Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Matchplay Match Day1

• 02-02-2009 5:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭

Folks,

draw is below. I don't mind who contacts whom, but it is the responsibility of the person at the top of the draw to make arrangments. The person at the top of the draw, is considered to have the home draw, but it does not mean that he has to play on his home-course. Matches have to be completed by Monday the 23rd of Feb.

We will then have 2 other draws. Becuase there are 24 players, when we are down to six, we will have 2 groups of 3 players (each playing each other) with 1 winner emerging, and then the final.

As a prize, we have the offer of some crystal (thank you), and I will sponser the final, which will be played in Carton House/Luttresltown or Castleknock (the choice will be up to the two winners).

If a match cannot be completed, I will make the decision on who will go forward from the group (based on who made the most effort to get the match on).

Good luck, and enjoy it.
    71820.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Good luck everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭kingshankly

i have just gone from 12/1 to 50/1 after drawing licksy:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Obni, we'll settle this the old Navy way: First one to die - Loses!

Help me out here Hobby - There's 12 matches, which is 24 players obviously... So after this round there'll be 12 left... then Six... then... Three??

So will the draw for that round give one lucky player a bye to the final?

Just askin - lookin forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Obni

WHIP IT! How are you at snow golf? I'm free tomorrow!

Given the crappy weather outlook. How about picking Sat 21/ Sun 22 Feb as a fall back date, and try to arrange it earlier if the weather improves?

If you have any major objections to Druid's Heath, I'm happy to play anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Great... so I draw neckedit - 2 handicap :eek: - must say I'm delighted with that... might learn a thing or two! Pretty sure I'll get spanked but it should be educational.

Homer's Brain: Don't you get it? You've gotta use reverse psychology.
    Homer: That sounds too complicated.
    Homer's Brain: OK, don't use reverse psychology.
    Homer: All right, I WILL

Obni wrote: »
    WHIP IT! How are you at snow golf? I'm free tomorrow!

Given the crappy weather outlook. How about picking Sat 21/ Sun 22 Feb as a fall back date, and try to arrange it earlier if the weather improves?

If you have any major objections to Druid's Heath, I'm happy to play anywhere.

Sounds great, I'd love a crack at Druid's Heath... I take it you're limited to weekend golf? I'll be away the weekend of 21/22 so how are u fixed this Saturday or the following one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Help me out here Hobby - There's 12 matches, which is 24 players obviously... So after this round there'll be 12 left... then Six... then... Three??

So will the draw for that round give one lucky player a bye to the final?

Just askin - lookin forward to it!
    Hobart wrote: »
    We will then have 2 other draws. Becuase there are 24 players, when we are down to six, we will have 2 groups of 3 players (each playing each other) with 1 winner emerging from each group, and then the final.
    So 2 groups of 3 players. Group 1 will play each other and group 2 will play each other. The winners from each group, play in the final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭1stuey1

cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hallowed

BUACHAILL,
    I'm open to suggestions as to where we play this match. My home course is in County Waterford so its a bit out of the way. How does a neutral venue sound to you. ANy ideas as to where are welcome. I am available this Saturday or Sat/Sun 21 & 22 of Feb. Will be down at home in West Waterford the weekend in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Great... so I draw neckedit - 2 handicap :eek: - must say I'm delighted with that... might learn a thing or two! Pretty sure I'll get spanked but it should be educational.

Homer's Brain: Don't you get it? You've gotta use reverse psychology.
    Homer: That sounds too complicated.
    Homer's Brain: OK, don't use reverse psychology.
    Homer: All right, I WILL

2 on paper! man! i'll let you call it i'm pretty flexible.

Sounds great, I'd love a crack at Druid's Heath... I take it you're limited to weekend golf? I'll be away the weekend of 21/22 so how are u fixed this Saturday or the following one?

Busy this weekend, but I'm free next Wed (Feb 11th) from 10:30.
    Is there a mid-week day that suits you?

Busy this weekend, but I'm free next Wed (Feb 11th) from 10:30.
    Is there a mid-week day that suits you?

Not 100% but I can give you a provisional go-ahead for Wed Feb 11... Will get back to you in a couple of days...

me and mscull 22nd feb , luttlerstown, ...cant wait should be great:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Myself and WillyWonka....Gold Coast, 21st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

ooohhh, that was my home course till this year. Pretty nice course and they have been fixin the bunkers. good quality greens although they have temporary tees. watch out for the eigth, 175 yards over water. grand with the wind but pretty nasty against it

Obni

I'm about 90% sure I have Wednesday off.... so looks like a date?

Bring Your Nerves of STEEL!! :D

Cheers,

WHIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Plus 10 (15HC GUI) Vs Donkey Poker Tour (16HC GUI)
    Green Tees Druids Heath
    Saturday 14th Feb 10:10am

I wanted to play off the blacks, but then I saw the par 3 third, 233 over water. I'm not to fond of taking Drivers to par 3's :P Still 6054yards from the Greens! Looking forward to it!

Regards
    Ian

Obni

I'm about 90% sure I have Wednesday off.... so looks like a date?

Bring Your Nerves of STEEL!! :D

Cheers,

WHIP

Been in bed since Friday with a cold & a chest infection :(
    Not looking great for Wed at the moment, but I'll let you know on Monday (No! This is not mind-games)

Been in bed since Friday with a cold & a chest infection :(
    Not looking great for Wed at the moment, but I'll let you know on Monday (No! This is not mind-games)

Cool - the next two wknds are pretty much off limits for me is the only problem.

Keep me posted...

All systems go for Wednesday.

Not 100% yet, but I'm back at work, and I believe that if you're fit enough to work, then you're fit enough to take a day off to play golf.

I'll PM you my contact details and take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

and I believe that if you're fit enough to work, then you're fit enough to take a day off to play golf..

Haha, I love it!

Wednesday February 11

Druid's Heath GC, Wicklow

Boards.ie Matchplay Competition, Round One

Obni (16) v WHIP IT! (15)

Something's gotta give......

*** Rocky Theme Music..... etc ***

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

The tension.....
    Me and kingshankly could be playing at a top secret venue somewhere around Dublin this Saturday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Jabberwocky V Neckedit...... Wicklow GC next tuesday High noon! ( as long as the weather behaves!) Good Luck to all and play well!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hallowed

Hallowed v. Buachaill.
    Sun 22nd Feb at Coolattin Golf Club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Sionnachster

Best of luck to everyone playing, this thread could turn out to be a good one... Can we open a betting thread for the rest of boards to profit from your hardship? :D

Myself and Blunder are playing in (a yet to be decided venue) Meath on Sat the 21st of this month. Will probably be The BlackBush or Knightsbrook.!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Meself and poster this Sunday 15th in Moyvalley 11 am for a show-down:D

I'm giving him 15 shots and home advantage, somebody pray for me please:eek:

Lookin forward to Moyvalley though, meant to be superb.

never played luttrelstown so im really looking forward to it too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Hobart wrote: »
    Myself and Blunder are playing in (a yet to be decided venue) Meath on Sat the 21st of this month. Will probably be The BlackBush or Knightsbrook.!:)

Looking forward to this now. Due to recent weather and engagements my training has consisted of watching Tin Cup and Happy Gilmore so needless to say I'll be more than ready!!

First casualty of the Boards Matchplay Championship..... WHIP IT! :(

Obni prevailed at Druids Heath tonight - can't remember the final score :pac:

Lovely course - really enjoyed it and many thanks to Obni for his hospitality!

1 down...the tension lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Hard luck Whip!

kingshankly and licksy doing battle on headford new course saturday morning. tickets available now from usual major outlets or ticketmaster.ie:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

More importantly, did Obni look like his avatar?

Can't wait, bursting for a game :D
    Neutral Away venue that will be new to both of us but gets lots of thumbs up on here.

Hard luck Whip, and congrats to Obni. Don't forget we will be running a plate competition for the first round losers, so you'll get another chance at glory :p!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

kingshankly and licksy doing battle on headford new course saturday morning. tickets available now from usual major outlets or ticketmaster.ie:)
    Licksy wrote: »
    Can't wait, bursting for a game :D
    Neutral Away venue that will be new to both of us but gets lots of thumbs up on here.

Yes lads, superb venue, excellent call, fair play to ye, it's not for the faint of heart anyhow:cool:

Hope yis both like water:D

Thanks Whip, for an enjoyable match.
    In the end, it was home advantage more than anything else that won it.
    Well that and your state of exhaustion having driven to Carnsore Point and back looking for the course. :rolleyes:

P.S. Myksyk, surely I'm not the only person to use a picture that makes me look better than in real life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

P.S. Myksyk, surely I'm not the only person to use a picture that makes me look better than in real life?

Oh yeah, I see Licksy does that too. ;)

Thanks Whip, for an enjoyable match.
    In the end, it was home advantage more than anything else that won it.
    Well that and your state of exhaustion having driven to Carnsore Point and back looking for the course. :rolleyes:

Mind games - didn't work! :D

The mindgames have already started for me and king[size=+4]SHANK[/size]ly ahead of our Valentines Day Massacre...

It's valentines day on Saturday I'm off the wife is off and I'm off playing golf with a man I never met . You gotta love golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

It's valentines day on Saturday I'm off the wife is off and I'm off playing golf with a man I never met . You gotta love golf

Exactly...

Valentines is all about spending time with the thing you love most... first tee here i come!:D

Just explain it to here exactly like that. She'll understand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Hey guys

Best of luck to all who are playing over the weekend !!
    Hope the weather behaves.

Graham

Congratulations to kingshankly who played fine golf today to win easily ;)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Licksy wrote: »
    Congratulations to kingshankly who played fine golf today to win easily ;)

and is now permabanned from golf!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Congrats to Plus 10 who won this morning 3 & 2. Turning point came on the 12th. I had a shot on him on this hole, and he put his first out of bounds. So I'm laughing, until i put my second into the gorse and lost it. Had a putt to half the hole, but as I stepped up to putt it, I accidentally touched it, very annoyed with myself about that.

Some great golf played, From 4th to 7th, I was 4over and went from A/s to 4 down! Plus 10 played some great stuff. Good luck in the next round. Me I'm off to the plate :)