Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slumdog riots!

• 27-01-2009 6:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Not sure if this is a 'palm of the face' moment or if the outrage is understandable, as some Mumbay dwellers attack venues showing Slumdog Millionaire. If similair themed film was set in a west Dublin suburb and was called Skanger Millionaire would thier be no end of offence taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I saw the film last night, and while it is really excellent, it makes India look like a hole, and makes the slum people look like thieving scumbags...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

mike65 wrote: »
    Not sure if this is a 'palm of the face' moment or if the outrage is understandable, as some Mumbay dwellers attack venues showing Slumdog Millionaire. If similair themed film was set in a west Dublin suburb and was called Skanger Millionaire would thier be no end of offence taken?

Or the Cork version "Langer Millionaire".

I can see where they might be a tad upset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It does make India look like Cork I supose. I guess I know why they are angry in India

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

If they made a Skanger millionaire I think your average Anto would love it, because there'd be at least one person he knew in it.

"Ah, ders Fitzer, and Deco and Pato as well! Jaysus I'm gonna ring dem now. DECO? DECO HOWIYA IM IN THE CINEMA!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

india has inabilty to make critical films about itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

India is a hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

Idiots. Sure remember the grief Richie Gere got into over playfully embracing whats-her-face!?!

Oh, Shilpa Shetty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Holsten wrote: »
    India is a hole.

You're thinking of The Black Hole Of Calcutta.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

So many countries think they should be a boy in a bubble when it comes to displays of outsiders perceptions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

What was Boyle supposed to do? Paint Bombay as tropical paradise...
    These riots just make me dislike India..

I agree that Boyle was right to portray Bombay as it is, but the people rioting are likely to be very poor, yet proud people. I wouldn't be so quick to judge them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

People in the Sub Continent, will riot at the drop of a hat half the time. It would be funny, if not for all the people who get hurt and what not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭cooperla

I saw the film over the weekend and thought it was a good watch, but it didn't change my view of India, as I've never had a great view of India. My wife keeps trying to get me to go there on Holidays but I just tell her there's no chance.

Most of my dislike of India is down to the cast (spelling?) system.

Back to the riots... as others mentioned, alot of people would take issue against a movie which makes their city or country look bad, so it is somewhat understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I saw the film last night, and while it is really excellent, it makes India look like a hole, and makes the slum people look like thieving scumbags...

I didnt know it was a documentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Pretty patethic use of "rent a mob".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

These riots just make me dislike India..
    So some riots make you dislike the the whole of India.:rolleyes:

Of course it is stupid that this is happening over a movie, but we don't know what has happened , been said in papers etc .

It is hard to know what would happen but it may end in the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Heh. I see what you did there.

Have yet to see the film. Might watch it tonight.

I think the people of Mumbay (or Bumbai, as the new owners of the local Indian settled on afdter first naming it Bombay and then Mumbai) have more to worry about that this film.
    The threat of another attack by pissed off Muslims springs to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

i was at it last week and it reminded me of "into the west", i don't remember traveller groups rioting, however i do remember protest pickets outside "The last temptation of Christ" by people who didn't even see the movie.
    sounds like rent a crowd.
    the caste thing pisses me off too. i got lectured by this upper caste champange socialist who said that call centre jobs were bad for india as they were poor quality jobs, there was no fear she would ever have to lower herself to become customer service.
    another guy told me that once as a social worker in the UK he called to this recently arrived indian woman who expected him to provide her with a servant "in India i had a servant". i think her son forget to tell her that the caste system thing isn't transferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

julep wrote: »
    The threat of another attack by pissed off Muslims springs to mind.

If a pissed of Hindu mob doesn't kill the Muslims first (and probably some Christians and untouchables)!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Not sure if this is a 'palm of the face' moment or if the outrage is understandable, as some Mumbay dwellers attack venues showing Slumdog Millionaire.
    I think their main objection was the lack of OTT musical numbers in the film and the fact that it didn't comply to the usual Bollywood standards by not being at least four hours long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

india has inabilty to make critical filsm about itself.

Exactly. Just read the controversy section of this article about an Indo-Canadian filmmaker making films about the treatment of women in India - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deepa_Mehta

My wife is of Indian background and has been there a couple of times. She says that portrayal is spot on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 sherrytrifle

going to see the film tomorr hopefully- after 3 unsuccessful attempts! got the wrong tickets the first time, and then sold out on friday and again last saturday!

Just wanted to say that India is amazing. I loved it there- everything is an adventure. I can't wait to go back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

DarkJager wrote: »
    Pretty patethic use of "rent a mob".

They must have borrowed them from the corrib gas pipeline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Class film. It shows how bad the caste system is though i think thats only reserved for Hindus?
    Though the theme i got from it was the Muslims were the victims(eyegouging of the kid by the crims and the killings by a Hindu mob when the characters were young) and then the Muslim wins the millionaire quiz!

Moving film, recommend boardsies see it, memorable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

I thought it was great aswell although possibly slow to start.

