Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tefl in South Korea

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭RingTheAlarm!

Also I'm looking to send things off to be apostilled today, should this be my Garda vetting and in terms of the degree is it just the transcript or do they want the parchment too? Sorry I'm clueless to a lot of this!

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭brianw1

oinclark wrote: »
    I told my recruiter that my first preference for placement would be Seoul and she said that we will go ahead a try for Seoul. I'm just wondering what other people's experiences have been in getting their preferred placement.
    I definitely want to be in a city so would I be better off stating a different city like Daejeon or Daegu and have a good chance of getting it, rather than take a chance at Seoul, not get it and being placed in the countryside somewhere.

What do ye think? Is Seoul as hard to get into as they say?

Don't take a job you aren't happy with mate, you don't want to be stuck out in the boonies for a year. If you want Seoul then stick to it and ask for it, I was there only last weekend and it's a serious spot, I'd love to be living there!! Loads of foreigners around too. Haven't been to Daegu or Daejeon so don't know, but I imagine they are nothing compared to Seoul.
    Thanks a million everyone. I have some interviews with recruiters set up for tomorrow. What should I be asking for? Also, what wage should I be looking at? Like I said, I have 3 years teaching experience and I'm registered with the Teaching Council. Will this have any pull?

Definitely don't take anything under 2.1m
    I'm sure you could negotiate a better salary, depends on the school
    Also I'm looking to send things off to be apostilled today, should this be my Garda vetting and in terms of the degree is it just the transcript or do they want the parchment too? Sorry I'm clueless to a lot of this!

You need to send the ORIGINAL garda background check and also a notarized COPY of your degree, not your transcripts or original degree. Bring your original degree to a solicitor to get it notarized if you haven't already. You'd want to do this pretty quick, it took 3 weeks for mine to come back from Dublin. Also the garda vetting form you have, you might want to check that its the right one? Does it say South Korea on it and that you have no criminal record?

Thanks very much. I went in today and got it done. I'm just waiting on the police check and they told me that they can have it in 2 days so I'm luckily getting through it all quickly. One of the benefits of living close to the offices ;)

I was chatting with some recruiters, all of them immediately saying that Seoul is difficult to find placements, but to be honest I don't think I want to go anywhere else unless a very good offer came along. They did say that since I'm a qualified teacher and with good qualifications that it will work in my favour. How long does the visa take usually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Choccie Lover

Thanks very much. I went in today and got it done. I'm just waiting on the police check and they told me that they can have it in 2 days so I'm luckily getting through it all quickly. One of the benefits of living close to the offices ;)

I was chatting with some recruiters, all of them immediately saying that Seoul is difficult to find placements, but to be honest I don't think I want to go anywhere else unless a very good offer came along. They did say that since I'm a qualified teacher and with good qualifications that it will work in my favour. How long does the visa take usually?

Nah, don't listen to that old chestnut about there being limited jobs in Seoul. All the recruiters say that. You should have no bother at all, especially with being a qualified teacher.

2 days for background check

2 weeks for apostilles

3 days to get the documents to korea

1 week for the visa number

3 days for the korean embassy to grant to visa

my experience anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

brianw1 wrote: »
    2 days for background check

2 weeks for apostilles

3 days to get the documents to korea

1 week for the visa number

3 days for the korean embassy to grant to visa

my experience anyway :)

Apostilles on the same day, if you go get them done in person.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 oinclark

cloneslad wrote: »
    Apostilles on the same day, if you go get them done in person.

Where can you get apostilles done? anywhere in cork do ya know?

There's a passport office in Cork, you can get them done in there. Costs €40. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5 oinclark

I'll be heading in to get my police certificate soon. Do you need a letter from the Korean embassy stating why you need it? And if you do need a letter how would you go about getting one?

How long did it take for yours to come through?
    Any responses appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I'll be heading in to get my police certificate soon. Do you need a letter from the Korean embassy stating why you need it? And if you do need a letter how would you go about getting one?

