Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WATERFORD MUAY THAI AMATEUR AND PRO SHOW

• 04-02-2009 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭

Hi Everyone,
    Just letting you know about the Irish Muay Thai Council I.F.M.A and W.M.C shows that we're holding in Waterford on Saturday the 21st of February in the Woodlands hotel.
    The amateur show, roughly 18 fights will start at 12.30 sharp and weigh in at 11.00 entry fee €5.
    The pro show, 10 fights will start at 7pm sharp, doors open at 6.30 and weigh in the night before, normal seats €20 and ringside €30.
    Ringside tickets will get you into the two shows.

The Amateur show is looking like
    Shane Bohnam (Galway MT) V Dylan McDonagh (Bridgestone) 53KGS

Kamel Kadic (Bridgestone) V Paul Duggan (SJP) 75KGS

Davidas (Bridgestone) V Mark Army (SJP) 83KGS

Robbie Morrissey (Waterford MT) V Sham Tomascheushi (Spartan MT) 95KGS
    Martin Malone (Waterford MT) V Marcin (Macroom MT) 88KGS

John McClafferty (Waterford MT) V Tom Hopkins (Hanuman) 75KGS

Tim (Spartan MT) V Kristoph (Arklow MT) 78KGS

Wajteh Tomascheushi (Spartan MT) V Shane McLORY (Newry MT) 62KGS

Sean (SJP) V Eddie Comerford (Carlow MT) 70KGS

Brian Darcy (SJP) V David Kotwicki (Galway MT) 72KGS

Ryan Courtney (Spartan MT) V Shane McConkey (Bridgestone) 60KGS

Chris Cooney (Hanuman) V Lucas Grzegorczyk (Carlow MT) 69KGS

Adrian (Bridgestone) V TONY Walsh (Waterford MT) 67KGS

Ross Quinlan (Waterford MT) V Colly Cambell (Newry MT) 70KGS

Tommy Tyler (Waterford MT) V Luke (SJP) 63KGS

Marcin (Macroom MT) V Tommy (Spartan MT) 88KGS

Tommy Klose (Macroom MT) V Gary Ormond (Chuapsart) 71KGS

Ian Kavanagh (Waterford MT) V Tomas Novikov (Bridgestone) 70KGS

Justin Reidy (Waterford MT) V Raphael Ravom (Bridgerstone) 65KGS

David Kavanagh (Waterford MT) V Thomas Wodzinsi (Galway MT) 77KGS

Tony Kelly (Waterford MT) V Sean Quinn (Chuapsart) 70KGS.

The pro show line up
    Dave Leahy(SJP) V Declan McGuiness(Louth Thai) 70KGS

Sean Hodgers (Louth Thai) V Niall Molloy (Bridgestone) 65KGS

Paddy Ivors(Carlow MT) V Macin Sovoloski (SJP) 65KGS

Keith O Donovan (SJP) V Aslan Basayne (Bridgestone) 70KGS

Barry Ross (Waterford MT) V Naoise Creven (Bridgestone) 77KGS

Kevin Delaney (Waterford MT) V Denis Kelly (SJP) 69KGS

Michael Betts (Waterford MT) V Matthieu Bartoli (Galway MT) 62KGS

Dtomas (SJP) V Serga (Galway MT) 81KGS
    Anyone looking for tickets can ring me on 087 6852521 or send me a PM.
    Regards,
    John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Thats some bill AND some day's work ahead of YOU John:). Best of luck with the shows buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Some lineup alright. Very best of luck with it. I've to be at a christening, then a 30th so I wont be there, but I am _bitter_ about missing it. :mad:

I know Niall Molloy's fight is A class. Should be a cracker. What about the other pro fights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 tiger king thai

best of luck john. really looking forward to both shows. goging to be a long day but i know you will keep me well supplied with tea and water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭j walsh

Your pushing it now Eric :D

Dont worry Dave i'll catch you to do something.

Dave Leahy v Declan McGuiness and
    Paddy Ivors v Macin Sovoloski are A Class also
    Keith O Donovan v Aslan Basayve is B Class.
    The rest are C Class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭lynnemc

Nice one John, good luck with it. I'd love to make it out but we have a few kickboxing in Thurles that night. Might make it out to see some of the earlier bouts though !

