Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on buying a Renault Megane

• 18-01-2009 11:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭

I was looking at a Renault Megane Dynamique 1,6 2006 with very low milage. The dealer will sell it for €9800 with one years warranty. The car seems to be in great condition, except for a window that will not open (but the dealer will bring it in for service and sort that before sale).

I'm just wondering what yer opinion is on this deal? I was keen on it at first, but after reading up on Meganes on the internet I'm not so sure anymore...

My worry is that the car will not be reliable and that I will be sorry I bought this... Or should I buy a Ford Focus?

Any advice?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

You've answered your own question - buy a Focus there's no comparison - you can't even change a headlamp bulb on a Megane without bringing it to a garage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

beatle wrote: »

Advice on buying a Renault Megane.

Don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

I wouldn't buy one and I wouldn't buy a Focus either, sick of them :p

Mazda 3 walks over both.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1289906

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Tony Broke wrote: »
    I wouldn't buy one and I wouldn't buy a Focus either, sick of them :p

Mazda 3 walks over both.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1289906

Breaking news:

The Mazda 3 is a Ford Focus underneath. ;):D

bazz26 wrote: »
    Breaking news:

The Mazda 3 is a Ford Focus underneath. ;):D

I know thats why I would get one of those instead :pac:

Great car, but not common.

Diesel would be best too, 1.4 petrol is too weak, 1.6 is fine but hard to find here.

Tony Broke wrote: »
    I know thats why I would get one of those instead :pac:

Great car, but not common.

Diesel would be best too, 1.4 petrol is too weak, 1.6 is fine but hard to find here.

All the Mazda 3 saloons are 1.6 litre. The saloon is better looking than the hatchback imo.

Yeah the saloon is class, I saw a red 06 one in town the other day with spoiler and lowered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 harveydent

I wouldnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Madza 3 is a nice little car alright, something different.

It'll tow a boat up a slip way better than a petrol X-trail anyway:P

Nice 07 here. Seems cheap compared to the prices of 06's for sale.
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1269569

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

peanuthead wrote: »
    Don't.

i was going to make such a witty 1 word statement

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

11 replies so far and no sign of junkyard - should we be getting worried for his safety?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

regardless of the mazda3 v's focus discussion, either of these cars will serve you better than the megane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

We have a Ford Focus and Megane Estate. The only Megane I would buy would be the Sport Tourer (Estate) diesel. It is a great car, huge inside, great spec, stylish, frugal and practical. It has had warranty work done but Renault Sandyford has been exceptional. It is a 2006, long term reliability, we will see. Bulbs are a pain, but any Renault dealer will do the for €12 including bulb, so not the end of the world.

The Ford too is a cracking car. I know both have their detractors but having owned both I think they are both really good cars.

I would avoid petrol Meganes outside of warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

According to the German AA (the ADAC) the 05 onwards Megane is generally more reliable than 05 onward Focus. The ratings are as follows - a lower number is better

05 Megane 11.2
    05 Focus 20.5

06 Megane 4.0
    06 Focus 7.5

07 Megane 4.1
    07 Focus 2.6

The 05 onwards Megane is also rated more reliable than the Honda Civic or Toyota Auris/Corolla. The Mazda 3 is rated more reliable than any of the above cars but there isn't a huge difference in the reliability of any of them

Can we sticky that to shut up the Megane bashers once and for all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Can we sticky that to shut up the Megane bashers once and for all!
    The missus had a '99 Megane, biggest hunk o' junk ever. You pays your money, you takes your chance but I wouldn't go near them again.

Once bitten, twice shy tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭sunshinediver

Savman wrote: »
    The missus had a '99 Megane, biggest hunk o' junk ever. You pays your money, you takes your chance but I wouldn't go near them again.

Once bitten, twice shy tbh.

A good friend of mine had one not too long ago, one day i got a call from her telling me that the engine had fallen out of it on the ballymun road. I thought she was taking the piss until I saw it myself. The engine mounts had rusted and half the thing was touching the road.

Another time she couldn't turn the alarm off, she had to drive it away due to complaints from the neighbours. It stayed on for about 2 hours until she got it to a mechanic.

After about a year the boot lid stopped working also.

OP i'd be very wary about the window not working. Another friend of mine has a 05 model (they don't listen to me when deciding what car to buy) Anyhow one window stopped working and eventually within 6 months they all did. Car is just out of warranty so renault quoted 1500 for parts plus labour to fix. Not a bad looking car but not all that reliable IMO.

Window regulators do fail and it's a disgrace, the problem is well known yet Renault have never sorted it our. Two of ours have failed in two years. Not cheap to replace either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Do the window regulators have anything to do with them spontaneously combusting on the side of the street?!?!

MMMMmmmmmmm,I think the following pictures speaks volumes re;meganes and why I for one would'nt be arsed having one :D -

2171679750104150087S600x600Q85.jpg

2805526440104150087S600x600Q85.jpg

Sure they all do that...

1623358150_16346704bf.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭beatle

Thanks so much for the replies.It is clear that meganes have a very bad rep.
    I have decided not to buy must say im a bit disappointed they are not reliable because i really liked the car.
    It was a sports saloon,very stylish but i dont want to be forking out for parts in six months.Should i ask him to take less money for it?? any suggestions?

..Any ideas what car i should go for now?
    Initally i thought a passat or octavia but dont need a big engine and want to kep tax and insurance down.

Thinking now of a newish focus and have started looking at mazdas too.Any opinions on any other cars people would recommend...reliable,low milage,good looking car 06 ish preferably have bout 8-9grand to spend can stretch this for the right car but would rather not.
    Would love other suggestions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Thanks so much for the replies.It is clear that meganes have a very bad rep.
    I have decided not to buy must say im a bit disappointed they are not reliable because i really liked the car.
    It was a sports saloon,very stylish but i dont want to be forking out for parts in six months.Should i ask him to take less money for it?? any suggestions?

..Any ideas what car i should go for now?
    Initally i thought a passat or octavia but dont need a big engine and want to kep tax and insurance down.

Thinking now of a newish focus and have started looking at mazdas too.Any opinions on any other cars people would recommend...reliable,low milage,good looking car 06 ish preferably have bout 8-9grand to spend can stretch this for the right car but would rather not.
    Would love other suggestions!

Excellent car. I'd be very surprised if E9,000 didn't buy it.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mazda/Mazda3/SVP-Mode/200801191344412/advert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Mazda 3, Golf or astra would be my top 3.
    For reliability, I'd go Mazda all the way. (used to sell them)
    If, you are going for one, make sure its the Touring spec. (elec windows x 4, A/C and a few othe bits) Worth the extra few quid.

coolbeans wrote: »

Thanks! Not too far away from there so will definately go and have a look at this car in the next day or two.......will let u know how I get on

Went to see that mazda 3 today...that dealer wanted 12 grand!! said he d go to 11500 max reduction and walked off,didnt seem interested in going any lower.
    not sure what to go doin now..

Went to see that mazda 3 today...that dealer wanted 12 grand!! said he d go to 11500 max reduction and walked off,didnt seem interested in going any lower.
    not sure what to go doin now..

You did right, leave him keep it.

Here is a diesel version not too far away and it is higher spec than the other one:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1252592

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Mazda 6 are better, Mazda 3 carries a premium for some reason.The 1.8 petrol can be picked up very cheap, its a good engine.

05 here for cheap

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1209412

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Electrics among many other things are a big problem with these balls of $hite, I was behind a 08 Megane the other day and every light in the light cluster lit up except the indicator one when it went to turn off. Don't get me started.........and don't buy one!!!!!!!!!:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

junkyard wrote: »
    Electrics among many other things are a big problem with these balls of $hite, I was behind a 08 Megane the other day and every light in the light cluster lit up except the indicator one when it went to turn off. Don't get me started.........and don't buy one!!!!!!!!!:eek::eek:

Do you even read threads or do you dive in so quick to rag on Renault that the words muddle past like long lines?

The thread moved on from the Megane long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

If he was posting in support of Renaults, would you be so quick to admonish him?

People have different opinions on cars (and most are simply just not informed enough to make an educated choice).

