Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a car is driving me mad!!!!

• 31-01-2009 4:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭

Right lads I’m a little demoralised at this rate. For the last month or so I wanted to buy a car, preferable a sporty type, in the price bracket of €7,000-€10,000.

Here are the ideas I have had so far but I’ve had to rethink them all;

An Alfa 156, a lot of people have assumptions that Alfa’s are trouble however many boardie’s assured me that they aren’t all trouble http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055463011&highlight=alfa+156
    but need a lot of maintenance which I’m not exactly fussed on, plus their pretty expensive to run….

Than I though about a Renault Megane Cabrio but after reading this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055465407&highlight=Renault+Megane+Cabrio I’ve decided to not go ahead with it, but I must admit I do really like the car….

Than I thought about getting a nice sporty car from the North, something like a BMW which you can pick up for as little as €7,000 for a 03/04, however the killer as everyone knows is the VRT. I also looked at a Toyota Celica at €8,000 and VRT is again a killer. God VRT is a fecker!! How its calculated I’ll never know, I’d pay just under €7,000 for a car and than €3500 VRT that’s just crazy….

What reliable but still sporty car can I get for between €7,000 - €10,000?? I know I cant get the world for this price but something half decent would be nice. I have to admit my knowledge of cars is limited and a lot of people may roll their eyes at this but attractive cars are high in my estimations!

All help is very much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

http://www.cargiant.co.uk/BMW/120d/details-410175-BMW-120d.asp 160bhp, and low emmissions (low VRT)
    http://www.cargiant.co.uk/Audi/A3/details-409860-Audi-A3.asp 140bhp plus DSG

On the right track? Both should be landed with change from 10k. The Audi would be my pick. I don't know if you'd consider these sporty but they'd both kill a Mégane :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

a-haw!

If you like a car, buy it - someone elses opinion shouldn't influence you. No car is totally reliable, some are just more-so than others. But don't, for the love of god, buy a renault!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

that car looks like a bargin capt irl.
    i just spent 11k on an 2003.
    doesnt say anything about NCT though.

VRT is calculated on a % of the price of the car as set by how much cars are. from what ive seen its about 30% i think.

I would recommend that you dont be so eager to buy a car - espicially a sporty type car because you might spend it on something that you just dont want or will rush into making a bad decision.
    chill out :) - might save you in the long run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Those Lexus's are slow and drink petrol, reliable alrite, but not much fun.

Mazda 3 2.0 petrol sport or 2.0 diesel sport would be my choice, reliable as they come and great fun to drive.I drove a smaller petrol with only 100bhp or so at mondello and it was great fun.

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/745487.htm

im pretty happy with the speed/acceleration of mine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

for the love of god, buy a renault!

:eek::pac:

I'd be looking at something like this
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Passat/130-spor/200904191548496/advert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

But don't, for the love of god, buy a renault!

...ffs, give that one a rest.

OP, if you come on here asking about Alfa's and Renaults - you're doomed. It doesn't matter a jot that some of their cars are very good.

And as for how much is a car, and then VRT ? The price of any car is the price including VRT, so stop getting wound up about that, too, and no point in pretending you can have one without it, either.

Now, about your real question - tbh, like it or not, issues such as your age and amount of NCB or record(for insurance), and your willingness to buy big or small engines (tax) have a huge bearing.

Technically, you can have one of the best handling sports cars in the world for half your budget, and with a small engine - the MX-5. But could you insure it ??

Loads of 3-series out there for less than 10k. Me? I just think they're German Cortinas, hardly sports cars.....

I like the Megane Cabrio, actually - but again, can you get insurance ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

er, hello, Sporty Car a Passat ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

German Cortinas, I like that.:)

galwaytt wrote: »
    er, hello, Sporty Car a Passat ?

Hello *waves*

130 bhp diesel with plenty of torque. Not a bad car imo when your compare it to an Alfa 156 or a Megane coupe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭03mcgs0

Right Lads,

The exact cars I was looking at were….

