Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ferry Corsten @ Tivoli

• 30-01-2009 2:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone going tonight? Should be a stomper! Only downside is that they'll probably pack the place beyond capacity as usual :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

It will be a fun night. Im not going to this but i say you should get there very early so your not waiting around too long. Enjoy your night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Im goin to this...

Is Tivoli bad for people package so? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭disssco

There is already a thread about Ferry Corsten's gig on the first page of this forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

disssco wrote: »
    There is already a thread about Ferry Corsten's gig on the first page of this forum?

There sure was, but never mind ;)

The event was ticket only so there wasn't even a queue, just walked right in.

Then of course, in typical Irish fashion, the gig was shut down at 1:10am (before Ferry even took to the stage) because some arsehole at Tivoli/Planetlove didn't apply for the late-event license. About 30 gardai showed up and just pulled the plug so either the gardai have a bad history with Tivoli and wanted to do them over, or some dirty rat needs a kickin for reporting the event to them.

John was mediocre at best, I just wasn't feeling his stuff but Mark Kavanagh put down an awesome set before him.

I paid good money to see Ferry, so PL/Tivoli better fix this by refunding me my ticket or doing something else

Absolute joke.

What is the best method of recourse? Ticketmaster or PL/Tivoli? Is this small claims court-worthy if they F*ck about on a refund?

I dunno consultech, I posted on the PL forum and now I'm gonna email both them and Tivoli about a refund/partial-refund.

It's not the money really, more the principle - I'm not one to take getting fcuked around by somebody who can't do their job properly.

Off to the consumer issues forum to find out what the best course of action is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Load of ****. Don't know who's to blame but definitely want a refund! TouchingVirus, let us know how you get on, I'll follow your lead!!

Mark Kavanagh was brilliant, JoC was a big disappointment. Hadn't seen him in ages and was really looking forward to it but he was crap, no atmosphere in the place when he was playing.

Is this the end for the Tivoli???

For somebody who wants a refund I find your name quite ironic, sorry :D

Mark was awesome, he spent more time hyping up the crowd and jumping around like a lunatic than anything else, really like him. And yeah, JOC just wasn't up to much, but I thoroughly enjoyed Chakalaka and L.E.D Let there be light, they really got the crowd going.

Tivoli could get a slap on the wrist yeah, especially if they're in the bad books with the Gardai already for whatever reason. Probably have to close for a day or pay a fine for runnin on past the 12:30am time.

I'm heading to see Markus Schulz at the Ministry of Sound on the 13th February so I wouldn't mind if the 14th goes ahead or not myself but if it does I'll be there. Left a message on the Letrik bebo page to get them to make sure Tivoli applies to the District Court for it's late license for that event so the same thing doesn't happen again!

Update:

Rang Tivoli theatre and apparently anyone who booked tickets online thru ticketmaster etc will be contacted by TM/PL in the next couple of days. I also left my details with them on the off-chance my missus bought them from a desk (which it turns out she didnt)

To be honest it is about the money. We spent 180 bills between the two of us last night including tickets for that? F*ckin joke. Fuming.

consultech, can you do me a favour? Will you post up what they say to you? I bought mine from a Ticketmaster outlet here in Longford and I don't really want to go ringing them up myself :D

I did, however, send them this email
    Good afternoon,

I've informally raised this on the PlanetLoveMusic.com forums, boards.ie and a few other places, but I think it's probably better if I raise this formally now over email. Last night, as I'm sure you know, An Garda Síochána shut down Tivoli for not having a late-event license. I'm unsure as to whether or not the application to the District Court was even made, but there is no mention of Subject To License on my Ticketmaster ticket.

I paid the full price for my ticket to see Ferry Corsten and drove 75 miles to Dublin just to see him. I could have drove the same distance to see Ferry in the Beach Club, Belfast but figured 2+ hours was better than 90 minutes. Mark Kavanagh and John O'Callaghan were just additions to the main event, I had no interest in seeing them and had they been the only acts on I wouldn't have paid for my ticket. So with that in mind, you can imagine my utter disgust that something that's incredibly significant (the license) wasn't obtained. Not only did we not get 2 hours of Ferry Corsten, we didn't get 1 second of Ferry Corsten.

