Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yet Another VRT Question Please!!

• 26-01-2009 6:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

Hi Guys,

Ok I need some advice and hoping I might get it here - heres my dilemma. :confused:

I bought a car in January of last year (08) from the UK with the full intention of paying VRT and doing everything by the book - anyway I got into some financial trouble and used my VRT "stash" to sort it out. (it was to do with my house so it took priority over car) :mad: Anyway one year later I am still driving around on UK plates and have decided enough is enough and want to pay VRT and not be constantly worried about customs etc etc. My question (finally) is will VRT office notice that V5C export cert was actually granted in january 08 and then charge me for VRT from January 08 and not January 09 (major difference due to OMSP)?

Second option is my girlfriend is from the UK but living in Ireland - is it possible to put car in her name with her UK parents address, she still has UK bank accounts, bills etc etc and then after 6 months ask her to bring car in offcially here ??

Sorry for questions, just dont seem to be able to get any concrete advice anywhere and just wondering if people have been in this situation ??

Any Help Much Appreciated

D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

diablodice wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Ok I need some advice and hoping I might get it here - heres my dilemma. :confused:

I bought a car in January of last year (08) from the UK with the full intention of paying VRT and doing everything by the book - anyway I got into some financial trouble and used my VRT "stash" to sort it out. (it was to do with my house so it took priority over car) :mad: Anyway one year later I am still driving around on UK plates and have decided enough is enough and want to pay VRT and not be constantly worried about customs etc etc. My question (finally) is will VRT office notice that V5C export cert was actually granted in january 08 and then charge me for VRT from January 08 and not January 09 (major difference due to OMSP)?

Second option is my girlfriend is from the UK but living in Ireland - is it possible to put car in her name with her UK parents address, she still has UK bank accounts, bills etc etc and then after 6 months ask her to bring car in offcially here ??

Sorry for questions, just dont seem to be able to get any concrete advice anywhere and just wondering if people have been in this situation ??

D

Not sure about the first option but as for the second, you would have to import car back into uk which doesn't cost much, get new plates, new mot and then re import car back into ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

one year later I am still driving around on UK plates
    D

Whats the story been with your insurance for the last year?

As regards the gap in dates, just say it was brought in when you did but that its been garaged since and now you want to put it on the road. You may need to get a declaration to this effect signed by a Garda. I brought in a Jap 4x4 myself and had it garaged for a few months while i commercialised it (I took my time doing it obviously) and when i went to reg. it in Galway I explained my case, the guy didn't care he just wanted the money for my vrt which he charged as if i'd brought it in that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 diablodice

mcwhirter wrote: »
    Not sure about the first option but as for the second, you would have to import car back into uk which doesn't cost much, get new plates, new mot and then re import car back into ireland.

Thanks McWhirter,

Yes second option sounds the cheapest - but obviously I will then have to bring car back to ireland but before insure it on Uk insurance and in my girlfriends name for 6 months before we try register it here- sound ok ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

How about you just pay the VRT???
    since you have been driving around in the car for the last year!!!
    Nobody wants to but the rest of us have.

GalKiefer wrote: »
    Whats the story been with your insurance for the last year?

As regards the gap in dates, just say it was brought in when you did but that its been garaged since and now you want to put it on the road. You may need to get a declaration to this effect signed by a Garda. I brought in a Jap 4x4 myself and had it garaged for a few months while i commercialised it (I took my time doing it obviously) and when i went to reg. it in Galway I explained my case, the guy didn't care he just wanted the money for my vrt.

Excellent!! I was thinking that and theres no problem getting garda cert to say it was off the road - just wasnt sure whether some upstart in the VRT office would want to try charge me for VRT from 08. I actually have it insured with Hibernian but they have now started to call me and say they wont do it again without irish reg in April (when insurance is up) - also they didnt give me insurance disk which is awkward but touch wood I havent been stopped by anyone yet. Second option is cheapest but think I just want "cleanest" option now and hoping this is it.

Thanks a mill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Hi Guys,

D

something smells fishy, you say you were willing to pay the VRT last year, but now you wonder will the charge you from 08 or 09, if you intended to pay the VRT in Jan 08, it shouldn't matter if the charge you the full amount as you were willing to pay it a year ago, so they would have basically given you a one year interest free loan.

The second bit I highlight proves you don't want to pay the VRT at all, as you are now looking for ways to get away without paying it.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

How about you just pay the VRT???
    since you have been driving around in the car for the last year!!!
    Nobody wants to but the rest of us have.

How about you read the thread again ?? I wanted to pay VRT from the start but for unforseen ( and genuine unforseen) factors in my personal and financial well being couldnt pay last year and am purely seeking advice now......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

just wasnt sure whether some upstart in the VRT office would want to try charge me for VRT from 08.
    You've a brass neck, i'll give you that much.

Give a guy a break - I DID want to pay VRT but had trouble financially and only getting out of it now hence purely looking for advice here. (hell I have been trying to sell car at no extra profit since last year due to my financial problems)

I have no problem paying 08 VRT if that what they charge me but as I said wondering if anyone has experienced this before, I'd like to know as I'm new to this!

