Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do...!

• 19-01-2009 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

The parking meter outside isnt registering tomorrows time arrgh! Will i chance the clampers in the mornin or shift the car half a mile up the road down the back of a manky alleyway???Murphys law itll be workin fine at 7am and the feckers wont believe me!

Its too baltic out to move it! Would ye chance it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Steal it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

If its in a meter area surely there are other meters to get the ticket from? Otherwise get up early and see if its working then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Kiera wrote: »
    Otherwise get up early and see if its working then?
    Before 7am :eek: thats the middle of the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Put an "Out of Order" sign on it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Ring the number on the meter. Tell em its broken. Give em your reg.
    Thats what I do anyway.
    Well did.
    Till the f*ckers stole my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

anniehoo wrote: »
    Before 7am :eek: thats the middle of the night!
    You shoudld use that reason for when you're ringing the clampers to pay the 90 euro fine. "I didnt put a ticket on my car cause it was the middle of the night, please come take it off for free" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Kiera wrote: »
    You shoudld use that reason for when you're ringing the clampers to pay the 90 euro fine. "I didnt put a ticket on my car cause it was the middle of the night, please come take it off for free" ;)
    This lady is so very correct, take the advice:D Either that or burn down the clamper van when it arrives:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Take a picture of the meter and show it to them should you find a clamp on your car.

You must hold a copy of the newspaper in the picture as proof of the date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Throw a camouflage net over your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

I'd just burn out the car. You're too deep into this thing already! Now run away!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Disguise the meter as a scarecrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Clamp the car with your own clamp yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Berty wrote: »
    Take a picture of the meter and show it to them should you find a clamp on your car.

You must hold a copy of the newspaper in the picture as proof of the date.
    that's generally used to prove people are still alive on such a date and the fact that you have a particular day's newspaper doesn't really prove that you took the photo on the day the paper was issued

my solution: get a gun and shoot the clampers when they arrive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

angle grinder to clamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Open the sunroof and fill your car with rubbish.
    They'll think it's a skip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    that's generally used to prove people are still alive on such a date and the fact that you have a particular day's newspaper doesn't really prove that you took the photo on the day the paper was issued

my solution: get a gun and shoot the clampers when they arrive

Ah, but seeing as it is todays paper and and it is for the clampers tomorrow morning there aren't many other days he could have taken the photo on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

Crash the car into the meter, then it'll definitely still be out of order in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Clamp yourself to the bed and take photos to show the clampers if they clamp your car.

Clamp.What an exceedingly silly word it becomes once it is said a few times.

Call the Gardai and tell them there is a bomb in the parking meter. The Gardai come along and close the street and if your are lucky the army will arrive and blow the parking meter to pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Lu Tze wrote: »
    Ah, but seeing as it is todays paper and and it is for the clampers tomorrow morning there aren't many other days he could have taken the photo on...

good point. i was thinking in terms of him bringing the pic to the clampers office

I moved it...its either chance the clamp fee (which i know i wont have a hope in jaysus of gettin back) or spending a sleepless night worryin if the feckin thing will have its wheels still on it in the mornin! Good oul Murphy..you should meet Mr.Boyle your law is so Irish its not funny ;)

*headin over to the nocturnal forum now

Or let them clamp you and then pay for the fine with a picture of a spider like this guy

http://www.urlesque.com/2008/11/07/broke-man-tries-paying-bill-with-a-picture-of-a-spider/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I know this is AH and all but I found this hilarious...
    What to do if the machine is out-of-order

If the machine is out of order, you must find another machine within the same zone (or a higher tariff zone). If this is not possible, contact us at 01 222 2218.

So... if you can't find another machine within the same tariff zone... you have to pay MORE?? Haha, don't think so...

That's from the DCC website btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

LoL , i hope you get a good nites sleep , haha id have moved the car , then slept , those clampers dont care if your half dead , they want moneyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy , easy pickings :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I know this is AH and all but I found this hilarious...
    If the machine is out of order, you must find another machine within the same zone (or a higher tariff zone). If this is not possible, contact us at 01 222 2218.

So... if you can't find another machine within the same tariff zone... you have to pay MORE?? Haha, don't think so...

That's from the DCC website btw.

Thanks for the number, I have rung them to let them know anniehoo was illegally parked for 26 minutes.

Cianos wrote: »
    Thanks for the number, I have rung them to let them know anniehoo was illegally parked for 26 minutes.

Cheers "Murphy"! :D

Will you help find my alloys and Topaz air freshner in Darndale tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

set your car on fire. They won't dare clamp it then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu