Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Revised Squads for France & Saxons

• 30-01-2009 4:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭jam_on_toast

Ireland Squad V France:

Backs:

Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
    Girvan Dempsey (Terenure College - Leinster)
    Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne - Leinster)
    Keith Earls (Young Munster - Munster)
    Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College - Leinster)
    Shane Horgan (Boyne - Leinster)
    Robert Kearney (UCD - Leinster)
    Geordan Murphy (Leicester)
    Brian O'Driscoll (UCD - Leinster)
    Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution - Munster)
    Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin - Munster)
    Peter Stringer (Shannon - Munster)
    Paddy Wallace (Ballymena - Ulster)

Forwards:

Rory Best (Banbridge - Ulster)
    Tom Court (Malone - Ulster)
    Stephen Ferris (Dungannon - Ulster)
    Jerry Flannery (Shannon - Munster)
    John Hayes (Bruff- Munster)
    Jamie Heaslip (Naas - Leinster)
    Marcus Horan (Shannon - Munster)
    Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution - Munster)
    Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution - Munster)
    Paul O'Connell (Young Munster - Munster)
    Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution - Munster)
    Malcolm O’Kelly (St.Mary’s College - Leinster)
    Alan Quinlan (Shannon - Munster)
    David Wallace (Garryowen - Munster)

Team Squad v England Saxons

Backs:
    Isaac Boss (Ballymena - Ulster)
    Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins - Ulster)
    Ian Dowling (Shannon - Munster)
    Gavin Duffy (Galwegians - Connacht)
    Ian Humphreys (Ballymena - Ulster)
    Keith Matthews (Buccaneers - Connacht)
    Eoin Reddan (Wasps)
    Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College - Leinster)
    Andrew Trimble (Ballymena - Ulster)

Forwards:
    John Andress (Exeter)
    Neil Best (Northampton)
    Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon - Ulster)
    Bob Casey (London Irish)
    Sean Cronin (Buccaneers -Connacht)
    Cian Healy (Clontarf - Leinster)
    Bernard Jackman (Clontarf - Leinster)
    Shane Jennings (St. Mary's College - Leinster)
    John Muldoon (Galwegians - Connacht)
    Mike Ross (Harlequins)*
    Donnacha Ryan (Shannon - Munster)
    Sean O’Brien (Clontarf - Leinster)
    A.N. Other to be added to the squad.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/mhsngbsnsnmh/

A very eddie squad. Am looking forward to seeing the saxons game, will it be on TV?

Reddan can feel hard done by I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Very disapointing. Whats the point in having Stringer ahead of Reddan? No Cave either. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Reddan for the A's...

Odd really. Not the most obvious of selections. I really hope the Ulster lads pull together for the A's and give the Saxons a smacking because they're being ignored to a horrendous degree, in the backs at least.

Boss and Reddan are both playing better than Stringer this season, so I can't understand that one.

Paddy Wallace is our only back up 10, that's absolutely disgraceful - he's a great 12, and we're going to use him at 10 badly.

The king is dead, long live the king. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

that squad's 90% fine by me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

A very Eddie squad indeed. What was the point in changing the coach in the first place especially if we go on producing lacklustre performances with this lot. Surely some squad changes at the very least would be in order?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

sh1t squad purely on the basis that 13 of them are over the age of 30 plus what the fcuk has Mick O Driscoll done to be on that squad ahead of Ryan, Casey, Caldwell, Hogan all of whom have seen a lot more game time for their clubs/provinces than him this season.

There is no need for Mal O Kelly or Quinlan in that squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Ireland A Vs. England Saxons is on RTE2 at 7.30 on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

bleg wrote: »
    that squad's 90% fine by me

Any squad is going to be 90 percent fine. It's just a few decisions that people will debate. I would have liked to see Caldwell in instead of MOD or MOK and Cave in for Dempsey. Can anyone in that squad can play 7 apart from Wallace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭jam_on_toast

On looking again, how has D'arcy made that squad? There is no way he could be anywhere near full match condition yet. He would be much better off getting a full game against the saxons.

Cave should be in there instead.

By leaving out sexton, it is 99.99% certain wallace is sub for 10. Was hoping he would start at 12.

