Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help needed with cars been vandalised in drive way.

• 31-01-2009 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭

How's it going lads
    Not sure if this is the correct fourm for what im asking but hopefully someone can advise me. I need to get hold of a good out door security system that would include a good motion camera and spot light that would pick up a good night image of some **** that keeps vandalising our cars.

Both my mothers car and now my own are been vandalised and have been for the last 3/4 mths. My motheres car has had 10 punctures and each time there were between 2 and 3 sharpened nails found in the tyres and she has had to replace two tyres so far on a 08 corolla.

Mine started two weeks ago when i found a nail in my rear tyre and this morning my new front driver side tyre has been slashed and needs replacing.
    I haven't driven my car for a month now as theres a problem with the earth and so i can't get it to spark, a problem for which i posted on here some weeks back so this is not something thats happening from driving or wear and tear.

I can't tell you what this is doing to us and for no reason, apart from the expense and the massave hassel of finding this at 6:30am when you need your car its also the danger of blowouts and the like.

Went to the guards and they found it a little funny and asked if we could keep the nails but what can they do really if im honest.

Can anyone recommend a good outdoor security system to me or where to get one. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Something I saw in operation back in South Africa a few years ago. Something tells me it's not a viable option here though...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDrzMGdYWZc

On topic and more seriously, I've seen outdoor systems that work but the night capture is the problem, pictures are dubious at best, even with spots. I'd think your best bet is to catch them in the act one night, easier said than done though...

The Guards laughing kinda pisses me off though :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Your up to nothing going to the guards. Putting up a security camera/system they will think your a twat and they will continue to vandalise only worse. All they need is a hoody and a scarf.
    Have you got any relations about 17 - 20 or just go out and catch them and give them a few digs, thats the only language these knackers understand. Do you know ere they live maybe have a word with the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭johnplayerblue

We are 90% certain who is doing it and it's a married man in his 50s who lives right across the road and we have no reason for the nut case to be doing this other than he's a ****ing drunk and this all started when my mother came into a few bob last year and bought the first new car ever to come into the house and we haven't had a moments peace since.

Were living on a country lane with only a couple houses around us and so its not a case of needing the guards to tell us who is doing it we just want it to stop before something really bad happens cos im not as quiet as my mother and having to run your hands over your tyres every morning is a bit sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

A big bear trap.

david wrote: »
    A big bear trap.

Wouldn't i just ****ing love that, man what i wouldn't do to the twat at 6:30am after finding my tyres slashed and find him traped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

We are 90% certain who is doing it and it's a married man in his 50s who lives right across the road and we have no reason for the nut case to be doing this other than he's a ****ing drunk and this all started when my mother came into a few bob last year and bought the first new car ever to come into the house and we haven't had a moments peace since.

Were living on a country lane with only a couple houses around us and so its not a case of needing the guards to tell us who is doing it we just want it to stop before something really bad happens cos im not as quiet as my mother and having to run your hands over your tyres every morning is a bit sad.
    Hidden camera, sorted, Then court him!*
    Personnally if I were you I'd literally go out and give him a bad hiding and I garantee you that you'll never ever have a problem with him again;)

*(bring him to court that is):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Putting up a security camera/system they will think your a twat and they will continue to vandalise only worse. All they need is a hoody and a scarf.

Kinda agree with this... might freak them out first but from then on they will be on to it !!

You need to catch them in the act, and security lights may help, get a few over
    and have an old fashioned stakeout. Once caught rough them up a bit call the cops.

Again sorry for your troubles - Its a bit of a nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Wow, a 50yr old man. Well he definietly wont be wearing a hoody and scarf!!

You can probably catch him red handed!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

If you have a wall with pillars at the front of your garden/drive, then you can get a beam & sensor which can be linked to an alarm, either internal or external. Or an internal buzzer or bell would alert you to someone entering the drive once the system is switched on and then a quick look out the window would confirm if it's your culprit. Ask the guys on the electrical forum in Home & Garden, they will have lots of ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭sassa

http://www.equicom.ie/cctv-security-camera-with-night-vision--sony-lens-51-p.asp

http://www.equicom.ie/high-power-camera-with-night-vision-20-p.asp

Found these two cameras using google. You might find better these were just the first 2 that came up the 2nd seems the better option as you can set it up to record using your dvd recorder/vcr.
    As mentioned earlier this could just provoke him to do worse to the cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

If you're so sure it's him, why don't you just threaten to sic the gardai on him if he doesn't stop? Sorry to hear about your situation, must be really frustrating.

