Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plassey 10k??

• 20-01-2009 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know if a date has been set for the Plassey 10k? Im presuming (guessing) its about March 29th?
    The only other fun run I know happening in limerick any time soon is the Adare 10k on March 1st. Are there any others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

<ducks before Amadeus comes along ranting about the Plassey 9.6km> :-)

Marie, there should be a thread from last year with more info on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

[rant]

Grrrrrrrrrrr

The most unprofessionally run race on teh Irish racing calendar! A virtually unmarked start that sent several hundred runners barrelling down a hill before coming to a choke point a few hundred meters down where runners had to stop and queue (!) to get through a narrow gate. Walkers started first so most of teh race was spent weaving past them. Managed a (for me) good race and was well on for sub 40 and put everything into the last k, was amazed to cross the finish line in 38:xx. But then the race was several hundred meters short! And I nearly bulldozed over a couple of walkers in teh finish chute who didn't seem to understand that runners at a full sprint can't stop dead as quickly as those sauntering along can.

And to add insult to injury the 2 I nearly flattened were listed in teh top 10 finishers (despite teh fact they were walkers!) as was teh guy I out sprinted at the end. But I wasn't. Oh and the womens "winner", who collected a bunch of flowers on teh day turned out to have started with teh walkers and only began running half way round.

Without doubt the single worst race I have ever been near.

If you still want to do it the website is www.plassey10k.com but in a huge surprise it hasn't been updated since last years race :rolleyes:

[/rant]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

there is nothing and I mean nothing worse than a badly run race. Sure things can go wrong on the day but your account of the race is unbelievable.

I'm guessing the organisers aren't runners themselves. I've found that most of the badly organised races I've ever run in were organised by gyms, football clubs etc.

I'm guessing the organisers aren't runners themselves.

Organised by the students, AFAIK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

AFAIK its run by PESS students.

--amadeus-- perhaps you could send them a letter about last year and a few suggestions on improvement for this year. I was going to do it but its sounds like a mess!

I sent a couple of emails to them after last years race and they were ignored. Not making suggestions or moaning but asking if the course had been accurately measured (I was trying to work out if my Garmin had fritzed on me). I have a feeling that this year it will clash with Rotterdam so I won't be doing it anyway but it is a shame because there are very few road races around Limerick City.

Actually in defence of teh route there was a lot of building work going on at the time around campus. Even so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

Actually in defence of teh route there was a lot of building work going on at the time around campus. Even so...

Well, it was badly organised [though not as bad as last year by all accounts], and short [9.6km or so] in 2005 when I did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I've pm'd a few of ye over the years about trying to get a proper road race started in Limerick, it seems to run into a wall every time. I don't understand the attitude of the major athletics clubs in Limerick that seem to have no interest in reaching out to the wider, amateur, average runner in Limerick. It's a pity that the main race in Limerick city is a shambolic 10k organised by students.

The Plassey 10k itself could be a great race, but the criticisms outlined by Amadeus above are valid and accurate. In their defence, it's being run by students and I understand last year they were forced into a last minute change of route last. I'll still be looking to run it this year (slowly as ever) simply because if it's not supported there'll soon be no runs in the city (if you could class UL as the city). If you are a serious runner, I wouldn't recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭tantipie

is this race not done in aid of Milford hospice,,maybe its another,,cant find details on either anyway,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

March 21st I read somewhere....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭tantipie

i heard that yesterday also and am devastated as Connemara one on day after:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

there is nothing and I mean nothing worse than a badly run race.

I turned up for a race in Dublin and after my warm up saw the finishing chute was up, the finish line marked, so asked an official where the start was. He said we're not sure if it will be here or out on the road (about 400m away). So I said, but the finish is there? And he said that it was...so I put it to him that if the finish was there, if it was a 5k race, they had to know where the start was? Anyway, he just looked a bit confused, assured me it was 5k, but then a big argument ensued between the officials as to where to start it. They decided on a start place but about 2k in when we came to a roundabout, noone knew where to go and there were no officials - the leaders went one way, everyone else went another way, so the leaders turned back to catch us, loads just dropped out, I just thought f**k it I'll just keep racing for 17-18mins and if I don't come to the finish just stop then, no point in stopping after 10 mins. It was a disaster and turned out being about 5.4k. Never again will I go back there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

I think I know the race you are taking about. Was it held in December 2007 by any chance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

I think I know the race you are taking about. Was it held in December 2007 by any chance ?

