Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American women: Yes or no?

• 25-01-2009 7:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭

What do you think of them? Good or bad girlfriends??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

stalkers.
    needy..clingy..god no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Can you give us your opinions on them? Discussion is a two way thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Good to **** bad to keep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

What, all 150 million or so of them? Tough task if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭DubLass

Yes - wear ear muffs at all times though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Unless the majority of males in AHs have had an American girlfriend , how can they answer this?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

From expeience (twice) : a pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

as long as they don't speak then yes.

don't know how I'm going to survive 3 months in Chicago this summer, damn work :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

My girlfriend is American and I'm Irish. She's been living in Ireland for about 8-9 years, but she still has the accent and goes over there in the summer and around Christmas usually.

She isn't annoying, she's a normal quirky person. Actually better than any other girlfriend I've had. She isn't insanely jealous and she's quite intelligent, she isn't the usual stereotype in the slightest.

Irish girls are annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

don't know how I'm going to survive 3 months in Chicago this summer, damn work :(.

If you listen really, really hard, you'll hear the sound of tiny, tiny violins playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,157 ✭✭✭✭Berty

American girls are easy when you bump into a Paddy Wagons tour bus wearing a "Are you Irish, Would you like some Irish in you?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Youre asking this question here?

Having a pulse, makes you GF material to *some...for a particular few others, even a pulse is a bonus :p

*Naughty chef. The're really nice guys beneath it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

humberklog wrote: »

I can't believe this post hasn't received more attention. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

Hell yes! Love American girls. Irish women - boo-urns!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Lumen wrote: »
    I can't believe this post hasn't received more attention. ;)

Are you serious? Like American females... its too fcuking easy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

JangoFett wrote: »
    Every single one of them?

OP, if you were to ask the women/gay men: "American men: what do you think of them? Good or bad boyfriends??" well I for one... call me insane, but my response would be "surely it depends on the individual guy? If he's a decent person, funny, not too selfish in bed, not hideous on the eye - all good. His nationality... secondary really."

Lol at the idiocy on this thread...

Maybe consider the person before the nationality. Makes life better - honestly. ;)

PillyPen, go get 'em!

Dudess, in that case, the idiocy isn't in the thread, it is the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭jbl123

I thought American women had the reputation of being prudes, not easy...:confused:

Again, 'twould vary from person to person. I'm sure some American women are prudes, some American women are easy. Like women across the board actually. If there's an American girl you're interested in, then go for it. Surely you don't need validation from a bunch of strangers on the internet...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Dudess wrote: »

Ya know, I really thought at this point on boards that when someone says something that it's their opinion based on their own personal experiences and it's not necessarily generalising without them having to state that it's their own opinion based on their own personal experiences.

So, in my own opinion, based on my own personal experiences, most Irish girls are annoying, and I'm not necessarily generalising.

Happy now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

JangoFett wrote: »

Ah jesus, you were doing fine until you posted this sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

In my experience, there's a lot of women. I've only had 0.03% of the female population of the world. I hope to have 0.11% by the time I'm 60. Maybe you can ask me then?

jbl123 wrote: »
    I thought American women had the reputation of being prudes, not easy...:confused:

Both of my experiences were from cultural polar opposites. One a New York JAP (insufferable) and one from an ana-baptist background in Phili (hey! lets talk). Both were mad for the big fella. Other daliances on one night stands with other American girls would hold to this too. Mad for it.

Only Irish, British or Israeli these days. Too old for shennanigans.

Funny, all the women I've had sex with have wanted to have sex too.

Both of my experiences were from cultural polar opposites. One a New York JAP (insufferable) and one from an ana-baptist background in Phili (hey! lets talk). Both were mad for the big fella. Other daliances on one night stands with other American girls would hold to this too. Mad for it.

Only Irish, British or Israeli these days. Too old for shennanigans.
    Don't you think you're being rather unfair on perfectly decent women of other nationalities... and yourself?

fair enough so.

every single american girl I've come across has been clingy, annoying and loud.
    From what i can see, none act any differently than that.

Don't you think you're being rather unfair on perfectly decent women of other nationalities... and yourself?

Are you saying I should be putting it about a bit more? Maybe you're right Dudess...it is unfair to deprive women of a shot at me. I thought it was unfair of me inflicting myself on just three nationalities.
    Glass half full thinking on your part...picked me right up that has. Lock up your daughters! I'm back!(and brushing up on my Esparanto).

