Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscommon HOH's sentencing

• 22-01-2009 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭

At Roscommon Circuit Court today, Judge Miriam Reynolds said she would have given the 40-year-old woman, who cannot be named for legal reasons, a life sentence had she been a man.

(However, Judge Reynolds said she was restricted by the terms of 1908 legal act, which carries a maximum seven-year sentence for incest cases involving women. )

NOTE: From the house of horrors case( in roscommon ) in todays paper. Seems like alot of the law etc in Ireland is biased against men?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

dodgyme wrote: »
    NOTE: From the house of horrors case( in roscommon ) in todays paper. Seems like alot of the law etc in Ireland is biased against men?

This is nothing new sadly. Just look at all the protests about fathers rights alone every year. The courts are a sick joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Wow.. lucky her not having a penis. That made the crime all the more tolerable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

At Roscommon Circuit Court today, Judge Miriam Reynolds said she would have given the 40-year-old woman, who cannot be named for legal reasons, a life sentence had she been a man.
    Don't know about that - often, bafflingly light sentences have been handed down in this country to men who carry out abuses along these lines.
    Seems like alot of the law etc in Ireland is biased against men?
    On the other hand, yes, that is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

The fight for equality really only focuses on a the disadvantages doesnt it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Judge Miriam Reynolds, I swear I've read that name several times today and each time I cant help but think of Judge Reinhold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

(However, Judge Reynolds said she was restricted by the terms of 1908 legal act, which carries a maximum seven-year sentence for incest cases involving women. )

that is terrible, surely there has to be allowances made for the seriousness of the offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Bit of a disgrace really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Will she even serve the full term? recently a man in the same aera got convicted for sexual abuse and the judge in sentencing said the man should serve the full 10 years. Does that mean he will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I'll be back in a while with the name of a case where a woman was babysitting a child and literally stuffed his c*ck up herself but she can't be done for rape

Will she even serve the full term? recently a man in the same aera got convicted for sexual abuse and the judge in sentencing said the man should serve the full 10 years. Does that mean he will?
    Not unless this country decides to get it's Criminal Justice system in order, murderers, rapists, violent offenders and drug dealers are released early every day of the week due to overcrowding in Irish prisons

At the same time we have ads on TV threatening people with legal action if they don't pay their TV licence or throw their rubbish away in the wrong manner, maybe they merely want to free places in prison for these people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

literally stuffed his c*ck up herself but she can't be done for rape

Course not, Is it a Transgender?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Will there be changes to the law after this disgrace? These sure as hell should be. Rape is rape regardless of what gender you are.

The fact that it was the childs mother should carry a life sentence imo. Sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

YEP, Female abuse on children is far more common than people think, but social workers and Judges tend to give them more chances.

Anybody heard of this Bean Ni Chroibin and her right wing Catholic organisation?

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/who-was-the-rightwing-catholic-group-who-allowed-incest-to-happen-1610124.html

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

recently a man in the same area got convicted for sexual abuse and the judge in sentencing said the man should serve the full 10 years. Does that mean he will?
    And that's a joke of a sentence too - so I don't think this particular example is a case of a light sentence based on gender.
    I'll be back in a while with the name of a case where a woman was babysitting a child and literally stuffed his c*ck up herself but she can't be done for rape
    It doesn't help change these attitudes when certain males blather on about how awesome it is when e.g. a female teacher has sex with a teenage underage pupil.

Dudess wrote: »

It doesn't help change these attitudes when certain males blather on about how awesome it is when e.g. a female teacher has sex with a teenage underage pupil.

YEP, seen a few comments on AH like that yesterday.

Better say nothing or I'll get banned!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Seanies32 wrote: »
    YEP, seen a few comments on AH like that yesterday.

Better say nothing or I'll get banned!

Why would you get banned? :confused:

Teenage being the key word in those arguments. Any lad in puberty is rearing to go.

Never heard of a randy toddler, so i reckon thats some really fücked up rape.

javaboy wrote: »
    Why would you get banned? :confused:

My comments wouldn't be too kind.

I can see why a 16 year old would be funny in a Stifflers Mom type way, but not a 13 year old.

It's still an abuse of power and could **** that teenage boy up in years to come.

oztots wrote: »
    Teenage being the key word in those arguments. Any lad in puberty is rearing to go.

Never heard of a randy toddler, so i reckon thats some really fücked up rape.

He may be ready to go, but a 16 year old is still being taken advantage off, similar to a 16 yr old girl and her teacher.

