Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From A4's to X-Types - what to get?

• 31-01-2009 4:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭

My parents are looking to change their car, they're very undecided as to what to go for, and after many, many days of going through various makes and models with them, we're still no nearer to deciding on something concrete, so who better else to ask for advice than you guys!

Right, they're in their 50's and they want a large saloon.

Must be diesel, and must be no more than a 2.0L.

Various options they've been looking at are:

Audi A4
    Honda Accord
    Jaguar X-Type
    Mazda 6
    Citroen C5
    Peugeot 407
    Toyota Avenis (Boring!)
    VW Passat
    Subaru Legacy
    Ford Mondeo

They currently have a Rover 75 and love that, I think they're leaning towards the Jag now.. I've been telling them though that they're a bit cramped in the rear (Or so I've read in Parkers et al..)

They want something fairly spacious as there'll be adults in the back, and they have a big dog, and also need room for golf clubs and bags etc..

Given the above list, which one would you choose and why?

Or can you think of anything else that might be suitable.. I'm racking my brains here.. was even gonna suggest a Kia Magentis if they got one for a good price, have no idea what they're like though?

I think I've persuaded them to head North for a better deal, they'll be cash buyers, straight deal, so hopefully they should be able to pick up something nice!

Oh! Almost forgot to mention, they're not looking for a brand new car, something for say around 10k including VRT I think..

So again; something in Diesel, under 2.0l, fairly economical, spacious, erm, something that is easy on the eyes would be a bonus also! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Everyone is going to reccomend the Legacy or Accord.

I'm going to advise a Passat estate. 1.9Tdi, comfortline (or a highline would a be a bonus.)

If you have get the new shape ie. Late 05 and upwards you would be doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bf

If they are insisting on diesel & below 2.0 litre, the Accord is ruled out as its a 2.2 diesel. Legacy diesel only came out last year, so that won't be in their price range.

+1 on the passat, preferably the 2.0TDI if it can be found within budget, better engine than the 1.9Tdi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭boardsie08

I was actually pushing for the Accord, they had one a few years back and really liked it also, however the 2.2L is what's putting them off..

We actually took a Subaru Legacy Estate for a test drive yesterday, was really nice, fully loaded, automatic etc.. 'cept it was petrol which ruled that out!

Also, himself hates estates, thinks they look like a hearse (gotta say I agree!) herself loved it though!

It's a while since I was in a Passat, will have to look at one again one of the says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

boardsie08 wrote: »
    They want something fairly spacious as there'll be adults in the back, and they have a big dog, and also need room for golf clubs and bags etc.. !
    I'd be looking at an estate rather than a saloon so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

If they want something with a lot of space for the money and would stretch another 400CC I'd suggest this: http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1117058

I'm not suggesting that you consider that particular one, but you could pick up a better example in the UK with better spec and VRT paid for around 10k. It is also a car from the class above (5 Series, Merc E-Class etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1287979

If you folks fancy the Jag, the one above is a nice example. They might get a few better alternatives in the UK for that money too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1287979

If you folks fancy the Jag, the one above is a nice example. They might get a few better alternatives in the UK for that money too.

Actually, that looks quite well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Legacy Diesel quite new so out of price-range, like-wise the Accord, C5, Mazda 6 etc will all be old model at that price?

My main gripe with the Jag personally would be old-man looks but that might suit your parents. It's a natural progression from the 75. However AFAIK it's pretty cramped. If you can overlook that (or maybe i'm wrong) the Jag would seem a great buy - avery classy, reliable and undervalued car.

Usually I'd recommend a Mazda and the Mk1 6 is a great car but the 2.0D engine is reportedly troublesome.

Dunno, for middle-aged folks coming from a 75 I'd still recommend the Jag...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Actually, that looks quite well.

I think it looks the part too. Seems to be a bit of spec on that example. No doubt you would get a cheaper car in the UK, you night also get a better selection to chose from too. There isnt too many X Type Estates on Irish roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

mazda speed 6...

slick, clean and plenty of poke from your yoke...

you wont see another around, everyone will turn their heads and you'll have a nice car to drive when you get permission to the keys...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

I think it looks the part too. Seems to be a bit of spec on that example. No doubt you would get a cheaper car in the UK, you night also get a better selection to chose from too. There isnt too many X Type Estates on Irish roads.

Check out the Jag UK website, great selection of cars, all brilliantly presented, I think they look great but I am getting on a bit. The older I get the more chrome I like, what is that about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

pburns wrote: »
    Legacy Diesel quite new so out of price-range, like-wise the Accord, C5, Mazda 6 etc will all be old model at that price?

My main gripe with the Jag personally would be old-man looks but that might suit your parents. It's a natural progression from the 75. However AFAIK it's pretty cramped. If you can overlook that (or maybe i'm wrong) the Jag would seem a great buy - avery classy, reliable and undervalued car.

Usually I'd recommend a Mazda and the Mk1 6 is a great car but the 2.0D engine is reportedly troublesome.

Dunno, for middle-aged folks coming from a 75 I'd still recommend the Jag...

The problems of the "troublesome" 6 diesel are vastly overreported here on boards. I'm biased as the mother owns one but I stand by this assertion. It's not reflected in trade prices either. I'd happily drive one and know of two others in the area that have given no problems whatsoever.
    The Jag is an interesting proposition too. The parents might like it and as others have stated it's undervalued. Try to get the 'sport' version. None of that nasty chrome. Chrome equals pipe, slippers, bacon&cabbage and farts followed by twenty Major and a nice cup of ovaltine before you hit the hay.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

The Jag certainly is cramped in the back, even a Jag salesman said this to me whn I was looking at buying new one. A4 isn't much bigger. A6 has huge boot, loads of rear legroom and 2.0D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭xt40

why not another 75 in connoisseur se cdti spec. cheaper than all the stuff on your list and imo much better. i would say they would feel that an x-type is just a poorly specced imitation with a posher badge. im guessing their current one has a manual gearbox . the autobox in the 75 is a million times better than any manual.