Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should Cork be excluded this year?

• 06-02-2009 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what people think - should Cork be excluded from the League or perhaps the Championship this year since they obviously have no respect for anything bar their own ego? I mean it is not like they are going to win anything anyways so i reckon unless they start respecting other teams and the GAA then good luck to them.

Should Cork be excluded this year if they cant resolve the problem? 32 votes

Yes, it shows a lack of respect for other counties
    0% 0 votes
    No, let them come back whenever they feel like it
    100% 32 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Which Cork team? And how exactly is this team showing disrespect for other counties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Not to be disrespectful or anything, but how in the name of christ would throwing them out be in any way necessary?!?

At the moment everyones a loser. The board, the panel, the manager, the supporters, everyone. But if you were to throw the team out of the Championship completely, it does absolutely nothing to fix the situation.

All it would do is annoy the Cork supporters that want to support the new panel regardless even more, and annoy the development panel who had thought they would get the opportunity to represent their county.

Cork GAA needs help, and throwing that need for help right back in their faces by excluding them from the Championship would be just plain wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

deise59 wrote: »
    Not to be disrespectful or anything, but how in the name of christ would throwing them out be in any way necessary?!?

At the moment everyones a loser. The board, the panel, the manager, the supporters, everyone. But if you were to throw the team out of the Championship completely, it does absolutely nothing to fix the situation.

All it would do is annoy the Cork supporters that want to support the new panel regardless even more, and annoy the development panel who had thought they would get the opportunity to represent their county.

Cork GAA needs help, and throwing that need for help right back in their faces by excluding them from the Championship would be just plain wrong.

Wrong - Cork GAA, more to the point - Cork players need a good kick up the behind to bring them back down to Earth - who do they think they are? Are they going to throw the toys out of the pram every second year? If they have no pride in playing for their county - good riddance.

Warper wrote: »
    Wrong - Cork GAA, more to the point - Cork players need a good kick up the behind to bring them back down to Earth - who do they think they are? Are they going to throw the toys out of the pram every second year? If they have no pride in playing for their county - good riddance.

You didn't answer my question.

If the losers from an exclusion are the 2008 panel, the development panel, Gerald McCarthy, Frank Murphy, the entire county board, every cork hurler in the county and most importantly, the fans, who exactly are the winners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Afraid Cork will beat your team again? :D I keed, I keed. :P

I think the players should be let back in, minus the panel, management, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Austin 3:16

deise59 wrote: »
    You didn't answer my question.

who exactly are the winners?
    Kilkenny...... unfortunately they're always the winners!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

No way should Cork be thrown out. They are fielding teams in both codes so they are going to honour all of their fixtures. So what if their hurling team will be severely weakened, it will probably be good for Cork in the long term, a lot of the team were over the hill anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

How would they be excluded, outside of not playing games which pretty much makes the question self-fulfilling? The only rule I can find which might in theory be applied is a charge of bringing the game into disrepute. Ironically, it's up to the particular county board to initiate the proceedings in such a case. I can't see it happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭corkhero

The people that should be thrown out are out, last years panel.

Havent missed league or championship games in years but if they come back, i wont go to another cork game.

Its a joke.

How would they be excluded, outside of not playing games which pretty much makes the question self-fulfilling? The only rule I can find which might in theory be applied is a charge of bringing the game into disrepute. Ironically, it's up to the particular county board to initiate the proceedings in such a case. I can't see it happening.

Good point actually. The GAA have said from the very beginning that they're not going to get involved in internal affairs, and since the prospect of Cork not fielding a team in the league is extremely small, there's no way the GAA will suddenly come out of nowhere and ban the entire county from competing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Havent missed league or championship games in years but if they come back, i wont go to another cork game
    ....interesting view from a Cork fan !
    I'm wondering if they will get a BIG crowd today at their march/protest ?

Back on topic, should Cork be excluded this year, I suppose not if there's lads willing to play for their county.......

/edit: should there be a third option in the poll, let the current team play on ?