It's still an abuse of power and could **** that teenage boy up in years to come.

I suppose it could, all these arguments have already been made.

So, nice weather isnt it?

Every male on here wanted to f*ck one of their teachers though (even the bum bashers i'd say)

Aaa, the good old AH tar all with one brush mentality! :rolleyes:
    Geeze, what a gobschite generalisation!

A 14-year-old boy might like the idea of his teacher having sex with him, doesn't mean the reality wouldn't freak him out. And even if he did enjoy it, who's to say in 10 years time he wouldn't be completely messed up by it?

The point though, is female sexual abuse of males is not taken seriously - in part due to such attitudes.

A 14-year-old boy might like the idea of his teacher having sex with him, doesn't mean the reality wouldn't freak him out. And even if he did enjoy it, who's to say in 10 years time he wouldn't be completely messed up by it?

The point though, is female sexual abuse of males is not taken seriously - in part due to such attitudes.

YEP, not helped by the attitudes that sure he's 14, he's up for it.

Jaysus, Men are our worst enemies when it comes to equality.

I think that most lads would love the idea of being with one of their teachers, and yes it might mess them up. Theres also people who get messed up the first time they do it as an adult with an adult.
    Yes its abuse of power.

It is sicker in my mind a male teacher with a female student as men tend to be a bit more willing to have a go at any time.

Bar all that, the toddler thing is sick no matter which way you look at it. I doubt theres anybody here who could honestly think the toddler had a say in it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

There was an episode of South Park that took this issue to its most extreme form ( 3 year old Ike and his teacher eloping). It's actually a brilliant piece of satire. Shows up the warped attitudes of some people in relation to child-abuse/exploitation.

Seanies32 wrote: »
    YEP, not helped by the attitudes that sure he's 14, he's up for it.

Jaysus, Men are our worst enemies when it comes to equality.

We are not the same in many ways. Thats why equality only works to a point. Those physical differences mean different chemicals working on us meaning we do have different behaviour and thought methods.

Above had factual basis. Following is from my head

Men have a very different attitude to sex. So the teen teacher thing will be argued for eternity.
    The law should be equal in both cases, thats what the law is there for. It should be non biased for rape, it should be non biased for divorce settlements, it should be equal for everything. Just because its not the norm for a person of a certain gender to do something, doesnt make the crime any less heinous.

@An File: Is that the "Niiiiiiiiice" one which is always being quoted by guys here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

An File wrote: »
    There was an episode of South Park that took this issue to its most extreme form ( 3 year old Ike and his teacher eloping). It's actually a brilliant piece of satire. Shows up the warped attitudes of some people in relation to child-abuse/exploitation.

Niiiiice.

@An File: Is that the "Niiiiiiiiice" one which is always being quoted by guys here?

yep

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Yup, that's the one. The meme takes away from the seriousness of the point they were making though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I agree 100% but it dont change the fact that I'd levitate the table watching my Maths teachers Booooobs knock together as she lent down to correct some of my fellow classmates homework copies. Its just one of those taboo fantasies, not helped with teachers like this at it!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miss_Teacher_Bangs_a_Boy

I watched it there a few weeks ago when this argument originally popped up. I think you can watch the videos from south parks site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭pljudge321

Yup, that's the one. The meme takes away from the seriousness of the point they were making though.

http://www.southparkstudios.com/clips/155304

There's the clip for Dudess's sake.

Sickening sentence really, 7 years is somehow equivalent to 5 lifetimes plagued with deep emotional issues.

SHe is actually serving concurrent sentences for each of the ten charges.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0122/breaking32.htmh

In effect she will serve life.
    No she won't

SHe is actually serving concurrent sentences for each of the ten charges.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0122/breaking32.htmh

In effect she will serve life.

Concurrent means at the same time.

Consecutive means one after the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Sorry Brain not working right today.....criiiiinge....:o:o:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Beaucoupfish

I'm a man and I think where the **** was the father or fathers? He should be brought before the courts too.
    That woman is obviously mentally disturbed.

The poor children I hope they have the strenght to become happy adults

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

I'm a man and I think where the **** was the father or fathers? He should be brought before the courts too.
    That woman is obviously mentally disturbed.

The poor children I hope they have the strenght to become happy adults

I've been wondering that too.

I hope the kids will be ok, but one has to wonder how a child could ever get over something like that, esp the older ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The reason she has been given what appears a light sentance is because she as a woman cannot be charged with rape, because in the eyes of the law rape is defined as penitrative sex of the vagina.. any other act outside that is aggrivated sexual assault and the sentance is shorter for that. Its not the Judges fault, the only one problem i have is why the sentances were made conorant..

Banned.

Originally Posted by CantGetNoSleep viewpost.gif
    Biggins wrote: »
    Aaa, the good old AH tar all with one brush mentality! :rolleyes:
    Geeze, what a gobschite generalisation!

I got an infraction for saying an idea was stupid!!!
    Jeeze - can't even say that daft notions are what they might be now!
    Here's me standing up the those who are thinking with a CLEAN clear head on AH.
    Its insulting and demeaning to those that have suffered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

Ya great episode, it really shows how extreme it can be.

With the officers going ''nice!!'' when they find out its a female raping the child (rape isnt the right word but well if you seen the episode)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Outdated law on incest, so they can't get here there....but surely theres a stiffer sentence for the neglect....and why are they made concurrent.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

I can't believe it's the first of it's kind in the current State. At least it is highlighted now, and hopefully the wheels will be set in motion for the sentancing regarding female incest to be updated.

Nodin wrote: »
    Outdated law on incest, so they can't get here there....but surely theres a stiffer sentence for the neglect....and why are they made concurrent.....

So they can free up a prison space earlier :rolleyes:

Don't you know how the revolving door prison system works?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

That is actually the plot to a film I saw the other day.

It's called Weird Science......harrowing stuff.

The woman convinced the 2 boys they had created her with an amstrad computer and a set of jump leads. Then she repeatedly raped and humiliated them throughout the ordeal.

Even Robert Downey Jr couldn't save them.

One of them poor boys grew up to be Anthony Michael Hall ( which I wouldn't wish on anyone)...I guess the other one is probably dead.

Robert Downey Jr of course has battled with drugs ever since, and the older brother Chet ended up a steaming heap of sh1t.

I'd recommend it to anyone. It was an eye opener.

That Roscommon woman shoud be murdered in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

And that's a joke of a sentence too - so I don't think this particular example is a case of a light sentence based on gender.

That wasn't the reason i mentioned that man's case. I was just curious as to whether he will serve the full term based on the the judges recommendation- or will other factors, like good behaviour, mean his time in jail could be less than 10 years. I disagree that this womans gender didn't come into it when sentence was passed. In fact the judge said as much in her summation when she said an act of law passed in 1908 prevented her from passing a sentence beyond seven years. Whereas if it was a man before her on charges of incest she would have given him a life sentence .
    I suspect societal constructions were clearly a factor in why this woman was able to get way with the neglect of her children for so long, and sexual abuse of one her children. Many people when they hear the word padeophilia associate it as being a exclusively male proclivity. Also, women are also seen as nurturing and caring hence the level of suspicion would be far less against a woman. For instance who would think anything untoward of a woman, who is not the mother of a child, embracing the young child who seemingly was in distress. so imagine the scope for manipulation the mother of said child would have in committing these crimes.
    Due to these reasons i bet many female pederasts never have to account for their crimes. The depressing reality is that these things are far more common than we realise.

That wasn't the reason i mentioned that man's case. I was just curious as to whether he will serve the full term based on the the judges recommendation- or will other factors, like good behaviour, mean his time in jail could be less than 10 years. I disagree that this womans gender didn't come into it when sentence was passed. In fact the judge said as much in her summation when she said an act of law passed in 1908 prevented her from passing a sentence beyond seven years. Whereas if it was a man before her on charges of incest she would have given him a life sentence .

The gender did come into it, that is why the judge mentioned the law. She wants it changed. All she was doing was pointing out the law.
    I suspect societal constructions were clearly a factor in why this woman was able to get way with the neglect of her children for so long, and sexual abuse of one her children. Many people when they hear the word padeophilia associate it as being a exclusively male proclivity. Also, women are also seen as nurturing and caring hence the level of suspicion would be far less against a woman. For instance who would think anything untoward of a woman, who is not the mother of a child, embracing the young child who seemingly was in distress. so imagine the scope for manipulation the mother of said child would have in committing these crimes.
    Due to these reasons i bet many female pederasts never have to account for their crimes. The depressing reality is that these things are far more common than we realise.

Completely agreed.

My 10 yr old still would grab my arm in town. I feel uncomfortable with it and get looks.

I tell myself to cop on! and continue!