The best bit for me was the kid in the toilet jumping through the hole to get the autograph. (wont say no more because it will spoil it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

india has inabilty to make critical filsm about itself.
    There's a difference between critical films - of which there are plenty, by the way - and a film in which EVERY Indian is a thief, or a police torturer, or a gangster, or a tart with a heart. Indians are aware that their country doesn't get much exposure in the West, so obviously an image is important. S.M. will probably lose millions in tourism money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I for one enjoyed it and thought the scene where they locked him in the outhouse latrine was priceless... no wonder they are peed off good movie and will take a good few oscars imo.

I wonder was it conceived as a movie for the indian ethnic minority in the UK or envisioned with the entire anglophone word in mind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

994 wrote: »
    There's a difference between critical films - of which there are plenty, by the way - and a film in which EVERY Indian is a thief, or a police torturer, or a gangster, or a tart with a heart. Indians are aware that their country doesn't get much exposure in the West, so obviously an image is important. S.M. will probably lose millions in tourism money.

i bet these people ain't seen the movie so they just complaining about the title

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

Parts of India are lovely but a lot of the poverty there is like nothing I've ever seen. The cast system makes me want to throw up. India is one of the countries that needs to take a very critical, introspective view of itself if it ever hopes to attain the credible status that it so desparately seeks. There's no such thing as a perfect country but India is only slightly above China in terms of being the opposite of being becon of hope for humanity - regardless of what way their economy is headed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

Exit wrote: »
    My wife is of Indian background and has been there a couple of times. She says that portrayal is spot on.
    An Indian friend said the same thing. It might not be a flattering portrayal but it does accurately reflect life for a section of the population in Mumbai.

Apparently part of the controversy stems from the fact that it's directed by an Englishman and some people seem to think it smacks of the old colonial attitude to India. I suppose if an English director portrayed Ireland in an unflattering way, a few over-sensitive loons here would probably get riled up. With India it's simply a matter of scale. Angering even a small proportion of the population results in a very large (by Irish standards) angry mob.

I suppose that it's no consolation to the rioters that Danny Boyle wasn't too kind to Edinburgh either :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Scotsman surely?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

In fairness the Commitments and anything to do with Roddy Doyle made Dublin look like a total kip, wasn't far from the truth though for some areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    In fairness the Commitments and anything to do with Roddy Doyle made Dublin look like a total kip, wasn't far from the truth though for some areas

Wasn't far from the truth in 1990/91 and not too far from the truth now.

Just fancier buildings.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Frank McCourt gave Limerick a good review also, yet there was no extra riots there beacuse of it. Rioting carried on as normal before and after apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Frank McCourt gave Limerick a good review also, yet there was no extra riots there beacuse of it. Rioting carried on as normal before and after apparently.

I was just about to post the "Worse than the ordinary miserable childhood is the miserable Irish childhood, and worse yet is the miserable Irish Catholic childhood" quote.

Beaten to it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Having been to India, I thought it was rather kind in portraying its negative side. I've seen much worse than what was shown on screen.

I thought it was a fantastic film, and even made me want to go back; it's still an amazing place behind the filth and chaos. Life is lived on the streets there, so a tourist's perspective is extreme and a mind opening experience.

And sure the crowd rioting probably haven't even seen it.

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Wasn't far from the truth in 1990/91 and not too far from the truth now.

Um, compared to most of the rest of the world, Dublin is a paradise. Anyone who lives there should feel very greatful that they don't live in, well, the majority of other places on the planet. Dubliners and the rest of the people in Ireland as well as most of Europe would do well to realise just how easy we have it. Sheeeeesh.

Try Derry.

Worse is an NI Catholic childhood.

Fecking Southerners.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Um, compared to most of the rest of the world, Dublin is a paradise.

Nope, 90/91 Dublin wasn't a paradise.

Try Sheriff St, Kilbarrack, Ballymun etc. Do I need to go on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Have you tried coffee at eleven or strolling on Stephen's Green?

Try Sheriff St, Kilbarrack, Ballymun etc. Do I need to go on?

I wasn't comparing Kilbarrack or Ballymun to Malahide or Foxrock. I was comparing Dublin to the rest of the world 15/20 years ago. 15/20 years ago we were the poor man of Europe but still one of the most fortunate countries on the planet. Up until a few months ago we were one of the richest countries in Europe... and on the planet. Although, as your posts prove, we're very quick to lament over our shortcomings and moan. Despite how bloody fortunate we are. I would recommend travelling a bit (India is a good start) if you want to see how bad Dublin *really* had it in the early 90's.

You read alot into posts.

Just an observation like. Ballymun in 1990 sounds a lot better than Bangladesh, Chechnya, Kabul, Addis Ababa, Kinshasa, Haiti... most parts of Asia, Asia minor, Africa, blah, blah, blah. You know what I mean. Just an observation. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

/irony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

Bombay can be heaven with a Puri at 11 and a stroll to Hajj Ali

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Has this thread made anyone else hungry?

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Yeah, "you portrayed us as scumbags, so in our defence we shall riot!"

Makes perfect sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I thought they were rioting/protesting because they didn't like the word dogs(i.e. being described as dogs in their minds) in the title.

Good publicity for the film anyway, well worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Quick!!..Start burning Danny Boyle effeges!!