Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M249

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Viper tactical wheel barrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,899 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Thats a great review but its a bit old, I remember reading it ages back.

My point is that the reviewer found many faults with the gearbox, it was an early model, and it is supposed to have been improved greatly upon since then.

You'd need to hear from some of the lads who have worked on them lately regards internal quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭spicymchaggis

Got a para m249 myself, fits fine in any viper bag as the stock retracts and just take off the box mag and store aswell. in my viper double gun bag i can carry the m249, box mag, an mp5, pistol and a bunch of mags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I have the last one on that list, the Para version. I think it's the most practical of the lot because it's a heavy lump without adding a permanently extended stock and an elongated barrel to the mix.
    It's a lot of fun, one of the few guns that can justify a box mag (though I use midcap M4 mags in it). It's a heavy yoke to be hefting around all day on the run so it's not for the faint hearted. You have to adapt your gameplay to suit it, rather than adapt it to suit you. No more charging headlong into tight spaces or trying to sneak around low corners, it forces you to move into the support role properly, just like any good support gun.

The stock on the Para version is telescoping, so it folds away nice and tidily, but in a useable way. When folded, you can still shoulder it in a more compact fashion (though it might be a bit uncomfortable). The bipod is sturdy, and the Para version has a rail in front of the rear sights, which the others don't have, to allow you to throw an Elcan or other optical sight on it.

It's not for everyone, I've seen people curse their choice in buying it after their first time skirmishing it. I've also seen people get one and never use anything else again, so it's up to you whether it suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Internally they are hard as nails.

Only one small issue - you'll need to replace the hop unit with a CA model. Other than that for 300 notes you simply cant go wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Mr B. Wooster

Internally they are hard as nails.

Only one small issue - you'll need to replace the hop unit with a CA model. Other than that for 300 notes you simply cant go wrong.

More than likely you'll be able to get away with just replacing the hop nub with a bit of the ink tube from a biro (the standard nub is too short).

I've the Mk II (the first link) and its great, I did the bit of a biro mod and the hop is great now. I also had to change the piston, piston head and cylinder head and it works perfectly.

They're all heavy but with a good sling with some padding its fine. The Para is the most popular over here (it seems) probably because its smaller and easier to man handle about the place.

As for transport I use a big gym bag with the last 3 inches of the barrel wrapped in some bubble wrap and in a plastic bag sticking out. Not the best solution BUT I don't have far to walk from my house to the car and the site I'm usually at has its carpark out of site. Mine (the Mk II) is 1m long so the Para version would all fit into a normal gym bag.

Anyway its a great aeg, possiblely the best value for money aeg, half the price of the competition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Yeah, that's a nag on them. But given the so-called high end version of it by CA is twice the price and half the quality, it's a no brainer. The TOP version is even worse and it's over three times the price.

On the topic of transport (I only spotted that question afterwards), I have a flight case for mine because it's the most convenient and safe way I've found. Though, in a pinch, I've thrown it into a rifle case without any bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Busta Hyman

the transport issue is a biggie for me i live in a cul de sac with lots of kids ( i mean families in surrounding houses with kids as opposed to the glitter-esq way that could sound) and loading that into the van might raise eyebrows. also getting stopped in my van with an m4 a pistol and a saw might cause the gardai to probe me ( and i do mean in the deep breath rubber glove spread your cheeks way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Jimbobak47

NakedDex wrote: »
    You have to adapt your gameplay to suit it, rather than adapt it to suit you. No more charging headlong into tight spaces or trying to sneak around low corners, it forces you to move into the support role properly, just like any good support gun.

Id defiantly agree with that, Ive seen a lot of people using them as if they were Rambo, The whole FSG role is defiantly one of my favorites. I did a review on my Mk1 a while ago but it be gone now :(

Highly recommended for the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Whats this gun like to own? Whats it like reliability/maintence wise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Whats this gun like to own? Whats it like reliability/maintence wise?

I find mine great and doen't need any maintanence that any other aeg would need. The rate at which it eats bbs can be a problem - you can go through a bottle of 3,000 in a flash but that what a support gun is for! Just do any normal maintance a but sooner than for other aegs because of the bbs you'll be using.

Anyway its a great gun and lots of fun, best value aeg by far!