Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men+bra's=Mental Breakdown

• 19-01-2009 12:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Currently, I have been single for a long,long,long time , which isnt good as a girl has certain hormonal urges she must fufill. See thread:Being Single and Having Hormones

So,I have recently been hooking up with a 'friend' of mine to help fufill some of these ,uhm, needs.
    Anywho,the reason I decided to go for this guy was because 1)I fancy him 2)I dated his best friend so I know he's not a jerk and 3)I know he's been with lots of women and hence must be quite experienced and I find this quite a turn on.

Anyway, He came over to mine on Saturday night and everything was going great until it it came to the part where he's starting to take of my bra. Fast forward ten minutes and he's still there at my back struggling away trying to undo the clasps. He ultimatly gave up and turned to me sheepishly saying 'Will you do it?'.

This is not just isolated to this one experience. The few times I have been with guys in the bedroom everythings going great and then comes the inevitable 5 minute back fumble while they struggle in vain to unlatch my under garments.

This isnt rocket science!I mean how difficult can it be to unlatch a bra? Guys use buttons,buckles,hooks,clasps etc on a regual basis within their own clothing right?
    Also, how can a guy whose had vast experience with women struggle at such a fundamental part of the lovemaking process??

I think the next time he comes over I will show him this video :): http://www.videojug.com/film/how-to-undo-her-bra-with-one-hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

First off, you assume he has vast experience, he may never have gotten to second base for all you know tbh.

Secondly, bra clasps are the very very very last thing a guy thinks of when he's thinking about bras. very last.

Thirdly, is it such a bad thing to have to do it yourself? Not being rude, genuinely curious. If he had asked straight away, or perhaps made it into an order (if you like that sort of thing) would it have bothered you as much? Is it the asking or the fumbling that's more annoying?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

panda100 wrote: »
    C
    Anyway, He came over to mine on Saturday night and everything was going great until it it came to the part where he's starting to take of my bra. Fast forward ten minutes and he's still there at my back struggling away trying to undo the clasps. He ultimatly gave up and turned to me sheepishly saying 'Will you do it?'.

This is not just isolated to this one experience. The few times I have been with guys in the bedroom everythings going great and then comes the inevitable 5 minute back fumble while they sruggle in vain to unlatch my under garments.

This isnt rocket science!I mean how difficult can it be unlatch a bra?

Seriously, try a guy with a proper corset, bad and all as they are with bras, by the time they figure out a corset, you'll be asleep :D

Just help the guy out, it's as much fun :) if not more
    First off, you assume he has vast experience, he may never have gotten to second base for all you know tbh.

Secondly, bra clasps are the very very very last thing a guy thinks of when he's thinking about bras. very last.

Thirdly, is it such a bad thing to have to do it yourself? Not being rude, genuinely curious. If he had asked straight away, or perhaps made it into an order (if you like that sort of thing) would it have bothered you as much? Is it the asking or the fumbling that's more annoying?

It's the fumbling Brian imo, ask away and at least you've the balls to admit it, fumbling just doesn't help :)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

I presume you are arching your back a little to give him some slack to play with? If so then he will get the one handed slick move with a little practise. Don't feck him up by wearing different types all the time either.

If not, don't wear one when he is coming over. Prob solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

scissors_2.png?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Its's the fumbling!He tried so hard, god bless him, to try and undo it, that I didnt want to knock his efforts by just saying' I'll do it'. Needless to say, the longer the fumbling goes on the more akward it is when you eventually just have to undo it yourself.

Oh and yes,next time Im wearing a corset,that'll be fun seeing him trying to tackle that baby! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

nouggatti wrote: »
    Seriously, try a guy with a proper corset, bad and all as they are with bras, by the time they figure out a corset, you'll be asleep :D

Tell me about it, there's about 20 fecking clasps on the thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

This is not just isolated to this one experience. The few times I have been with guys in the bedroom everythings going great and then comes the inevitable 5 minute back fumble while they struggle in vain to unlatch my under garments.
    Erm... maybe get a bra that's easier to open? Like, a number of guys have problems opening your bra's... maybe they're hard to open? Not meaning to be harsh, but after one or two lads getting into difficulty, did ye think of changing the bra type?

/edit
    Lol @ 3:41

Usually I would just move the bra up over the breast. Or if I can, I'd undo the straps.

I believe XKCD showed it best

frustration.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Seriously, OP, he's a fecking noob.

I was like that when I was a virginal 19-year old. I can easily undo one one-handed now (I think :D). Though like everything, practise makes perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

thats because its easy. its pretty much just like flicking your fingers once you find it. It takes me about 1/4 of a second to get it undone.. However...

I have noticed that with a, how can i put this.. fuller chest the bra becomes tighter and ALOT harder to negotiate. Is your bra too tight? If so, its your fault he cant get it off you, not his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

It's not fumbling. It's foreplay. :D:o

I'd liken it to learning to drive. If you cut out at traffic lights once, you'll probably cut out 5 times before you actually get going. Same goes for opening bras. One exasperated sigh from the missus and the pressure starts mounting. You're fingers get all sweaty and start to betray you. The myth of how bad men are at opening bras probably does nothing to relieve the pressure and becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Look, bras rock. They're like a christmas cracker puzzle but you get an awesome prize at the end of them. Frontsies is cheating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

You should hook up with a mechanic OP, we can open anything! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

How about loaning him one to practice on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Its like that episode of That 70s Show. Donna says that Eric's lips stop moving when he's going for the bra. Funny 'cause it's true.

But sure we all knew men were no good at multi-tasking ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Forefinger and thumb, bring tips of said digits together, and Bob is your mother's brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

I don't understand how they find it so difficult really! I've gone out with some guys who can open a bra as soon as look at it and others who just don't get it. It just is beyond their capabilities to open a bra without staring directly at it and struggling for twenty minutes.

I also find if it's a familiar bra they get on fine, but as soon as you buy new underwear don't expect anything! Anything that he's not intimately familiar with presents are rather large issue...

We open and close them everyday. It's really not that hard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

fonpokno wrote: »
    I don't understand how they find it so difficult really! I've gone out with some guys who can open a bra as soon as look at it and others who just don't get it. It just is beyond their capabilities to open a bra without staring directly at it and struggling for twenty minutes.

I also find if it's a familiar bra they get on fine, but as soon as you buy new underwear don't expect anything! Anything that he's not intimately familiar with presents are rather large issue...

We open and close them everyday. It's really not that hard!
    yeah but we have to try and do it in the coolest fashion imaginable :P

that said, i've never had a problem with it. but, could it be more of a case for people that just aren't that good with their hands? there are vastly varying levels of dexterity ladies, some men will just never get it! and in fairness, should the girl be able to open the button on your jeans from the front with one hand while kissing you? because they can't all do that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Something worth learning. Worth serious brownie points if you pull it off first time.

Failing that, you can't fail with one of these;

craftsman%20chainsaw%2035020.jpg

Plus she might admire your rugged caveman-ness....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Anyway, He came over to mine on Saturday night and everything was going great until it it came to the part where he's starting to take of my bra. Fast forward ten minutes and he's still there at my back struggling away trying to undo the clasps. He ultimatly gave up and turned to me sheepishly saying 'Will you do it?'

10 Minutes! You stayed there for 10 minutes?

Well I'd have said "YOU help me out here" after 2 minutes.

Still, did you not get the hint after 2 minutes?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

cson wrote: »
    Failing that, you can't fail with one of these;
    *pic of chainsaw*
    Plus she might admire your rugged caveman-ness....

Don't think the judge will believe the cuttng off the bra story if you accidently kill her with the chainsaw

i like an awkward fumble and mental challange to unlock things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭D-OLEARY

ha ha i can do it wit 1 hand :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Depending on various factors, I can either get the one handed motion grand or just fail completely. Of course, I have found that accepting you can't do it smoothly and going for the two handed not so sexy, but fast and efficient method works if its just not your day :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Its's the fumbling!He tried so hard, god bless him, to try and undo it, that I didnt want to knock his efforts by just saying' I'll do it'. Needless to say, the longer the fumbling goes on the more akward it is when you eventually just have to undo it yourself.

Oh and yes,next time Im wearing a corset,that'll be fun seeing him trying to tackle that baby! :p

Ah the poor guy, do you really think after ten minutes of fumbling if you'd said "do you need a hand? :)" he would have been sitting there with his puzzle cap on refusing to take any aid in possibly the most embarrassing situation of his sexual career to date?

Sure it's not that hard, sure it's something he should know, but give the guy a break, imagine how much he'll appreciate the help if you gave it to him, imagine how he might feel comfortable enough with you to return the favour someday, seriously, the poor lad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Please, I've been with my bf 3 years and I still have to take my bra off myself. It's just easier that way.

That's why he prefers pyjamas to sexy underwear. Not only do I look cute in it but it opens easily at the front with normal buttons. Underwear with lots of bra clasps down the back is his nightmare!

My suggestion for you, either wear pyjamas (fluffy sheep ones are best :D) when he comes over next or don't wear a bra and let it all hang out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Plus boob size comes into play! I can do one handed till D cup(sometimes even then) but DD??? Two handed job im afraid!!

Bras are like jam jars.

Sometimes we get it first go and say we are kings.

Sometimes it takes us 10 tries and we still can't get it!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Bras are like jam jars.

Sometimes we get it first go and say we are kings.

Sometimes it takes us 10 tries and we still can't get it!

When my gf gives up on a jam jar and gets me to open it, I always say "Oh but you loosened it for me".... yet I get no such credit for the 5 minutes of clumsy fumbling with her bra.

javaboy wrote: »
    When my gf gives up on a jam jar and gets me to open it, I always say "Oh but you loosened it for me".... yet I get no such credit for the 5 minutes of clumsy fumbling with her bra.

I think it's a physics thing!

Better not patronise the ladies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭White_Feather

actually got this in an email from my ex bf a while back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It's hardly rocket science alright, that said, i can completely understand why it might have taken him some time.

Nerves, plain and simple. They even got Ali once.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Hey now, we aren't all useless retards.. I mean some of us watched fonzie on that show as children..

me and my OH have a game.. every time I hug her I try and unsnap her bra without anyone in the room noticing and she tries to stop me - I win 94% of the time and no one notices.. & the best part, it only annoys her about 25 % of the time, the rest of the time it's funny >.<

& I am not some "uber experienced" type.. I am just "dextrous". although she does own one bra that is freaking HARD to open.. it's still possible.. those ones with the clasps in the front are just cheating :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Best story I ever got from one of my mates was his epic 10 minute struggle to try and open a girl’s bra, only to find out it was a front loader. We were young at the time and it really knocked him for six. This was when we were of the age where opening a bra that was under a puffy jacket was doable within 3 seconds and without the owners knowledge….ah the evidence of a misspent childhood.

Guidelines for opening bra’s: 2 clasps take 2 digits to open no more no less, 3 clasps 2 to 3 digits. Anything above that and it’s an all hands on deck situation. If it’s a Basque or corset, you can stay in it for the proceedings isn’t that half the idea any way :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

2 fingered aproach thumb one side index the other push and pull then flick job done...

In theory of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Do it with a finger snap like da fonz :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭ellenmelon

I'm a girl, and even I have problems taking off my own bra sometimes. Especially if the wee clasps are a bit wonky or I'm trying to go too fast and they get caught. Or if my day has been crap and everything is going wrong :D We think it's simple because we do it everyday but they don't so I wouldn't be too hard on blokes/un-co girls.

Strapless have to be the worse in my opinion. I hates them so I does.

ellenmelon wrote: »
    I'm a girl, and even I have problems taking off my own bra sometimes.

Thank god someone else admitted that....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

the_syco wrote: »
    Erm... maybe get a bra that's easier to open? Like, a number of guys have problems opening your bra's... maybe they're hard to open? Not meaning to be harsh, but after one or two lads getting into difficulty, did ye think of changing the bra type?

/edit
    Lol @ 3:41

If they are easier to open they don't offer enough support unless they are one of the one which are tied with ribbon which ideal are not going to be worn for more then 20/30 mins.

Usually I would just move the bra up over the breast. Or if I can, I'd undo the straps.

Dear gods no, that can be incredibly uncomfortable and anyone who tired that would a clip across the ear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I usually managed to undo them with one hand .The thing when lying down is to grasp one clasp of bra strap with thumb and forfinger as mentioned in other post ,then rub and press together ,like when you dip your fingers in hand cream .Usually works for me .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

My boyfriend is amazing at it. He generally has it opened and off me before I even realise what he's doing. When he fumbles then, I just laugh at him.
    nouggatti wrote: »

Nope, mine managed to get of my corset the first time I'd worn one with him, without even looking, and in about 3 movements. I was in awe.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Thank god someone else admitted that....:D

We'd be lying if us girls said we've never had to battle with the bra :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Faith wrote: »
    My boyfriend is amazing at it. He generally has it opened and off me before I even realise what he's doing. When he fumbles then, I just laugh at him.

Nope, mine managed to get of my corset the first time I'd worn one with him, without even looking, and in about 3 movements. I was in awe.

The bra opening is good, but the corset getting-off is amazing. Evidence he's good with his hands, never a bad sign.:D

ellenmelon wrote: »
    We'd be lying if us girls said we've never had to battle with the bra :D
    Never a man around when ya need one :D

We haven't got to the chastity belt yet ;) ......

Ah I've heard of doing that alright. Smart woman.. I do it when I'm wearing a strapless one, 'cause it's such a cow to get on (it's a **** one, and I don't wear them enough to warrant getting a decent one)

Yeah , It's more excitement for the girls , the anticapating ,specially if she cant find the Key :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Some proper corsets have catches in the front as well as lacing in the back. Not the custom made leather and steel boning ones usually mind.