Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA 2009

• 03-02-2009 11:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

A completely general thread to deal with the going-on's of Cork GAA in '09.

Two essential questions being...

How much will the Dubs beat us by on Sunday?

How much will Kerry beat us by in Croker in August?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

1. Not too much, but they will beat ye. Ye will only have the 2008 squad to blame for that though.

2. Have some faith, it's only Februrary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Oh no, no no no, please lets keep out any and all debate about the following - strikes, 2008's Squad, Frank Murphy - there is already a thread about that cack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Ori who would be the players to look out for on the development panel this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Orizio wrote: »

Dublin will win by 26 points

Cork will beat Kerry, last years semi-final replay shows we might finally be getting over the nerves. They'll step up to it this year.

deise59 wrote: »
    Ori who would be the players to look out for on the development panel this year?

Kearney, McDonnell, Mannix, Kennedy and Johnston are probably the best players there, that I have seen before. More then a few I'm not familiar with.

I'm not sure Kearney will be starting, but he was the Cork Minor full back, won a Harty with Midleton CBS, and would probably be the player I would have judged to most likely to play inter county. He is still only about 19 though.

The other four will almost certainly start. McDonnell was, I think, Cork Minor captain at midfield a few years back, Mannix played both Minor and Under-21 for Cork (I even marked him a few years back at Dean Ryan, and he only managed to get 4 points from play off me. ;) I was delighted at the time...) and will probably be wing forward, Kennedy is Sar's goalie and easily one of the best in the county, and Johnston will be our free taker and captain, decent enough player.

Generally, I expect them to be solid at back, but very light up front. When you have people like Aidan Ryan starting at center forward, you know options are short. Dublin should win by at least 5+, if they are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭omerin

A completely general thread to deal with the going-on's of Cork GAA in '09.

Two essential questions being...

not a gaa fan, but good luck to ger mccarthy and the cork hurlers against dublin, true rebels

Whats this I hear of Aisake returning?

Team for Sunday via Rebel GAA.
    A Kennedy; E Clancy, C Murphy, C O’Sullivan; E Keane, R Ryan, C Leahy; B Johnson, G O’Connor; T Óg Murphy, A Ryan, D Crowley; A Mannix, M Collins, E Cronin.

Subs: C Cronin, A Kearney; J Moran, G O’Driscoll, T Murphy, R O’Driscoll, P Lynch, C O’Leary, C McCarthy.

Aidan Ryan at center forward... :(

Apparently Stephen McDonnell deciding to walk out on Ger as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rebs23

Shouldn't this thread be renamed Cork GAA 2010? or even 2011.

Anyone go to the match today? Want to give your views of the performance?
    Dublin powered past an inexperienced Cork side in front of a crowd of only 2,000 in Sunday's Allianz NHL clash at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, winning by three goals, 4-14 to 1-14.

While 12,000 turned out to march in support of the senior players on the streets of Cork on Saturday, those who showed at the match tried their best to get behind the Rebel youngsters.

And the Dubs wasted no time taking advantage of the situation flying into a four-point lead thanks to an Alan McCrabbe point and a goal by John Kelly, who hammered the ball past Cork keeper Alan Kennedy.

And things got worse for the home side as Dublin corner forward Liam Rushe grabbed two quick goals to lead 3-2 to 0-04.

And the Dublin teenager should have bagged his hat-trick before half-time but Kennedy pulled off a great save to keep the score down.

Barry Johnston was doing his best for the Cork cause, knocking over three frees in the first half and two scores by Glen O'Connor and full forward Michael Collins, just before half-time, gave the scoreboard a bit of respectability.

The second half continued in the same vein as Dublin won an early penalty that would have sealed the game.

Link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Kearney, McDonnell, Mannix, Kennedy and Johnston are probably the best players there, that I have seen before. More then a few I'm not familiar with.

I'm not sure Kearney will be starting, but he was the Cork Minor full back, won a Harty with Midleton CBS, and would probably be the player I would have judged to most likely to play inter county. He is still only about 19 though.

The other four will almost certainly start. McDonnell was, I think, Cork Minor captain at midfield a few years back, Mannix played both Minor and Under-21 for Cork (I even marked him a few years back at Dean Ryan, and he only managed to get 4 points from play off me. ;) I was delighted at the time...) and will probably be wing forward, Kennedy is Sar's goalie and easily one of the best in the county, and Johnston will be our free taker and captain, decent enough player.

Generally, I expect them to be solid at back, but very light up front. When you have people like Aidan Ryan starting at center forward, you know options are short. Dublin should win by at least 5+, if they are good.

just read your post,
    still laughing

first line inlast paragraph is hilarious:pac::pac:
    solid hahaha they could have scored 7 goals if they really tried

expect more players to leave after a lashing under lights in thurles next sat night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

rebs23 wrote: »
    Shouldn't this thread be renamed Cork GAA 2010? or even 2011.
    Eh... no.