That's the one. Was extra frustrating, as I ran very well, beat some fellows I'd never beat, but then you had no time to know for sure how well you did and din't know if the fellows you'd beaten had stopped for a while or gone the wrong way or whatever. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭limerickleader

Haven't done the plassey 10k in a few years and am disappointed to hear last year's race was a bit of a shambles.

I did race it 3 times when I was in UL and each time I found it to be very well run. The course has changed somewhat since then. The first two times I did it the course went out the gate of UL, down to the roundabout, back up by the lodge and out around annacotty before coming back in thru caherdavin.

It was quite a pleasant course but it did involve crossing a roundabout on the main Limerick-Dublin road, not exactly a quiet country road.

The last time (2006?) was a different, quite dull course which involved a 5k lap done twice and was down to the roundabout in the tech park, back up, in thru UL to the new medical centre x2...not exactly the most riveting course ever. It was well run though and chip timed as well...

I guess a lot depends on how much effort the PESS students are willing to put into organising it. I would have thought after the years of running it, there would be a good precedent in place in terms of liaising with gardai, sponsors, suppliers etc.

As mentioned above, there is a shortage of races in Limerick City and this is one of the few to generate a bit of interest amongst non-runners. Hopefully it will be back on track this year and if I'm back in Limerick the weekend that it is on, will definitely run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

I was looking out for this too but the fact it is on the day before Connemarathon means I can forget it:(

Not enough fun runs/10k's etc on in Limerick. In Dublin, Cork or galway they have them at least each weekend.

Really conflicted now...

I was planning on doing Adare as my only warm up race but I'm in Donegal that weekend (Nephew / Godson getting confirmed) so the only practical race would be this one. But it was such a disaster last year that I swore never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭banjobongo

here are the details!(NB - Im not involved in arranging this, dont event know if I will be doing it myself....)

Saturday 21st of March 2009
    University of Limerick Student Campus

Starting times
    Runners: 11.00am
    Joggers: 11.30am
    Walkers: 12.00am

For further information please contact us at
    2009plassey10k@gmail.com

Link?

Wonder how they will differentiate between "runners" and "joggers"? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Where do people like me go? As Im injured I walk maybe 4 or 5 minutes and run 2. So would I be in the joggers section or the walkers?

Really conflicted now...

I was planning on doing Adare as my only warm up race but I'm in Donegal that weekend (Nephew / Godson getting confirmed) so the only practical race would be this one. But it was such a disaster last year that I swore never again.

Get the bishop to move the confirmation. It's the only option. I'm sure the bishop, the confirmee, the extended family etc won't mind :-)

If there are any alternatives around Cork, you're more than welcome to B&B at our place. it took me less than 90 min for the trip from Cobh to Limerick on Saturday.

Really conflicted now...

...there goes my pacer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭jollylee

Any details regarding when the Adare 10k dates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭blind_hurler

Adare 10K -
    The annual WLAC Adare 10K is on March 1st at 2PM with a noncompetitative walk starting at 1:30PM. Entries accepted at 12Noon from the Village Hall.

http://www.westlimerickac.com/

MCOS wrote: »
    ...there goes my pacer :(

Yeah, I'm surprisingly disappointed not to be seeing a mad ex-rower again... :p

HM - cheers for that, I'll have a quick sconce on Run Ireland and see what's around (unless you or Zuppy have any ideas?)

And who on earth gave you taht quote in your sig???!

HM - cheers for that, I'll have a quick sconce on Run Ireland and see what's around (unless you or Zuppy have any ideas?)
    will ask him when he gets home, he is off kayaking tonight. What are your extremities, datewise?
    And who on earth gave you taht quote in your sig???!
    seanybiker
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59065783&postcount=1402

Well it's a damn fine quote, great for that fragile ego :P

Marathon is April 5th so warm up race needs to be no closer than a couple of weeks really

http://plassey10k.skynet.ie/News.html

Seems to be a new course this year. There's a potential bottleneck around 6k but hopefully for anyone who wants a good time, the crowd will have thinned out by then.