Original thinking here, unfortunately it doesn't in anyway explain why you think we should get kicked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Just wondering what people think - should Cork be excluded from the League or perhaps the Championship this year since they obviously have no respect for anything bar their own ego? I mean it is not like they are going to win anything anyways so i reckon unless they start respecting other teams and the GAA then good luck to them.

Wow, good understanding of the issues clown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

I'm from Kilkenny, it looks completely ridiculous what is going on in Cork, the players should just get on with the job and if not then bye to them, we want Cork playing, not thrown out.
    If the players are good enough then they shouldn't worry about the manager, it looks like they are putting the blame for their own performance on the manager when I think its the players who should look at themselves.
    I even heard one player put the blame on the manager for them not beating Kilkenny last year, I may be biased and all that but they were simply beaten by the best team, taking it out on the manager is just silly.

Good luck to the Cork players who want and will play for their county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I voted no simply because there are players who want to play for their county and will be allowed to at the expense of the 2008 panel.Why should the 2008 panel hold the CCB and Cork fans to ransom?Afterall,it was club delegates who voted in McCarthy.The panel should not take this out on McCarthy.He was appointed to do a job and he just wants to do it.

What the Cork players should have done was meet with county board officials last year and had it out with them how the managers are appointed.In nearly every county the club delegates vote in the manager.Cork should have been playing Division 3 football this year if the GAA actually stood by their own rules.The GAA are right not to get involved this time and I respect the CCB for showing the 2008 panel the door if they strike.Afterall,after the Cork footballers fiasco,they agreed strike action would not be an option.

Cork is a great GAA county.It has the highest playing volume in the country,usually does well in both codes and contributes a lot to the league and championship.I wouldn't let 20-30 players ruin that image of Cork.

Completely bizarre interpretation there Blackbelt that most Cork fans would be aghast at. Its clear that its the current 2008 squad plus the bulk of the Cork GAA public and most of our finest players outside of last years squad who are against the CCB and Ger. As for the club delegates, politicians supporting politicians...;) The delegates couldn't care less about their grassroots, its a huge problem in Cork GAA.

You can feel free to disagree beyond that, but lets not paint this as a 2008 Cork Squad against everyone else thing, because its not, its largely the opposite.

Min wrote: »
    I'm from Kilkenny, it looks completely ridiculous what is going on in Cork, the players should just get on with the job and if not then bye to them, we want Cork playing, not thrown out.
    If the players are good enough then they shouldn't worry about the manager, it looks like they are putting the blame for their own performance on the manager when I think its the players who should look at themselves.
    I even heard one player put the blame on the manager for them not beating Kilkenny last year, I may be biased and all that but they were simply beaten by the best team, taking it out on the manager is just silly.

Good luck to the Cork players who want and will play for their county.

So management can never be at fault for a team losing? Bizarre.

Ger McCarthy's tactics were terrible against Kilkenny, the blame goes both ways.

Orizio wrote: »
    So management can never be at fault for a team losing? Bizarre.

Ger McCarthy's tactics were terrible against Kilkenny, the blame goes both ways.

What tactics would have worked?

Maybe the tactics he used were the best, at least Cork can say that of all the teams Kilkenny played last year in the All-Ireland it was Cork that lost by the least.
    Cork were never going to beat Kilkenny last year, the fact they did the best against Kilkenny says something, if you think Cork's tactics were bad then what about Waterford in the final?
    I don't see the players there revolting against the manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

The only county suffering from all of this is Cork. A self-inflicted penalty if you like, and one which undoubtably will affect the players more than the county board. I think McCarthy is daft to hang around - I can't understand his 'fighting crime' attitude to the whole thing. If he feels that the players are a shower of wagons undermining him and Cork he should just walk, not exacerbate the situation by behaving like God's appointed. He isn't resolving the situation, just adding to it

IIMII wrote: »
    The only county suffering from all of this is Cork. A self-inflicted penalty if you like, and one which undoubtably will affect the players more than the county board. I think McCarthy is daft to hang around - I can't understand his 'fighting crime' attitude to the whole thing. If he feels that the players are a shower of wagons undermining him and Cork he should just walk, not exacerbate the situation by behaving like God's appointed. He isn't resolving the situation, just adding to it

Why exactly do you think this?

Ger should indeed walk, should have walked when it was clear he didin't have the dressing room.

Why exactly do you think this?
    Because it's their time. We all get older, and have limited shelf lives at every playing level. My sympathies lie with the hurlers as I think the situation has been contrived and they are losing valuable time from their hurling careers. My sympathies lie with Gerald McCarthy as sooner or later he will be sacrificied by the county board, and treated as radioactive. He should rethink his crusade

But then it could be argued it is a self inflicted exclusion from inter county hurling by the players.
    I think the Cork county board are sick of what has happened over the past few years and will stand with the manager, otherwise what is to say this won't happen again and again and again etc...

I'll be supporting the current Cork panel, the players who choose to play for their county....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Cork will be an easier target than usual. Let them take a trashing and let the youngsters get some great experience in the process

I'll be supporting the current Cork panel, the players who choose to play for their county....
    I'd have no problem supporting them either, the best of luck to them and one element of silver lining is that tthis is an opportunity to blood some new talent. But the reality remains that they are a 'b' team and won't win an All-Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Alfie Boon

Fair play to those true gaels that lined out today.
    I will be supporting them throughout the year because they are genuine, honest people who refuse to be pressurised by the spoilt,media obsessed money hungry tossers that went before them.
    That 08 panel are a festering boil on the gaa's ass....and hopefully it will soon be lanced.
    4th/5th best team last year.
    Who do they think they are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Hawk Wing

Alfie Boon wrote: »
    I will be supporting them throughout the year because they are genuine, honest people who refuse to be pressurised by the spoilt,media obsessed money hungry tossers that went before them.
    That 08 panel are a festering boil on the gaa's ass....and hopefully it will soon be lanced.
    The 2008 players are just not good enough, no amount of whinging will change that

I'd have no problem supporting them either, the best of luck to them and one element of silver lining is that tthis is an opportunity to blood some new talent. But the reality remains that they are a 'b' team and won't win an All-Ireland

'D' team you mean, and players are still dropping off (Steven McDonnell for example). We will lose every league game, get relegated to Division 2 and get hammered even worse in the championship.

Where exactly is the benefit for Cork GAA in such a dismal scenario? Hopefully, the current squad will go on strike as well, leaving Ger and the CCB well and truly screwed.

As fo the people actually celebrating at the Dublin match after a three goal defeat... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭spillcoe

To describe this panel of players in the terms you have done above is a disgrace. The amount of time and effort that they have put into Cork GAA over the past 10 years is unbelievable with many of them putting their work and social lives on hold in pursuit of success. Clearly you have absolutely no understanding of the issues involved and have very little knowledge of the GAA and specifically what these playerys have done in the past if you believe that they are a "festering boil on the GAA's ass". These kind of idiotic, sweeping comments do nothing to further the debate.

Have a look at this article in the Times today for a fair and reasonable look at the issue from someone who seems to have a fairly good understanding of what is going on (and no agenda or bias one way or the other unlike most people, myself included)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭spillcoe

The Cork County Board and Gerald McCarthy will sooner or later have to accept that without the players’ support the manager’s position is simply untenable, writes Seán Moran

IT’S HARD to imagine a weirder opening to Anthony Daly’s tenure as Dublin hurling manager than what’s about to unfold this weekend. The former Clare captain and manager had to conjure up a range of motivations when leading out teams to face Cork at various points in that relationship but he could hardly have imagined taking Dublin down to Cork in the National League and seeing his team go in at 5 to 2 on.
    The strangeness of the situation from Dublin’s perspective is scarcely noticeable when compared to Cork’s predicament. Unlike last year there is no straining against the deadline of a league campaign to try to resolve the conflict between players, management and county board. It has been accepted on all sides that the county’s first-choice players may play no role in the campaign at all.
    That this has been the latest instalment in a sequence of administratively dysfunctional episodes has contributed to the general indifference outside of the county and whereas that attitude has caused resentment, it also reflects the fact that nothing can be done to resolve the problem without a major climb-down or capitulation on either side.
    Even Croke Park’s tentative efforts at intervention are accompanied by the acceptance of that pessimistic reality.
    Yet there are genuine national interests at stake. Hurling has such a thin cast of championship counties that the loss of any would be a setback and the loss of one as important as Cork is a serious blow. For all that the current team, halfway between the twilight of great careers and the dawn of others, can’t be regarded as All-Ireland contenders in the era of the current, exceptional Kilkenny side they have that elusive, box-office quality.
    Although there was never any real doubt about how the counties’ All-Ireland semi-final collision would work out last August, the match was Kilkenny’s toughest of the campaign and the only one in which their superiority on the scoreboard was restricted to single digits. Cork continue to attract great support with over 70,000 in attendance for the above semi-final. In a year when a decline in gate receipts is expected the GAA can ill- afford to be losing a crowd-pulling presence of this magnitude.
    Just about everything that could go wrong with this crisis has gone wrong. The genesis can be traced back to the resolution of last year’s stand-off over the appointment of Teddy Holland as manager of the footballers. Although that fiasco concluded with the players winning on all counts and Holland being dismissed by the very board that had heedlessly appointed him just a couple of months previously, the victory would prove pyrrhic. The only reason the county board agreed to be bound by mediator Kieran Mulvey’s arbitration was they believed they would win the argument. In the event Mulvey did what all professional arbitrators do – picked the simplest and most deliverable resolution and Holland was gone.
    Part of the arbitration dealt with how matters within the county might move forward. Some of it makes for wistful reading a year later: “Future disputes should be resolved by mediation and, if unresolved, by agreed arbitration,” and “There should be no recriminations by either side arising from the history of this dispute and all should work together to rebuild the damaged relationships between the parties for the betterment of Cork GAA.”
    At the heart of the current impasse is Gerald McCarthy’s reappointment for a further two-year term. Under the structures proposed by Mulvey the appointment was made by a committee that included two players.
    This was a gallant attempt to establish best practice on a structured basis. There can’t be a county in the country that doesn’t informally take soundings from senior players before making an appointment of this nature. The problem here is the county executive evidently understood the appointments committee to be another theatre of war in which to re-engage in hostilities with the players.
    By simply using their inbuilt majority the officials bludgeoned through the reappointment of Gerald McCarthy, again recklessly indifferent to player reservations and by extension the future of hurling within the county. It’s not known why McCarthy decided to stay on in defiance of the wishes of those he would be expected to manage. It has been argued on his behalf that he was genuinely unaware of player hostility and that even the appointment after last June’s Tipperary defeat of facilitator Cathal O’Reilly – advanced by the players as proof that the wheels were coming off the management – was intended to address onfield concerns rather than a crisis in that core relationship.
    Whatever the reason for accepting reappointment, it’s no secret why McCarthy dug in his heels. The old combative instincts, which to many observers seemed to have drained away from the manager by the time of the Tipperary defeat, were reignited by the public criticism of his management by players as the dispute escalated last November.
    What has passed between the parties, with the county board apparently happy to let the manager engage in slagging routines with the players, makes rapprochement impossible despite McCarthy’s bizarre insistence after each fusillade that his door remains open to the 2008 panel. Right now the smart money is on a great deal more damage being done before any settlement takes root, in which case Croke Park’s intervention will have to be aimed at controlling the possibilities of further eruptions in the years ahead.
    A year ago Mulvey’s arbitration diplomatically noted the provocative appointment of Holland: “The board was entitled to appoint a manager in accordance with their rules and procedures and, in this respect; they have acted in a legitimate fashion. It was unwise, however, to proceed to do so in view of the players’ stated opposition and their view of the ‘understanding’ the players believed they had obtained in relation to future management/selector appointments, arising from the outcome of the ‘2002 Dispute’.”
    Same situation. Same solution. It’s only a matter of whether McCarthy and the county board accept that reality sooner – in time to salvage something from this season – or later – perhaps after relegation to the Christy Ring Cup. smoran@irishtimes.com

