Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Approaching a girl...need some advice

• 27-01-2009 9:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, i'm not really sure if this is a 'personal issue' but i'm going to post it here anyway. I'm 24 years old and without trying to sound arrogant, have been told i'm a cute guy. Basically, i was out shopping last Sarurday and i spotted this really attractive girl. She's about 21-22, perhaps more, and she works in a clothes shop. I don't think she's Irish, perhaps she's European or maybe American. I didn't really get talking to her.

So anyway i went into the clothes shop and as i was looking around i caught eye contact with her. She then went to the till to help out. After a while i took a jacket to the fitting room to try on. As i was walking by the till, she was looking at me. I briefly looked up at her and then kept walking towards the cloak room. Anyway i decided to purchase. So i went to the till and asked if i could pay by laser. She didn't really answer me as she was just finished talking to her boss who was across the floor, so my guess is she didn't hear me:) Just as i was finished paying, she asked me to fill out a competition form for some prize. I declined but she insisted i fill it out, smiling at me when i said i would. I filled it out and then left the shop.

Anyway, this girl is very very cute. To be honest i couldn't stop thinking about her over the weekend. I'm basically looking for some advice as to how to approach her. I'm not even sure if she likes me or if she is going out with someone. The thing is that she works in a clothes shop so it's not as if i'm going to be in there shopping every weekend. Opportunities to talk to her are rare enough i guess. Should i go in and hand her a piece of paper with my name and number on it or would that be a bit too forward? I need advice. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi, i'm not really sure if this is a 'personal issue' but i'm going to post it here anyway. I'm 24 years old and without trying to sound arrogant, have been told i'm a cute guy.

You think its a good thing when a woman tells you you're cute?
    Basically, i was out shopping last Sarurday and i spotted this really attractive girl. She's about 21-22, perhaps more, and she works in a clothes shop. I don't think she's Irish, perhaps she's European or maybe American. I didn't really get talking to her.

So anyway i went into the clothes shop and as i was looking around i caught eye contact with her. She then went to the till to help out. After a while i took a jacket to the fitting room to try on. As i was walking by the till, she was looking at me. I briefly looked up at her and then kept walking towards the cloak room. Anyway i decided to purchase. So i went to the till and asked if i could pay by laser. She didn't really answer me as she was just finished talking to her boss who was across the floor, so my guess is she didn't hear me:) Just as i was finished paying, she asked me to fill out a competition form for some prize. I declined but she insisted i fill it out, smiling at me when i said i would. I filled it out and then left the shop.

Anyway, this girl is very very cute. To be honest i couldn't stop thinking about her over the weekend. I'm basically looking for some advice as to how to approach her. I'm not even sure if she likes me or if she is going out with someone. The thing is that she works in a clothes shop so it's not as if i'm going to be in there shopping every weekend. Opportunities to talk to her are rare enough i guess. Should i go in and hand her a piece of paper with my name and number on it or would that be a bit too forward? I need advice. Thanks

You should have done it there and then. Whats with the paper garbage? Have you no balls? Go in and talk to her and then tell her to give you her number so you can go out. If she says no, so what. Do you have the guts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Trapattoni

haha I love this, fair play to you for considering handing in the piece of paper ..unfortunately I think you've made a mistake already as you've already had your chance of the approach

Then again you've nothing to lose and seeing as you obv wont be buying clothes in there anytime soon (which you mentioned) I reckon you go for it - Just make sure you're not too forward with the note as writing something like this MAY make her feel uncomfortable as she hasnt yet spoken to you properly...I say you go to a newsagent close by, get a reciept and then write on the back of it as this will look more like you were just passing by and thought feck it I'll give it a go!

Let us know how you get on - really hope you decide to do it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Very nice thread because i was thinking of starting one myself
    Yesterday i was in Dundrum and was talking to a guy who works in a phone shop, we got on well and started chatting for at least 10mins...

I really fancy him and i have been thinking of him since... and i don't know what to do.

It would be interesting to read replies on this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

same thing happened to me aswell! total hottie working in mens clothes section of a fairly popular shop in Galway, i was in shopping with a female friend so she convinced me i wasnt hallucinating and he was very hot!

so i text in our local radio station i102-104 fm, they do this "text on legs" part in their show where you acknowlege any hot people you have seen around and say where they work etc. However i know that this shop wouldnt be tuned into a local radio station and that they play seasonal music in the store!

was worth a shot though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

Go for it. She could be the one for you!

If I were you, I'd just ask her if she'd be interested in grabbing a coffee, she'll either say yes or no.
    If she said no, I'd probably forget about going back to that clothes shop in the near future :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

Throw yourself at him Nenna.

To the OP.

Theres a million advice threads on this on Boards, look back through REDXIV posts you should get something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭MadgeBadge

Hilarious! This could be my thread, but I'm a gal!

Anyway, I met a really nice guy who worked at a leading DIY retailer and really really really liked him. As it happened I genuinely did have to go in a few times and we had a bit of a chat each time. I was getting good vibes so I decided, for the first time in my life, to ask him out. When I did finally manage to pluck up the courage I discovered he was on till and so I jotted down my number and my name, waited in line and handed it to him when it was my turn. I said "here's my number, if you wanted to call me sometime that would be really nice" There was a man purchasing discount paint chuckling behind me so I got out of there as quick as possible. He never called. I saw him last Thursday evening walking down Georges st. with a very pretty and pettite girl.

But it was definitely worth not sitting around wishing I weren't such a wimp. I see myself as bit of a risk taker now.

And you're a boy, so it's far more socially acceptable for you to do this sort of thing. Don't think, do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

OMG - I cant believe the people on this thread - ask the hotties out!!!!
    The worst that can happen is they say no!
    DO NOT do the piece of paper and number approach! Go up to them in person and strike up conversation, then ask them if theyd like to go for 'a coffee after work/a drink later on/dinner/dancing...etc' - whatever you want to ask them to.

Just do it - I used to work in a supermarket and I was asked out a few times by customers, its grand!!

OMG - I cant believe the people on this thread - ask the hotties out!!!!
    The worst that can happen is they say no!
    DO NOT do the piece of paper and number approach! Go up to them in person and strike up conversation, then ask them if theyd like to go for 'a coffee after work/a drink later on/dinner/dancing...etc' - whatever you want to ask them to.

Just do it - I used to work in a supermarket and I was asked out a few times by customers, its grand!!
    Really is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Really is it?

It won't phase a guy to have a girl ask him out if he is working in a shop but the other way round is definitely not as simple. Girls can have the "oh my god, what a stalker" attitude and guys don't want to come across that way.

I reckon the girls here should go for it, ask or do the piece of paper treatment.

For OP I think he should chance his arm. Someone asked here or in LL what should he have done when he spotted a girl he made eyes with on the Dart. All the girls seemed to like the piece of paper idea, asking her "if you want to go for a coffee with the guy who was too shy to ask you out" sort of thing, with the number on the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi, OP here (What does OP stand for by the way?). Thanks to everyone for their advice. Maybe the paper idea is a bad idea. I'm going to ask her out, although I'll wait until next week or the week after and make it look like i'm in there shopping and that i'm not too eager. I'll let you know how i get on.

By the way bazookaquartey, 'cute' is good. Most of the girls who told me i was cute, i've ended up kissing, so that's not necessarily a bad thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

What does OP stand for by the way?
    Original Post(er)

Goodluck dude, hope it works out for all of us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I'm subscribing to this as i want to see what happens. Good luck with it OP.