It was also extremely poor form that no announcement was made as to what was happening. I think the crowd became fairly violent rather quickly and propose that this is in part because of your failure to inform us as to what was going on. When I approached the VIP/Promotor area to ask what was happening there wasn't a single person there to tell me, just Tivoli security who didn't have a clue what was going on. First I heard it was noise, then it was a power failure but ultimately it was down the the Gardaí to tell us what had happened. I understand there was a hard job to get people off the stage and out the door, especially considering the amount of us that were at the event but you did yourselves absolutely no favours with your lack of an explanation.

I feel rather cheated out of my €30 now, and though not a sizeable sum in itself, I'm also thinking about the utter waste of petrol and time last night was because of somebody's error. It's like paying into the cinema only to be shown the door after the trailers and advertisements.

So, I'm now politely requesting that I be issued with a refund for the cost price of my ticket. It certainly wasn't my fault that I didn't get to see Ferry Corsten, and the blame must lie with somebody, somebody is accountable for what happened last night. If a refund is not issued, I do want to know what Planet Love Music or The Tivoli plan on doing to make it up to the 900+ patrons that were there last night, all of whom were equally cheated out of a performance and/or money. Obviously the best solution would be to reschedule Ferry Corsten for another date and let our tickets still be valid for that event, or provide us with a discounted ticket price for the next event if we produce our January 30th ticket stubs when purchasing the new tickets. I'll not be purchasing a ticket to another Planetlove or Tivoli event until I receive a response that outlines your position on the issue clearly.

Kind Regards,

I understand it's about the money for you, there's absolutely nothing wrong with that. I spent €100 total including the ticket but most of it was on the drink while I was in there and the petrol to/from Dublin, I kipped in my friends house so I didn't have any room expenses.

Anyways, I'll be sending on that email to Ticketmaster too (changing it a bit of course to make it more relevant) so with a bit of luck this gets sorted out to everybody's satisfaction

Cool Cool

Ticketmaster customer support line wasnt picked up - I wonder why :rolleyes:

I think using this thread going forward as a source of updates on refunds etc would be a good idea...

Ahh yeah, I'll be using it anyways, either this one or the one over in Consumer Affairs anyways :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

I too bought my ticket from a ticketmaster agent in dublin. Im fuming, I said Id never go into the tivoli again after the last two events queing outside but got there early last night and got in. Thought it was going alright then that happened. I will be keeping a close eye onthis thread to see the outcome. Id say ticketmaster will have to refund you the money as they issued the tickets. They will then have to take it up with PL or Tivoli. Thats if they refund them. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭AB03

Statement from Ferry Corsten :

http://www.yournight.ie/play.php?vid=952

That was a pretty standard message from Ferry, of course he couldn't get to play with the venue shut down

Here's the post from the Planet Love Music forum made by Eddie Wray
    Both PLM and Ferry Corsten would like to apologise to those fans who were at the Tivoli in Dublin on Friday night. Ferry was not able play due to the venue being closed down early, a decision which was taken by the venue. We must stress that Ferry was at the venue and the night was running really well with a sell out crowd. Both Ferry and ourselves were devastated to find out that the venue had to be close before he could perform. The venue has promised to release a statement on Monday explaining the reasons behind this decision. We must stress again that this was neither the fault of PLM or Ferry Corsten and any complaints or enquiries should be directed to the venue.

And again, in typical fashion, here's a message left on my bebo page by Tivoli's bebo crowd
    To all fans who may have been affected by what happened last night: This is an advertising and promotion page for the venue. Any problems you may have concerning refunds / complaints may be dealt with by emailing PlanetLove: info@planetlovemusic.com.

I think we've got ourselves a blame circle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Board Walker

if it was a licence issue then why was there a minority arrested?