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0204/1233713217729.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Ger should walk, he doesn't have the inspiration to train a Cork team to beat Kilkenny. In the past few years Kilkenny have beaten every other team by a margin of ten points or more. There is no way that Ger has the capability of training the Cork team to beat them. The Cork players know this, and they want a change.
    It is the County Board who are truly the cause of this whole mess, someone up above nailed it when they mentioned the CCB forgetting their grass roots.
    One cannot hold the players responsible, or lazy or any of the other idiotic claims that have been leveled again them. The time, effort, commitment, training that they give their club & county is to be commended not slagged.
    Cork needs a change, and the '08 squad seem to be sacrificing themselves to create it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Alfie Boon

Under no circumstances should McCarthy walk away from a position that he was elected to,fairly and squarely.
    The crux of the issue here is the inability of the 08 panel to accept that they are not in the top 3 teams anymore.
    They can blame the CCC,the coach or his background staff all they like,but it still wont make them win an All Ireland.

THEY ARE SIMPLY GONE TOO OLD AND STALE

Accept it or keep the heads in the sand for a little longer.They have ruined alot of goodwill around the country over this.
    I wonder how many medal presentations those lads will get invited to now around Ireland?
    I'd say poor old Sean Og is devasated;)
    They are a disgrace to themselves and their county.An utter disgrace.
    Correct me if Im wrong but I always thought that when you pull on your county jersey you're doing it for yourself,your family,your club and finally for your county.
    YOU ARE NOT DOING IT FOR YOUR COACH OR COUNTY BOARD
    I heard reports of them complaining of too much butter on their sandwiches,FFS!!!
    The hurling community will be far better off when they are finally gone.
    Such a militant bunch of troublemakers!
    Please spare me the old alturistic arguement of "doing it for the next generation"
    Thats horse****.

The only way to resolve this in a fair way, is for Ger McCarthy to resign, and for Cusack, The O'Connors and Sean Og to be dropped from the panel for good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 4pointplay

Be it basketball or bare knuckle fist fighting Cork beats the lot of you hands down.;)

I don't know why Cork doesn't have more strength in depth, it has 5.5 times the population of Kilkenny who could put out two full squads....in theory Cork should be competitive without the striking players.
    It must be a worry for Cork as Tipperary look like the upcoming force from Munster.

I don't know why Cork doesn't have more strength in depth, it has 5.5 times the population of Kilkenny who could put out two full squads....in theory Cork should be competitive without the striking players.
    It must be a worry for Cork as Tipperary look like the upcoming force from Munster.

Competitive in what way? As in our fifth team should be beating Dublin easily? Dublin have the biggest population in the country - why aren't they hammering Kilkenny every year? :rolleyes:

The fact that we can still put out a half decent inter county team after 50+ players opting out is a miracle. God only knows what you expect when we put out a team of (largely second rate) youngsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Competitive in what way? As in our fifth team should be beating Dublin easily? Dublin have the biggest population in the country - why aren't they hammering Kilkenny every year? :rolleyes:

The fact that we can still put out a half decent inter county team after 50+ players opting out is a miracle. God only knows what you expect when we put out a team of (largely second rate) youngsters.

Dublin has the biggest population but not necessarily the biggest GAA playing population.I believe that it is Cork who have the biggst playing population in Ireland.Thats beside the point.

Dublin has invested in hurling more over the last few years.We haven't won an All Ireland Hurling Championship in donkeys but we are making a lot of progress.Kilkenny on the other hand have invested all their funds into hurling and treat the footballers as if they weren't there.It is no mistake that Kilkenny have won what they have when you look at their attitude to the game.It is in their blood like football is to Kerry.

Cork can't simply blame McCarthy for failing to beat Kilkenny in the semi finals last year.He can't pass the sliotar for them or put it over the bar for them.Cork beat Galway when they weren't expected to.There are more positives there than negatives in terms of performances and results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

queen-mise wrote: »
    Ger should walk, he doesn't have the inspiration to train a Cork team to beat Kilkenny. In the past few years Kilkenny have beaten every other team by a margin of ten points or more. There is no way that Ger has the capability of training the Cork team to beat them. The Cork players know this, and they want a change.
    It is the County Board who are truly the cause of this whole mess, someone up above nailed it when they mentioned the CCB forgetting their grass roots.
    One cannot hold the players responsible, or lazy or any of the other idiotic claims that have been leveled again them. The time, effort, commitment, training that they give their club & county is to be commended not slagged.
    Cork needs a change, and the '08 squad seem to be sacrificing themselves to create it.