The Alfa
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/156/1.6-T.SP/200834189744182/advert

The Renault,
    http://www.usedcarsni.com/24311102

The BMW
    http://www.usedcarsni.com/24436649

But as I said I decided against these cars for different reasons. As you can see I do like the sporty ones!

Thanks for all the help, any other suggestions????

Have you tried south of the border?! I'd say theres a few bargains to be had, if you do your homework!

Hello *waves*

130 bhp diesel with plenty of torque. Not a bad car imo when your compare it to an Alfa 156 or a Megane coupe.

right back at ya: :)bye.gif

Yes, no disputing the no's. But 'sporty' implies A Other quality, not tangible - something for heartstrings, maybe.

So that's the 3-series out, then, for me :D:D

Any of the 2 got leather ?

Mmmmm toughy between the other 2, tbh.....I like the facelifted 156, and I do like cabrio's hmmm..............your insurer might decide it for you, tbh.......I'd be happy with either. Renault might have the 'modern' edge, and it's v.fuel friendly....

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Some great deals to be got out there right now on some big smokers! My choice would be a nice M-Tech E38. Serious road presence, looks great, has all the little luxuries and they can be got real cheap these days! Big dollars on running costs but a real nice exit model can be had for well shy of €10k.

The following is a nice example, a little old and way over priced but she's one serious motor - have a look through the interior pics too:
    http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=2745491

if you dont mind paying close to a grand tax/year
    600quid for a 2l is pretty nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

I think the Hyundai Coupe is a very under rated car. If you get the 2 litre version its fast (140bhp) and comes with leather seats. Very sporty, great to drive and comes full of extra's and packed with electrics... I wouldn't rule one out before I drove one..

Michael 09 wrote: »
    I think the Hyundai Coupe is a very under rated car. If you get the 2 litre version its fast (140bhp) and comes with leather seats. Very sporty, great to drive and comes full of extra's and packed with electrics... I wouldn't rule one out before I drove one..

Nice car - if you're a hairdresser!:p

Yeah done a bit of homework here and there but I'm no where near as car educated as you guys.

For example A BMW in the South costs €11,950

http://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=290381&r=s.php%3Fm%3D10%26amp%3Bo%3D942%26amp%3Bg%3D3

Than in the North you one for €6,500, and in the last week that went up £250 after I enquired about it...!

So I do favour Northern cars, down side obviously the VRT.

But just getting back to that Renault cabrio, is that a reliable car?? Its very stylish but that’s no good when your broke down on the side of the road!!!

Biggest prob with Renault's are the electrics! Anyone ever has an R25? :eek:

If you were going to go down the route of a renault though, you'd probably be better buying one off a main dealer - they'll have a better idea what they're selling.

Find out about a warranty as well - how long, what does it cover, etc......

You have obviously never driven a coupe, they are slick...
    You can'y give abuse about the Hyundai when he's considering a Renault CAbrio!! I have driven a number of those Renaults and apart from them being literally made from plastic (the front panels), they are horrendously under powered. The electric folding roof is heavy and the sh1t 1.6 Renault engine can't cope. Also the gear box on Renaults are awful.

Do yourself a favour and do not buy that car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

As galwaytt said an mx5 would be sporty and reliable or if your budget could stretch a bit may be a DC5 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

03mcgs0 wrote: »
    Right Lads,

The exact cars I was looking at were….

The Alfa
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Alfa-Romeo/156/1.6-T.SP/200834189744182/advert

The Renault,
    http://www.usedcarsni.com/24311102

The BMW

But as I said I decided against these cars for different reasons. As you can see I do like the sporty ones!

Thanks for all the help, any other suggestions????
    I was looking at that Alfa if it's in the dealer across from Tesco in Arklow. He said 7k cash. It was mint, lovely interior but sh1t colour and no timing belt change :eek:. He's a bit of a cowboy though, most of his stuff is imported/trade sales. Some rough cars there.

david wrote: »
    I was looking at that Alfa if it's in the dealer across from Tesco in Arklow. He said 7k cash. It was mint, lovely interior but sh1t colour and no timing belt change :eek:. He's a bit of a cowboy though, most of his stuff is imported/trade sales. Some rough cars there.