Hope Dec knows what he is doing, am really looking forward to next weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

Reddan for the A's...

Odd really. Not the most obvious of selections. I really hope the Ulster lads pull together for the A's and give the Saxons a smacking because they're being ignored to a horrendous degree, in the backs at least.

Boss and Reddan are both playing better than Stringer this season, so I can't understand that one.

Paddy Wallace is our only back up 10, that's absolutely disgraceful - he's a great 12, and we're going to use him at 10 badly.

The king is dead, long live the king. :rolleyes:
    Stringer is playing very well this year. Whats the problem there? Different type of halfback. Reddan had some seriously bad shockers in the GP (yes, the coaching staff likely to watch those games too). Boss playing better for sure.
    No shocks in the selection really. When it gets down to 22, some of the comments should be interesting.
    Pretty strong squad. Only real issue I would have changed myself is I'd swap Mick O'Driscoll for Donncha Ryan. Its great that Leamy and d'Arcy are fit again. Good to see Court being given the chance to make a dash for the front row bench.

On looking again, how has D'arcy made that squad? There is no way he could be anywhere near full match condition yet. He would be much better off getting a full game against the saxons.

Cave should be in there instead.

By leaving out sexton, it is 99.99% certain wallace is sub for 10. Was hoping he would start at 12.

Hope Dec knows what he is doing, am really looking forward to next weekend.

Reputation.

I really like D'arcy, he's a great player, and I really hope that it works out for his sake. Young Cave's been robbed though. As has Wallace. And Ian Humphreys actually. ^^

Reputation.

I really like D'arcy, he's a great player, and I really hope that it works out for his sake. Young Cave's been robbed though. As has Wallace. And Ian Humphreys actually. ^^

Wallace could still start and move to 10 in O'Gara gets injured. Not sure if it'll happen but we'll wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭jam_on_toast

Reputation.

I like D'arcy too but reputation should not come into it when you've been injured for the guts of a year and have completed 1 full game since.

15. Kearney
    14. Bowe
    13. O Driscoll
    12. Earls
    11. Fitzgerald
    10. O Gara
    9. O Leary
    1. Horan
    2. Flannery/Best
    3. Hayes
    4. O Callaghan
    5. O Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Leamy

Bench: Flannery/Best, Court, O Driscoll, Heaslip, Stringer, Wallace, Murphy

yes please

I like D'arcy too but reputation should not come into it when you've been injured for the guts of a year and have completed 1 full game since.

Same could be said for Leamy

Wallace could still start and move to 10 in O'Gara gets injured. Not sure if it'll happen but we'll wait and see.
    True. But I've a feeling pigs'll fly first. :(
    It does though. Look at Leamy.
    15. Kearney
    14. Bowe
    13. O Driscoll
    12. Earls
    11. Fitzgerald
    10. O Gara
    9. O Leary
    1. Horan
    2. Flannery/Best
    3. Hayes
    4. O Callaghan
    5. O Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Leamy

yes please

Leamy at 8? Earls at 12? I hope to God not.

and MOD on the bench? You missed that one :p

Disgraceful.

If I was Reddan or Jennings or Jackman,I would just go home and tell him to **** himself.

Caves ommision is debatable but hes young.

Leamy,O'kelly and Horgan ffs.

Leaving Jennings out once again means we have no bloody proper 7.

and MOD on the bench? You missed that one :p
    So I did.

In fairness, Leamy's a good 6, Earls is going to be good, but Fitzgerald's more developed and not a natural 12, neither's Earls. I'd love to see a line up in teh future of Kearney at 15 with Earls and Fitzgerald outside of him.
    Disgraceful.

If I was Reddan or Jennings or Jackman,I would just go home and tell him to **** himself.

I feel massively sorry for those lads. What do they need to do?

Lack of a 7's a real kick in the teeth.

So I did.

In fairness, Leamy's a good 6, Earls is going to be good, but Fitzgerald's more developed and not a natural 12, neither's Earls. I'd love to see a line up in teh future of Kearney at 15 with Earls and Fitzgerald outside of him.

I feel massively sorry for those lads. What do they need to do?

