought he'd get more opportunities at Arsenal.

Anyway, whether he left for money or first team football, it was Cesc himself that left of his own accord so Warper saying he was robbed by Arsenal strikes of bitterness tbh.

Bitterness - Lol. Im delighted he is back home with Barca, after all he has the DNA. World-class player back where he belongs. Fabs has fitted right back in again and looks a totally different player already compared to last season with Arsenal. Only certain players could make this Barca team better but he has.

Obviously you're not bitter about him actually playing for Barca now, but you come across as bitter regarding the circumstances surrounding the way in which he left Barca in the first place and particularly bitter about Arsenal's stance of wanting as much money as they could get for him, when Barca wanted him back.

Pure bullsh1t tbh. You are the one coming across bitter with all your bitterness malarky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Talking of Fabregas, he's won more medals in 4 months at Barca than he has in 8 years at Arsenal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Talking of Fabregas, he's won more medals in 4 months at Barca than he has in 8 years at Arsenal!

That's an amazing achievement alright. I'm sure it was always his dream to win the Spanish equivalent of the Community Shield :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Wolf Club wrote: »
    That's an amazing achievement alright. I'm sure it was always his dream to win the Spanish equivalent of the Community Shield :rolleyes:

Not sure why you're being sarcastic. The guy hasn't even been there for the end of season where trophies are usually won and he already has more winners medals than his entire arsenal career.
    And out of his 2 arsenal medals, one is the Community Shield that you're laughing at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Can every body leave the handbags out of here please. Go back to which ever threads you came from and continue your back and forth there please..

Classy win the other night for Barca. Where Madrid were slow and sluggish at times the other night, the break seems to be exactly what some of our players like Xavi, Puyol and Messi needed.

Espanyol away at the weekend, the all Catalan derby!
    These games are generally very heated with both teams going hell for leather for the win! But.. Espanyols form has been very shaky lately and they've lost some of their edge and steel. I expect Barca will go there and dominate possession as they do but the score line won't be any thing high.

For those of you who didn't see the 4-0 win over Osasuna here is totalbarca's motm video, as voted by Barca fans worldwide... none other than Xavi..
    3 assists and heavily involved in the 4th

I really wish that Xavi would win the Ballon D'or this year because with Messi and Ronaldo being so much younger than him I reckon this may be his last chance to win it.

OH and am rumour has it Sir Alex Ferguson had his brother scout Cuenca the other night in search of another "Made in La Massia" star..
    Honestly I actually think he will leave at the end of the season, perhaps on loan. I know Pep thinks highly of him but I think the fame might get to Cuenca. Apparently he was demanding Thiago equivalent wages and this is only his first season making full team appearances. Barca generally don't take kindly to such demanding players, one only has to look at the recent departures of Eto'o and Ibra..

Oh and as for Cesc all i'm going to say he is where he wanted to be.. and it is showing with his astonishing form, the second goal the other night was absolutely class. His first touch and finish were superb.

Pure bullsh1t tbh. You are the one coming across bitter with all your bitterness malarky

Now you're not even making sense. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭CongoPowers

Don't see Cuenca leaving. Agree that Guardiola has been strict with agent nonsense, but there are examples like Valdés that have blown over. He seems like an honest, hardworking lad, have nothing to complain about him other than his dive against Hospitalet.

also to be fair, you have to win titles to compete for Spanish and European supercups and the CWC. Fàbregas looked the happiest to win these titles, so they're obviously important to him.

His second against Osasuna was too nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Espanyol tonight! Going to be a good game I reckon. Nothing but a win will do for Barca who need to keep on Madrids heels.

The game at the Prat was arguably Barcelona's toughest test last season, certainly in the league, very difficult game tonight.

The Getafe defeat has kicked the players into gear though it seems,every game played at pace since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

I think Barca will breeze it, they look to be back on top form.

0-4

Messi MOTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,243 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Davaeo09 wrote: »

For those of you who didn't see the 4-0 win over Osasuna here is totalbarca's motm video, as voted by Barca fans worldwide... none other than Xavi..
    3 assists and heavily involved in the 4th

The man just oozes class.
    Look at the corner at 3:27 in that video,insane control.
    The 1-2 with Messi @ 6.25 is special too.
    He just makes the game look so easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

dfx- wrote: »
    The game at the Prat was arguably Barcelona's toughest test last season, certainly in the league, very difficult game tonight.

The Getafe defeat has kicked the players into gear though it seems,every game played at pace since.

Barca won 1-5 iirc. It was a stroll.

gimmick wrote: »
    Barca won 1-5 iirc. It was a stroll.

I know the scoreline, but it didn't reflect the game imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Is it 8:30 kick off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Yes it did. Barca were 0-3 up inside 30 mins and the game was over.

Semantics aside, this is usually a tough one, but Barca have certainly turned the corner from Los Perichos being a bogey side.