GET OUT OF IT!!! I was going to go look at that car a few weeks ago.... well it was actually up at €9,750 than dropped to €9,000.

But look the same car on a different site, it says €12,000....
    http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=2694298

So this guy must be an out and out cowboy or just desperate to sell?????

Are you trading a car in?

Michael 09 wrote: »
    Are you trading a car in?

No, got to give the car i drive to another family member

GET OUT OF IT!!! I was going to go look at that car a few weeks ago.... well it was actually up at €9,750 than dropped to €9,000.

But look the same car on a different site, it says €12,000....
    http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=2694298

So this guy must be an out and out cowboy or just desperate to sell?????

In relation to the different prices, I wouldn't fret too much over that - it can be as simple as a sales man up dating one site and forgetting to do another. Still wouldn't buy it though - there's a lot of nicer cars out there for that sorta dollars!

No, got to give the car i drive to another family member

Oh ok, sometimes the trade in versus straight deal price can cause the variance...

I would have to agree with not buying it though, although they are really good looking cars (that one in particular, great wheels) they will break your heart!

If you are not interested in a hyundai coupe, would you consider a Merc C Class? or a CLK? I think they're a nice alternative to a BMW which have become quite common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

ever considered a Saab?

cl-p-dublin1287027version_53759171.jpg
    this one is a bit of a bargain

cl-p-dublin1304860version_54386263.jpg
    and this one is a real sleeper (280 bhp :eek:)

(clicky on piccie)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 scarpetta

I dont know if you're male or female - I was in a megane cabrio and i had to mangle myself in and out of it. I'm a 6 footer. If you're a bird it might not be a bad car - if you're a bloke then cop yourself on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

cache-JAY_5923-700-700-70.JPG

http://www.autoquake.com/vehicle/inspid=9142
    Audi A3 2.0 TDi SE 5dr Sportback - £7k

cache-JAY_7449-700-700-70.JPG

http://www.autoquake.com/vehicle/inspid=9290
    Saab 9-3 1.9 TiD Vector 150 4dr Auto - £5.3k

cache-IMG_3152-700-700-70.JPG

http://www.autoquake.com/vehicle/inspid=9527
    Volkswagen Passat 2.0 Sport TDi 4dr Saloon - £6.5k

I'd say they can all be got for around E10k imported + vrt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bikki

You could get your self a great example of a Classic shape Subaru Impreza Sti for that price.

Or 1 of the lads from the isdc club is selling this for 10k

karlsimpreza007tn5.jpg

scarpetta wrote: »
    I dont know if you're male or female - I was in a megane cabrio and i had to mangle myself in and out of it. I'm a 6 footer. If you're a bird it might not be a bad car - if you're a bloke then cop yourself on.

Yeah I had a brief look at one about a week back and thats the first thing i thought, I'm like yourself male and six foot. Yeah kind of arkward to get into, suppose i better knock that car of the list!

Cheers for all the ideas lads!

the first think i though

Sure you wouldn't be better off in a ZR?

peasant wrote: »
    cl-p-dublin1304860version_54386263.jpg
    and this one is a real sleeper (280 bhp :eek:)
    (clicky on piccie)

They are such a fantastic looking car. I remember a lad came to trade one in either last summer of the summer before. It was spotless, black in colour. Those wheels make an awful difference to the car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

I landed a 1.9JTD version of that car at the start of the year with 6,000 less miles for a total of €5,900 including VRT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Saab 9-3 1.9 TID Vector Sport 150bhp (2005) €8200

Cream leather sports seats, fridge in glovebox, cruise control, parking sensors and so on

cl-p-mayo1290401version_53944131.jpg

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1290401

miju wrote: »
    I landed a 1.9JTD version of that car at the start of the year with 6,000 less miles for a total of €5,900 including VRT

When you say 'including VRT', you obviously got it up the North??

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

galwaytt wrote: »
    ...ffs, give that one a rest.