That's why people still buy Tiidas (or whatever they're called) and old model Almeras!

Many people have decided that Renault have devalued themselves in the Irish market due to many high profile issues (check out Nissans descent into crapdom of late for guilt by association), and they are by no means the only marque to have done so. I'm one of those people and make no apologies for being so, or for passing that sentiment on to others.

I can't understand myself why folk are so quick to leap to Renault's defense. It's just another bland eurobox like all the others, after all.

At least Alfa has some pretence at a sporting heritage (even if the gubbins are all honest to god FIAT).

I'd buy a secondhand Alfa as a bargain, having done my homework, the only Renault I'd consider would be a Clio.

In this class, I'd favour the 3 over the Focus, just to be different.

If he was posting in support of Renaults, would you be so quick to admonish him?

People have different opinions on cars (and most are simply just not informed enough to make an educated choice).

TBH the subject has very little to do with it. IT's just its the only subject he posts about after weeks of nothing, then dissappears again for another while. The relevance of the Megane to the thread at this stage is none because everyone has moved on. He just comes on to throw a dig. Last night being case in point. He hasnt been around for a couple of weeks, then pops up to have a dig at Renault in 2 threads (one of which the Renault wasnt even the real subject) and off he goes again.

He annoys me in the same way run_to_da_hills does. Not because of the subject he posts about, just that the amount of anti one type of section is bordering on spam.

I can't understand myself why folk are so quick to leap to Renault's defense. It's just another bland eurobox like all the others, after all.

Maybe it's just the opposite of the huge proportion of the population that seem to put VW forward as some sort of bastion of automotive brilliance and reliability. Both repuatations are unjustified.

Theres a large proportion of boards that seem to place Renault as the worst manufacturer for reliability by some distance, dispite the facts sayign otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Yes, I have to admit I'm no fan of the latest VAG offerings either. We have Transporters in the fleet and they've broken our hearts, while the much cheaper Transits just plug on and on. Colleagues have made murmurings about Passats and Golfs too, which is a shame.

I'm a cheap git behind it all, which is why the idea of picking up a bargain due to a marques perceived unreliability is so appealing to me. VAG isn't there yet, and for me a Laguna is a step too far (although I might be mad enough to try a Vel Satis for some low mileage wafting in a year or three).

Stekelly wrote: »
    TBH the subject has very little to do with it. IT's just its the only subject he posts about after weeks of nothing, then dissappears again for another while. The relevance of the Megane to the thread at this stage is none because everyone has moved on. He just comes on to throw a dig. Last night being case in point. He hasnt been around for a couple of weeks, then pops up to have a dig at Renault in 2 threads (one of which the Renault wasnt even the real subject) and off he goes again.

He annoys me in the same way run_to_da_hills does. Not because of the subject he posts about, just that the amount of anti one type of section is bordering on spam.

Maybe it's just the opposite of the huge proportion of the population that seem to put VW forward as some sort of bastion of automotive brilliance and reliability. Both repuatations are unjustified.

Theres a large proportion of boards that seem to place Renault as the worst manufacturer for reliability by some distance, dispite the facts sayign otherwise.

Sorry about that Stekelly I'll P.M. you the next time I'm on if you like. I'm also on the Classic forum if you care to check it out. I thought the title was 'Advice on buying a Renault Megane' I didn't realise it had moved onto something else, is it a code for a secret Renault appreciation society and i'm not allowed into? Plenty of others on here have had very bad experiences with Renaults like myself so it looks like you'll have to get used to it.
    Oh by the way, I hate VW's too so maybe we have something in common after all.

I'm also on the Classic forum if you care to check it out. ll.

Yes I did notice the Volvo thread with your 4 or 5 posts giving out about Renault

I thought the title was 'Advice on buying a Renault Megane' I didn't realise it had moved onto something else, is it a code for a secret Renault appreciation society and i'm not allowed into? .

Theres a very subtle clue about half way down where people stop talking about the magane and start talkign about alternatives resulting in the OP going to look at a Mazda.

You missed the boat on the Renault bashing but figured youd dig it up all the same.
    Oh by the way, I hate VW's too so maybe we have something in common after all.

Wheres the diving in at the mere mention of a VW tellign the OP not to buy any of those heaps? Theres plenty more choice of "I'm buying a VW" or "My VWis broken" threads to choose from (many more in fact than Renault threads)

I've been there too, it's probably the fact that you seem to vet everything Renault around here and we cross paths. I'm sorry too for not spending as much time on here as you'd like me to but I'm in and out of the country a lot more than I used to be and don't have as much time as I used to have to moniter the forums as you do. I did actually say on the Volvo thread that I actually liked the Renault 16TX and I actually do like the 30 too so there's something for you.:) I'll be missing most of this week too if you'd like to rant on about Renault's and I'll try and catch up next weekend if that's ok with you that is.;)

. I'm sorry too for not spending as much time on here as you'd like me to but I'm in and out of the country a lot more than I used to be and don't have as much time as I used to have to moniter the forums as you do.

If only we exported this internet thing we invented you could become a valuable member here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

OK, I bought 2 x new scenic's (1.4 petrol), and 1 used RX4 1.9 diesel (4 x 4 Scenic).

The petrol 1.4's only ever gave one problem - coil packs. Now, it so happens that half the Opel and VAG cars have the same issue, so 6 of one, half-a-dozen of the other, really. New coil packs on the 'net for Eur100, and 10 mins to fit yourself if/when they fail. No garage needed.

The 1.9 RX4 was a really, really beautiful car, but an old-fashioned diesel, so slow. But of the 3, it's the one the SO preferred. Me, I preferred the 1.4 petrol. With 98bhp, it's no slouch, and outperforms a lot of other 1.6's too, whilst being cheaper to tax. I used to drive the nuts off it, and it never, ever consumed any oil in 90k miles. The EGR valve went in the diesel, so that was annoying, but not a big deal, either.

Now, preface: I have a 19 year old Mazda MX-5, for years. It is singularly the most reliable car I have ever owned, barring, possibly, a Cinquecento (:) )...so, when our NEW 07 Galaxy 1.8Tdci threw electronic and turbo problems, at 918kms from NEW....I deigned to change to a Mazda, but a diesel one, basing my decision on the reliability of the MX-5. Big, Big, Huge, mistake.

Fast forward a bit, and we changed to a (cheaper :rolleyes: ) Mazda MPV with the 2.0RF common rail diesel. This is the same engine as in the 6, btw. A complete and utter mechanical disaster. And don't just took take my word for it.....have a look HERE I know someone else in Galway now, also with an 02 Mazda diesel now experiencing the same problems. Huge, extortionate spare part prices as well. Avoid like the plague. I've had to write off a car I paid 13k for, after 4 months over it, and then buy another car AS WELL, to replace.

I wouldn't take a Mazda diesel if I got it for free.

Petrol, different matter.

Me? We should have kept the Renault petrol's. I still see the one we sold running around, still in ex condition.........and I kick myself everytime I see it.

All, as they say, my 0.02. Well, actually, Eur 13,500.02.......:mad: :o

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

If only we exported this internet thing we invented you could become a valuable member here.

Does that mean your missing me Stekelly, aw shuks, you can P.M. me if you'd like.;)

I would, but if I dont put RENAULT in big letters in the subject line, you wont see it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

coolbeans wrote: »

9000 for a 06 :eek: is it a trade in for it?

I wont say how much i bought mine for but its a good relaiable car better off getting the touring one as it has a few extras like radio controls on the steering wheel and metalic paint on the side mirrors and metailic paint on the handles of the door. I have the 1.6 06' petrol for over a year now with no problems.

galwaytt wrote: »
    OK, I bought 2 x new scenic's (1.4 petrol), and 1 used RX4 1.9 diesel (4 x 4 Scenic).

The petrol 1.4's only ever gave one problem - coil packs. Now, it so happens that half the Opel and VAG cars have the same issue, so 6 of one, half-a-dozen of the other, really. New coil packs on the 'net for Eur100, and 10 mins to fit yourself if/when they fail. No garage needed.

The 1.9 RX4 was a really, really beautiful car, but an old-fashioned diesel, so slow. But of the 3, it's the one the SO preferred. Me, I preferred the 1.4 petrol. With 98bhp, it's no slouch, and outperforms a lot of other 1.6's too, whilst being cheaper to tax. I used to drive the nuts off it, and it never, ever consumed any oil in 90k miles. The EGR valve went in the diesel, so that was annoying, but not a big deal, either.

Now, preface: I have a 19 year old Mazda MX-5, for years. It is singularly the most reliable car I have ever owned, barring, possibly, a Cinquecento (:) )...so, when our NEW 07 Galaxy 1.8Tdci threw electronic and turbo problems, at 918kms from NEW....I deigned to change to a Mazda, but a diesel one, basing my decision on the reliability of the MX-5. Big, Big, Huge, mistake.

Fast forward a bit, and we changed to a (cheaper :rolleyes: ) Mazda MPV with the 2.0RF common rail diesel. This is the same engine as in the 6, btw. A complete and utter mechanical disaster. And don't just took take my word for it.....have a look HERE I know someone else in Galway now, also with an 02 Mazda diesel now experiencing the same problems. Huge, extortionate spare part prices as well. Avoid like the plague. I've had to write off a car I paid 13k for, after 4 months over it, and then buy another car AS WELL, to replace.

I wouldn't take a Mazda diesel if I got it for free.

Petrol, different matter.

Me? We should have kept the Renault petrol's. I still see the one we sold running around, still in ex condition.........and I kick myself everytime I see it.

All, as they say, my 0.02. Well, actually, Eur 13,500.02.......:mad: :o

My missus is on her 2nd Scenic now (moved from a 00 1.4 to an 05 1.6 Grand Scenic) both great cars and the only issues we've had so far was the Grand Scenic was making a grinding noise on start up, which was fixed in a day under warranty, which included them doing the timeign belt at the same time seeign as it was coming off anyway :), andthe rear drivers side quarter panel seems to be magnestised because it's been crashed into 3 times (once on the first scenic and trwice on the new one). Only on the first scenic was the missus in the car at the time. The 2 times the new ones been hit was by anonymous people in car parks .****.

Actually, VOLUME 3 now, on why not to buy a Mazda diesel. Disease now afflicting the current (new model) 5, as well ?? :eek: FFS....

Interesting people wondering if Tdci Fords are related...what with Ford owning 30% of Mazda.........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

GF has a 01 Megane 1.6 Coupé for five years now, absolutely nothing has gone wrong with it.

I would, but if I dont put RENAULT in big letters in the subject line, you wont see it.:D

I should have gone to spec savers and please put RENAULT in red too I'm pushing on you know.:D Anyway, plane to catch in 2 hrs, catch ye all next weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

I find that the devaluing of older Renaults can be a good thing if you have an eye out for a bargain though. I mean, I got mine for free because the owner couldn't sell it. Turns out the front end vibration had been caused by a wheel that was out of balance. It hit a pothole a few months back, and a new tyre was fitted, but one of the balancing weights had come off a short while after. Compared to the expected price of a new CV joint or two and labour, which might've been more than the car was worth, getting the wheels balanced made it a bloody bargain. That was actually why I was wondering if I should accept the thing at all in the first place...

The car I have is a 1.8 with about 44k miles on it. Still going quite happily despite being six years old. Engine's a bit sluggish and doesnt like being revved, but it's a motorway cruiser, what do you expect?

Just have to remember not to make short journeys with the air-con on full whack to get some heat into the cabin. That kills the battery.

It's comfy car, and it's certainly bigger than anything else I could've afforded. My budget for a car at the time was only about a grand and a half. Insurance is fine, tax is fine. It hasn't given shown up any problems, so I think I lucked out.

They're not all bad. And they're getting so cheap, you might well get a good one for a good price. Might well be an econobox, but it's bigger than anything else I could've afforded.

And I got it for the price of a wheel balancing.... because people wouldn't buy a Renault with a vibration.

Well done - a car for the price of a wheel weight ?

Winning nomination for Bangernomics Hall of Fame methinks. A pic....and a receipt for the wheelweight ;) should get you a prize !

Ode To The Motorist