Thanks Lynne, was upto my eyes sorry i didn't get back to you.

poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭lynnemc

Hey that no problems man. I know how busy ya'd be trying to organize the show so that everything goes smoothly on the day !
    I saw the poster in work anyway ! Nice !

Well....The amateurs are out for me for sure.....No getting out of the christening....but negotiations have begun for the Pro's. :D

Best of luck with that so Khannie, hope to see you there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭waterfordkick

best of luck to all the lads fighting on the show !
    From Billy and the gang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Kevin Moran

best of luck with the show john, pity it wasn't 12 months ago, would loved to have had the chance to represent the deise. . . . . . . .ok thats a bit much, maybe loved to have represented walsh's gym! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Will be in Dublin for it, sorry man. best of luck with it

Ah never mind , next time john.

ya you were going a tad far with that one Kev, best of luck with you rematch, talk soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Siamdragon

Good luck to all fighter on Saturday night in waterford exspecailly all our own lads, we have abt 30 people coming down with us john so could be a wild part after, its good to see shows been held again in waterford its been along time since the Rocky shows of the olden days

good luck everyone

SjP.

Wont make this one. Bitter about it. There was no wrangling my way out of the Christening / afters. Should be a great show though.

Best of luck to all the lads, especially the Bridgestone heads.

>HERE IS AN UPDATED
    PRO SHOW FIGHT CARD
    > ...................................................................................................................................................................
    > 1ST (C) CLASS TONY (TOOTSIE) WALSH V ADRIAN SIGNORONI 65 KGS 3 X 2 MINS WATERFORD MUAY THAI V BRIDGESTONE
    > ....................................................................................................................................................................
    > 2ND (C) CLASS ROSS QUINLAN V COLLY CAMBELL 70 KGS 3 X 2 MINS
    > WATERFORD MUAY THAI V NEWRY MUAY THAI
    > .....................................................................................................................................................................
    > 3RD (C) CLASS JOHN McCLAFFERTY V TIM O NEILL 78 KGS 3 X 2 MINS
    > WATERFORD MUAY THAI V SPARTAN
    > ....................................................................................................................................................................
    > 4TH (C) CLASS IAN KAVANAGH V TOMAS NOVIKOV 70 KGS 3 X 2 MINS
    > WATERFORD MUAY THAI V BRIDGESTONE
    > 5TH (C) CLASS DTOMAS V MARK CASSERLY 82 KGS 3 X 2 MINS
    > SITJAIPETCH V CHUAPSART
    > 6TH (C) CLASS BARRY ROSS V NAOISE CREAVEN 77 KGS 3 X 2 MINS
    > WATERFORD MUAY THAI V BRIDGESTONE
    > 7TH (C) CLASS KEVIN DELANEY V DENIS KELLY 69 KGS 3 X 2 MINS
    > WATERFORD MUAY THAI V SITJAIPETCH
    > 8TH (C) CLASS MICHAEL BETTS V MATTHEW 62 KGS 5 X 2 MINS
    > WATERFORD MUAY THAI V PAT McEVOY GYM
    > ...................................................................................................................................................................
    > 9TH (B) CLASS KEITH O DONOVAN V ASLAN BISAYEV 70 KGS 5 X 2 MINS SITJAIPETCH V BRIDGESTONE
    > 10TH (B) CLASS NEILL CULLIGAN V DECLAN McGUINNSS 70 KGS 5 X 2 MINS CHUAPSART V LOUTH THAI
    >
    > THE JOINT MAIN EVENTS
    > FULL MUAY THAI RULES
    >
    >
    > 11TH (A) CLASS PADDY IVORS V MACIN SOVOLOSKI 65 KGS 5 X 3 MINS CARLOW MUAY V THAI SITJAIPETCH
    > 12TH (A) CLASS SEAN HODGERS V NIALL MOLLOY 65 KGS 5 X 3 MINS LOUTH THAI V BRIDGESTONE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭mugger

Last aw ****:mad:.you could put 1 of them main events on in the middle of the show john hint hint:rolleyes:.ah not 2 worry.looking forward to this.goodluck to all the dublin lads hope the show goes well

Sorry about that mugger , the old saying is keeping the best for last,
    i never liked it my self years ago but i have to look at it a different way now.Best of luck.
    There's being a few changes lads, out of my control i'm afraid,injuries and all, and this might change aswell but the novice show is looking like this.