Lack of a 7's a real kick in the teeth.

Play for Munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Jennings is not worth his place and has been a massive disappointment since coming to Leinster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Play for Munster.

Well they are the no 1 club team in Europe, so it's a start.

buck65 wrote: »

Still it'd be nice if they were actually playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

I think the likes of Cave and Caldwell are better off getting 80 mins against the Saxons than sitting on the bench against France. I think I'll reserve judgment on the rest of the selection until Saturday at 7ish.

You're right! Let's drop Kearney for Barry Murphy!

Jennings is not worth his place and has been a massive disappointment since coming to Leinster.

He has played better in the last few matches and is worth inclusion.Why is leamy there?
    He hasnt been setting the world on fire and as specialist positions go,jennings should be instead of Leamy.Hes the only bloody 7 in Ireland.

The most balanced backrow we could have is

6 Ferris
    7 Jennings
    8-Wallace

Instead we may get

6 leamy
    7 Wallace
    8 Heaslip

or some other backrow amalgamation.

As people have said time and time again.That means **** all on the international stage.

A balanced backrow is more important than putting the best players out or no where near best in Leamy's case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

15. Kearney
    14. Bowe
    13. O Driscoll
    12. Earls
    11. Fitzgerald
    10. O Gara
    9. O Leary
    1. Horan
    2. Flannery/Best
    3. Hayes
    4. O Callaghan
    5. O Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Leamy

yes please

Replace Heaslip with Leamy and Wallace with Earls and drop Mick O'Driscoll completely and I'd agree, that would be a cracking team. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

15. Kearney
    14. Bowe
    13. O Driscoll
    12. Earls
    11. Fitzgerald
    10. O Gara
    9. O Leary
    1. Horan
    2. Flannery/Best
    3. Hayes
    4. O Callaghan
    5. O Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. Wallace
    8. Leamy

yes please

Earls has been a massive disappointment at centre and has been mediocore at best which is shame as i really rate him but he's look more like a broken runner player then a guy who can break fixed defence. Why he deserves a start at centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sparky14

Think Casey can feel a bit pissed off as well, if I was him I wouldn't bother coming over for these extended squads if hes never included. He's captain of London Irish who have been great this yr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Stev_o wrote: »
    Earls has been a massive disappointment at centre and has been mediocore at best which is shame as i really rate him but he's look more like a broken runner player then a guy who can break fixed defence. Why he deserves a start at centre?

so he could set a record for the lightest ever international inside centre!

still, on a positive side, it will be good to see the likes of ferris, heaslip, kearney, fitzgerald, Bowe and O'Leary get bedded in at the international stage.

Reckon it will be next season before we see Healy, Cave, Ryan and Earls breaking into the 22

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Frank_Gallagher

Based on this I'd say the team will be along the lines of:

15: Murphy/Dempsey

Probably Murphy seeing as Dempsey hasn't had much game time since being injured. I'd have preferred Kearney but the fact he's picked both indicates one will start

14: Bowe
    Picks himself. Playing really well.

13: O'Driscoll

12: Fitzgerald/Earls/D'Arcy
    For continuity and experiences sake (can't beleive I'm saying this about a 21 year old but...) It'll probably be Fitzgerald as D'Arcy hasn't played enough since coming back and throwing Earls up against Jauzion at international level would be a poor call

11: Kearney

10: ROG

9: O'Leary
    I would have liked to see Reddan here but it seems playing overseas is still affecting him. Funny how it affects some players (Reddan, J Murphy, Bob Casey) and not others (G Murphy, Bowe)

8: Heaslip/Leamy
    On form would probably have to be Leamy, who's been playing amazingly well recently

7: Wallace

6: Ferris/Quinlan
    I'd like to see Ferris starting but it's much of a muchness as both are playing well. Something tells me he'll start Quinlan as he's experienced and playing well, using Ferris to (nominally) cover all three backrow positions from the bench

5: POC

4: DOC

3: Hayes

2: Flannery/Best
    Close call again, Flannery probably just about edges it on merit but politically speaking it probably depends on who gets picked at 6

1: Horan

16: Flannery/Best
    17: Tom Court (Good call, can cover both sides of scrum)
    18: O'Driscoll (A Kidney favourite)
    19: Ferris/Quinlan
    20: Stringer
    21: P Wallace
    22: Murphy/Dempsey/Horgan/D'Arcy/Earls/Fitzgerald

My own preference would have been:

15: Kearney
    13: BOD
    12: Fitzgerald
    11: Earls
    10: Rog
    9: Reddan

8: Wallace
    7: Jennings
    6: Leamy
    2: Flannery

16: Best
    17: Court
    18: Caldwell
    19: Ferris
    20: O'Leary
    21: Humphries
    22: Murphy

bamboozle wrote: »
    so he could set a record for the lightest ever international inside centre!
    Matt Giteau isn't that much over 80kg. Whats Warwick? ;)

Probably Murphy seeing as Dempsey hasn't had much game time since being injured. I'd have preferred Kearney but the fact he's picked both indicates one will start

Or it could indicate that 1 will be dropped with the other taking the bench spot. If that were the case I'd rather it was Murphy. Picking Kearney on the wing seems stupid as we have a lot of better options. I really hope Kidney doesn't do it.

according to their provincial stats earls is 90 kg and o driscoll is 95...

and i'd prefer to have donncha ryan on the bench as he can also cover blind side but he was put in the A squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Frank_Gallagher

Or it could indicate that 1 will be dropped with the other taking the bench spot. If that were the case I'd rather it was Murphy. Picking Kearney on the wing seems stupid as we have a lot of better options. I really hope Kidney doesn't do it.

Yep true enough, but if he errs to the side of caution (as the squad would indicate he might) then I'd imagine he'll see Kearney as a more experienced option on the wing with a vastly experienced FB backing him up.

Not my personal preference but sure he gets paid to make the big calls!

according to their provincial stats earls is 90 kg and o driscoll is 95...

and i'd prefer to have donncha ryan on the bench as he can also cover blind side but he was put in the A squad.

90kg's my arse.
    Bod is about 85 currently I would say,he has lost loads of weight.People never realised how big he was unless you stood beside him,the guy was 100kg's at one stage I would say,he was a tank.

Earls is about 80kg's at most but hes also only 21 so doesnt really matter.
    For a modern centre his height would be more a cause of concern.

http://www.irishrugby.ie/13394_13785.php

there are the irish profiles which have the same weights.

90kg's my arse
    I'm 95kg and of a similar build, fairly fit but a little shorter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

Picks himself. Playing really well.

13: O'Driscoll

12: Fitzgerald/Earls/D'Arcy
    For continuity and experiences sake (can't beleive I'm saying this about a 21 year old but...) It'll probably be Fitzgerald as D'Arcy hasn't played enough since coming back and throwing Earls up against Jauzion at international level would be a poor call

11: Kearney

10: ROG

9: O'Leary
    I would have liked to see Reddan here but it seems playing overseas is still affecting him. Funny how it affects some players (Reddan, J Murphy, Bob Casey) and not others (G Murphy, Bowe)

8: Heaslip/Leamy
    On form would probably have to be Leamy, who's been playing amazingly well recently

7: Wallace

6: Ferris/Quinlan
    I'd like to see Ferris starting but it's much of a muchness as both are playing well. Something tells me he'll start Quinlan as he's experienced and playing well, using Ferris to (nominally) cover all three backrow positions from the bench

2: Flannery/Best
    Close call again, Flannery probably just about edges it on merit but politically speaking it probably depends on who gets picked at 6

16: Flannery/Best
    17: Tom Court (Good call, can cover both sides of scrum)
    18: O'Driscoll (A Kidney favourite)
    19: Ferris/Quinlan
    20: Stringer
    21: P Wallace
    22: Murphy/Dempsey/Horgan/D'Arcy/Earls/Fitzgerald

My own preference would have been:

15: Kearney
    13: BOD
    12: Fitzgerald
    11: Earls
    10: Rog
    9: Reddan

8: Wallace
    7: Jennings
    6: Leamy
    2: Flannery

16: Best
    17: Court
    18: Caldwell
    19: Ferris
    20: O'Leary
    21: Humphries
    22: Murphy

Not sure what you mean here. There is no time for politics in Irish rugby, the best players must be picked in their positions. I think its highly insulting to a senior member of the Irish squad to suggest that Rory Best might only get picked depending on who gets picked at 6?! Rory Best is the man to start everytime, with Flannery's more mobile abrasive style suited to a looser game later in the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Disgraceful.

Jennings has been very poor this season, whats the point in having a proper 7 who's playing ****?:confused: I think the stringer selection is strange to say the least, Boss should the one pissed off though, not Reddan as he hasnt been great this year either. Jackman hasnt been better then Flannery or Best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

I think the stringer selection is strange to say the least,

I actually agree with the stringer selection - I would have picked TOL or Redden to start (probably TOL) but I think Stringer is a better replacement to have as he is a completely different style - if you need to change a match its better to have something different on the bench

I'm 95kg and of a similar build, fairly fit but a little shorter.

im 90kg's and 5'11 and im a beast.theres not a chance earls is 90kg's.
    I would dominate him.

As ive said I have seen Bod 100kg's and he is a freak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I would dominate him.

You've seen BOD on a weigh scales? Fair play. I take it you've seen Earls on a weighing scales and saw that it didnt reach 90kgs aswell yea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

I would dominate him.

Holy mother of God! I came looking for the rugby forum and it appears I've accidentally found myself in the midst of a sado-masochism/domination fantasy fetish involving rugby players and scales...tell you what, this rugby forum is becoming a very broad church indeed, but hey whatever floats your individual boat.....I guess....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Who does Dowling have to sleep with to get a look in????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

D_Red_Army wrote: »
    Who does Dowling have to sleep with to get a look in????

Perhaps someone who has the ability to make a solid club player an international standard one through some sort of fluid exchange during the act of love?...failing that fuggedabboudit.....he's nowhere near

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Moncti48

Leamy is not in the team because of reputation. Hes played 4 games and has played better in them four games than Heaslip has all season. However I dont think hel start as he can be used as an impact player because he covers more positions than Heaslip

Darcy is in the team because DK probably feels he can get the best out of DArcy. the partnership of Fitzgearld and BOD is ****e and DK wont play wallace at 12(be used as a repalcement 10) Kidney needs a 12 that he knows works with BOD....plus Darcy has something to prove. Hes been out for a year, cheika is taking the piss with him so hel want to play!

Stringer is more iof an impact than Reddan, offers something else.

Best will probably start against france, Flannery to come on at change things

Kearney (I hope) starts at 15, however Murphy is looking likely to start with Kearney at 11.

Bowe/Fitzgearld at 14

Rest of the team picks itself!!!!!!

Apologies for the drunk post above :D

I wouldnt be that pissed with a Darcy Bod selection.They both seem to play better when they are partnered.

the non inclusion of cave would also point to Wallace not starting either.

Stringer at 9 would work best with Gaffneys flat backline aswell.It relies on quick ball and stringer is the quickest we have.

I think we may see

15 Murphy
    14 Bowe
    13 Bod
    12 Fitz
    11 Kearney
    9 stringer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I wouldnt be that pissed with a Darcy Bod selection.They both seem to play better when they are partnered.

Stringer at 9 would work best with Gaffneys flat backline aswell.It relies on quick ball and stringer is the quickest we have.

I think we may see

15 Murphy
    14 Bowe
    13 Bod
    12 Fitz
    11 Kearney
    9 stringer

Ill cry if i see Stringer starting and Fitz in the centre with Wallace on the bench.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭barnesd

If Kearney doesn't start at 15 I no longer support Kidney and want him as far away from my national side as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Moncti48

I think we may see

15 Murphy
    14 Bowe
    13 Bod
    12 Fitz
    11 Kearney
    9 stringer

firstly I said Kidney is liable to use Darcy as Fitz is **** in the centre, and Wallace wont play at 12 as hel be used as a replacement 10.
    Also Gaffneys quick ball doesnt suit Fitz at 12, hel be creamed with defences getting on top of him. its happened at lenister hence fitz getting switched to the wing!

And secondly if stringer starts il be pissed. TOL is playing out of his skin, stringer is a good replacement to change things but should not start.