Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Matchplay

• 29-01-2009 9:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭

It looks more and more unlikely that we are going to the the numbers/date right for a proper society outing, so what about a matchplay? I don't mind organising it, managing the format etc.... I mioght even put up a prize for the winner(s) :D.

We could give, say, 2-3 weeks for each match to be completed.

Post here, is ye are interested.
    *******UPDATE*********

This is the way I see it working (although it is obviously open to debate)

Matchplay strokes 18 Holes
    Full handicap difference (lower handicap goes to scratch)
    Matches to be completed within 3 weeks of draw being made, with odd number player having preference of where match is played.
    If we get sixteen players, we get the following config:

1 V 2
    3 V 4
    5 v 6
    7 v 8
    9 v 10
    11 v 12
    13 v 14
    15 v 16

The winners of each match, go on to play in the last 8, for the medal comp (same format i.e. Strokes matchplay) and the losers go in to play for the plate, as per format above.

It is up to the odd numbered player to make contact with his/her opponent. If the match cannot be played within the allotted time, a decision will be made on who qualifies. Can I make the suggestion that one (or both) of the mods here make the decision in the event of a dispute (although I don't suspect that there will be).

Now, how do we decide what player is No 1....16 etc. Here's my suggestion:
    There are 48 balls in the Irish Lotto. There is a draw every Saturady. I would like the participants to PM me what they believe the total sum of the numbers on those balls will be (excluding the bonus). So for example, if the numbers 10,11,16,29,40,48 are drawn, well then the total is 154. The person nearest to the total will be player 1 and so on and so forth. I will PM my total to a mod here, before the draw is made.

It's the easiest and fairest way I can think of, but again, I'm open to suggestions!!

I think that covers most of it, let the discussion begin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Hobart wrote: »
    It looks more and more unlikely that we are going to the the numbers/date right for a proper society outing, so what about a matchplay? I don't mind organising it, managing the format etc.... I mioght even put up a prize for the winner(s) :D.

We could give, say, 2-3 weeks for each match to be completed.

Post here, is ye are interested.

It's a great idea Hob, I've played in a similar casual one in my local boozer and it's great fun...

But I'd give it a few weeks as I'm kind of hoping the 'Arrange A Game' thread might break the ice with a few people and eventually lead to a small 'outing' of sorts and, who knows, maybe even and OFFICIAL boards.ie Golf Outing!

They said it couldn't be done!..... and by "they" I, of course, mean Graemo! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Haha, his cynicism is well founded! Never seems to work but the board has an increasing number of regular posters so I would imagine something will actually fly in 2009. Don't see why it wouldn't be this.

I'd be interested in the matchplay thing. I'd also be happy to contribute to some form of prize.

Would it be done by posting a draw and allowing guys to arrange their own matches on their own time? Certainly would get around the problems had previously trying to coordinate a decent amount of people on one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭WillyWonka

yeah great idea Hobart. I've already played 3 times with boardies. 2 x 2 balls and a 4 ball last Tues. There is hope....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Count me in , sounds like good fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Provisionally put me in. My nomadic existance could hinder my participation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭1stuey1

il do it but depends what days and where

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Sounds like a good idea alright, if we keep it geographically to the Leinster area I suppose and just do a draw, with the top player playing "at home" and the pair splitting the visitors green fee, or if the pair decide to play at a neutral venue so be it.

Having played in a few matchplay comps where the organisation was not great, I reckon we'd have to be strict on deadlines.

Also, maybe when it gets to quarter final stage, or even last 16, we could play all the matches at the one venue and go out in fourballs to encourage a bit of interaction and maybe follow on from there into an outing or two, with prople having got to know each other??

In support of the arrange a game forum, I played in a friendly fourball on Tuesday in my home club with BUACHAILL, DonkeyPokerTour and Willy Wonka and we had a god bit of craic, so hopefully we can get more people using it..

BTW, Me and Willy won the money, lets just say comprehensively;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    But I'd give it a few weeks as I'm kind of hoping the 'Arrange A Game' thread might break the ice with a few people and eventually lead to a small 'outing' of sorts and, who knows, maybe even and OFFICIAL boards.ie Golf Outing!
    I'd hope that we will get a day out with a few of the lads, but we could do both?
    I'd be interested in the matchplay thing. I'd also be happy to contribute to some form of prize.
    Cheers SS. Depending on how it pans out, we could actually make it an annual thing, or do it twice a year.
    Would it be done by posting a draw and allowing guys to arrange their own matches on their own time? Certainly would get around the problems had previously trying to coordinate a decent amount of people on one day.
    That's how I would see, but as per JCDUB's post, we would have to put some time limit on when the games are played, and adhere to the deadlines.
    JCDUB wrote: »
    Sounds like a good idea alright, if we keep it geographically to the Leinster area I suppose and just do a draw, with the top player playing "at home" and the pair splitting the visitors green fee, or if the pair decide to play at a neutral venue so be it.

Having played in a few matchplay comps where the organisation was not great, I reckon we'd have to be strict on deadlines.

Also, maybe when it gets to quarter final stage, or even last 16, we could play all the matches at the one venue and go out in fourballs to encourage a bit of interaction and maybe follow on from there into an outing or two, with prople having got to know each other??
    Yea, its fairly easy to setup the format, with the player in the odd position (i.e. player 1 V 2, Player 3 v 4) having the say on where the game is played (within reason). I'd also like to do a "day out" for the semi's or something like that, but I don't think we should get too far ahead of ourselves :D.

If we get 16 (or more) people interested, we can start the ball rolling. I'd also like to see some longevity in this, and one of the ideas I would like to put forward is that the winners of the opening matchplay matches play for the medal, and the losers are re-entered into a plate matchplay comp, so that everybody gets at least 2 chances at playing.

Anyhow, we can sort out the details later, if there is enough interest. (I also have a cunning plan for the selection of play, but I'll elaborate on that later, if the interest is shown :D).

Well certainly count me in lads... Handicap 15...

Ok, So far we have:

Hobart
    JCDUB
    1stuey1 (provo)
    Blunder (provo)
    mscull
    WillyWonka
    ShriekingSheet
    WHIP IT!
    Licksy

Ok, So far we have:

Blunder (provo)

You can prove Nothing!

Am i being a d*ck here or is it fair to say that first-time or irregular posters carry the highest risk of putting their name in and taking no further part? From what I read of previous attempts to set up a day out this was a key problem.

I'm not trying to put new posters off but maybe it's just something worth keeping in mind.

I sound like a d*ck don't I?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Count me in.

Blunder wrote: »
    You can prove Nothing!

Now now Gerry....I know the Semtex was merely resting in your boot!!!

Am i being a d*ck here or is it fair to say that first-time or irregular posters carry the highest risk of putting their name in and taking no further part? From what I read of previous attempts to set up a day out this was a key problem.

I'm not trying to put new posters off but maybe it's just something worth keeping in mind.

You don't sound like a dick (quickly print it out and frame it :D) and I see what you are getting at. The fact that it will be between 2 lads (lassies) to organise this between themselves, should overcome any issues with grannies dying, bout of flu type of excuses. I would suggest that we give a 2 - 3 week timeframe, to allow each individual match to be played, if it doesn't happen, we'll make a call on it.

Licksy wrote: »
    Count me in.

Super!!

You don't sound like a dick (quickly print it out and frame it :D) and I see what you are getting at. The fact that it will be between 2 lads (lassies) to organise this between themselves, should overcome any issues with grannies dying, bout of flu type of excuses. I would suggest that we give a 2 - 3 week timeframe, to allow each individual match to be played, if it doesn't happen, we'll make a call on it.

Haha, right. I'm in. H'cap 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hallowed

Long time lurker. Think I've posted once or twice so I would be included in this category of irregular poster but i will try and remedy that. I would be well up for this and any outings as a result. My club is West Waterford though (I live in Dublin) so any matches would be away for me. No bother there though. By the way I play off 18.

