Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WOULD YOU DIE FOR IRELAND?.

• 04-02-2009 7:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭

Just curious
    I notice in other threads people talking about what makes them proud to be irish ,patriotism etc.Giving the current situation and the shower in government.
    If we were invaded tomorrow .Would you ?

(A)Put your life on the line to fight the invader as other irishmen have in our past.
    OR
    (B)Welcome them with open arms and say bugger ireland

Many other countries still pride themselves on been willing to fight and die for their country.Apart from the obvious ,family,friends,self ,etc. What in Ireland would you fight and die for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Depends on who the invaders are and whether or not they can run the country better than the current shower...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

No fúck that imo - I don't even like the place.

We'd be lucky if someone took it off our hands.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

What, and miss out on the opportunity to have a proper government?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

Just curious
    I notice in other threads people talking about what makes them proud to be irish ,patriotism etc.Giving the current situation and the shower in government.
    If we were invaded tomorrow .Would you ?

(A)Put your life on the line to fight the invader as other irishmen have in our past.
    OR
    (B)Welcome them with open arms and say bugger ireland

Many other countries still pride themselves on been willing to fight and die for their country.Apart from the obvious ,family,friends,self ,etc.What in Ireland would you fight and die for.

Huh? Screw them if an invasion happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

FVCK, NO!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Rashers. ;) I'll fight to the death if the're ever banned again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭SF1

With our current government no, but it depends who the invaders are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Would love to but I' m washing my hair tonight .

keane2097 wrote: »
    No fúck that imo - I don't even like the place.

We'd be lucky if someone took it off our hands.

No Auctioner would touch it.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Kylie ireland, possibly. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Christ no...could you imagine the shame of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I'd die for Ireland.

It will always have a place in my heart, regardless of how bad or good things are going. It helped make me who I am today and will have a hand in what I become as I get older. So if it came to it, I'd die while serving under it's flag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Mena wrote: »
    Depends on who the invaders are and whether or not they can run the country better than the current shower...

The Pirates of the Caribbean could run this country better.... O wait, they weren't real.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Personally, I'm dying over you already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Their welcome to it.

Not a chance.

I've never understood how people say they are proud to be Irish. It's not like you have a choice in the matter, you're simply born here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

No, not a chance in hell.

Not a chance.

I've never understood how people say they are proud to be Irish. It's not like you have a choice in the matter, you're simply born here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Hell to the no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I would but only if I would be able to see the credit I get for it when I die. Otherwise I consider the OP to be a death-threat

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

In a heartbeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I always thought the point of war was not to die for your country, but to make the other bastard die for his?

Patton didn't know what he was talking about :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Only from natural causes since thats how im goin anyway.
    That way i never have to do anything but still get remembered as a hero :pac:

why are the only options die for your country or welcome the invaders with open arms?

What would I do? I'd find a nice comfy fence, and sit on it til other people sorted out the mess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

mikom wrote: »
    Kylie ireland, possibly. :pac:

I'd crawl through a mile of her sh1t just to see where it came from.

I would fight for Ireland, in fact I would set up a proper resistance Movement, then fight the new lads, and then take over the country and install true intellectuals as our Leaders.

No more elections though, the Irish people have shown time and time again they can't be trusted to pick their own government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

I would die for my family, ireland.....dont think so

, you're simply born here.

Not always simple, my ma went through 96 hours of labour.:P

and yet you have word RUSH in your user name. Oh the irony :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

There's thousands of Brits over in the Middle East risking their lives to pretty much save the world from terrorism. Each of them could be back living their life in the UK. If there was a risk of my nationality, the nationality of my future kids, etc. being taken away I'd certainly be risking my life to fight for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I wouldn't die for Ireland.

However, if I had the chance to go back to being a 16 year old, I would have seriously thought about joining the defence forces, be it Irish or British. Not to defend any country in particular, but to make a ''difference'', not that it would work out that way.

****, you'd better tell that tool Padraig Pearse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Are we talking 32 counties here... because dying for 26 of them has already been done!!

I wouldn't dye my hair for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Would I die for Ireland? No, but I'd happily sacrifice you and your family for it.

Kold wrote: »
    ****, you'd better tell that tool Padraig Pearse.

He'll be fine, it's not as if he thinks he'll beat the British army with a few dozen Volunteers:D.....oh wait...........feck, too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Not a chance.

Bullsh1t, its more than a case of "your simply born here", the people around you molded your character, your way of thinking, basically who you are . You were raised as an Irish person, and you'd probably be a much different person if you were raised in Japan or America or wherever.

Id defend my country and be willing to die for it, just because our government is a mess doesnt mean its worth abandoning our people as a culture or nation.
    Im shocked with the amount of people saying not a chance.
    The funny thing is Im not even a nationalist and was never into the RA etc, I even voted yes for the lisbon treaty.

galwayrush wrote: »
    He'll be fine, it's not as if he thinks he'll beat the British army with a few dozen Volunteers:D.....oh wait...........feck, too late

In fairness, he was never under the illusion that he had a chance against the Brits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

I would die for Ireland. Complain as we all may, our families live great lives compared to how they could be living under some foreign invaders rule.

As it stands now, I'm more likely to die for Queen and Country sooner :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭KieranKennedy

Well if the request was written in capital letters I would consider it

Just asked the wife, she said NO.;)

galwayrush wrote: »

I saw that freak pouring the blood of patriots on his azalias.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Yeah, I probably would. Although I'd never ever go anywhere near a war otherwise - Ireland being invaded is the only thing that would ever make me want to join the army.

Not that I'd be any use anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Would i fcuk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Everyone in this thread is a little girl's blouse!

Dlofnep would die for Ireland, ressurect himself like Jesus just so he could die again!

dlofnep wrote: »
    Everyone in this thread is a little girl's blouse!

Dlofnep would die for Ireland, ressurect himself like Jesus just so he could die again!

But I said I'd die as well :(

Can I stop being a girls blouse now? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭IHATELIBERTAS

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭sneakerfreak

OPs question is meaningless really,we have been invaded and a foreign nation occupies roughly a third of our island and it is obvious that very little Irish are willing to die for their country.

Apparently the Provos werent willing to die or kill much either once they had some sterling handed over to them and got to drive some expensive cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭IHATELIBERTAS

good point. reading up on the british occupation of this country and they really really really did oppress us.