Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Be Safe Be Seen Free Hi Vis Vests and Armbands

• 20-01-2009 1:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

Dublin City Council are giving out free Hi Vis vests and armbands at a couple of places across the city this week. If you want to get your hands on some heres where and when they will be distributing them:

Monday 19th Jan, 8.am - 9.30 am Inbound Adjacent to Fire Station North Strand Dublin 3 and inbound adjacent to Grove Park Rathmines Road Dublin 6. Tuesday 20th Jan 4.30 pm-6pm outbound on Phisborough Road adjacent to Golf Shop Dublin 7 and between 8am - 9.30am inbound adjacent to Harold Cross Bridge Dublin 6. Wednesday 21st Jan 8am – 9.30am inbound Drumcondra Rd on cycle lane adjacent to Clonliffe College Dublin 9 and inbound Charlmount Bridge Ranelagh Dublin 6. Thurs 22nd Jan 4.30pm - 6 pm outbound at the Phoneix Park Main Gate Dublin 7 and between 8am - 9.30am inbound adjacent to Baggot St Bridge Dublin 4. Friday 23rd Jan 8am – 9.30am inbound adjacent to Clarkes Bridge Summerhill Dublin 7 inbound adjacent to Leeson St Bridge Dublin 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Made it a bit easier to read :)
    nerdingout wrote: »
    Dublin City Council are giving out free Hi Vis vests and armbands at a couple of places across the city this week. If you want to get your hands on some heres where and when they will be distributing them:

Monday 19th Jan,
    8.am - 9.30 am Inbound Adjacent to Fire Station North Strand Dublin 3 and inbound adjacent to Grove Park Rathmines Road Dublin 6.

Tuesday 20th Jan
    4.30 pm-6pm outbound on Phisborough Road adjacent to Golf Shop Dublin 7 and between
    8am - 9.30am inbound adjacent to Harold Cross Bridge Dublin 6.

Wednesday 21st Jan
    8am – 9.30am inbound Drumcondra Rd on cycle lane adjacent to Clonliffe College Dublin 9 and inbound Charlmount Bridge Ranelagh Dublin 6.

Thurs 22nd Jan
    4.30pm - 6 pm outbound at the Phoneix Park Main Gate Dublin 7 and between 8am - 9.30am inbound adjacent to Baggot St Bridge Dublin 4.

Friday 23rd Jan
    8am – 9.30am inbound adjacent to Clarkes Bridge Summerhill Dublin 7 inbound adjacent to Leeson St Bridge Dublin 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 nerdingout

A lot easier :-) Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭dave.obrien

am i right in thinking you can also get free hi vis stuff in most garda stations? i heard this before, but haven't gotten anything from them, as my stuff came from a building site...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

You are right in thinking that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

These bast***s almost killed me today. Cycling home from work, and was in the bus lane heading up to Phibsboro from Broadstone. Taxi just behind me, in bus lane also.
    Then this crazy old bird at the edge of the footpath thrust a high viz into my face and screamed at me as I was cycling at speed. Took fright and dodged (almost into the path of the taxi).
    Now I say a person on the footpath, I just did not expect to have a high viz thrust into my face as I passed. She then screamed at me that I should be wearning a high viz.
    If I wasnt eagre to get home out of the rain, I would have murdered her.

If these crazies want people to be safe, then do not thrust stuf into the face of a passing cyclist. This is very dangerous.

BTW, I had 2 front lights, two back lights and a high viz Altura Nevis rain jacket. You could see me from orbit for chrissakes.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

ROK ON wrote: »
    These bast***s almost killed me today. Cycling home from work, and was in the bus lane heading up to Phibsboro from Broadstone. Taxi just behind me, in bus lane also.
    Then this crazy old bird at the edge of the footpath thrust a high viz into my face and screamed at me as I was cycling at speed. Took fright and dodged (almost into the path of the taxi).
    Now I say a person on the footpath, I just did not expect to have a high viz thrust into my face as I passed. She then screamed at me that I should be wearning a high viz.
    If I wasnt eagre to get home out of the rain, I would have murdered her.

If these crazies want people to be safe, then do not thrust stuf into the face of a passing cyclist. This is very dangerous.

BTW, I had 2 front lights, two back lights and a high viz Altura Nevis rain jacket. You could see me from orbit for chrissakes.

You should have reported her to your local Garda station (but a bit too late now), but you should still contact the council about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

They told me this morning at charlemont bridge that I was "the most visible cyclist they'd seen all week". I am "definitely very visible, fair play". :D
    Didn't get any armbands though, just a vest.
    In fairness to them though, they were holding it out well in advance of me so I had time to see them - they didn't jump out of the bushes at me thankfully...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Got one today but no armbands which was what I really wanted. Have to say the ladies giving them out were very friendly.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Have to say the ladies giving them out were very friendly.

HowYouDoin1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Got armbands and vest at the dublin city cycle last september. I don't use 'this' vest ( mine's much better and fits me ) but I use the armbands all the time. I also have these flashing hiviz arm bands that make me look like kenmc a xmas tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

el tonto wrote: »
    HowYouDoin1.jpg

Very nice in a motherly way. They could have been retirees!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

kenmc wrote: »
    They told me this morning at charlemont bridge that I was "the most visible cyclist they'd seen all week". I am "definitely very visible, fair play". :D
    Didn't get any armbands though, just a vest.
    In fairness to them though, they were holding it out well in advance of me so I had time to see them - they didn't jump out of the bushes at me thankfully...

Got one there on Weds - even though I was wearing one at the time! :) (I'd wear one on the front as most of the vest covers the backpack - if only it'd stay on!)

Hadn't known about this and thought it was a cynical reaction to the fatal accident the previous week at Harolds X Bridge (cyclist/cement mixer lorry)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 MCCT

Hi everyone

New to cycling in Dublin and just got a bike recently. I missed the free Hi-Vis vest giveaway. Does anyone know where they can be bought? Or does the Garda really give out free Hi-vis vests?

Thanks so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

MCCT wrote: »
    Hi everyone

New to cycling in Dublin and just got a bike recently. I missed the free Hi-Vis vest giveaway. Does anyone know where they can be bought? Or does the Garda really give out free Hi-vis vests?

Thanks so much

I ve seen them at the Euro2 shops and the like.