Take a look at this:

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=2742&Lang=1

They usually want this info written down. So if you're going to the station then bring a letter with your info and the SAE with you. No need for anything from the embassy.
    It might take a week.

I saw on the China board that some one was having a problem getting one but just insist. Sometimes, depending on the Garda station, they might not be familiar with the system especially the lad/girl who is at the front desk. The superintendent knows the score though as it's his/her job to provide it.

I got mine after two days, I told them that I needed it for work and they had it ready very quickly.

Also, can anyone recommend any recruiters please? I have sent my CV to several on Dave's ESL, etc but not with a whole lot of movement except for trying to get pawned off to some remote parts of the country for kindergarten/elementary jobs.

Haven't much experience of agencies I'm afraid.

Have you applied directly to schools as well? Schools often advertise directly on Dave's ESL, waygook.org and worknplay.co.kr.

At least that way you know where you are applying to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Nah, don't listen to that old chestnut about there being limited jobs in Seoul. All the recruiters say that. You should have no bother at all, especially with being a qualified teacher.

This is probably being said with regards to Public teaching jobs.
    Seoul and most of the rest of Korea have decided to cut back or completely cut out all Foreign teachers for Middle and High School.
    So it's only elementary teaching jobs available at public level really these days.

Though, in Seoul you have infinite number of Hagwons (Academies) , so you can easily get a job there if you find a suitable one. Try check into the history and contact other teachers who've worked their if you can.
    Some academy owners are chancers, but it's not a common thing, most are reputable institutions.

I think I went through Footprints recruiting when I applied, but there are many others out there.

You should also check Waygook.org, it's probably the biggest forum in Korea for foreigners and there will be posts there with regards to jobs etc, it is also a great resource for teaching materials at times.

However, on a sidenote, take everything you read there with a pinch of salt, half of the posters seem to be toxic Americans who just love to hate on Korea and compare it to the US constantly....I don't know what they're even doing in the country.
    But if you manage to filter that out, you'll find a wealth of knowledge and useful info on there.

SeantheMan wrote: »
    This is probably being said with regards to Public teaching jobs.
    Seoul and most of the rest of Korea have decided to cut back or completely cut out all Foreign teachers for Middle and High School.
    So it's only elementary teaching jobs available at public level really these days.

Though, in Seoul you have infinite number of Hagwons (Academies) , so you can easily get a job there if you find a suitable one. Try check into the history and contact other teachers who've worked their if you can.
    Some academy owners are chancers, but it's not a common thing, most are reputable institutions.

I think I went through Footprints recruiting when I applied, but there are many others out there.

You should also check Waygook.org, it's probably the biggest forum in Korea for foreigners and there will be posts there with regards to jobs etc, it is also a great resource for teaching materials at times.

However, on a sidenote, take everything you read there with a pinch of salt, half of the posters seem to be toxic Americans who just love to hate on Korea and compare it to the US constantly....I don't know what they're even doing in the country.
    But if you manage to filter that out, you'll find a wealth of knowledge and useful info on there.

Yeah, my post was referring to hagwons. As far as I remember, that particular poster was looking for hagwon positions.

But yeah, it seems more tricky to get a public schoo position in Seoul!

Nothing decent came of the recruiters so I'm going through SMOE/EPIK instead in March. Just wondering if I said I wanted to go to Seoul and then on the form it says if you weren't picked for Seoul would you withdraw or want to be put elsewhere would you automatically be put elsewhere? I wouldn't mind Busan/Daegu either but ideally would like to go to Seoul!

If you don't get picked for Seoul and it's your only option then you're out

brianw1 wrote: »
    If you don't get picked for Seoul and it's your only option then you're out

I went with the other locations too! Also on that note, is it a case of you sign your contract and then they tell you where you will be?

• Registered Users Posts: 18 slowly horse

I'm really confused with the notarisation process.

I want to get a copy of my degree notarised. I called one notary public and they said it was €20 and I only needed my original degree and the photocopy - and that my boyfriend could do it for me with no problems. Another office said it was €50, I needed my passport, 2 forms of proof of address, the original degree and if my boyfriend were to do it for me I'd need a written statement from my college to say that my degree had actually been conferred.

Are these 2 completely different processes, or could one office just not give a fupp?

I'm really confused with the notarisation process.

I want to get a copy of my degree notarised. I called one notary public and they said it was €20 and I only needed my original degree and the photocopy - and that my boyfriend could do it for me with no problems. Another office said it was €50, I needed my passport, 2 forms of proof of address, the original degree and if my boyfriend were to do it for me I'd need a written statement from my college to say that my degree had actually been conferred.

Are these 2 completely different processes, or could one office just not give a fupp?

Well, I only know about my experience and it was like the first. It was a guy who was a solicitor in the town and I just went with my degree and some photocopies and he just stamped some things and we had a wee natter about how we both went to Trinity, blah blah blah.

The second one you described seems a bit extreme!

Well, I only know about my experience and it was like the first. It was a guy who was a solicitor in the town and I just went with my degree and some photocopies and he just stamped some things and we had a wee natter about how we both went to Trinity, blah blah blah.

Thanks for the response. Did that stamp work for you then? I assume you're in (or have been in) Korea - sorry, haven't read too far back in the thread.

And yeah, it seems a bit extreme - he even emailed me a 9 page document with the terms and conditions of the notarisation process along with the wording of the affidavit that I'll have to swear.... :/

yep, i had no problems at all. After it is notarized it is sent to be apostilled to make it doubly authentic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭kaji

Does anyone know what the odds of getting placed by EPIK in Seoul are? That's where I really want to go (if I pass the interview). I would also go anywhere within an hour of Seoul, but not sure what you get to put down on the form, can you even choose a location? Would appreciate any help :)

You have to fill in a separate form for SMOE along with your EPIK form. It said on their website the earlier you apply the better your chances are :)

More questions...

My recruiter offered me a job without pension - I told him that I was only interested in jobs that paid pensions (I don't want to be hired as an independent contractor, because, as I understand it, my rights would be less than someone hired as a teacher). He said that not having a pension was advantageous as I wouldn't have to pay that extra 4.5% which I wouldn't be able to claim back - he quoted that info alongside something that suggests that he thinks Ireland is in the UK(!)

I had a look and it seems as though we have a bilateral agreement with the South Korean government that allows us to claim back our pension contributions, is that correct?

Any info on working as an independent contractor/pension payments would be greatly appreciated.

Hi, I was last in Korea in 2012 and at that point there was no bilateral agreement that allowed us to claim back the pension (it was a big gripe among Irish teachers). Perhaps that has changed???? Where did you get that information?

Ah sorry, I'm a bit of an eejit, I've taken another look at it and we can't claim back our pension in cash form, but it is counted as an Irish contribution.

Is it not worth having the contribution anyway? If I stay in Korea long term (my boyfriend is Korean) then having the pension contributions will be handy if I change visa class, and if I come back home then I'm not screwed on having missed a few years of contributions.

There's no pension refund for us. Honestly I wouldn't let that put me off taking a job, my own job wouldn't let me opt out of the pension so there was no choice. But yeah don't worry about it. More money in your pocket.

Ah sorry, I'm a bit of an eejit, I've taken another look at it and we can't claim back our pension in cash form, but it is counted as an Irish contribution.

Is it not worth having the contribution anyway? If I stay in Korea long term (my boyfriend is Korean) then having the pension contributions will be handy if I change visa class, and if I come back home then I'm not screwed on having missed a few years of contributions.

Personally, I wouldn't take a job without a pension for the simple reason that a lot of places who stiff you on the pension and try to get out of doing what they are supposed to are more likely to stiff you in other areas, health insurance, final bonus, 11th month firing...etc.