Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas/San Diego

• 29-01-2009 11:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Hi me and a couple of friends are going to Vegas for 2weeks and then to San Diego for 2 weeks.

Can anyone advise if we'd be better off flying Dublin->Vegas->San Diego->Dublin or should we book return flights to Vegas and drive to and from San Diego?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

you have plenty of time to mess around with so i would recommend to drive to SD at least for one part of the journey, reduce your time in both vegas and san diego and enjoy the desert for a few days

it will add maybe 200 miles to your journey but you should do this route las vegas - death valley - joshua tree national park - palm springs - san diego

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I was in Las Vegas for xmas for 8 days. We spent the whole time actually in Vegas itself, the vast majority of that time on the strip.

By the end of 8 days I had just about enough of it, but as I say, we stayed in the city itself the whole time. If you organize to go to the Grand Canyon and the Hoover Dam as day trips from Vegas it would probably mean two weeks would be good value for it.

It's a great spot in my opinion - I love poker but there was so much to do I only played two sessions the whole time I was there so that'll probably tell you how much there is to see.

Make sure you fit in a Cirque du Soleil show. Do your shopping in the two outlets at either end of the strip - great value to be had.

San Diego is a lovely city as well - try to stay somewhere in Pacific Beach. In spite of what you might hear elsewhere Mission Beach is not the nicest spot - PB is way nicer.

Also, make sure you take a trip up to La Jolla (pronounced La Hoya) - it's a gorgeous area and well worth seeing imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 OmarChase

cheers lads, so its driving FTW

since we're only in san diego for a couple of weeks, can anyone advise somewhere for accomodation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭woodseb

it's a long ol drive from san diego to vegas

you can get very cheap southwest flights for around $50 which might work out better and cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mcgrate

what about stopping off at magic mountain (six flags)?

mcgrate wrote: »
    what about stopping off at magic mountain (six flags)?

Six Flags is supposed to be great alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Disco Bandit

OmarChase wrote: »

since we're only in san diego for a couple of weeks, can anyone advise somewhere for accomodation?

i stayed for a week in a hostel above robertos taco shop on mission beach at belmount park on the corner, (link http://tinyurl.com/b2p5qf ) run by a guy called robert english i think, soundest man in the world and great craic, he knows all the spots, even bought 9 odd of us pints. real cool about drinking in the rooms and that, he takes irish folks over anyone else as a rule of thumb, anyone who stayed there loves it, not the cleanest place but its a great experience. he's got heaps of surfboards you can borrow on the house too

and the other hostel i stayed in is OB hostel in ocean beach in ocean beach, great place, strict on the rules, no drink in rooms or at all after 9. really clean and well run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭Heroditas

OmarChase wrote: »

I stayed in the Westin in San Diego on 400 Broadway - very nice with a rooftop pool and a fantastic atrium where the lounge is.
    Nice and central - near the Gaslamp quarter and the tram station.
    I loved San Diego. It rivals Portland Oregon as my favourite US city.

i stayed for a week in a hostel above robertos taco shop on mission beach at belmount park on the corner, (link http://tinyurl.com/b2p5qf ) run by a guy called robert english i think, soundest man in the world and great craic, he knows all the spots, even bought 9 odd of us pints. real cool about drinking in the rooms and that, he takes irish folks over anyone else as a rule of thumb, anyone who stayed there loves it, not the cleanest place but its a great experience. he's got heaps of surfboards you can borrow on the house too

and the other hostel i stayed in is OB hostel in ocean beach in ocean beach, great place, strict on the rules, no drink in rooms or at all after 9. really clean and well run.

It's Roger Guy English. He claims to have the world record for holding the most world records.

The man is fully crazy but awful sound. The hostel is a ****hole and the smell up from Roberto's is chronic, but it's a mad old spot...

When were you there Disco Bandit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭chenguin

When in Vegas I would definitely recommend going to see cirque du soliel. I went to see ''O'' in the Bellagio. It was amazing!!! I just sat there absolutely amazed for the whole show.
    The other thing you have to do is see The Grand Canyon. It is unbelievable.
    I got a helicopter trip there which flew over it and then landed in it. I know it is expensive but it was worth it! But since it seems like ye have loads of time you could drive there and to the Hoover Dam aswell.