Robbie Morrissey (Waterford MT) V Sham Tomascheushi (Spartan MT) 95KGS
    Shane Bohnam (Galway MT) V Dylan McDonagh (Bridgestone) 53KGS

Martin Malone (Waterford MT) V Marcin (Macroom MT) 88KGS

Davidas (Bridgestone) V Mark Army (SJP) 83KGS

Sean (SJP) V Eddie Comerford (Carlow MT) 70KGS

Tommy Tyler (Waterford MT) V Luke (SJP) 63KGS

Niall Crean (Kingdom warriors) V Gary Ormond (Chuapsart) 71KGS

Ian Kavanagh (Waterford MT) V Tomas Novikov (Bridgestone) 70KGS
    (i had this fight in the pro show but i've had to change it sorry lads)

David Kavanagh (Waterford MT) V Kamel Belkadi (Bridgestone) 77KGS

Justin Reidy (Waterford MT) V Raphael Ravom (Bridgerstone) 65KGS

Chris Cooney (Hanuman) V Lucas Grzegorczyk (Carlow MT) 69KGS

Regards,
    John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭mugger

then why am i on last:p.ah iam use to it now.best of luck with the show anyway.see ye all down der

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Siamdragon

This Show is Santioned By the Irish Mauythai Council & Federation of Amatuer Muaythai Ireland and the WMC/IFMA Thailand,

The officail weight in for all the Pro Fighter's will be Friday Night 7pm at the Woodlands Hotel

Weight in for all Amatuer will be 11am Saturday morning in the Hotel
    no Amatuer fighter can weight in on Friday night.

Remember everyone that Fighter Books must be handed in at weight in

No Book , No Weight in , No Fight

First Competion of the day will be the Amatuer show which will start at 12:30

Good Luck to Everyone

Craig O'Flynn

Best of luck to all 13 (unlucky for all the rest :D:D:D) waterford fighters on Saturday, all the hard work is done , just go out and do us proud.
    John.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 tiger king thai

great day and night to be had for all. thanns john for a a fun packed and exciting day. it was my pleasure to be at ring side most of the day. best fight of the night had to be between paddy and max pity there had tobe a winner between the two. looking forward to the next waterford show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Any results?

I’m sorry for the delay in posting the results everyone, here’s the pro show first.
    1st Tom (tootsie) Walsh V Adrian Signorni, points win for Tom Walsh.
    Waterford Muay Thai Bridgestone.
    2nd Ross Quinlan V Colin Cambell, points win for Colin Cambell.
    Waterford Muay Thai Newry Muay Thai.
    3rd John McClafferty V Tim O Neill, points win for John McClafferty.
    Waterford Muay Thai Spartan.
    4th Dtomas V Mark Casserly, TKO WIN FOR Mark Casserly.
    Sitjaipetch Chuapsart.
    5th Barry Ross V Naoise Creaven, Winner Naoise Creaven, Barry retired after 1st round.
    Waterford Muay Thai Bridgestone.
    6th Kevin Delaney V Dennis Kelly, 1st round KO win for Kevin Delaney.
    Waterford Muay Thai Sitjaipetch.
    7th Michael Betts V Matthew Bartoli, 1st round TKO win for Michael Betts,
    Waterford Muay Thai Galway Muay Thai.
    8th Neill Culligan V Declan McGuiness, Result a Draw.
    Chuapsart Louth Muay Thai.
    9th Keith O Donovan V Aslan Bisayev, 2nd round TKO win for Aslan Bisayev,
    Sitjaipetch Bridgestone.
    10th Paddy Ivors V Macin Sovoloski, points win for Paddy Ivors .
    Carlow Muay Thai Sitjaipetch. This was the fight of the fight and I’m sure a contender for fight of the year.
    11th Sean Hodgers V Niall Molloy, Winner Sean Hodgers, Niall retired after the 1st round.
    Louth Muay Thai Bridgestone.
    Thanks to all the Trainers, Fighters, Officials and fans that made the event Fantastic.