OP, if you come on here asking about Alfa's and Renaults - you're doomed. It doesn't matter a jot that some of their cars are very good.

Dead right. I fell for the "legendary" VW reliabilty crap when I bought a Passat.
    Nobody told me about the air flow meter, the price of getting the timing belt done, the wiper motor packing in, the windows falling down, the water gathering under the winscreen potentially blowing the most expensive electrics in the car and a recall for the front suspension. There's a few of us with PAssats and they all had the same problems, BTW. My local independent mechanic knew what I was wrong as I was saying it, which was a bad sign.
    My father, on the other hand has driven Renaults since the R18 and has never had a major problem with any of them. In saying that, I bought a brand new Megane in 98 and got rid within 10 months - they had a known fault with the alarm/immobiliser which meant it wouldn't start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Maybe you would be interested in a nice Golf?

http://adverts.ie/75371

Shameless self touting i know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

You'd need to be clinically insane to pay €10k for a six-year-old tractor with 100,000 miles. IMO, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Anan1 wrote: »
    You'd need to be clinically insane to pay €10k for a six-year-old tractor with 100,000 miles. IMO, of course.
    You would be surprised how many people are interested and id like have the price lower except people expect to get 1000 to 1500 off your asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

If you're interested in any of the Audi's or VW's you should consider an Octavia VRS as well. Either the old model 1.8 petrol or the new 170 Bhp diesel.

Anan1 wrote: »

That's what the make i'm afraid to say. Although i wish they were cheaper, i'd have one then lol:p

Sundy wrote: »
    You would be surprised how many people are interested and id like have the price lower except people expect to get 1000 to 1500 off your asking price.

You're right, I would be surprised !

But seriously, over-pricing your car just so's you can knock off money is a fruitless exercise. 'Interest' as you call it, is free. What you're looking for is a buyer.

A proper, realistic price (and be firm with it), will find you one of those. (Even if it is a Golf ;) )

OP - I'm an ass, I'd forgotten the 9-3 - esp seeing as I have on myself - oops - :o top car, and a nice alt to the VAG offerings. Mind you, I've a sneaking admiration for the Vrs models....

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Cheers for all the info lad, its coming in really handy.

I think someone drew my attention to the Hyundai Coupe, must admit its a good looking car, does anyone have any experience with one? Or heard any stories about them??

Also if a dealer has one for sale at €10,000 would it be reasonable to come in with any offer for say €8,000 in the aim to get at least €1,000 off the asking price??

Cheers for all the info lad, its coming in really handy.

I think someone drew my attention to the Hyundai Coupe, must admit its a good looking car, does anyone have any experience with one? Or heard any stories about them??

Also if a dealer has one for sale at €10,000 would it be reasonable to come in with any offer for say €8,000 in the aim to get at least €1,000 off the asking price??

Depending on the year of it, ie. if it's the cheapest of it's year, or good value at ten you might find it hard to get it at 8. All depends.

I've driven Coupe's. Brother in law is on his second, not one problem with them yet. He has a 05 one now with 100,o00kms on it and never a days trouble. Try get a 05 spec as the changed the headlights which made a massive difference to the look of the car. The 1.6 is a grand engine. Not hugely powerful but does the job. Make sure to get half leather and a sunroof. Other than that, you can't go too far wrong.

Depending on the year of it, ie. if it's the cheapest of it's year, or good value at ten you might find it hard to get it at 8. All depends.

I've driven Coupe's. Brother in law is on his second, not one problem with them yet. He has a 05 one now with 100,o00kms on it and never a days trouble. Try get a 05 spec as the changed the headlights which made a massive difference to the look of the car. The 1.6 is a grand engine. Not hugely powerful but does the job. Make sure to get half leather and a sunroof. Other than that, you can't go too far wrong.

Yeah think i've made up my mind and I'll go for a Hyundai Coupe, does anyone else have any experiences with them??

Reckon i'll pick up an 05 for €9,000 hopefully...? Maybe even an 06 for €10,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 mowgli-mcnob

How about any of the hot hatch's? Civic type R, astra sport, etc? Low in price but big on fun :)