Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New U2 tune

• 22-01-2009 10:44am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭

Quite different sounding for them I thought.
    The drums remind me of a few NIN tracks, but mostly Starf*ckers Inc. off The Fragile. The vocal melody with harmonies in the chorus is pure Alice in Chains...or Queens of the Stone Age if you're younger. :p

Its an odd mish mash of influences/sounds for a U2 track.

What you guys make of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

well, I've never been a fan and I think it sounds pretty good. the drumming really stands out imho.

I suppose the anticipation of summer gigs in Croke park will start to build and for anyone who fails to get tix for those events then the next best place will be the millennium stadium (with roof closed) Cardiff which is the home gig for the Edge ... I brought 'her indoors' last time and it brilliant even for a non-fan like myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

I’m a long time U2 fan & I’m not mad about it… it’s gets better with a few listens, but it’s not going to set the world on fire. I though Vertigo (from their last album) was a great single.

Funny, I don’t like the drum sound… as a drummer, I can’t understand the point in trying to make acoustic drums sound like a drum machine/samples… defeats the whole purpose. OK, so use of samples on drum tracks may be common practice, but if you want them to sound like a drum machine, then why bother with the acoustic kit in the first place? Larry Mullen had a really distinctive drum sound around the Unforgettable Fire/Joshua Tree era… back then you could tell it was him playing, but now, there’s no individuality at all.

<grumpy old man rant over>

Here’s the official link from u2.com for anybody who hasn’t heard it.

http://goyb.u2.com/?fcsc=EML011809&utm_source=Publicaster&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=EMLU2COS_20090119_single_annoumcement_GetOnYourBoots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

those drum sounds HAVE to be samples .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

It's all a blur with drums now innit?
    If a drum performance is Beat Detectived isn't that effectively a programmed part with a different sample for each beat ?

I was in their studio before they had a revamp and it was all standard stuff he was using Yamaha kit with a Brady snare and (was it?) Zildjian cymbals? Nothing of note being different. Same with the micing.

They built a new recording room this year. I hear that for a lot of what was being worked on Lawrence Jnr. played a Roland V Kit.

With regard to this track it's obviously a combination of all available technologies.

I find the mix odd, the vocal doesn't seem connected to the track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

if it wasnt for bono's persona, edge's guitar playing, larry's boring name and adam's hitler youth looks, i might actually listen to them..

then again probably not.. twats.

i larry's boring name

Yes, there's nothing that puts me off a band more than a boring name ...:o

sorry,

i shoulda said that they're a bunch of hyped up talentless, fingers nowhere near the pulse, hacks who write songs about issues that they could never understand and will never have any bearing on their lives. that their "music" is the most banal, safe, paint by numbers ****e ever to dribble out of a set of speakers and that the only reason they sell records is because of some glamourus image that the rest of the world has of them.

but i dont like to ruffle feathers

sorry,

i shoulda said that they're a bunch of hyped up talentless, fingers nowhere near the pulse, hacks who write songs about issues that they could never understand and will never have any bearing on their lives. that their "music" is the most banal, safe, paint by numbers ****e ever to dribble out of a set of speakers and that the only reason they sell records is because of some glamourus image that the rest of the world has of them.

but i dont like to ruffle feathers

You don't like as much as you did, do you?

they do though dont they though?

scouser.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭ICN

Bring back Jack White & Alicia Keys.. :pac:

I think the new U2 tune is an insult to sh1t.

Utter self indulgent ****.

If it was any other band.. especially one starting out.. it would be buried, never to be heard again.

Pity.. They normally hover around the mark.

But the Edge is very good on the Echo, he plays it with a guitar, I heard.

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    But the Edge is very good on the Echo, he plays it with a guitar, I heard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4u6Eeb0YrKY
    :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭artvandulet

Ok I haven't clicked the link yet but I am betting its Bill Bailey. Am I right?

I'm off to find out...:D

I'm back, it was. I rock. Yay me!
    (Ironically thats the exact thing Bono was thinking when he recorded this yeah?)

Anyway, love that clip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Glassheart

Great band.Terrible song.
    I can't think of a worse single from U2.

Listening to Lemon and Stay this morning.They had something really special back in the early 90's...

I think they used V drums only for the writing stage of the record.
    I remember reading somewhere that all they use on the drums is a 57 for the snare,D112 for the bass drum and one 58 for overhead!
    Flood's technique apparently...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

I'm hearing all sorts of junk rip off.

I like the vocals in the verse

I hate the rest

The chorus is awful Fifa 09 soundtrack rubbish

The bridge is even worse (irritating)

I will not be going to see granddads next year

Get on your boots? Get on yer bikes!

Best band in the world I don't think.

What happened to writing masterpieces?

alot of it sounds like a rip off of "pump it up" by elevis costello

i know its not kool to bash your own , but this and the performance for obama leads me to believe they are losing what skill they had - fast.

and i agree , the vocal sounds ike it was recorded on portable device on top of the backing .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭This is

the song is TERRIBLE who let them release it? oh i forgot they own the label dont they! its so bad i dont even know where to start i can imagine the producers trying to break it to them that the song has no commercial appeal at all and then thinking....'i dont wanna have my name taken outta the credits!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

This is wrote: »
    i can imagine the producers trying to break it to them that the song has no commercial appeal at all

how many million copies do you think it'll shift?

no commercial appeal?

Personally, i'm not mad about the song, sounds to me like there may have been a good tune in there somewhere but it got lost when they recorded it. Sounds like they wanted to be bold, but at the same time wanted it to be a hit, which is why i can hear real evidence of them trying to replicate Vertigo in this track. I'd imagine they wanted the first single to create a hype, like Vertigo did, but there is enough that is "interesting" about the track to have me keenly anticipating the album & the tracks they may not have over thought/over worked.

As for the clowns calling them talentless & other such ****e, well that is absolute nonsense and barely justifies a response.

Aye, yer mans very good on da oul echo isn't he?

Edge is a great guitarist imo. And the delay people mock so often, sounds great i feel. Cant be accused of not having his own style anyway, which is something you place a lot of emphasis on Paul! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

if it wasnt for bono's persona, edge's guitar playing, larry's boring name and adam's hitler youth looks, i might actually listen to them..

then again probably not.. twats.

I like your style

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Edge is a great guitarist imo. And the delay people mock so often, sounds great i feel. Cant be accused of not having his own style anyway, which is something you place a lot of emphasis on Paul! ;)

True

As for the clowns calling them talentless & other such ****e, well that is absolute nonsense and barely justifies a response.

if they were an unheard of band they wouldnt get a look in. they got lucky and broke big but that doesnt take away from the fact that they're essentially a pop group. calling them talentless is a justified opinion when comparing them to vastly more talented musicians.

being in the production forum we should realise more than anyone that success does not equal talent.

they got lucky and broke big but that doesnt take away from the fact that

They got lucky, cause they had the chops to deliver where others couldnt.

as some aul golfer once said, "seems the more i practice, the luckier i get"
    they're essentially a pop group. calling them talentless is a justified opinion when comparing them to vastly more talented musicians.

vastly more technically superior musicians you must mean?

in that case, you wont get any argument from me.

but a great band should equal to more than the sum of their parts, U2 do......songs like, Bullet the blue sky, the fly, with or without you, one, stay etc etc etc etc etc
    being in the production forum we should realise more than anyone that success does not equal talent.

being in the production forum we should always realise that just because something is very popular, doesnt automatically mean its ****e.

popularity doesnt come into it for me. i like some of the cheesiest pop out there and some of the most obscure electronica you could imagine.

but before you get more angry because i dont like U2 please bear in mind that music is very very subjective and my personal taste should have no bearing on you because im not trying to change anyones mind about them and you aint gonna change mine

peace.

I think both of ye are shyte ...

aye, tis true :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭musicmonky

its a lazy song. its just not emotional or inspiring or passionate in any way.

and if anything over produced. imho
    but hey you guys would probably know better than me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭iquinn

"boots, booty boots....do do de do, boots, I like boots....booty boots...la la...la boots boot, das boot..."

catchy little number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

just listened to the single there.

I hate 'industrial' influenced stuff (anything resembling NIN) so I can barely even listen to the track.

Whatever your feelings on the track, surely it's not a good choice of single?
    about as catchy as a goalie with no hands.

U2 are still one of the greatest bands ever, but really should have broken up a long long time ago (preferably before bono dissappeared up his own arse).

To say U2 were just lucky or anything like that is absurd.

but before you get more angry because i dont like U2 please bear in mind that music is very very subjective and my personal taste should have no bearing on you because im not trying to change anyones mind about them and you aint gonna change mine

peace.

cool man, its just the venom that seems aimed them by a lot of irish people really pisses me off.
    PaulBrewer wrote: »
    I think both of ye are shyte ...

that hurts paul, really hurts :( after all the nice things you said about me too :(

That might be true but using U2 as an example is absurd.

I hate to be banal but songs like One,Please,Stay,With or Without You,New Years Day etc are hardly the efforts of people with little or no talent.

God you are all a pack of very hormonal ejits! :p

Chill the bean lads we all know paul is high up in the church he is only having a laugh.:D

Here is the truth we all love U2 for their amazing classics and I as 3rd in command of the church of scientology next to Tom Cruise in 2nd and David Mc Savige 1st, commander of the SeaOrg, proudly say ( The new song is pants and it will not be used for the next Sea org event in L.A.)

Glassheart wrote: »
    That might be true but using U2 as an example is absurd.

why? because you like them? if you had the same opinion of them as i do then you'd be agreeing with me.

like i said eralier, im not out to try change anyone's mind but listenming to U2 for my is like nails on a blackboard.

bono's voice actually physically makes me cringe.

'Day 35' in the big brother household, the lads are still fighting over U2 news song. DamagedTrax is in the diary room'

BB

'So DamagedTrax your not getting on well with all the housemates'

DT

'' I like them I really do but I am entitled to lie or dislike whatever bands I like ''

BB

'' Good man DamgedTrax here take this ''

DT

''Nice one for the hand grenade bb''

BB

'' No problem''

why? because you like them? if you had the same opinion of them as i do then you'd be agreeing with me.

like i said eralier, im not out to try change anyone's mind but listenming to U2 for my is like nails on a blackboard.

bono's voice actually physically makes me cringe.

I like to think that i'm a little bit more liberal than that.:pac:
    I absolutely loathe Muse but for me to call them talentless would be a LIE!

If U2 are eligible for the 'talentless' category then surely just about anybody is...

Fair play if you think they are sh1t but calling them talentless is an insult to the people who truly love that band.

I like to think that i'm a little bit more liberal than that.:pac:
    I absolutely loathe Muse but for me to call them talentless would be a LIE!

and if you did that would be your opinion, which you are entitled too.. or is disliking and having no respect for U2 not allowed?
    If U2 are eligible for the 'talentless' category then surely just about anybody is...

again, it all depends on what your definition of talent is. U2 just dont fit into mine.. not the end of the world really , is it?
    Fair play if you think they are sh1t but calling them talentless is an insult to the people who truly love that band.

how exactly is calling them talentless an insult to their fans? unless their fans are so insecure about why they actually like U2 that the merest hint of dissent brings up a defensive wall? :pac: yeah, maybe thats it?

god almighty man, if you get offended that easily by what others say about your fave band, i would suggest talking to someone about it. life isnt meant to be that serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

again, it all depends on what your definition of talent is. U2 just dont fit into mine.. not the end of the world really , is it?

what's your definition of Talent then?

its MY definition of talent and thats all that matters to me. ive no interest in getting into a long winded arguement about why i dont think U2 are talented or who i think is and why they are and blach fukin blah. if you dont like my opinion on them thats fine, its not affecting my day to day to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

I don't really care for U2's music my self, I probably like about half of their output. But having seen them in action in the studio and live I'd have to say they are actually talented and really quite vibey when it comes to writing and arranging.