I really dont think Billy Dunseath is stupid enough to run an unlicensed event. Its not a feasible reason for the disaster.

people are saying "the cops told me its a license issue"

well the cops are hardly going to ring you and tell you your house is getting raided before they call now would they?

One of my mates is a Garda, so he spoke to the Sergeant that was there who told him it was a license issue.

The minority arrested were probably the asshats who started to throw bottles at the state and try turn the place into a riot.

And if it was a drugs issue why did the Gardai wait until 1:10am to do it (i.e. 10 minutes after the venue was meant to be closed if it didn't have a license)? Why didn't they shut it down at 11pm? It'd had made more sense because all pubs in Dublin would have been open and they wouldn't have had to deal with all the other ****e in different location as well as the Tivoli.

We'll see tomorrow when the Tivoli make a statement, but to be honest I couldn't care less if it was drugs or the license, the end result is the very same.

Actually thats a very good point.

I can see the whole everyone blaming each-other stuff coming about again.

Wouldn't surprise me if Tivoli tried to blame the fans or bullshat something about drugs/health & safety

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 pow222

The whole night was poorly run. For starters the place had been over booked resulting in queues outside that were not moving as the place was already over capacity. When I finally did get in the coat room was full. I asked to speak with the manager but was told I could not. I insisted and a person who claimed to be the manager came to speak with me saying they were having a very difficult night with problems from the Gardai. This was at circa midnight.

I rang Ticketmaster on Sat who told me that I should call back on Monday/ Tuesday when the had consulted with the promoter.

I am going to write them (Tivoli) a strongly worded letter and will be avoiding any of their gigs oin the future.

This is not how to go about business. Dublin/ Ireland is too small a place

pow222 wrote: »
    The whole night was poorly run. For starters the place had been over booked resulting in queues outside that were not moving as the place was already over capacity. When I finally did get in the coat room was full. I asked to speak with the manager but was told I could not. I insisted and a person who claimed to be the manager came to speak with me saying they were having a very difficult night with problems from the Gardai. This was at circa midnight.

I rang Ticketmaster on Sat who told me that I should call back on Monday/ Tuesday when the had consulted with the promoter.

I am going to write them (Tivoli) a strongly worded letter and will be avoiding any of their gigs oin the future.

This is not how to go about business. Dublin/ Ireland is too small a place

Having to queue outside Tivoli for a ridiculous amount of time is usually, unfortunately, part and parcel of the Tivoli experience. Also, the cloakroom thing...if you regularly go there you will know that the cloakroom fills up within about an hour of the place opening. I was there at 10.15pm and the cloakroom was full. It's an absolute joke, you'd think after this length of time that they'd have done something about this. It's really disappointing because I have always enjoyed the atmosphere in the Tivoli but the amount of hassle you have with the place is just not worth it. Back to the Vaults or Tripod for me.

Keep us updated on any luck you have with Ticketmaster. I emailed PlanetLove and am waiting to hear back from them to see who they have to blame before I contact anyone else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 juicydublin

It looks mental on some vid's on youtube!! You'd think if ya didnt get to see the Dj ya paid for you should defo be able to get a refund!!! Where were tickets bought from? cuz I just looked on the tivoli site terms and conditions; it says this when ya buy a ticket:

" Conditions of Sale
    No refunds. No exchanges. No cameras. No recorders (offending equipment will be confiscated by management to protect artist integrity and copyright). Ticketholder assumes all risk of injury and all responsibility for property lost, destruction or theft and releases management / promoter of all liability thereafter. Tickets may not be resold, any violation will render it invalid."

:mad::(:eek::eek::eek:
    Most say no refund unless its cancelled :-(

Edited: heres the link to it actually incase any1 wants it https://www.ctb.ie/tickets/tivoli/terms.php

:(:( Doesn't look good!

We bought our tickets from Ticketmaster. They're probably the best people to contact. If I haven't received a reply from PL by the end of the day I'll get in touch with Ticketmaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭donegalgirl28

pow222 wrote: »
    Tthe coat room was full.
    Also, the cloakroom thing...if you regularly go there you will know that the cloakroom fills up within about an hour of the place opening. I was there at 10.15pm and the cloakroom was full.

It wasn't open. The shutters were up and no one was there, if it was full there would have been someone at the desk. I got in at 10.20pm.

I noticed how they weren't doing any searches aswell, I usually get the bag checked, quick pat down by the security woman and then let in. I'm almost wondering if the Tivoli knew they were going to be shut down. :rolleyes:

The guy who checked my ticket outside the door said to the lad at the door to search me & my friend, he didnt though and just let us in where the woman tore off our stub and stamped our hands.

Also, the shutters for the cloak room were down but there was somebody inside, they said something to me when I tried to ram my coat between the wall & shutter (there was a gap big enough for my coat and I figured it'd be safer than leaving it in a pile :D

It wasn't open. The shutters were up and no one was there, if it was full there would have been someone at the desk. I got in at 10.20pm.

I noticed how they weren't doing any searches aswell, I usually get the bag checked, quick pat down by the security woman and then let in. I'm almost wondering if the Tivoli knew they were going to be shut down. :rolleyes:

It had been open before I got in. When I got there there was a girl standing with the shutters half open telling people that it was full, and my friends had gotten there earlier in the night and had put their jackets in.

Strange, I've actually never been searched going into the Tivoli, and Friday was the first time they've ever looked in my bag! :D Just a quick glance mind you, but still a lot more than they've ever done before.

It was a bit of a strange weekend altogether. Was anyone at Steve Angello at the Academy on Saturday? The police apparantly flooded the place and removed about half the crowd! Also, I heard there was a large police presence outside Tripod on Friday after Zabiela. :confused:

Well here's what Planet Love said this morning ...
    Folks, again I will personally stress we are as gutted as you are on this and are devastated that this happened as was Ferry. Let me point out the few things I can at this time. The venue is licensed to 2.30am and has been for a considerable time so it was nothing to do with the licence. The action taken on the night by the venue to close early was their decision and was completely and utterly outside of our control. We do not own the venue or have the power to override the venues decision to close early. I would also suggest that the venue did not make this decision without reason so we must wait to hear from them with reference that what happened. Our hands are tied as far as saying anything because we can not speak for or on behalf of the venue.
    I can understand and empathise with everyone’s anger with not seeing Ferry but all I can say at this stage is please just wait on the venue releasing their statement and see what they are going to do about the situation or what caused it.
    I believe and sincerely hope that they will act honorably.

Eddie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 pow222

It was only my second time in the tivoli so I was not aware of the cloak room issue...

I'd be fairly confident of getting a refund as regardless of what the refund policy says it would be foolish to further sully their name by refusing to pay out when the act that people paid to see did not perform due to poor organisation.

I'll post back on this thread as to how i got on with my refund mission!!

The refund is to be issued by Ticketmaster, and they've their own terms & conditions which are on the back of your ticket stubs

Got a reply from Planet Love:
    Hi xxx,

Thanks for taking the time to voice your concerns and we at PLM are sorry you had to pen such an e-mail. The decision to close the Tivoli was taken sololy by the venue and we at PLM are as much in the dark as everyone else as to the reasons behind this. We cannot stress enough that Ferry Corsten was at the venue ready to perform until the news came through at 1:10am that the venue was to close and he was devasted he was unable to play. We have released an official statement on are website forum www.planetlovemusic.com and i have attached a copy at the bottom of this mail. The Tivoli are due to release an official statement today with the reasons behind the closure so for any further information you should contact the venue directly.

Both PLM and Ferry Corsten would like to apologise to those fans that were at the Tivoli in Dublin on Friday night. Ferry was not able to play due to the venue being closed down early, a decision which was made entirely by the venue. We must stress that Ferry was at the venue and the night was running really well with a sell out crowd. Both Ferry and ourselves were devastated to find out that the venue had to be closed before he could perform. The venue has promised to release a statement on Monday explaining the reasons behind this decision. We must stress again that this was neither the fault of PLM or Ferry Corsten and any complaints or enquiries should be directed to the venue.

Well you got more than me, I didn't get a personal reply to that email I sent :D

Anyways, following on from some insisting that licensing was the issue because that's what the Gardai said on the night, they say this.
    The venue has a license to 2.30am. It was closed early by the owners, not us, they run the night not us, we had no say. The venue will hopefully release a statement to this fact. We are gutted because we are in the business of providing entertainment so that people can enjoy their night out and when the carpet is pulled from under your feet theirs not much anyone can do. Ferry Corsten still was paid so the venue need to make good the situation and until we see their response we can't act ourselves. I understand your anger but please just try and wait and see what the venue have to offer and if they haven't done this by this afternoon then we will take action.
    Eddie

If you want in on the discussion over at the PLM forum the URL is http://www.planetlovemusic.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=10669

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭RKDus

I paid for Ferry Corsten tickets and he didn't play so I'll be expecting a full refund from Ticketmaster seeing as it was them who I paid the money to.
    It's interesting to hear that Planetlove are saying the venue has a licence when I was specifically told by a Garda that they didn't, so we'll have to wait and see what Tivoli say.

The thing that pissed me off the most was the cloakroom not being open, were you supposed to wear it while dancing and get heatstroke or leave it to be robbed? NEVER will I got to Tivoli again, the place was full of knackers and children!

Well I rang Tivoli at lunchtime and they took my name and number and told me they were taking everyone's details and passing them onto the organisers who would be dealing with the situation. Looks like the blame is just going to be passed back and forward! :mad:

RKDus wrote: »
    NEVER will I got to Tivoli again, the place was full of knackers and children!

There's another probable cause for a shutdown, underage people on the premises. Maybe the Gardai didn't want the hassle of having people shouting at them about just removing the underage folks and just used 'no license' as an excuse, wouldn't be the first time the Gardai decided to use another reason for their actions - think about all the young people caught with knives or whatever who were 'randomly' searched under the Misuse of Drugs act. I'm not getting at the Gardai here, just highlighting there is precedent for giving Joe Public false reasons for their actions :)

TBH, they do seem quite strict about underagers in Tivoli. They usually ask nearly everyone for ID. It was full of knackers though. I know at all dance events you get your fair share of scumbags but they seemed to be out in force on Friday!

I just got a reply myself from PLM, a fair turnaround of half a working day given the circumstances :)
    Thanks for taking the time to voice your concerns and we at PLM regret you
    had to pen such an e-mail. Ferry Corsten was unable to perform due to the
    closure of the venue which was the sole decision of the Tivoli. We cannot
    stress enough that Ferry Corsten was at the venue ready to perform until the
    news came through at 1:10am that the event was due for closure, Ferry as
    much as ourselves was devastated he was unable to perform. At this time we
    are unable to comment any further as we are awaiting an official statement
    being released today from the Tivoli which will have the reasoning behind
    the closure and will enable further action to be taken. We understand your
    concerns and distress but we ask you to be patient and wait on the statement
    being released.

TBH, they do seem quite strict about underagers in Tivoli. They usually ask nearly everyone for ID. It was full of knackers though. I know at all dance events you get your fair share of scumbags but they seemed to be out in force on Friday!

They were asking everyone for ID but some of the people there were clearly under 18 if not under 16 even.