A fair bit of effort looks to have gone into the website so hopefully it'll run smoothly on the day. Still in two minds myself about this one. Will probably be a last minute decision whether to run.

Looks like a quick course and one maybe for a pb attempt I think. Quick up to 6 k then the course gets prettier but tougher. Last k up a little hill to the Arena and this is where you will get your pb if you can work hard up to the Arena and (down steps?!) sprint around the track ... happy days I'll be there and keen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Damn, I didn't realise this was on a Saturday - I am babysitting that day, and don't have use of the car.

Looks like I won't be doing any further races between now and Boston. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭jimbo007

Looks like a quick course and one maybe for a pb attempt I think. Quick up to 6 k then the course gets prettier but tougher. Last k up a little hill to the Arena and this is where you will get your pb if you can work hard up to the Arena and (down steps?!) sprint around the track ... happy days I'll be there and keen :D

Looking at the route seems to go around the back of the arena in towards kilmurry village then onto the track so dont think there's steps...

Why on a Saturday :mad: We have a wedding, 2 sets of kids karate (at different times) and ballet on Sat so I have no idea if I'll be able to make this.

Starts at 11, you will be done by 11:39... ;)

Depends on if they find that missing 600m from last year or not!

JnrA has a karate class that starts at 11 and JnrMsA has ballet at 11:15 and we're supposed to be heading down south shortly after lunch. It's not a def no yet but it's not looking good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

might give this a go
    recovered well from Ballycotton and will do a gentle run at lunch today to stretch the legs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

anyone doing this?

yeah, think i'll give it a lash - haven't preregistered so will be swanning out to UL on the day. weather should be decent (i.e. not "Ballycotton '09"-esque).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Yip I'll be there plodding along.

will be swanning myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Depends on if they find that missing 600m from last year or not!

JnrA has a karate class that starts at 11 and JnrMsA has ballet at 11:15 and we're supposed to be heading down south shortly after lunch. It's not a def no yet but it's not looking good.

Isnt there another 10k run the following day in Monaleen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Think I saw something about it in one of the local papers, it would be a bit strange for two 10ks so close to each other to be on consecutive days, I would have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

Good luck to everyone doing the 10K tomorrow.

Aaargh, slept in this morning and missed the run...Genius! Was awoken by my mate's text message asking me why I wasn't at the start line :o

Probably for the better, there'll be enough exertion watching the game later.

I did it this morning, nice course, fraid I hadn't the training done to make the most of it.

Anyhow, when I was leaving I noticed someone had left a pair of Nike Skylon 11 size 8 (uk) in the carpark between the Stables and Milford. I handed them into a Colin McInerney, who was the race organiser this year. If anyone lost them they can be collected them from the race orgainsers. Just send an email to the address listed on the Plassey 10k website.

That was so much better than last year, unrecognisable. A big thumbs up and thank you to the organisers and marshals. Decent course but a couple of narrow gates that could have been bottlenecks. Ran with MCOS (a true gent who seems to know everyone in Limerick!) and we paced each other to a pair of sub 39s, (38:41 in my case).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

That was so much better than last year, unrecognisable. A big thumbs up and thank you to the organisers and marshals. Decent course but a couple of narrow gates that could have been bottlenecks. Ran with MCOS (a true gent who seems to know everyone in Limerick!) and we paced each other to a pair of sub 39s, (38:41 in my case).

Well done Amadeus :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

My first 10k of the year, well race wise and was just over the 50 min mark. Pretty happy with that as I have not a lot of training done this year.

Great course and very well organised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 guess

hi is there any more fun runs coming up in the limerick area?

Hope it's ok to bump this, anyone know when it's on this year?

I see on Run Ireland there's a 10k on in Castleconnell on the 27th of Feb, is this a new race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Hope it's ok to bump this, anyone know when it's on this year?

I see on Run Ireland there's a 10k on in Castleconnell on the 27th of Feb, is this a new race?

I think the Plassy 10k is on 24/04/11?
    The Castleconnell race was on last year also but it may be more in the fun run category?
    I thought I also saw somewhere the Adare 10k down for 13/03/11 and there's a Monaleen 10k (funrun?) on 27/03/11 in the Limerick area if any of them are of interest to you.