Utter nonsense, Cork dont have a squad that is good enough to consistantly challenge Kilkenny. This is only Gerald Macs fault if he is ommiting players that should be good enough. Otherwise the players are as much to blame as he is.

Maybe you should face up to the fact that this Kilkenny team is exceptional, and POSSIBLY the best TEAM ever to play together in hurling. Sometimes the other team are just better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

queen-mise wrote: »
    Ger should walk, he doesn't have the inspiration to train a Cork team to beat Kilkenny. In the past few years Kilkenny have beaten every other team by a margin of ten points or more.

Every other team, except Limerick:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

I think I'd be with Gerald McCarty on this one, the way I see it is

1) Gerald McCarthy was reinstated as manager using correct procedures as agreed upon by the players (The procedures that is).

2) The '08 squad don't want him as manager. They want to veto his appointment.

Players having a veto over who the manager is, is wrong. Therefore the '08 squads position is hard to sympathise with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

baztard wrote: »

1) Gerald McCarthy was reinstated as manager using correct procedures as agreed upon by the players (The procedures that is).

Under no circumstances should McCarthy walk away from a position that he was elected to,fairly and squarely.

How can either of you say Gerald McCarthy was elected fairly? The now infamous 5 meeting process was a total joke. The CB had no intention of looking at any other manager except Gerald. The players laid out all their grievences about the training and setup for the previous 2 years and still the CB ignored them. This shows a total lack of respect for the players by the CB. Can the CB honestly say there were acting for the good of Cork hurling when they went ahead and appointed a coach that the players had so clearly objected to. AS Donal Og put it, the CB followed the law of the process, but not the spirit.

And even when the 'process' was over and it was time for the club delegates to vote on the manager, the CB continued to act disgracefully.
    Firstly not one word of the players objection to Gerald was mentioned to the club delegates before they voted. Also, the biggest disgrace of all
    the motion to reinstate Gerald was bundled together with the motion to reappoint Conor Counihan. So only 1 vote was taken. Obviously the delegates are going to vote to reappoint CC, after a promising previous year.
    Putting these 2 types of motions together for 1 vote would not happen in the worst run Junior B club in Ireland, yet the wonderful County Board think that kind of carry on is acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

How can either of you say Gerald McCarthy was elected fairly? The now infamous 5 meeting process was a total joke. The CB had no intention of looking at any other manager except Gerald. The players laid out all their grievences about the training and setup for the previous 2 years and still the CB ignored them. This shows a total lack of respect for the players by the CB. Can the CB honestly say there were acting for the good of Cork hurling when they went ahead and appointed a coach that the players had so clearly objected to. AS Donal Og put it, the CB followed the law of the process, but not the spirit.

And even when the 'process' was over and it was time for the club delegates to vote on the manager, the CB continued to act disgracefully.
    Firstly not one word of the players objection to Gerald was mentioned to the club delegates before they voted. Also, the biggest disgrace of all
    the motion to reinstate Gerald was bundled together with the motion to reappoint Conor Counihan. So only 1 vote was taken. Obviously the delegates are going to vote to reappoint CC, after a promising previous year.
    Putting these 2 types of motions together for 1 vote would not happen in the worst run Junior B club in Ireland, yet the wonderful County Board think that kind of carry on is acceptable.

I got bored halfway through your post as I am bored of this entire topic. The county board reappointed him, through the process that the players agreed to after a strike a year ago. The players certainly took their time in coming to this agreement last year, so they gave it plenty of consideration. Like any other agreement, the terms are binding. If the players got out manouvered here, that really is their problem. The players never tried to suggest an alternative, they just whined about the current set up. Seems to be all they are good for really, whining and striking, striking and whining!!!!

They should be turfed out, they will only start again next year anyway after Kilkenny give them another good hiding

blackbelt wrote: »
    Dublin has the biggest population but not necessarily the biggest GAA playing population.I believe that it is Cork who have the biggst playing population in Ireland.Thats beside the point.

Dublin has invested in hurling more over the last few years.We haven't won an All Ireland Hurling Championship in donkeys but we are making a lot of progress.Kilkenny on the other hand have invested all their funds into hurling and treat the footballers as if they weren't there.It is no mistake that Kilkenny have won what they have when you look at their attitude to the game.It is in their blood like football is to Kerry.

Cork can't simply blame McCarthy for failing to beat Kilkenny in the semi finals last year.He can't pass the sliotar for them or put it over the bar for them.Cork beat Galway when they weren't expected to.There are more positives there than negatives in terms of performances and results.

I certainly can't say I saw it that way.

This whole argument about Ger not being responsible is highly dubious. You are arguing that managers - the people that choose the tactics, train and pick the teams - are not responsible for their team's defeat? Really? Are you sure your sympathies with Ger aren't quite clouding your judgement?

And I wasn't having a go at Dublin GAA, I was defending Cork GAA against the absurd notion that we should be still competing at the same high level after loses dozens and dozens of our finest players.

baztard wrote: »

2) The '08 squad don't want him as manager. They want to veto his appointment.

Players having a veto over who the manager is, is wrong. Therefore the '08 squads position is hard to sympathise with.

The way I see it is...

1) The benefit and well being to Cork GAA overrides all other considerations.

2) Getting relegated to Division 2, creating apathy and discord throughout the county and getting hammered in the championship is highly destructive to Cork GAA.

3) The scenario in 2) can only be avoided, and the progression of Cork GAA assured, by the resignation of Ger McCarthy.

Hence, Ger McCarthy, for the greater good of Cork GAA, should **** off.

The way I see it is...

2) Getting relegated to Division 2, creating apathy and discord throughout the county and getting hammered in the championship is highly destructive to Cork GAA.

3) The scenario in 2) can only be avoided, and the progression of Cork GAA assured, by the resignation of Ger McCarthy.

1) Completely agree, which is why the players should never have gone on strike in the first place. They choose angry press releases and months on confusion over what they should be doing, training for the new season, and in turn, the well being of the Cork GAA.
    2) +1

3) Switch Ger McCarthy with Ger McCarthy AND Frank Murphy and you're right. But even if Gerald does resign at this stage, does anyone honestly everything will be all fine and dandy again, or as you put it, assure the progression of Cork GAA?

Lets hypothetically say Gerald resigns, a new manager is appointed and the players return...what will happen? Well, no doubt they'll put up a good fight, but they won't win either Munster or the All Ireland this year. Not a hope.

November 09 will come around and more words of discontent will emit from the panel. There's disagreements over how to select a new manager. Frank Murphy has his way (he is the boss after all). Will the players go on strike again? Its not entirely ouside the realms of possibility.

The resignation of Gerald might be a step in the right direction, but it will merely paint over cracks before the panel and Frank Murphy have another run-in in the not too distant future.

I must say Orizio, you've really changed your tune over the past few months as this progressed. Remember this post you wrote once news of the strike first broke last October?
    Meh, looks like I was wrong and everyone else was right.

Obviously I had a bit too much respect, or belief, in the Cork panel's, well, level of common sense. I was actually reading the Ben O'Connor interview a couple of days ago and taught what a steaming pile of irrational gibberish. Completely bereft of humility or respect for the people of Cork. I just hope the footballers see sense and tell the hurlers to feck off.

Let the squad retire, and start from scratch.

Now you're in full support of the players returning and have said Gerald McCarthy should **** off.

What happened? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 LesRitaMitsouko

Why you get a grip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Bug!!!

Plain and simple cork are a joke and even if they get a new and improved manager they still wont win anything!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

The way I see it is...

On your points...

1) I agree.

2) Yes.

3) The scenario in 2) can only be avoided, and the progression of Cork GAA assured, by the players acknowledging that they dont have a veto over who gets appointed as the manager. They have 2 votes out of 5, but they want 5 out 5. It really is that simple.