And there we go, away to Ticketmaster with ye :D
    The venue has created this problem for what ever reason and we need to find out how it will be corrected. As far as tickets are concerned, it's not that simple, there are different ticket outlets including the venues own box office. We are not in receipt of any money for this show from anywhere. I have in the interim spoken with Ticketmaster (our ticket outlets) and they have agreed to refund money to anyone who purchased tickets from them for this show.
    As long as this can be done and you're re-reimbursed then we can take the fight up with the venue and you're not affected I hope.
    I am trying everything to ensure that you’re looked after but unfortunately it takes time so that's why I asked for your patience.
    Eddie

Tivoli Statement
    Please be advised that due to technical issues at the Ferry Corsten event on Friday 30th January the Tivoli Theatre was forced to end the show before Ferry Corsten played.
    We sincerely apologise to all those that attended the event and for the inability to make an announcement which has led to a measure of confusion. Due to the fact that there was a sell out crowd the Gardai helped us to clear the venue.
    Ferry was at the venue on the night and would like to express his disappointment at the situation as he was ready to play. We would also like to point out that this early closure was neither the fault of Planetlove or Ferry Corsten.
    We are currently working with PlanetLove to reschedule the show and wish to express to all those that were there on the night our disappointment also. Anybody with a valid ticket or receipt for tickets can either get in touch with Ticketmaster for a refund in the next seven days or get in touch with the venue in order to go to the rescheduled event which we will post details of as soon as it has been confirmed. We would like to thank all concerned for their patience.
    The Tivoli Theatre

http://tivoli.ie/music_listing_more_info.php?id=150

Technical issues :cool:

Well at least we know we can get a refund. Cheers for that TouchingVirus :)

No bother, I'm taking my refund tomorrow. Whether or not I put it into another Tivoli event is an entirely different story :D

I also lol'd at the 'Technical Issues' bit, I mean the music didn't cut out it was faded out, the lights were working just fine, what other technical issues was there? Smells like PR spin to me :p

have the tivoli put out a statement yet?

Please be advised that due to technical issues at the Ferry Corsten event on Friday 30th January the Tivoli Theatre was forced to end the show before Ferry Corsten played.

Sounds like bullsh*t to me, I could be wrong though, it could actually be horsesh*t.

On the plus side I rang Ticketmaster and got a refund already.

have the tivoli put out a statement yet?

3 posts up man, just three posts up :D:pac::pac::pac:

Official Planet Love Music Statement
    Statement From Planetlove Music

In relation to the early closure of the Tivoli Theatre on Friday January
    30th, Planetlove Music would like to issue the following statement:

We as promoters fulfilled our obligation to provide the advertised
    entertainment to the venue, Tivoli Theatre in Dublin on Friday January 30th,

Unfortunately, for reasons outside of our control, the venue closed early
    whereby Ferry Corsten was unable to perform.

We would like to point out that Ferry Corsten was at the venue and ready to
    perform but was not able to do so.

We at Planetlove would like to ensure that anyone aggrieved by this will be
    given a full refund for tickets purchased through Ticketmaster, our official
    outlets. Ticket receipts produced to Ticketmaster within the next 7 days
    will be refunded without question.

Although this closure was not the fault of PLM or Ferry Corsten we believe
    that you, the clubber, should not suffer financially as a result of this
    action so we have therefore instructed Ticketmaster to act whilst our
    company challenges the venue for compensation.

We have paid the full cost of all artists and costs for this night and are
    not in receipt of any monies so please understand that we have had to wait
    until today before we could arrange the appropriate course of action.

The venue has promised to release their own statement today, Monday,
    advising as to the reasons behind the early closure.

Again apologies from PLM and I hope you understand this was completely
    outside of our control and we have now acted, at our cost, to ensure you do
    not suffer financially as a result.

Eddie Wray
    PLM Promotions

I think I'm done with this thread now, it's served it's purpose. Hope you folks have no bother getting your refunds, might even see you for Markus Schulz if it goes ahead after this little fiasco!

Official Planet Love Music Statement

I think I'm done with this thread now, it's served it's purpose. Hope you folks have no bother getting your refunds, might even see you for Markus Schulz if it goes ahead after this little fiasco!

Yep same, thanks for keeping us all updated. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭hedliners

hopefully hes back soon

Hedliners... I think I got a promo crowd on my bebo friends with that name. Do you know something I don't ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭hedliners

what ya mean dude ???

We do events do the south east :D