Easyer said than done when you think about it, i know what i'd like to have done with him but in the long run i just want a quiet life but if i can get the basterd over a barrel with pictures i'd have the **** right where i want him. Two choices, court/garda or hit him where it hurts and also in his pocket.

Dyflin wrote: »
    If you have a wall with pillars at the front of your garden/drive, then you can get a beam & sensor which can be linked to an alarm, either internal or external. Or an internal buzzer or bell would alert you to someone entering the drive once the system is switched on and then a quick look out the window would confirm if it's your culprit. Ask the guys on the electrical forum in Home & Garden, they will have lots of ideas.

I really like this idea and in fact im going hunting something like this down. Theres only one way in and one way out with two pillars at the end of the drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Lidl are stocking home CCTV on the 5th:

http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20090205.p.ColourSurveillanceCamerawithDigitalVideoReceiver

Also hook up a few floodlights on sensors around the perimeter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭audismelly

Would you consider a dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

get yourself a dvr and get a good wireless pinhole camera(off the net) and put up a sensor light
    once u find out for defo who it is do the same thing to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

buy a baseball bat

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

audismelly wrote: »
    Big noisy beast that will bark like billy-o if anyone comes near.
    Or a little yapper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I'd lie in wait for him to start vandalising the car, then go out and beat him senseless. Maybe you can tuck a few of those nails he left between your fingers, just to get your point across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Maplins do some half decent cameras and recorders. If you have an old pc you can use that with a dvr card as the recorder. Steer clear of the cheap ebay cameras.

I got cctv front and back of my house after my car was vandalised and I have had no problems since. I was surprised at how quickly the local kids spotted the cameras (even the covert ones). I didn't suffer adversly by getting the system but I don't think the damage to my car was caused by locals, I think someone was trying to steal it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 uiscebeatha

audismelly wrote: »

I'd be careful about that...

If someone went in to vandalise your car and the dog bit him, the law says your in the wrong. Despite the fact that he was trespassing and basically up to no good, he could sue you!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Dazzy

How far is the car from the house? Ideally you want to be able to mount a camera on the house as you need to get power and signal to it. If you do go down the CCTV route ensure that the camera works with 0 lux (no light) and has built in LED's that help it see at night. Check the camera spec to ensure that it will work at night at the distance you want. The LED's come on at night so the camera is easy to spot.
    I recently bought a stand alone cctv system, 5 outdoor cameras, and 500 GB DVR for just under €600. It has a built in Software motion sensor. There are cheaper cctv alternatives but just make sure you get the right equipment for the job.

Dazzy wrote: »
    How far is the car from the house? Ideally you want to be able to mount a camera on the house as you need to get power and signal to it. If you do go down the CCTV route ensure that the camera works with 0 lux (no light) and has built in LED's that help it see at night. Check the camera spec to ensure that it will work at night at the distance you want. The LED's come on at night so the camera is easy to spot.
    I recently bought a stand alone cctv system, 5 outdoor cameras, and 500 GB DVR for just under €600. It has a built in Software motion sensor. There are cheaper cctv alternatives but just make sure you get the right equipment for the job.

Thanks for the help lads, i think the link below is a pretty good option at 152e and they have 2 in stock in Blancherstown.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=98043#checkstore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Wouldn't be hard to keep an eye on the car from say 1-2pm Fri/Sat night and snap a pic for the guards. Does (s)he do this often? Every week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭reggiethefirst

Giving him a few slaps would probably be the most satisfying, but you'd probably end up in more trouble than him. Now if someone else gave him a beating... Or I have a schematic for a fairly lethal home made taser I've been wanting to try out. Getting the bastard to touch two seperate metal contacts would be a problem though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭stapeler

A friend was in a similiar situation, He installed a simple CCTV system and caught the culprit. He approached the individual who threatened the Gardai for making false acquisations. When CCTV was mentioned the tone changed:D He notified the Gardai, was compensated but didn't press charges on the condition if a similiar incident occured again he would press charges.

A simple CCTV system could be run off an old computer or laptop. Possible to do less than €100.

Camera around €20
    Cable around €15
    Laptop Capture device Around €20 Software usually included
    PC Capture card I've been using this one fot the past year on an old Celeron based PC and it works very well.

A wireless option is also possible. With a broadband connection then remote monitoring is possible. System activates when there's movement so no need to continously record.

If you do decide to give the culprid a few slaps (not recommended) make sure the camera are switched off first :)