PS: Don't think you sounded like a dick either:pac:

Ok, So far we have:

Hobart 9
    JCDUB
    1stuey1 (provo)
    Blunder (provo)
    mscull
    WillyWonka
    ShriekingSheet 5
    WHIP IT! 15
    Licksy
    Hallowed 18

Updated list with H/Caps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

sounds good, provisionally in pending availabilty on the date. handicap 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭zillmere

I would be keen as well if it is on a sat or sun. HCP 18

If there is a couple weeks to play matches I should be alright however at the moment weekends only suit me. I'm still in though! H'cap 10

Blunder wrote: »
    If there is a couple weeks to play matches I should be alright however at the moment weekends only suit me. I'm still in though! H'cap 10

I think Hobart said 3 weeks.

Hobart, maybe if you edited the OP to state the way it will be done you'd get less questions and "ifs".

My understanding is a draw will be done, you and your oponent have 3 weeks to schedule a match at a time and place that suits you both and you publish the result on the board.

Ok, So far we have:

Hobart 9
    JCDUB 7
    1stuey1 (provo)
    Blunder (provo) 10
    mscull
    WillyWonka
    ShriekingSheet 5
    WHIP IT! 15
    Licksy
    Hallowed 18
    mag (provo) 4
    Zillmere 18

Hobart, maybe if you edited the OP to state the way it will be done you'd get less questions and "ifs".

My understanding is a draw will be done, you and your oponent have 3 weeks to schedule a match at a time and place that suits you both and you publish the result on the board.

Yeah, I meant that if that was the case then I'd be ok! God you sound like such a D*ck!:D

Updated any suggestions welcome!!

Will it be full handicaps or three-quarters of the difference between handicaps? Also, will our handicaps "freeze" from start to finish? ie, if our official handicaps are cut/added to in the meantime, do we still keep whatever we were on at the start?

Sorry if I'm confusing the issue!

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Will it be full handicaps or three-quarters of the difference between handicaps? Also, will our handicaps "freeze" from start to finish? ie, if our official handicaps are cut/added to in the meantime, do we still keep whatever we were on at the start?

Sorry if I'm confusing the issue!

Any singles matchplay I've played, has been full difference, with teams being 3/4 difference. I'm easy on it, and I would also agree with a H/Cap freeze.

Handicaps freezing shouldn't be too much of an issue over the space of the competition... I'd be easy either way though if it were to drag on over a longer time then I'd favour playing the handicaps as they are on the day.
    Always play the full difference in singles.
    Off the back stakes or as far back as is allowed on the day or as agreed between the two players?

Handicaps freezing shouldn't be too much of an issue over the space of the competition... I'd be easy either way though if it were to drag on over a longer time then I'd favour playing the handicaps as they are on the day.
    Always play the full difference in singles.
    Off the back stakes or as far back as is allowed on the day or as agreed between the two players?

I guess it may as well be as agreed?? Once the playing field is level, that's all that matters...

Ok, anyone here into Craft? Or we could ask on the Craft forum to see if someone would make us a perpetual "Boards" trophy?

trophy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

I'd be interested.

My Handicap is 16 (as JCDUB, Buchaill and Willy Wanka will tell you, thats not enough). Willy Wanka's handicap has been cut to 10 for good play :P.

Regards
    Ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

Provisionally count me in, no car atm...

Getting a GUI handicap soon, but usually play off 18 when playing with mates! Will update when get a proper handicap :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

I wouldn't mind joining in for the laugh, but, as probably the only woman (speak now if I'm not the only one!) I think I would have an unfair advantage what with the ladies tees etc. I suppose I could play off the men's tees but I don't think the guys ego's would be able to handle it when I bet you :p:p:p

Par72 wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind joining in for the laugh, but, as probably the only woman (speak now if I'm not the only one!) I think I would have an unfair advantage what with the ladies tees etc. I suppose I could play off the men's tees but I don't think the guys ego's would be able to handle it when I bet you :p:p:p

You being on the fringes of the Leinster Ladies team, you should be made play off the backs while we're off the middles!

Going by your goals for 2009, you should certainly be playing off the tips ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

Going by your goals for 2009, you should certainly be playing off the tips ;):D

I better hit the gym so!

life_of_brian_allstar-5468.jpg
    Women? are there Women here?