Decent start. I expect it to be tight enough for 50 and then Tipp will pull away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

The two man full forward line is a blessing and a curse for ye. It's keeping the score down but the ball is coming out far two easy.

Tipperary ran out 12-point winners as the Gerald McCarthy's Cork side ran out of steam under the new floodlights at Semple Stadium.

The Rebels fared reasonably well in the first half and trailed by just 0-07 to 0-04 at half time.

But Tipp's fitness and experience told as the game wore on and goals from John O'Brien and full-forward Patrick Maher punished the tiring Leesiders.

Midfielder Barry Johnson was Cork's top scorer again, with his accurate free-taking helping him rack up seven points.

Link.

Couple of points...

Tipp were dismal, arrogant and the bulk of the team couldn't care less. Hennessy, Maher, Ryan etc and a couple of others at least tried but I hope Sheehy runs them ragged during the weak for their hubris.

Barry Johnston and Conor O' Driscoll would, in normal circumstances, have enough class to push for a place on the senior squad. Thats it.

We don't have an attack.

Who the **** are Wesley O' Brien and Tony Murphy? And why the awful first names? :D

Even against a team that couldn't care less, we still lost easy by 12 points. Imagine what they will do to us in Championship?

Hopefully the impasse ends tomorrow night, I understand that the 2008 panel will dissolve as a squad if things don't go their way. Unfortuantely it will change nothing until Ger does the honourable thing and resigns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

surely you want the blackrock dictator to resign 1st

Apparently that other fecker will be retiring soon, and their isn't a hope in hell he will resign he is forced out to the old folk's home. He lacks any kind of morals or sense of decency for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

why is Colm o neill the under 21 not on this team , he is out of this world , he should be on the team for def!

Because he doesn't want to be presumebly. Like most of our most talented young players. He would defintely have been a cut above any forward we had out tonight.

He'll be on the football squad though.

There is a petition for the 08 panel here.

4 points down against Kildare. :(

Ended 0-14 apiece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭vag77

Ended 0-14 apiece.
    anybody know how the meeting went in maryborough house tonite

Cancelled due to the death of Ger's mother.

Team vs Galway:
    Kennedy,Keane,Murphy,O'Sullivan,Moran,Ryan,Leahy,Johnson,O'Connor,Mannix,A.Ryan,Crowley,O'Murchu,Collins & Cronin.

Only chance of a league win imo.

2-11 Galway 0-5 Cork HT.

Not good. Only something like 500 at the match.

4-16 1-11 to Galway FT.

At least Kilkenny lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Cork need to sort out the mess, and soon or ye will be in the wilderness of Division 2 next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Berti Vogts

Team vs Galway:

Only chance of a league win imo.

Mmmmmmmmmm.....14 point defeat...doesn't say much for the remainder of the league campaign if that was your only chance of a league win.

Some good news, Cork's Minors beat Offaly by 4 points in a practice match today. Conor Lehane is supposed to have stood out with 2-5 in total, should have a decent attack with Kevin Hartnett's little brother and Haughney there from last year.

Upping. So who do people want to be the new Cork manager?

Ger Cunningham seems to be the favourite, but he took up the managers job in Ballygunner just two months ago.

We should throw up a list, even if certain people are under contract.

Ger Cunningham
    Donal O'Grady
    John Allen
    Seanie McGrath
    Justin McCarthy

Add on.

Ger Cunningham
    Donal O'Grady
    John Allen
    Seanie McGrath
    Justin McCarthy

Add on.

Justin McCarthy won't go anywhere near the Cork hurling team as long as Frank Murphy is still around. The only chance he'll ever become boss would be if things don't work out with Limerick after this year and FM retires.

If I was a Corkonian, Donal O'Grady or John Allen would be my personal favourites.

I'm not sure if O'Grady doesn't have a contract with Carrigtwohill, might be as difficult to get him as Ger Cunningham.

Anyway, I'm inclined to think we need a fresh face.

What about Roy Keane...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

anyone going to the under21s on saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭joulter

Ger Cunningham
    Donal O'Grady
    John Allen
    Seanie McGrath
    Justin McCarthy

Add on.

Mark Landers
    Tomas Mulcahy
    Paul O'Connor
    Bertie Og Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

We've all heard about leaders around the world, mostly in 3rd World countries, staying in power for years and years. At the outset, their intentions may have been good but bad habits set in, the leader is surrounded by yes men and gradually it becomes more like a dictatorship. 'Elections' are set up to ensure victory for the leader in the next 'election' and so it continues. 20 or 30 years of this and finally the people have had enough.
    Just how long has Frank Murphy been at the helm of the Cork Co. Board? 35 years??? Democracy, a la Frank, has run its course. 'Rules' have been manipulated for long enough, to suit the cause of the few, but not the general sporting public and GAA supporters.
    I have been a loyal GAA supporter for many years. The Cork Co. Board have used Gerald McCarthy as a pawn in this latest dispute, just like they used Teddy Holland before him. Individuals have hidden behind Gerald and let him take the hassle. Until such time as Frank Murphy and co are gone, I will never set foot inside a G.A.A. pitch. A big sacrifice, I assure you but one I'm prepared to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Rocky7

That's a very good point, Overmantle.
    It'll be interesting to see what views people will have in 10 or 20 years, when some of the information will hopefully come into the public domain. Perhaps some people are better at covering their tracks than others. If it weren't for the expense and time wasted, a tribunal might be the only thing to get to the root of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭autograph

Good luck to John Considine. I for one am looking forward to seeing some of the Cork legends such as Tom Kenny, Ben O'Connor, Ronan Curran and co, who have lots left in the tank, getting back to what they are best at. We don't expect miracles from John Considine but we wish him and the lads well. I also hope that perhaps some of the 09 Panel, who would not have had the chance to play for Cork were it not for the unfortunate circumstances, may now also come through in the years ahead. Also the many other players who were on the fringes of the 08 panel but did not feel it appropriate to play in 09 due to the disharmony that existed. Those guys are more than good enough to play in the coming years.
    It is time for action in Cork. What we need is a supportive, co-operative County Board. Next we need a manager who is hungry and determined, who will work with the players and yet not be afraid to make sensible calls when he has to. With that in place, we need players who are happy and hungry to play for Cork, competing for their places. We also need supportive structures for schools, which are sadly lacking now. This is another matter that the Cork County Board needs to address and one of the reasons why Kilkenny are now doing so well, as their schools have plenty of support. There is tremendous talent in Cork Hurling and football but it won't realise its potential without being encouraged and nurtured.
    Let's look forward to good days ahead and some positive changes at County Board, Management and Team levels.

There is already a load of threads about the manager/ccb/exec/08 players debacle, post in their if you wish.

Good week for Cork football - first CIT win the Sigerson, then the Under-21's hammer Kerry and Cork beat Laois in the football league. In fairness, Laois were a pile of ****e and we should have beaten them by a lot more but still. Shields (MTOM imo), O'Connor, Cussen (terrible distribution though) and O'Donovan were excellent, but really we never moved out of second gear, which worries me. The gap between Div 2 and Div 1 is very big, and our rivals are all playing more competitive games.

First training session under Considine tomorrow night, will put up the squad when I get a chance.

Pa Horgan, Jerry O'C, Sean Og, Deano, Sully, John O'Callaghan and Nash (that's 7 I know, sorry) were all there not togged out. Tom Kenny trained but didn't play the game. No sign of Timmy Mac, Brian Murphy and Cian O'Connor, the other 19 played. Conor O'Sullivan, Chris Murphy, Ray Ryan, Tadgh Og Murphy and Barry Johnson were there from the 09 panel. Graham Callinan and Fintan O'Leary played too.

Not the most competitive of games, Naughton was flying in midfield. Ga, Curran and O'Neill were solid in defense, not too many outstanding individual performances.

Taken from PROC.

Graham Callinan isn't good enough, and there are at least a dozen players in the county who deserve a chance ahead of the 09 lads.

I'm getting the worrying feeling its going to be a very cobbled and messy team that plays against Clare. The 09 lads plus whoeever is fit on the 08 panel.

Anyone know of R. Good from Cork who played wing forward for W.I.T. this year? His club?
    Bit of ball work before a match. 13 a side match. Of the 09 players, Tadhg Og shone. In fact he was one of the better players on show.

Teams A:
    Donal Og
    Shane O'Neill Cadogan
    Gardiner Curran Hartnett
    Tadgh Og Naughton
    Ben Niall Mac Barry Johnson
    Fraggy Neill Ronan

Team B:
    Coleman
    Conor O'Sull Chris Murphy
    Graham Callinan McGann Richie??
    Ray Ryan Hero Murphy
    Kevin Canty Pa Cronin Corry
    Paudie Sull Fintan O'Leary

Off RebelGAA. Has 26 training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

saturday was some day. watch the pool v man u for 70 minutes and then briskly walked down to the rinn and watched cork hammer the crap out of kerry. for a change, i can say that the cork forwards were lethal and we tied up their senior stars in Moran and Walsh very well.

Was very impressed with ciaran sheehan from Eire Og , worked very hard as you should on the wing and scroed with ease with the left.

What were the results of the CCB meeting last night with regards how to choose the next manager?

They voted overwhelmingly for Motion 1, the CCB option, three Cork GAA people chosen by Central Council who then propose manager.

Ballyhea are going to put a vote of no confidence to the CB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Anyone know of R. Good from Cork who played wing forward for W.I.T. this year? His club?

Off RebelGAA. Has 26 training.

He a Doneraile man

Denis Coughlan, John Fenton and Jimmy Barry Murphy have been picked as the three 'wise men'. I would say Ger Cunningham, Paul O'Connor or Seanie O'Brien.