Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vinny the Sligo Kid Feeney

• 03-02-2009 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭

Hi lads

I am in the process of making a radio documentary on Vinny Feeney.

Just wondering if anyone knows any boxers that he fought that would be willing to talk to me about Vinny.
    Or if you know much about Vinny I would be interested to hear about it.
    He is an interesting guy who had an interesting career.

The other thing is that he is a sound bloke.

I only met him for the first time on Saturday but you couldn't meet a nicer bloke.
    I seen him fight back in 96 in the Point and he put on a great show on the undercard of I think it was McCullough headlining a world title fight.

Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Hi lads

I am in the process of making a radio documentary on Vinny Feeney.

Just wondering if anyone knows any boxers that he fought that would be willing to talk to me about Vinny.
    Or if you know much about Vinny I would be interested to hear about it.
    He is an interesting guy who had an interesting career.

The other thing is that he is a sound bloke.

I only met him for the first time on Saturday but you couldn't meet a nicer bloke.
    I seen him fight back in 96 in the Point and he put on a great show on the undercard of I think it was McCullough headlining a world title fight.

Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated

good old Vincenzo!! or Vince as they called him dan de Old Kent Road. We grew up on the same estate in Sligo and he was always a sound man.

I wrote the only comprehensive piece of work about him anywhere - be that on the internet or in print.

Ask him if he has any more sources and I will add to the article.

Tell him "the Gunner" was asking for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

good old Vincenzo!! or Vince as they called him dan de Old Kent Road. We grew up on the same estate in Sligo and he was always a sound man.

I wrote the only comprehensive piece of work about him anywhere - be that on the internet or in print.

Ask him if he has any more sources and I will add to the article.

Tell him "the Gunner" was asking for him!

I will indeed.
    I have used the wiki page for a lot of my research, nice one for that, good work!
    I will be talking to him in the next week or so and I will show him what you wrote and see is there anything to add.

I might have some stuff myself to add from talking to him.

I just don't want to start editing yet. That's when the real work starts.

I will indeed.
    I have used the wiki page for a lot of my research, nice one for that, good work!
    I will be talking to him in the next week or so and I will show him what you wrote and see is there anything to add.

I might have some stuff myself to add from talking to him.

I just don't want to start editing yet. That's when the real work starts.

writin articles is pish easy! ;)

there is a link to his first Perdomo fight here. It was uploaded by another Sligo poster on eastside - its a guy that was trying to start up a boxing club in the county with Vinny but I dont think they got the support from the council.

As you can see there was a lot of razamataz for a guy with a 12-4 and 1 record. He was a pretty popular guy in London - I was living there at the time as well and I stayed in his house in Neasden one night after fallin out with my girlfriend.

From then on he had no luck. Although I could never find a source for it I am sure that he was winning the second Pedromo fight (which was on Eurosport) when Vinny got cut - and when the ref was looking at the cut he clumsily struck his feckin fingers in the cut and opened it badly and the fight was stopped. Now that is my version of it - I was shoutin and roaring at the TV and I am biased so the opposite could be true and I've never seen the fight again on tape.

Then there was the Waite fight - which most/many said he won. And then he was to go to South Africa for the IBO but didnt get cleared in the medical

Also ask him why he always looked look a rent boy in his promo shots! :D

writin articles is pish easy! ;)

there is a link to his first Perdomo fight here. It was uploaded by another Sligo poster on eastside - its a guy that was trying to start up a boxing club in the county with Vinny but I dont think they got the support from the council.

As you can see there was a lot of razamataz for a guy with a 12-4 and 1 record. He was a pretty popular guy in London - I was living there at the time as well and I stayed in his house in Neasden one night after fallin out with my girlfriend.

From then on he had no luck. Although I could never find a source for it I am sure that he was winning the second Pedromo fight (which was on Eurosport) when Vinny got cut - and when the ref was looking at the cut he clumsily struck his feckin fingers in the cut and opened it badly and the fight was stopped. Now that is my version of it - I was shoutin and roaring at the TV and I am biased so the opposite could be true and I've never seen the fight again on tape.

Then there was the Waite fight - which most/many said he won. And then he was to go to South Africa for the IBO but didnt get cleared in the medical

Also ask him why he always looked look a rent boy in his promo shots! :D

Still does:D

He was telling me about the second fight with the referee doing that to his eye. He was honest about his fights so I believed him.

Crazy to be honest.

He is doing ok now, married living in Coolenany (hopefully I spelt that right) and has a kid on the way.
    In no way bitter, but jesus he had some stories to tell, but I wouldn't be able to put them in the documentary. ;)

Still does:D

He was telling me about the second fight with the referee doing that to his eye. He was honest about his fights so I believed him.

Crazy to be honest.

He is doing ok now, married living in Coolenany (hopefully I spelt that right) and has a kid on the way.
    In no way bitter, but jesus he had some stories to tell, but I wouldn't be able to put them in the documentary. ;)

I thought thats what happened - I couldnt believe it when I saw it happen. I remember watchin it with a mate of mine who isnt a boxing fan and he said "should the ref be doin that" - it was shockin.

Ya Coolaney. Half the town has moved out there now - including my brother.

Ask him how many of his fights he has on DVD/tape.

I thought thats what happened - I couldnt believe it when I saw it happen. I remember watchin it with a mate of mine who isnt a boxing fan and he said "should the ref be doin that" - it was shockin.

Ya Coolaney. Half the town has moved out there now - including my brother.

Ask him how many of his fights he has on DVD/tape.

I will check that out. He had four massive books full of photos, stubs etc.
    Would make an interesting book. I am sure it would do well in Sligo and among boxing circles.

I will check that out. He had four massive books full of photos, stubs etc.
    Would make an interesting book. I am sure it would do well in Sligo and among boxing circles.

I'd love ot get a look at that.

my brother wrote a book and it had a bit about Vincenzo in it.

I hope he gets into training cos he would have a lot to offer - I think it could possibly the only Sligo born professional boxer since the Queensbury rules.

I'd love ot get a look at that.

my brother wrote a book and it had a bit about Vincenzo in it.

I hope he gets into training cos he would have a lot to offer - I think it could possibly the only Sligo born professional boxer since the Queensbury rules.

You're a man of facts Sligo, fair play.

He knows his stuff, I think he tried to get a club going but couldn't get funding I think.

I do a bit of work for a radio station and when I played some of the recording, the sports team there were asking about getting him involved as a pundit for boxing.
    He is a typical Sligo boy, full of talk, so he would be well suited to the role. :D

It would be great to get him back involved in some way.

You're a man of facts Sligo, fair play.

He knows his stuff, I think he tried to get a club going but couldn't get funding I think.

I do a bit of work for a radio station and when I played some of the recording, the sports team there were asking about getting him involved as a pundit for boxing.
    He is a typical Sligo boy, full of talk, so he would be well suited to the role. :D

It would be great to get him back involved in some way.

yeah a typical lad alright. It you watch the video the Doug uploaded it shows him chatting - I always piss meself laughin when I see it - he has such a town accent (like meself) and one that is rarely heard in the media.

RENT BOY!!

vinny.jpg

yeah a typical lad alright. It you watch the video the Doug uploaded it shows him chatting - I always piss meself laughin when I see it - he has such a town accent (like meself) and one that is rarely heard in the media.

RENT BOY!!

vinny.jpg

Sexy bas***d

Still looks the same.
    That photo must be almost 15-year-old.

He was telling me that he almost signed to fight Naz early in both their careers. Jesus, it's really interesting when you spend time with old pro's, although Vinny is still young enough to box.
    Except he can't unfortunately. shame what happened to him

Sexy bas***d

Still looks the same.
    That photo must be almost 15-year-old.

He was telling me that he almost signed to fight Naz early in both their careers. Jesus, it's really interesting when you spend time with old pro's, although Vinny is still young enough to box.
    Except he can't unfortunately. shame what happened to him

if you think that is gay then you should see the picture of him in the "Double Trouble" programme when fought John Matthews (his last fight)

Think a Khan promo shot but X rated. they are well embarassing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

So if he got by Pedermo how far would he have been from a title fight with Mccullough?

Also Pedermo looked to have a bright future but didnt box on much more. Anyone know why?

Heres a link to footage of him sparring with McGuigan for the cameras, interviews and build up to his wbc international title fight. See links 2,3 and 4 for the fight itself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PrHABQuJow