Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who went to Parnell on Sunday?

• 19-01-2009 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭

Decided to actually go watch the Dubs live instead of tv this year, first game v the cats:) Was a pretty good crowd there, freezing as usual but even though we got hammered it was an entertaining game. The last two Kilkenny goals were pretty cheeky but were typical of their caliber, seen my first two yellow cards, first for the Dubs with a player fighting, second taken by the cats for a challenge on the keeper. Yeah i dont have very much detail here, but then again i only sort of started watching the game last year, and will play properly for the first time this year. 6:12 to 0:12 at the end wasnt too bad for a Dublin team that need ALOT of work in the league season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

I would have liked to go see it but its very difficult to get to parnell where i live.
    Once i get myself a car ill get myself a season ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I was there.It just got colder and colder but Kilkenny were a joy to watch the way they set up scores.It was admirable.I thought we id very well for the first half hour.We matched Kilkenny and were the more attacking team.

Unfortunately our scores were just so hard to take in comparison to Kilkenny and our basic hurling skills such as pickups needs a lot of work as well as catches.Defense gave up in the second half and this is where KK punished us with the 5 goals.

With the college players back though,there is a lot of improvement in this team in the league and championship when Daly gets to grips with the full squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

could all 3 of ye get a seat:D
    No Flukey there!!! The recession is doing strange things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Tomthepost wrote: »
    No Flukey there!!! The recession is doing strange things

I think he's barred for exposing himself there recently :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Just going on where blackbelt was saying the Dubs need to improve on the basic skills, i have a question:) Sitting in the stand, not far behind the Dublin bench i heard one word over and over by an enthusiastic guy in his 40's, "pull"...can anyone please clear up exactly what this entails?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

Take a swing at it basically. Usually means hit the ball first opportunity though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Take a swing at it basically. Usually means hit the ball first opportunity though.
    Thanks for that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I was there with the lads alright. 5 soft goals given away, and a few chances not taken of our own. The score didn't really do justice to the game. Kilkenny were better, but not 5 goals better.