I mean Elton John is a talented Piano player but I still think he's a dick. So while I agree that you don't have to get into an argument about why U2 etc are talented or whatever, I'd still like to hear what your concept of talent actually is.

Basically I'm asking do you have to actually like the music to think they performer is talented? Is it not possible to accept someone has talent and still not like their output?

i cant stand listening to george michael but theres no denying he has a talent for songwriting, same as elton john - wouldnt listen to him but he's written some cracking tunes so yes i can appreciate talent without liking the artist.

my reasons for not liking U2 are based not on the music, but what i perceive to be, a lack of talent. for what they can (and have) actually done i think they are way over hyped. i dont think their songs really speak to me in the way a talented songwriter usually can do. i find them quite shallow and the times they actually write about something with meaning i find it all very false and quite condescending.

IMO they have a handful of good songs (angel of harlem being one of them off the top of my head) but a handful of good songs does not scream talent to me.

Sidney2 wrote: »
    The song could be classified as an electro-rock tune, this being the case, why should it be emotional, inspiring or passionate?

??:confused:

why, just because its "electro-rock", shouldn't it be either of the above? theres plenty of electro thats all three. i would have thought sounding passionate was a pre-requisite for good music? lifeless, soulless music is hardly the way forward!

and if you did that would be your opinion, which you are entitled too.. or is disliking and having no respect for U2 not allowed?

how exactly is calling them talentless an insult to their fans? unless their fans are so insecure about why they actually like U2 that the merest hint of dissent brings up a defensive wall? :pac: yeah, maybe thats it?

god almighty man, if you get offended that easily by what others say about your fave band, i would suggest talking to someone about it. life isnt meant to be that serious.

You seem to think that i'm getting worked up over this which couldn't be further from the truth.
    You are of the opinion that U2 are sh1t and i genuinely respect that.But i think calling them talentless is labouring the point...

I just found your inability to admit they have anything going for them mildly amusing.It seems that you've budged on this stance though...

Anyway,who said u2 were my favourite band?!!

not a big fan of theirs , but they are talented , you have to be to be at that level.

i do appreaciate their writing and producing skills with eno etc ,
    just think they have had their day to be honest , they look and sound jaded.

'Being Sucessful' is a handy talent to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭musicmonky

Sidney2 wrote: »
    The song could be classified as an electro-rock tune, this being the case, why should it be emotional, inspiring or passionate?

U2 completely changing their sound doesn't make this a lazy song, in my view.

its lazy cause they have done other "electro-rock" songs that are better

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xMkTjvqNHg

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=7rG7yBe_eI8

im a u2 fan for decades . they can do sooo much better.

its lazy lazy lazy.

Glassheart wrote: »

I just found your inability to admit they have anything going for them mildly amusing.It seems that you've budged on this stance though...

not at all. i still think they're sh1te :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Jimbo808

But look at all the good Bono does all around the world:

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=uNPSzLwcghE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

yeah ,that song is pure rubbish , one is a brilliant song, in fact anything on achtung baby is excellent .Anyhow I think bono is done being a rock star he wants to be president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭ICN

Apologies - this is a random one.

Thought I'd dig this one up again briefly Lads.. Couple of people mentioned the way the vocals on the chorus sounded mad. I was reading an old Mag the other day.. Maybe Sound on Sound.. & there was a piece in it about the new U2 album.

They said that The Edge brought in a demo of Get on your Boots that he had made in Garageband..

Possibly they kept a bit of it.. like the out of place sounding vocals on the chorus.. or maybe overdubbed it badly or whatever. Anyway, however it ended up that way it still sounds terrible.

So thats it -Yawn.

ZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzz... Moving swiftly on.. :rolleyes: