Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Riots in Iceland re financial crisis, why didnt we hear?

• 23-01-2009 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭

Why are we not hearing more about this, this has been increasing in intensity for the past 5 days, with the Icelandic PM being attacked yesterday...

Sounds news worthy to me....

Now I dont what to start talking about stupid conspiracy theories but.... :-)

http://news.scotsman.com/world/A-nearriot-and--parliament.4722970.jp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Article is 2 months out of date. PM has resigned, new election to take place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Did Kerry Katona get any death threats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It has been all over the news. PM called an election this week and is not running because of an illness he has been diagnosed with.

Must be a cover up, no mention of it at all on their website

http://www.iceland.co.uk/

Hopefully a brave blogger can fill us in from behind the firewall.

My ma has only gone there :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I knew putting one in Ballyfermot again was a mistake!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

phasers wrote: »
    I knew putting one in Ballyfermot again was a mistake!

Ha! I thought that too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/europe/article5559773.ece
    Icelanders all but stormed their Parliament last night.

it restarted last night though, but as you said they are calling elections now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Theres been little media coverage over ALL the riots breaking out in Greece,Bulgaria,Latvia,Lithuania,Iceland etc.
    There was a tiny snippet of news (2 sentences squashed on to the side of page 25) in The Irish Indo on how the EU is calling an emergency summit on how to deal with the recent waves of riots.

I presume the lack of media coverge is they dont want to encourage Irish people to do the same.If the mass of people rise up and revolt,then Murdoch,O'Reilly and the rest who get massively rich of an exploitative,capitalist system will be fu*cked.

http://freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/2169939/posts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Reminded of my favourite joke of 2008

What's the capital of Iceland?
    About €3.50

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

delop wrote: »
    Why are we not hearing more about this, this has been increasing in intensity for the past 5 days, with the Icelandic PM being attacked yesterday...

Sounds news worthy to me....

Now I dont what to start talking about stupid conspiracy theories but.... :-)

http://news.scotsman.com/world/A-nearriot-and--parliament.4722970.jp

I heard. I get daily updates from my friends over there. When they stormed the parliment it was meant to be a good day out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Bah!!! Last time I threw an egg at Mary Harney I missed, didn't stop the fat fukk licking the egg off her limo, no more free lunches from me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

DonJose wrote: »
    Bah!!! Last time I threw an egg at Mary Harney I missed, didn't stop the fat fukk licking the egg off her limo, no more free lunches from me :mad:

How on earth did you miss? If you closed your eyes and threw from five miles away, you wouldn't miss that tub of lard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

DonJose wrote: »
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    How on earth did you miss? If you closed your eyes and threw from five miles away, you wouldn't miss that tub of lard.

Did you shop in Iceland:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭conor052001

Collie D wrote: »
    Reminded of my favourite joke of 2008

What's the capital of Iceland?
    About €3.50

heard two english lads in the bar the other night;

whats the difference between ireland and iceland?

one letter and about six months...

laughed their heads off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Why did we not hear?
    Because its fcuking iceland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

Because it might give us ideas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

heard two english lads in the bar the other night;

whats the difference between ireland and iceland?

one letter and about six months...

laughed their heads off

Maybe it's cause it's late and I'm tired, maybe because I'm still a little drunk but I just don't get that. Six months???

Banks collapsed in Iceland roughly 6-7 months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Hard Larry wrote: »

OOoooh tanks Larry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Stop watching Sky News tbfh. This has been all over Al Jazeera and a few other stations for a while now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Haven't ye heard - Fianna Fail has banned certain words from the media - they don't want us getting ideas!
    The words "riot" "rebellion" "Rising" "Fighting opposition" etc are now illegal to use in context with Ireland and its economy.
    Its a conspiracy I tell ya - RTDH where are ya when we need ya???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Biggins wrote: »
    Haven't ye heard - Fianna Fail has banned certain words from the media - they don't want us getting ideas!
    The words "riot" "rebellion" "Rising" "Fighting opposition" etc are now illegal to use in context with Ireland and its economy.
    Its a conspiracy I tell ya - RTDH where are ya when we need ya???

You are all reading the wrong media, :D

http://www.wiseupjournal.com/?p=763

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You are all reading the wrong media, :D

http://www.wiseupjournal.com/?p=763

Why do I get the feeling I've just taken the Red Pill....?

EDIT:
    In Riga last week 10,000 protesters laid siege to the Latvian parliament; yesterday hundreds of Bulgarians rallied to demand that the Socialist-led Government should take action or step down, in a second week of demonstrations, and last month […] days of running battles in the streets of Athens and Salonika.
    Not just Iceland. Now this, my friends, is what you need to do in Ireland. Instead of bending over with your pants around your ankles. ESPECIALLY if you think Enda Kenny is no better an option.
    (And this is probably why you don't hear about such riots)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/europe/article5559773.ece
    Icelanders all but stormed their Parliament last night.

it restarted last night though, but as you said they are calling elections now

Althing's being equal, it's not really big news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

Althing's being equal, it's not really big news.
    dumbest thing i've heard in a long long time.
    It's massive news more than expose anyway.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Hopefully a brave blogger can fill us in from behind the firewall.

http://icelandweatherreport.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Banks collasped in iceland october 08, thats four months me thinks:confused:

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Not just Iceland. Now this, my friends, is what you need to do in Ireland. Instead of bending over with your pants around your ankles. ESPECIALLY if you think Enda Kenny is no better an option.
    (And this is probably why you don't hear about such riots)

The riots in Riga were all over the news.. It seems what an awful lot of you mean by "HOW COME WE DIDNT HEAR ABOUT THIS OMG CONSPIRACY!!!11" is really "I don't really watch the news or read newspapers."

The sad fact is that the vast majority of people who don't think Enda Kenny is a better option just don't like the look of him. True I think he should have dropped out after the last election, but when you see FFers like Bev and co STILL trying to swindle us while at the same time expecting us mere peasants to take the hit financially, it really is sickening to see people refer to FG as "no better".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

The Greek disturbances, the worst since 1974, were triggered by the killing of the teenager, but the anger was stoked by a sense that the young were going to have to pick up the bill for the miscalculations of the political class. Unemployment among Greeks aged 15 to 24 has reached 21.2 per cent; for 25 to 34-year-olds it is 10.5 per cent. The good years have come to an end suddenly.

Sounds similar to Ireland. Wouldn't be surprised at demonstrations here, were they to occur. There hasn't been much coverage of these European riots, there has been more coverage of Obama here than what's going on in Europe. :rolleyes:

From this article-
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/europe/article5563020.ece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

panda100 wrote: »
    Theres been little media coverage over ALL the riots breaking out in Greece,Bulgaria,Latvia,Lithuania,Iceland etc.
    There was a tiny snippet of news (2 sentences squashed on to the side of page 25) in The Irish Indo on how the EU is calling an emergency summit on how to deal with the recent waves of riots.

I presume the lack of media coverge is they dont want to encourage Irish people to do the same.If the mass of people rise up and revolt,then Murdoch,O'Reilly and the rest who get massively rich of an exploitative,capitalist system will be fu*cked.

http://freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/2169939/posts .

There was loads coverage on Greece, you make such stupid posts regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

jester77 wrote: »
    PM called an election this week and is not running because of an illness he has been diagnosed with.
    Oesophegul (sp?) cancer I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Oh, and add me into the list of people who knew all about this and think that alot of the people in this thread just don't listen to current events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Why do I have a bad feeling about the Student Protest on Feb 4th, all of
    a sudden....:(

Oh, and add me into the list of people who knew all about this and think that alot of the people in this thread just don't listen to current events.

I listen to the news or read the paper everyday, or check the online papers, and there really hasn't been that much coverage of these riots. IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Shiny wrote: »

This could be 1848 all over again. Look on the bright side there will be plenty of work in building barricades and taking them down again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    The riots in Riga were all over the news.. It seems what an awful lot of you mean by "HOW COME WE DIDNT HEAR ABOUT THIS OMG CONSPIRACY!!!11" is really "I don't really watch the news or read newspapers."

The sad fact is that the vast majority of people who don't think Enda Kenny is a better option just don't like the look of him. True I think he should have dropped out after the last election, but when you see FFers like Bev and co STILL trying to swindle us while at the same time expecting us mere peasants to take the hit financially, it really is sickening to see people refer to FG as "no better".

Don't have the luxary of sky news in Berlin. Was aware of Riga, not to what scale admittedly, but aware of what had happened.

Agree 100% with you about people's perception of Enda Kenny. Although if people like neither him nor FF, then GET UP OFF YOUR ARSES AND DEMONSTRATE.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Shiny wrote: »

Pfft, students! Bunch of pussies, the guards will make mincemeat of them if they try anything

Collie D wrote: »
    Pfft, students! Bunch of pussies, the guards will make mincemeat of them if they try anything

At least they're trying. :P

On a related note, y'know, traditionally it has been students who get involved in demonstrations, protests and the like, while everyone else watches on, simultaneously grumbling about 'lazy, smelly students, do they have nothing better to do?' and also 'the damn government, why doesn't anyone get up off their arses and do something?"

Acacia wrote: »
    At least they're trying. :P

On a related note, y'know, traditionally it has been students who get involved in demonstrations, protests and the like, while everyone else watches on, simultaneously grumbling about 'lazy, smelly students, do they have nothing better to do?' and also 'the damn government, why doesn't anyone get up off their arses and do something?"

Fair enough but I bet if you did a poll of protesting students on the day a large portion wouldn't know why they were there other than to skip lectures and have a few cans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

You don't hear about 90% of the social unrest occuring around the world at any time.

In Greece in December/early January young people occupied 3 television stations protesting education cuts and in solidarity with the 15 year old who was shot by police. They also occupied the headquarters of the police, the trade unions, the journalists union, numerous government offices, several embassies and train stations. They damaged ticket machines at the occupied train stations and allowed all on for free.They organised fundraisers for small local businesses damaged during the rioting ,including an 80+ year old woman whos small stall was ruined. The countries largest uni's were occupied, as were hundreds of secondary schools.

In Ireland, the whole thing got about 5 minutes airtime, in the form of "kid shot. lots of other kids throwing bricks. what a ****in' disgrace"

Its just how the media works, its not a conspiracy. You never hear about this things. Whens the last time you heard on RTE news about dead kids in Afghanistan?

----

And in relation to the comment about having a bad feeling about Feb4?
    Don't.

The U.S.I is the first step on the ladder for many oppurtunistic 'When I grow up I want to be in the Labour Party/Fine Gael' types and the demos are tame affairs that go nowhere and normally involve large amounts of patting yourself on the back and chanting 'WHEN DO WE WANT IT? NOW'
    It'll be a fairly predictable affair, probably ending with a Fine Gael speaker and with at least a dozen "DOWN WITH THIS SORT OF THING' signs there.

PrivateEye wrote: »
    You don't hear about 90% of the social unrest occuring around the world at any time.

In Greece in December/early January young people occupied 3 television stations protesting education cuts and in solidarity with the 15 year old who was shot by police. They also occupied the headquarters of the police, the trade unions, the journalists union, numerous government offices, several embassies and train stations. They damaged ticket machines at the occupied train stations and allowed all on for free.They organised fundraisers for small local businesses damaged during the rioting ,including an 80+ year old woman whos small stall was ruined. The countries largest uni's were occupied, as were hundreds of secondary schools.

In Ireland, the whole thing got about 5 minutes airtime, in the form of "kid shot. lots of other kids throwing bricks. what a ****in' disgrace"

Its just how the media works, its not a conspiracy. You never hear about this things. Whens the last time you heard on RTE news about dead kids in Afghanistan?

Yeah, exactly. Notice how they'll cling to some human interest story like Maddie McCann for ages as well, to distract people. They sure as hell don't want people knowing about civil unrest in other parts of the world. I wouldn't say it's a conspiracy, because I don't think there's any Evil Plan or anything. It's just not a good idea for governments to let their people 'get ideas' about protests, riots, etc. Imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

PrivateEye wrote: »
    The U.S.I is the first step on the ladder for many oppurtunistic 'When I grow up I want to be in the Labour Party/Fine Gael' types and the demos are tame affairs that go nowhere and normally involve large amounts of patting yourself on the back and chanting 'WHEN DO WE WANT IT? NOW'
    It'll be a fairly predictable affair, probably ending with a Fine Gael speaker and with at least a dozen "DOWN WITH THIS SORT OF THING' signs there.

I've always wondered if they think nobody's noticed that they've never stopped using the same chant for every rally. All those intelligent arts students*, you'd think they'd be able to come up with something more creative.

*I am cognisant of the non sequiter.