Hobart 9
    JCDUB 7
    1stuey1 (provo)
    Blunder (provo) 10
    mscull
    WillyWonka
    ShriekingSheet 5
    WHIP IT! 15
    Licksy
    Hallowed 18
    mag (provo) 4
    Zillmere 18
    DonkeyPokerTour
    stevire (Provo)
    Par72

I make that 15. Keep em coming, as we have a couple of Provo's, and we can have a waiting list if anybody can't play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

OK COUNT ME IN SOUNDS GOOD]OFF 9 COULD DO WITH 12-13

Or make it 32 players if you want a real headache :)

More the merrier tbh, I think we may struggle to get 32 though, but no rush to close applications either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Plus 10

Count me in - hcap 15

yeah ya can count me in! dont have handicap tho..say 18?

In fairness, I reckon it's important that we set a handicap limit and review after every round, as there are a few people who wouldn't have GUI handicaps and may just quote "18" as standard.

What I mean is an unofficial "18" handicapper who wins by a high margin when the opposition played to in or around their handicap should possibly be cut for the next round.

I played with one such boardsie (who will remain nameless;)) who said he usually plays off 18, but would take 16 on the day. 16 my horlicks, more like 11/12, he won our fourball match single handedly..

This is where it gets messy:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 tobinj6

hi lads i have posted a few times before and i know shrieking sheet said if you aint a regular then dont join but i would be very interested in playing and when it comes to golf wouldnt let u down i have handicap of 22 though so it may be too high for ur group, if not count me in i am in the jewellery game so i could organise getting board perpetual trophy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Great idea, count me in! 2 h/c:p:p

should be good

tobinj6 wrote: »
    i know shrieking sheet said if you aint a regular then dont join .

Ah come on that's not what I said ;)

It's not like it's up to me anyway but I know that you're most very welcome to join!

I think the more the merrier, as I have said. If it's between 16 and 32 players, we can agree on a format that would suit.

On the handicap side of things, it's a bit messy. At the end of the day it should just be a "bit of craic" and a friendly game, but like most golfers, I am competitive. I think most peoples preference is for evrybody to have a GUI handicap. i know that's not going to be possible, so we'll have to agree on a consensus for those who don't have one. Maximum for men (I think) should be 16 for those without a GUI and Max for Women, 22? 24?.

I think Sheet's inital point, while well made, has become a little skewed. He did not say that low posters should not play. But, like him, I have seen a lot of these idea's fall apart beacuse (a bit like a new girlfriend :D) the initial enthusiasm is great when it first kicks off, but when it comes to having to take part, it can wane a little. Bottom line is, everybody is welcome (low and high H/Cappers) it you don't play your game within he alloted time, you'll be DQ'd.

And just one other little point, I have no issue whatsoever in "running" this from an organisational perspective, setting the dates, keeping tabs on the winners/losers, but it's only my idea, I don't actually own* it as such, and I think that most of it can be done on a consensus basis.

Having said all that ^, updated list:

Hobart 9
    JCDUB 7
    1stuey1 (provo)
    Blunder (provo) 10
    mscull
    WillyWonka
    ShriekingSheet 5
    WHIP IT! 15
    Licksy 4
    Hallowed 18
    mag (provo) 4
    Zillmere 18
    DonkeyPokerTour
    stevire (Provo)
    Par72
    tobinj6 22
    neckedit 2 (one to avoid!!;))
    Plus 10 15.

Anybody see Graeme???

That's 18 so far. We may make the 32 yet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Great idea Hobart count me in have a GUI handicap of 18 .
    On the prize issue I won our societys captains day last year and got a large piece of crystal it never came out of the box and is residing in the attic .If you want it Hobart it's yours(before she fcuks it out) , you could get in engraved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I see Hobart you have suggested that 16 be the maximum unoffical handicap which I think is a bit harsh on some of the beginners .
    I think 22 may be fairer , golf is a game of integrity and you would hope all would give a realistic handicap be it a society or general play one