However on saying that, name me a person who wouldnt like to get their VRT as cheap as possible - for instance, VRT was 6500 last year and 3800 this year. No thief and pay enough taxes but yes if I can get it cheaper by taking someones advice then so be it - as I said only getting my head above water now.

Give a guy a break - I DID want to pay VRT but had trouble financially and only getting out of it now hence purely looking for advice here. (hell I have been trying to sell car at no extra profit since last year due to my financial problems)

I have no problem paying 08 VRT if that what they charge me but as I said wondering if anyone has experienced this before, I'd like to know as I'm new to this!

However on saying that, name me a person who wouldnt like to get their VRT as cheap as possible - for instance, VRT was 6500 last year and 3800 this year. No thief and pay enough taxes but yes if I can get it cheaper by taking someones advice then so be it - as I said only getting my head above water now.
    With the greatest of respect, your personal financial issues don't change the fact that tax evasion is stealing money from us.

Anan1 wrote: »
    With the greatest of respect, your personal financial issues don't change the fact that tax evasion is stealing money from us.

Trust me I take your point - and its not ideal but it is what it is and its purely "what I do now" and how I this out - advice is required due to the fact that other people may have similar issues as I, such as Galkiefer and I would like to hear what they think.

Just pay the VRT now - the VRO don't care what dates are on the V5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Surely if you're out of the financial trouble now, you shouldn't have an issue paying the VRT that's lawfully due on the car?

Thank you - Thats exactly what I wanted to know - want it sorted asap and hopefully this will do it. (lesson learned in so many respects)

Much Appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

+1 They'll say nothing to you as long as you are paying up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭DaMonk

I hate all this righteous bull that people come out with, "why dont you pay the full amount". of course he's not going to pay the full amount if he can, as would any of the 'claim to be righteous' mob spouting rubbish.
    "stealing from us"??? because a ridiculous "illegal" tax (as defined by the EU) that over estimates car values in the first place to which the tax is based upon so they are in fact robbing us 99 times out of 100. So if a couple of people can squeeze through with a few quid less then fair play, because tax money will just be squandered anyway.
    rant over...

DaMonk wrote: »
    I hate all this righteous bull that people come out with, "why dont you pay the full amount". of course he's not going to pay the full amount if he can, as would any of the 'claim to be righteous' mob spouting rubbish.

I paid the full amount. Twice.
    "stealing from us"??? because a ridiculous "illegal" tax (as defined by the EU)

But it's not illegal!

ned78 wrote: »
    I paid the full amount. Twice.

But it's not illegal!
    And I have done once as well. Are you honestly trying to say that if you were in the vro office and if your VRT came to 4500 if you said nothing or 8000 (rough figures)if you fessed up and said "I actually imported the car a year ago so charge me more" you would actually do this? dream on man, nobody is going to believe this..

It is illegal, the government were told to get rid of it within 5 years some time back by the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

It is illegal, the government were told to get rid of it within 5 years some time back by the EU.

No it's not.

Have you any eveidence or this ruling that they have to get rid? (Let's face it, it would be easy to find) or are you going to link to that rte article posted here every time this comes up from 2002 that says (in the RTE reporters opinion) somethign along the lines of "End of VRT is nigh" where the court ruleing said that some aspects of the Norwegian or finnish system might be illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Well, I don't think he will be the first to not pay a bit tax, check out some of our last few taoiseach's dirty dealings etc.

There are plenty of individuals and companies doing this, the government should be more strict if they want to stop it.

Its the Irish way after all....

The 2nd link is exactly the article I was talking about (and it's from 2002, so outside your 5 years)

I still see not mention of this ruling saying it's illegal and must be gone in 5 years.

The first link just explains VRT.

if you fessed up and said "I actually imported the car a year ago so charge me more" you would actually do this? dream on man, nobody is going to believe this..

I cleared my bike within 24 hours of bringing it in. I didn't have to pay back tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Not this old chestnut again.

xpdeadend.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Completely agree.
    He did wrong whether it was simply trying to get away with it or not having a choice due to personal reasons, in front of the law it doesn't matter much why he did it. They will tell him if he couldn't afford it he shouldn't have put the car on the road.
    But suggesting that he should volunteer the full amount is plain ridiculous. I wonder how many of the people who are suggesting this would actually do it themselves.
    Ffs, give them extra money they can squander or throw at the fkn banks? For what, for the great roads or the free parking? For a tax that's the most ridiculous thing to begin with? For a tax that's effectively a quadruple tax? My arse.
    I know all that doesn't make it right in front of the law, but I wouldn't feel one bit bad about gettin' away with a few grand here.

ned78 wrote: »
    I cleared my bike within 24 hours of bringing it in. I didn't have to pay back tax.

i wish we could all be as good as you,the world would be a better place...

Why cant you be? Are you dishonest by nature?

Any luck with that VRT evidence?