Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indoors - Euros, Nationals and whatever else..

• 02-01-2009 10:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭

Has anybody any ideas who is competing in Torino and who isnt? Who has a chance of doing well/medal? Do the mens 4x400 team have to get a qualifying time for it?

Who will win a medal?[If they compete] 35 votes

Paul Hession
    0% 0 votes
    David Gillick
    40% 14 votes
    Derval O Rourke
    45% 16 votes
    Mens 4x400m
    14% 5 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

60 too short for Hession but you never know.
    Gillick will medal if he competes but will only compete if he thinks he is going to win so will depend on his pre-championship from.
    O' Rourke could medal as Kallur is crocked and unlikely to do indoors. Bolm has retired. Womens 60H will be open.
    4x4 will need to get an invite, don't know if they did yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

I really hope the top stars don't gloss over the Euro indoors. D O' Rourke ran her PB and silver medal performance in Goteborg after a full indoor season when she won the world indoors. I'm aware her indoor season last year was curtailed due to lack of race fitness in preparation for Valencia, but I think she's in better shape as we speak and I hope she goes for her first Euro indoor title in March. As Tingle pointed out, the main protagonist in the form of the WR holder, Kallur, is fecked for the time being, but there still lies the threat of the lethal Onyia, who'll be looking to make up for her cruel hopper she took at the Worlds in Valencia when she was seconds away from a medal. Besides her though, if O' Rourke can re-visit the 7.85-8.00 second region that brought her the WI gold in 2006, then there's definitely a medal for the taking. This event (outside Kallur. Onyia and possibly Yanit of Turkey) isn't at its strongest in Europe.

As for Gillick, he chose to skip last year's indoor season; I don't know if that's a policy that he'll employ this season. Again, there's a medal for the taking if he does go. The major obstacle in his way would be Wissman, who is a fan of indoor running, and took silver in Valencia last year. Gillick has the beating of him indoors, however, whatever about outdoors. Unless the Borlée twins, Leslie Djhone or his training partner Martyn Rooney decide to have a go indoors (which I doubt) Gillick would be favourite to take a third Gold. I'm not sure if his Beijing performance was just unlucky timing or what was the story, but he'd set a 45.12 PB in the weeks before hand, so he was in top form so, unlike O' Rourke, I don't think he's a worry injury/form wise.

I too wonder whether 60m is too short for the Hesh, but then again he set a 6.61 PB in the last Euro champs, and I'm sure he can break into the 6.55-6.60 region which may be enough to nab a sneaky Bronze. He's probably the athlete I most admire out of the Irish lot; he's got a supreme confidence in a very competitive environment, so I wouldn't rule him out for sure. The Brits will pose the major threat; Pickering, Chambers and Williamson in particular. The Norwegian Ndure and the Italian Collio are also sun 6.60 second men and need to be watched.

I'm not sure the 4x400m qualification, but teh Russians, Brits and Germans would be hard to move from the top spots.

I'm suprised Cragg hasn't been mentioned. This mighten't be the most popular opinion, but I don't think he can choose to be picky and ignore the indoor championships in favour of the xc and outdoors; the indoors are, afterall, where's he's struck gold before.

Chamney and Reale are definitely gunning for Turin, as per their joint website/blog. I could be wrong, but I think Chamney could be moving up to 1500m from 800m this year. At least, that's the impression I got from his blogs. Again, that's just surmising.

Kelly Proper must surely be looking at making the indoor squad. The AAI have set the LJ standard at 6.40m, which is well within her 6.51m (outdoor) PB. I'm sure she'll revise her indoor NR again this year over the 6.40m mark. I hope Deirdre Ryan joins her in the infield with a return to form. Here's hoping. Ailis McSweeney and Anna Boyle will, I'd imagine, target a 60m spot with hopefully a good year ahead for both of them.

Deirdre Byrne and Mary Cullen may target the 3000m spots, but may opt for the world xc too.

Not sure about anyone else...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭helpisontheway

I considered Cragg but his performances are so hit and miss its annoying listening to people discussing him!:D
    I hope Kelly Proper makes the team as she has a bright future ahead of her and the experience would be fantastic for her.
    Im not too sure bout McSweeney and Boyle for the 60m,while they are good i dont think they have the ability to compete at that level imo.
    The mens 4x4 could definetly compete with Russia,GBR and Germany,if Gillick can beat their best individuals then its possible that a squad of Gillick,Gregan,Hession,Kennedy,Doyle,Murphy,McKee etc could medal!!
    As Tingle said the hurdles are wide open for Derval if she is in shape.
    Sure we will put pressure on them and ask for 5 medals,Derval,Gillick,Cragg,Hesh and the mens 4x400!! Haha

Is Joanne Cuddihy training and injury free yet? Will she compete?

I considered Cragg but his performances are so hit and miss its annoying listening to people discussing him!:D
    I hope Kelly Proper makes the team as she has a bright future ahead of her and the experience would be fantastic for her.
    Im not too sure bout McSweeney and Boyle for the 60m,while they are good i dont think they have the ability to compete at that level imo.
    The mens 4x4 could definetly compete with Russia,GBR and Germany,if Gillick can beat their best individuals then its possible that a squad of Gillick,Gregan,Hession,Kennedy,Doyle,Murphy,McKee etc could medal!!
    As Tingle said the hurdles are wide open for Derval if she is in shape.
    Sure we will put pressure on them and ask for 5 medals,Derval,Gillick,Cragg,Hesh and the mens 4x400!! Haha

Is Joanne Cuddihy training and injury free yet? Will she compete?

I know what you're saying regarding Cragg. I hope this is the year that his fortunes change, however.

As for McSweeney and Boyle, the latter reached the semi-final last time round in a not-too-shabby 7.30 (?). That wasn't good enough for the final, however.

I doubt Hession will be in the relay pool, particularly indoors. But I agree that if we're invited, we may have an outside shot as the relays tend to be made up of relatively weak teams compared to their outdoor equivalents.

As for Cuddihy, I recall Tingle saying in years gone by that it would take her a wet week (or something to that effect) to get around the sharp indoor bends due to her tall physique. I'd imagine she'd favour an early outdoor campaign over in the U.S.A with Nick Dakin's group instead.

Rineanna wrote: »
    Cuddihy
    Nick Dakin's group

From what I hear she isn't back in the UK. She is weighing up her options and getting back to 100% fitness and health. The injury was probably more serious than we all expected. Choice of where and who she goes to next will be paramount as it'll be setting her up for London.

I've always said a fully fit Cuddihy is a global medal prospect.

Oh, interesting. I'm guessing this year's going to be pretty much the same as the one just gone by if she's not training and just focusing on fitness. Hopefully, for her sake, she regains full fitness.

The 4x4 relay for men are outside the 6 invitations so looks like there won't be a team there:(

Its Russia, GB, Belgium, Poland, France and Italy as host. We were 9th, over 2 seconds off the French. 4 x 4 qualification is a vicious circle. To qualify for majors you need a fast time and to get a fast time you need to get to the majors. Those in the qualifying slots are unlikely to race you outside of the majors for fear that they might push you to a fast time. One solution would be to go to the early spring relay meets in the US and you would get a time there if the quartet was good enough. Problem is that they are usually early season.

http://www.european-athletics.org/files/european_season_best_list-4x400m_relays-outdoor-2008.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭eltuerto

Anyone any ideas on this?? Mens 1500 and 800? Are Chamney and Cambell running?? If so what event? Men's 3k ? is Mark Christie doing it?

Men's 400 ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Looking forward to see can Brian Gregan maintain his exceptional form from last year as he makes the transition to senior

Big guns will be there. Hession and O' Rourke and probably Gillick.

Ailis McSweeney and Gordon Kennedy got their indoor seasons off to a start today in Luxembourg. McSweeney opened with a 7.57 60m heat and then reduced that to 5.72. Kennedy was dissapointing with 49.26, but given the early stage of the season, there's room for improvement. They'll both have to up their game to surpass the 7.40/47.20 standards they require.

Olympic 400m Champion Christine Ohoroughu to compete in 60m and 200m at the Nationals:

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=5590#more-5590

I might head up to it if I can find a relatively cheap and pain free way of getting all the way up to Belfast!

This thread is for all general indoor competition discussion for the '09 season. Not exclusive but generall chat on the Euros and Nationals in Belfast.

So, assuming they are competing because they have either stated it or are competing already indoors, here is how the team for Torino could be shaping up and it ain't bad -

Hesh 60
    O' Rourke 60H
    Gillick 400 (although Belfast isn't in his race plans apparently - which is a disappointment)
    D Ryan HJ
    Chamney 1500
    Cullen 3k
    Byrne 3k

That alone would be a strong team. More will no doubt be there too. I think the Euros is something we should always focus on big time, indoors or out. Especially now that the outdoors will be switching to every 2 instead of 4 years in 2012.

Tingle wrote: »
    So, assuming they are competing because they have either stated it or are competing already indoors, here is how the team for Torino could be shaping up and it ain't bad -

Hesh 60
    O' Rourke 60H
    Gillick 400 (although Belfast isn't in his race plans apparently - which is a disappointment)
    D Ryan HJ
    Chamney 1500
    Cullen 3k
    Byrne 3k

That alone would be a strong team. More will no doubt be there too.

Off the top of my head, I would hope Kelly Proper, Ailis McSweeney and Allistair Cragg join that list.
    I think the Euros is something we should always focus on big time, indoors or out. Especially now that the outdoors will be switching to every 2 instead of 4 years in 2012

I agree with this statement whole-heartedly. Not in a defeatist way towards Global competitions, but rather to concentrate on European level first as stepping stones towards doing well on the global stage. Where in particular this could be implemented is at the developing athlete stage; standards are considerably lower, so these competitions (finances notwithstanding) are fantastic entry level competitions for the emerging athlete, introducing them to major championships so the Worlds, Olympics, etc won't seem so daunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Does kelly proper have any right to go?? is there not qualiying standards and such? or has she made them...
    Just a rant at the constant upping of athletes like proper and the ffffrench,o'carrol,kelly girls.These are still pretty young..maybe less hype eh?
    Is rte showing live coverage of any indoors?

kelly proper

Qualifying is 6.40 (I think). As I'm sure you'll remember she broke Irish record last summer with a 6.51. She has a 6.32 from indoors last season. She is a live, genuine and deserving candidate for going and not a case of 'bigging' up. I presume she won't be going if she doesn't get standard this season.

Don't think anyone mentioned the twins regarding Torino. Maybe less focus on knocking athletes (like what we would see for a long time on the old un-regulated Leevale my mate is faster than your mate board) and more knuckling down to training, eh? Let others worry about themselves and living up to their hype (if they have any):confused:

Does kelly proper have any right to go?? is there not qualiying standards and such? or has she made them...
    Just a rant at the constant upping of athletes like proper and the ffffrench,o'carrol,kelly girls.These are still pretty young..maybe less hype eh?
    Is rte showing live coverage of any indoors?

:confused: The reason I pointed out Proper was, as Tingle outlined, the standard's 6.40 and she's jumped 6.51 outdoors, so I don't think it's out of the realms of possibility to suggest her as a possible contender. Not sure how that rant was justified...

Just an F.Y.I,

Derval O' Rourke will will open her season next Sunday in the same city that brought her biggest win to date, Moscow. I'd imagine she'll be at the nationals the week after; should be a good dust-off between herself and Sarah Claxton, if the latter competes at the Odyssey like she does most years. She's pencilled in for Karlsruhe the week after, against the mighty, if unfortunate, Lolo Jones. She has a cracker of a season lined up; let's hope she stays injury free and has a decent shot of it at the Euro Indoors.

http://eng.rusathletics.com/nov/nov.php?ind=3241

http://www.bw-bank-meeting.de/en/index.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Kine

IS Mary Cullen running the indoors, don't recall her name getting a mention

Someone in another thread said she was in Australia preparing for the indoor season. If she is, I'd imagine we'll be seeing her race on the indoor circuit soon enough.

Someone in another thread said she was in Australia preparing for the indoor season. .

Yes, mentioned here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055461529

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Mary Cullen is expected to run the 3000 in the Boston Indoor Games early in February so that may give an early clue as to what sort of shape she is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

dna_leri wrote: »
    Mary Cullen is expected to run the 3000 in the Boston Indoor Games early in February so that may give an early clue as to what sort of shape she is in.

She ran 8:50 outdoors in windy conditions a week or so ago, just 2 seconds outside her best, so she's in great shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 winner92

Hi just wondering does anyone knows if the indoors in Belfast are going to be on tv this year?? Thanks!!

There is TV coverage I think but not sure if live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

There is TV coverage I think but not sure if live.

The event will be shown on RTE on Monday 9th February.

Just an F.Y.I,

Derval O' Rourke will will open her season next Sunday in the same city that brought her biggest win to date, Moscow. I'd imagine she'll be at the nationals the week after; should be a good dust-off between herself and Sarah Claxton, if the latter competes at the Odyssey like she does most years. She's pencilled in for Karlsruhe the week after, against the mighty, if unfortunate, Lolo Jones. She has a cracker of a season lined up; let's hope she stays injury free and has a decent shot of it at the Euro Indoors.

http://eng.rusathletics.com/nov/nov.php?ind=3241

http://www.bw-bank-meeting.de/en/index.php

She is also doing Stuttgart on the eve of the nationals and getting the red-eye to be in the Odyssey so lots of races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Milesandmiles

It's news to me that Europeans is going to be held every two years from 2012. That means that there will be a European Championship the year of the Olympics. How is this going to work from a scheduling point of view. I can't imagine that longer distance athletes like 10000, marathon and walks competitors will be able to do both. Surely the same would be true for multi eventers?

Yeah, think it was decided a while back in '07. I'd imagine it will be earlier in the season in Olympic years as the plan is to coincide with the US Trials which makes sense as the Euro circuit shutsdown pretty much while they are on. Walks and marathon won't be held in the Olympic year.

Will give our guys a chance every two years of being in a champs and being very competitive and pushing for finals (or medals). Aside of the middle-distance events, being competitive usually results in PB's. I think its great and the EAA should be applauded for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Some U.S. invitational results from last weekend for anyone interested:
    Terrier Invitational, Boston
    Womens mile - 1st place Stephanie Reilly, 4.47.30
    Mens 3000M - 3rd place David McCarthy, 8.02.42 ( PB )
    Mens 5000M - 7th place Richard Yeates, 14.19.40
    Tom Jones Memorial Invitational, Gainesville
    Womens 800M - 1st place Kelley McNeice, 2.08.35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Some U.S. invitational results from last weekend for anyone interested:
    Terrier Invitational, Boston
    Womens mile - 1st place Stephanie Reilly, 4.47.30
    Mens 3000M - 3rd place David McCarthy, 8.02.42 ( PB )
    Mens 5000M - 7th place Richard Yeates, 14.19.40
    Tom Jones Memorial Invitational, Gainesville
    Womens 800M - 1st place Kelley McNeice, 2.08.35

They all look like very decent results. Anyone know anything about Stephanie Reilly? And what's Richie Yeates' PB for 5000m - has he gone under 14:20 before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

cfitz wrote: »
    They all look like very decent results. Anyone know anything about Stephanie Reilly? And what's Richie Yeates' PB for 5000m - has he gone under 14:20 before?

That was a PB for Yeates.

http://rahenyshamrock.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=961&Itemid=36

I agree with all of the points made about the Euro's. One one hand I wondered about how many athletes were going to compete in the Europeans the same year as another global championship. Distance runners and walkers were mentioned earlier, but it'll be interesting to see what sprinters would take part too. I can't imagine many 400m runners wanting to run three rounds in a couple of days, when they'll have to do the same thing later in the Summer. Plus, unless they use it as a means to an end, I doubt many will be tailoring their training to peak for the Euro's. I can see the Russian second string women having a field day, though. It won't be so bad for field eventers, even though they'll have to do a qualifying round, it'll just be like two grand prix in very near succession.

On the other hand, I'm glad it's been changed to bi-annualy. It seems like AGES since Gothenburg. A distant memory at this stage, with all that's gone on i-between. Imagine, there'll have been TWO World Championships in between the '06 and '10 Euro's!
    cfitz wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about Stephanie Reilly?

She was runniong the 'chase during the Summer. Ran 10.20 in Luzern. Think she's 39 this year.

Hesh is running Moscow too as well as DOR.

As is Paul McKee in the 300m. Ailis McSweeney is running in Leipzig too.

As is Paul McKee in the 300m

I thought McKee had retired. Good news:cool:

He ran for Team Belfast (along with Anna Boyle) in the semi-finals of the inter city challenge over in Lee Valley, London. He ran 49.x for 400m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Dr Watson

Close

He ran 48.48, he would also admit it was a very rusty return to indoor running.

Anna Boyle looked like she is returning to form in the 60m

Dr Watson wrote: »
    Anna Boyle looked like she is returning to form in the 60m

What she run? She is being coached by Paddy Fay. Hopefully he'll be working his magic and getting her back to form.

The time was 7.62, however she looked sharp over the first 30m and beat a number of girls who have already ran 7.5x a couple of times this year.

My bad, I shouldn't trust my memory and actually go look the result up. :)

...plus, Hession's running in Malmo two days after Moscow against a strong enough line up, including Kim Collins.

Dr Watson wrote: »
    The time was 7.62, however she looked sharp over the first 30m and beat a number of girls who have already ran 7.5x a couple of times this year.

Did she win? Any results link?

She won the 100m, and came fourth in the 200m.

Results can be found
    [URL="[url]http://www.uka.org.uk/competitions/indoor-city-challenge/results/[/url]"]here[/URL].

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭eltuerto

Any one any thoughts on the news that Slovenia athletes are running?? Personally I can't see the logic. Last year there were no Irish runners in the men's 400 final !!!!

eltuerto wrote: »
    Any one any thoughts on the news that Slovenia athletes are running?? Personally I can't see the logic. Last year there were no Irish runners in the men's 400 final !!!!

Essentially the national indoor when held in Belfast is a grand prix event. They are open to and the organisers try to bring in non-Irish athletes to make the event as I'd imagine the venue is costly. If it means Irish athletes will have access to a higher standard indoor meet on home soil then thats a good thing. If it demeans the value of a national championship then thats a bad thing. I think indoors is ok but if it was outdoors then thats a different matter. On the 400, there is a B final so top Irish athletes will get 2 races (if they are good enough) and if they are really good enough they will make the A final. Wouldn't like to see the outdoors go this way and I'd imagine it never will.

8.33 season opener for o' Rourke in Moscow. Not a scintillating start to the season by any means, but I guess things can only get better from here on in and she's got another 6 weeks to go sub 8 seconds. It's better to be running the fast times when it matters and not leaving them all at the start of the season. That time didn't qualify her for the final, unfortunately.

McKee ran 35.03 for 300m.

The Hesh is into the final of the 60m, having run 6.73 in the heat. He predicted in an article during the week that he'd run somewhere in the 6.70s as he always starts off the season a bit slowly, but 6.73 isn't too shabby so 6.6x times shouldn't be too far away.

Edit: 6.75 in the final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭helpisontheway

8.33 is a bit of a stinker alright but its early days yet.6.73 is an excellent opener for a 200m specialist,there should be an easy 0.1 there and possibly more if hes really geared towards the 60m for Turin!
    Great to see Paul McKee back.Anyone know anything about Paul Brizell? I saw his name on some results at the last small meet in Jordanstown.

8.33 is a bit of a stinker alright but its early days yet.6.73 is an excellent opener for a 200m specialist,there should be an easy 0.1 there and possibly more if hes really geared towards the 60m for Turin!
    Great to see Paul McKee back.Anyone know anything about Paul Brizell? I saw his name on some results at the last small meet in Jordanstown.

Yeah 8.33 is shaky, lets see how the next few weeks go, it could be a defining period in her career, fingers crossed she'll come good.

Anyone have results link to Birmingham yesterday or Scottish indoors today?

Brizzell has struggled to regain his form of years ago unfortunately.

Brizzell is ticking over while waiting on an operation. Is unable to drive out of blocks hence 22.68 in Lee Valley and jogged over line in J'town

Scottish Indoors Results

http://www.scottishathletics.org.uk/common/file.php?disposition=attachment&name0=downloads/all_seniors_and_relays.pdf&name1=all_seniors_and_relays.pdf&type=events_pdf