Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro Road Trip

• 28-01-2009 2:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭

In the planning stages at the moment to do a road trip throughout most of Europe for 3/4 weeks or so in August/September. Haven't even begun to think about the actual itinerary yet just more so what type of car I should take. I'm thinking of just buying a cheap estate and throwing a roof rack on top and going around although that'd prob attract attention in some places.

There'll be 3-4 of us going so it'd be nice to have a bit of space hence me thinking of getting an estate. Only downside is that if we were driving the Top Gear top roads it mighn't be as much fun in an estate so maybe renting a car would be a good idea for that part of the trip? Anyway has anyone suggestions for good estates from a past era:D Mods feel free to merge this into the Bangernomics thread as we'd be looking to spend €1000 max on the car and do whatever repairs needed.

I guess this is what I'd be thinking of http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1292219 Seats would need to be changed though with the heat:D

Edit: The alternative is just to drive my current car which is an Almera Saloon, mighn't be the greatest for space but it runs like new and seeing as it's a 98 I wouldn't mind putting the mileage on her seeing as she only has 95k on her at the moment.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,211 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I don't think the fact that you are in an estate will ruin the ride - this will be affected more because of the weight of all of you and your luggage.
    I would opt for a large engined BMW, Merc or Audi, preferably with sports suspension.

(ignore the prices!)
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1249608
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1026303

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

There are a few cheap Subaru Legacy estates on carzone as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Here's a few yokes you could have a look at -

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1305746

If your handy with engines, this might be a bargain -

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1282694

And i know im cltuching at straws with this one -

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1275769

This is tougher than i thought it would be!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

kbannon wrote: »

That Bm would suit, Aircon and all - as you'll need it in the summer on the continent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

I'm doing this in the Summer :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

Just use any car, its the sights more than the driving anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I guess this is what I'd be thinking of http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1292219 Seats would need to be changed though with the heat:D
    I'm pretty sure that car has a/c, so you should be fine on that front. Looks like a well-minded car, i'd say it's perfect for what you have in mind. Has to be a step up from the FIAT Uno 70S myself and three big mates used for our grand European tour. On which subject, be sure to bring a second set of keys - you never know when you'll lose a set swimming in the Rhine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Thanks lads, especially for the 2nd set of keys suggestion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 GK1

What about a race, start at 30 min intervals and have a meeting point for end of the days, both teams to drive mitsubishi space wagons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 up-the-dubs

Do it in something interesting to drive. For, what will probably be a drive of a lifetime, you want to enjoy it as you'll invariably be doing some big milage. I did 2,500 miles in September between France, Switzerland, Austria, Italy, Monaco and home. The sights are one thing but the roads are just epic and you'll be crying out for something better as soon as you hit them especially if you want to do some of the Top Gear roads. Just be careful of the Alps in September, some of the best alpine passes could be closed, as we found out, by the first high level snowfalls!

And yes, the Stelvio Pass is worth the drive! :D

The not so famous side:
    DSC_0088.jpg

From half way down the famous side!:
    DSC_0172.jpg

And sure, what the hell, a short clip driving up part of Stelvio (on the not as famous but better side! Battery ran out for the famous side :()
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=RNh_pG5Nf1A

And yes... that was all in 1st and 2nd gear!

we would want to do it in a cheap interesting car it would want to be something that they have loads of in europe for parts, prob a VW.
    if you had time to look around a 944 2.4 8v in good nick would be v solid but only comfortable for 2 people.
    Fuel is expensive in europe aswell, a quick vw or audi diesel estate is the practical choice.

(one you get into it). Is the rover engine still in that one? Did it manage the whole way without breaking? How many miles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭neosmaster

Me my girlfriend and another couple drove down through france to Monaco over to Milan and Venice then back up through Austria and on to Munich and then Paris over 4 weeks last year and it was without a doubt the best driving holiday any of us have ever had and this is what we drove in

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Previa/AERAS-2./200902191446223/advert

Loads of room and A/C ( VERY VERY improtant on the continent )

You should def go for a people carrier.....
    You will end up bringing load of luggage because you wont have to worry about weight or check-in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 up-the-dubs

GK1 wrote: »
    (one you get into it). Is the rover engine still in that one? Did it manage the whole way without breaking? How many miles?

I bought it with newer seats in it so yes, it was surprisingly comfortable! I've had it 11 months and done 25k miles on it (65k total) and it's yet to break down in such a manner that it couldn't be driven home to be fixed never mind a little spin around Europe! Lotus' reputation is a lot worse than the reality. Still has the Rover engine in it as I prefere the torque over the Honda conversions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭DaraDali

Hey lads was wonderin threw threads and found this for our guys...

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=91200&cat=fav

i saw u cud get it for under 3 and think of the fun!!!! wasnt goin to post this coz thinkin of takin it myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

How about this (don't bother repairing the bonnet)

http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1299269

Honda Accord
    http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1300119

Citroen (Xantia or C5) would be very comfy on long journey because of hydraulic suspension.

I know this is a saloon, but it should have plenty of room and comfort
    http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1280171

Don't forget you need triangles and high-vis jackets to drive in Europe. Most mercs have a triangle and first-aid kit included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Seeming as ye are going bangernomics (not a good idea for reliability in Europe)! I'd advise a large engined German, Mercedes, BMW or VW, because these cars are ubiquitous all over Europe wheras Toyotas are Jap cars are less popular if you broke down for repairs I mean.

Will ye go RHD or LHD??? Wouldn't it be better to get a LHD car to make the whole journey easier? RHD in Europe can lead to rather hairy moments!!

Have fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

Definitely get an LHD car,

no point what so ever to have RHD, every overtake for instance is pain to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

The lhd/rhd thing was pointed out to me by the father yesterday, unsure at the moment. I'd be comfortable doing it but not sure about others who'd be driving. How hard would it be to buy/sell a lhd here/england?

Not mad on a body kit on an estate but this looks like a hell of a lot of fun!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/839174

Thanks for the other suggestions too btw.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,211 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

itarumaa wrote: »
    Definitely get an LHD car,

no point what so ever to have RHD, every overtake for instance is pain to do.
    E30 M3 FTW
    bmwe30m3p2b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭podger456

Did my euro trip a few years ago with the wife in an old van! Great craic. 10,000 miles in 4 months. camping gear and bikes in the back, boards on the roof, and off you go. great for the motorway hauls, just pull into a rest area and kip in the back when you get tired:)
    RHD made no odds to me, up a bit higher though i suppose, as long as you have a passenger for the "wrong" angle you approach junctions at you're grand. only near miss i had was going the wrong way on the roundybout arriving back in roslare:rolleyes: