Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ross Kemp: Return to Afghanistan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Can't wait for it, should be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Hopefully it will be. I watched the first series in the wrong order, which is not a good idea :P .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Ronan Raver77

I cant wait for this myself:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Have to say I was mighty impressed when Ross did the first show, turned up in all his gucci 5:11 kit;) I thought it was just a vehicle to up his air time.

Now I have to say my opinion of him is justifiably one of admiration. He has really brought to the fore the day to day goings on of troops in Astan. Good stuff Rossy, looking forward to the new instalment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Would love to see Ross taking a few shots to the chest

!! Did you just dis the ross? Haven't you seen Ultimate Farce?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Just a reminder, this is on tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Would love to see Ross taking a few shots to the chest

Those kind of comments are not welcomed around here tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

iceage wrote: »
    !! Did you just dis the ross? Haven't you seen Ultimate Farce?:rolleyes:

Farce... ya... it was had potential... they they brought in the chick:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

****ing top drawer!

Just from watching that, I'd actually do anything to get over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭Leadership

Was a good show all right but I found it lacking substance. It needs yer man from Grand Designs to do the show in stead of Kemp so there is some articulation in the dialogue.

It stirred some past (good/bad/emotional) memories of my military days especially the post contact buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Leadership wrote: »
    Was a good show all right but I found it lacking substance. It needs yer man from Grand Designs to do the show in stead of Kemp so there is some articulation in the dialogue.

It stirred some past (good/bad/emotional) memories of my military days especially the post contact buzz.

You mean Kevin McCloud?

That man is a legend!

have it sky +,will watch it tomorow.Choose to watch Generation Kill on FX tonight instead.Great show about the marines in Iraq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Great start to the series tonight hope the rest will be as good.

Damn right, thats a near as dammit that your gonna see on TV.

Major Kudos to Ross for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Damn, forgot about it. Ah well thats what repeats are for I supose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I think it's one of the few programs I've seen that comes as close to conveying modern combat as TV can. I was scared watching the bloody thing for an hour, can't imagine what it's like to do a 6-month tour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

For anyone who missed it it's on again at 11pm on one of the sky channels.

http://ie.youtube.com/user/oddball71 This guy also puts them up soon after each episode airs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭vigos

tribulus wrote: »
    For anyone who missed it it's on again at 11pm on one of the sky channels.

http://ie.youtube.com/user/oddball71 This guy also puts them up soon after each episode airs.

Yes he has it posted up now

http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=US&v=rw0sEC8pCf0

Just starting to watch it

Nails mates, expression on his face when they were given the order to fix bayonets :eek: Some serious sh*t going down there I have to say, the Scots gave a mighty account of themselves seriously good drills lads.

Lets not forget to mention the camera and sound crew! The first contact with the Taliban whip, crack! they were literally a stones throw from them I was in a sweat by the end of it. Ross Kemp once again shows us that he is a double hard fatherless with a serious set of balls...

Nails mates, expression on his face when they were given the order to fix bayonets :eek: Some serious sh*t going down there I have to say, the Scots gave a mighty account of themselves seriously good drills lads.

Lets not forget to mention the camera and sound crew! The first contact with the Taliban whip, crack! they were literally a stones throw from them I was in a sweat by the end of it. Ross Kemp once again shows us that he is a double hard fatherless with a serious set of balls...

The camera man was fecked crawling through that ditch.I was on the edge of me seat when they had to run the open ground to cover!

I had lost respect for Kemp on his Gang show when he scampered out of the middle of a melee and while telling us how much danger he was in an old women walks into the middle of it to empty a bin behind him:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Anyone see it last night?

Another great episode. I originally read that it was just 2 parts but I was happy to hear its another 5 part series. I also read on wiki that theres a pretty shocking bit coming up.

I hate to use spoilers like it was a drama series but just in case people dont want to find out.
    A soldier is fatally wounded by an IED, 100 meters away from kemp

I got kinda bored of Kemp after the Gang series, even though I would call it very good series. But after his 2 stints in the middle east its hard to deny the guy has brass balls
    I had lost respect for Kemp on his Gang show when he scampered out of the middle of a melee and while telling us how much danger he was in an old women walks into the middle of it to empty a bin behind him

Hehe I remember that. It was the polish hooligan episode

Missed it last night, when is the repeat? The sky TV page does not work on my browser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Leadership wrote: »
    Missed it last night, when is the repeat? The sky TV page does not work on my browser

11pm on Sky2.

Edit: That's 11pm tonight just in case there was any confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

For those who missed it and dont mind low quality, its on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/user/RossKempVideos

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

:rolleyes: I guess you have never seen any other embeds, then. What, huddled like a frightened snail on the ground, giving no commentary, having no sitrep, whining, complaining, being opinionated is double hard?

Go watch some April 2003 embed footage, certain little town called Baghdad. That was ballsy, given that the people there were among UK/USA terror apparatus.

Edit: By the way, I watched this, not because I want an update on Afghanistan (As this is naked propaganda), but just to gauge their desperation. Just look at their POW. Shape of his hands, british vermin pulled his fingernails out previously it seems.

Border-Rat wrote: »
    Shape of his hands, british vermin pulled his fingernails out previously it seems.

Warning, drop that bullsh*t attitude or your stay here is going to be very short and very bitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

If anyone missed it, if they have sky+ its on the Anytime Tv.

.....You know I was gonna....then I thought whats the point....:rolleyes:

£5 extra a day to sort the thunderboxes!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Duffers

Border-Rat wrote: »
    :rolleyes: I guess you have never seen any other embeds, then. What, huddled like a frightened snail on the ground, giving no commentary, having no sitrep, whining, complaining, being opinionated is double hard?

Go watch some April 2003 embed footage, certain little town called Baghdad. That was ballsy, given that the people there were among UK/USA terror apparatus.

Edit: By the way, I watched this, not because I want an update on Afghanistan (As this is naked propaganda), but just to gauge their desperation. Just look at their POW. Shape of his hands, british vermin pulled his fingernails out previously it seems.

:D Golly gosh! You sound like an old sweat! You must have done loads of tours eh? Can I ask, where do you park your spaceship?

Hats off to Kemp and his team, it looks fooking scary as out there. I like the way he was laughing as rounds zipped by, and then apologetically said 'I'm laughing because I'm scared'.
    And as for the Soldiers, WOW is all I can say. The physical and mental stress they must be under, and they are totally professional. Bloody amazing. It must be incredibly hard to go back on RnR or come home at the end of the tour and communicate to people what they are living through out there.

@Icers: the thunder boxes make 'two girls one cup' look tame eh?:pac:(vomits)

Just seen part 2 and the more I watch the more I get the feeling that this series is heavily influenced or edited/orchestrated by the British Army in response to the first series.

What I see different to series 1 is:
    • The troops have better vehicles - In series 1 they had the BV and in 2 they have hardened Mastiffs (anti mine/RPG etc)
    • More helicopters - Series 1 Ross Kemp highlighted that helo's are in short supply, all I see in this series is plenty of Helo's whenever they ask for them
    • More "help the locals" hearts and minds footage who get more support than I have ever seen
    • The OC has obviously been briefed to be risk adverse as to the OC in series 1 who had real missons to clear Taliban
    It appears that the grunts on the ground do have the protection that the first series highlighted was missing. My points are based on that I have friends on the ground now who are in a more "high Risk" category but they still have soft skinned TUM/TUL's (land rovers, pinzgauers) to support them and little or no helo/fast mover support (that are on target) their work in the area.

I will still watch this but the editing is very clever and targeted to readers of the Sun newspaper. No offence or disrespect to the lads on the ground but they are being sold short IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Duffers

Here's a vid from FOB Inkerman....
    http://www.sundaymail.co.uk/pictures-videos-audio/
    check out the field punishment for the lad halfway through. I was in the same troop as him for a while and it was a challenge waking him up to go on sentry, as he was such a heavy sleeper. Nice bloke, but a nightmare to bivvy up with as his snoring was the worst I have ever encountered. It sounded like a chainsaw. :(

Leadership you may find the comments about Helo's etc interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I was breaking my hole laughing at the only female in camp at the end of that video!!! She wasn't too bad looking either!!!

Brilliant stuff!!!

Will give that a looks laters...at work..supposedly working!:rolleyes:

Don't forget what day it is tomorrow lads.....;)

Rub it in why dont you:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Youtube link for the same vid - it's not working for me on the Sunday Mail page

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FteZrCYgxhU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Thought some of you folks might be interested in this piece from an Irish combat journalist in afghanistan....

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/video/2009/feb/13/us-military-afghanistan-outpost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Interesting vid.

It is a good vid, kind of shows the other side of the coin with conditions in theatre.

I didnt see many armoured vehicles let alone the new bread of mine and IED protected vehicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

toomevara wrote: »
    Thought some of you folks might be interested in this piece from an Irish combat journalist in afghanistan....

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/video/2009/feb/13/us-military-afghanistan-outpost

Great Vid.

I love seening the perspective of the guys on the ground, it always surprises me how frank they are allowed be on camera with there opinions (I understand that those guys are probably now left the USMC, but who knows)

From my experience with reporters visiting Irish troops Overseas they are never more than 5 feet from a Liason Officer and most troops are "briefed" as to what to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Hard Larry wrote: »
    Great Vid.

I love seening the perspective of the guys on the ground, it always surprises me how frank they are allowed be on camera with there opinions (I understand that those guys are probably now left the USMC, but who knows)

From my experience with reporters visiting Irish troops Overseas they are never more than 5 feet from a Liason Officer and most troops are "briefed" as to what to say.

The guy who made the report is an old friend...he's been to Iraq with the brits and with to afghanistan many times for long stints with both the canadians and US forces. He refuses to do what he calls 'shoot and scoots' (He was shot there 3 years ago while on a combat patrol with US troops)...that vid was filmed in 2008 just before chrimbo. He always says that the yanks will give you complete freedom to report as long as they reckon you'll do so in an unbiased manner and that US troops are unafraid to express what might be considered controversial views in some circles, and that they are almost all, contrary to popular opinion, massively informed and possessed of sophisticated views on the question of afghanistan...All those guys in the vid are still out there. I suppose if you're out there getting shot at you've earned the right to say what you like!

He says working with the Brits is a nightmare as they are massively controlling of the media.

Here's his website if your interested, I know he's planning another trip out in the next couple of months...

http://www.johndmchugh.com/

toomevara wrote: »

He says working with the Brits is a nightmare as they are massively controlling of the media.

Thats really interesting. I would have thought that the BA was much more approachable than the US. Things must have changed from my service days as all the tours I did we were very open with the media.

I guess Afghanistan is a bit of a embarrassment for the BA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Tbh, Im starting to go off this Ross Kemp show, I loved the first series, and while Im enjoying this one , it seems to have more biased propaganda. Either that or I just didnt notice it in the first series.

I know hes not doing the show to tell both sides of the story but its just getting frustrating being reminded all the time of how evil the taliban are and how necessary the war is. Its not as black and white as that. I know hes at the front line meeting people who have suffered immensly from war so he would obviously develop a biased opinion, but it seems even the soldiers are more open minded than him.
    Not to mention Leaderships comments about the difference he noticed between the two series.
    just a thought

wylo wrote: »
    Tbh, Im starting to go off this Ross Kemp show, I loved the first series, and while Im enjoying this one , it seems to have more biased propaganda. Either that or I just didnt notice it in the first series.

I know hes not doing the show to tell both sides of the story but its just getting frustrating being reminded all the time of how evil the taliban are and how necessary the war is. Its not as black and white as that. I know hes at the front line meeting people who have suffered immensly from war so he would obviously develop a biased opinion, but it seems even the soldiers are more open minded than him.
    Not to mention Leaderships comments about the difference he noticed between the two series.
    just a thought

But he mentined Kabul had a population of 3 million,which dropped to a few 100,000 when the Taliban where in charge.That must give you a measure to how the Afhgan people thought of them.

In fairness I find it hard to believe to see any positives from the Taliban regin,but then I really dont know that much about them.

Great show though,he really got stuck in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

If you ever need a cab at Heathrow, ring checker cabs. Most of their drivers are Afghans who left not long after the Russians. Most have only been able to go back in the last year. You hear a completely unbiased (and quite oftenvarying) opinion from them.most hate foreign fighters be they British, US or Taliban but see ISAF as their best chance of lasting peace, but only if they defeat the Taliban and train the Afghan army and police to take over.