I'm after forgetting some of the results lads sorry can somone fill in the blanks.

Greg Grudziev (Bridgestone) V Mark Army (SJP) 83KGS.
    Points win Greg.

Tommy Tyler (Waterford MT) V Dylan McGuiness(Bridgestone) 63KGS.
    Points win Dylan.

Niall Crean (Kingdom warriors) V Gary Ormond (Chuapsart) 71KGS

Ian Kavanagh (Waterford MT) V Tomas Novikov (Bridgestone) 70KGS.
    Points win Ian.

David Kavanagh (Waterford MT) V Kamel Belkadi (Bridgestone) 77KGS.
    Points win David.

Justin Reidy (Waterford MT) V Raphael Ravom (Bridgestone) 65KGS.
    Points win Justin.

Chris Cooney (Hanuman) V Lucas Grzegorczyk (Carlow MT) 69KGS.
    Points win

Points win Tony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Well done to the lads!

Chris Cooney also won on points, on the novice show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 WMT

Have to say it was a fantasic show, a big well done to all involved. Especially all the Waterford Muay Thai lads. Must also mention paddy ivors and macin sovoloski for fight of the night , again well done to all involved, looking forward to the next show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

good few pics here lads http://donkphotography.blogspot.com/

dave80 wrote: »
    good few pics here lads http://donkphotography.blogspot.com/

Some great pics there. Thanks for the link. Did you take the pics?

My favourites:
    This. Look at the lads face in the green top. Classic! :D
    This. Just think it's a class pic. Helps to know the lad I suppose.
    This. Right at the moment of impact. Lovely shot.
    and This. Great mutual respect afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Khannie wrote: »
    Some great pics there. Thanks for the link. Did you take the pics?

no wish i did, found the link on different site, class pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭foams

Hi, fair play to Waterford Muay Thai for putting on such
    a well organised show and well done to all fighters who
    got in the ring. It was the first Thai-boxing show i have seen
    in Ireland and i thought the fights were poor, there were some good
    fighters but they seemed poorly matched, just my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 donkphotography

Hey LADS,

I'm the photographer who took those shots! It was a good nite! Good action photographs! ;) Looking forward on the next one!

Don-K

http://donkphotography.blogspot.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

This is my favourite

http://www.flickr.com/photos/donkphotography/3301422803/

Great work donk

Fair play to ye Don. Some great shots. Welcome to boards.ie too. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jinkazno1

Hey , I'm the guy in the green shorts and the blood all over him:D really well organised show, its a credit to john, the photo's are deadly, i didn't see all the fights but i heard they were good. I'm told me and Max were a great fight so glad we could entertain everyone. Again well done to John.

Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 donkphotography

Thanks LADS!

by the way, it's actually DON-K :D:);) Hope you guys read the story line on my blogspot along with those photos,hehe!

I heard, next fight is in MARCH? same location in waterford? Is that true? Maybe differrent fighters? Fights are really cinematic when captured on camera BUT REAL specially the 2nd last, the crowd's favourite!

More power guys! ;)

The Next Muay Thai show's are in cork in March, Siam Warriors are holding their's on 7th of march in the Silversprings Hotel and Sitjaipetch are holding thier show on 14th of March in The New Sunbeam Business Park in Blackpool.

Sorry

The Sitjaipetch show is on in The Montenottee Hotel in Cork, Not in thier gym as in last post.

WMT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 david cork

. It was the first Thai-boxing show i have seen
    in Ireland and i thought the fights were poor, there were some good
    fighters but they seemed poorly matched, just my opinion.[/quote]
    dont agree with you on poor fights for one. i was there for the novice show most of the guys were in the ring for the first time and have yet to find there feel of the ring . In the evening there were injuries and stopped fights. everybody who fought was put against a fighter the same weight aswell as experience .if one fighter seemed he was a better fighter that doesnt mean it was a mismatch.. where have been watching and what experience do you have of watching thai boxing to say the fights were poor

Fair points David, possibly i was too harsh, watching fights online.

foams wrote: »
    Fair points David, possibly i was too harsh, watching fights online.

Any chance of a link or two? I'm lazy. :)

p4tv.com have lots of fights.