ClioV6 wrote: »
    fair enough so.

every single american girl I've come across has been clingy, annoying and loud.
    From what i can see, none act any differently than that.

Roughly, what % of 100 million wold that amount to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Yay, American girls. Some have weird quarks but they are interesting at least :D

davyjose wrote: »
    Roughly, what % of 100 million wold that amount to?

0.00000006 ish?

but I've no doubt in my mind their friends were any different, certainly didn't act differently, I could get that percentage up a fair bit I'd say. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

OP, if you were to ask the women/gay men: "American men: what do you think of them? Good or bad boyfriends??" well I for one... call me insane, but my response would be "surely it depends on the individual guy? If he's a decent person, funny, not too selfish in bed, not hideous on the eye - all good. His nationality... secondary really."

Lol at the idiocy on this thread...

Maybe consider the person before the nationality. Makes life better - honestly. ;)

PillyPen, go get 'em!

Pilly Pen is Canadian:eek::eek::eek:

People from San Diego have a lovely accent. It's a very engaging and sensual accent.
    The JAP I went out with sounded like Rhoda. God it was annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Mates old student apartment block was full of them on 3 month exchanges. They were around quite a few of the gaff parties I was at.

Conclusion: every last one of them bored the hole off me to the extent I couldnt hold conversation long enough to pull. Loud, dumb, and most of all way too reserved- their idea of going on a mad one being "omg I had like 5 beers, I was like soooooooo wasted". Few fat yokes around and all, and too many with stupid hyphenated names. Ashley-Jane, Mary-Beth, Laura-May, you know the type I am getting at. Mind you they were all from fairly privilidged The Hills type backgrounds, maybe more working/middle class ones are ok and less full of sh1te *shrugs*

My mate got along with them quite well but he loves all things American, hes one of these Irish who buys into all this guff about the US being the promised land and being infinitely better than Ireland. He went out with one utter bitch, once it was his birthday and the miserable cnutface complained we were making too much noise (it was a party in a students residence flat block on a Friday night at 10pm ffs. We were drinking, smokin, blarin up the tv, I remember us all locked singing every word to U2 elevation and Jay Z/LP Encore). Me and another guy pretended to fight to play a joke on the uptight bitch.

She kicked the lot of us out then. :) The woman was a monster.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

was with a few over the years and found the really easy going and good fun, however was seeing one for a good while and found her friendly and very open sexually.. only problem was she was he same with half the lads she knew and half the guys in her workplace too.. while we were going out.. one guy she was seeing for months behind my back, so needless to say it finished.. then I found out she did the same with him with another guy and the guy after him and the guy after him..

Came from a respectible family, had a good career but a complete nutjob and a unbelieveable liar.. She has been living in Ireland for years but has some american friends and they are the same..

So on the basis of that, never again.. Not worth the hassle..

dolliemix wrote: »
    D'oh! Now I'm in trouble... :D
    Could have sworn she was American.

So we've established that American girls (Canadians too at the moment) are ALL annoying slappers. I wouldn't have been so harsh myself but with such irrefutable anicdotal evidence it must be so.

Take'm down m'lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

dolliemix wrote: »

No, she is from America:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

You're doing it wrong. Use more lube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Why do people generalise? American women are individuals, because you date one of them doesn't mean you've dated them all!

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Why do people generalise?
    It's easier I suppose than considering the bigger picture. Plus some people can't cope without labelling...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

In my experience, there's a lot of women. I've only had 0.03% of the female population of the world. I hope to have 0.11% by the time I'm 60. Maybe you can ask me then?

You've slept with 900,000 women. :eek:

It's easier I suppose than considering the bigger picture. Plus some people can't cope without labelling...

and you can't cope with it, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What sort of a Question is that OP? I don't think a lot of people can comment on it. I haven't been with one yank, let alone enough to say if they are good or not... Weird weird question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

ClioV6 wrote: »
    and you can't cope with it, right?
    It's not about coping, it's tiring...

I am not Irish but there is constant generalisation in AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Italian American women for the win... amazing, sexy, confident and playful.

MIN2511 wrote: »
    It's not about coping, it's tiring...

I am not Irish but there is constant generalisation in AH

Sure if that's all people are experiencing then what can ya expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I married one. was getting sick of irish women being up their own holes.

So now ya have one who won't shut her hole? interesting.