Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things others have convinced you of/ made you believe

• 18-01-2009 6:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭

I'm terribly gullible and will believe anything anyone says if they say it with enough conviction. My dad knows this and is ALWAYS able to fool me, you'd think I'd know by now. The biggest thing he made me believe was only 2 or 3 years ago when RTE had that documentary on what to do if Selafield exploded, he made me believe that it had actually happened and called me down to the kitchen to look at the news. He even went to soak towels and block out gaps in the doors. I was almost in tears saying we should get in the car and drive to Cork immediately and asking where my mum was. I was on IRC and MSN at the time and told everyone that there'd been a horrible accident in Selafield, until I was linked to the RTE website which had information on the doumentary. I ran down to the kitchen and saw on the TV there was mood music playing over the news and that's when I copped my dearest dad had taken complete advantage of my gullible nature. Jaysus I felt like an idiot and my dad and sister had such a laugh at my expense.

Had anyone else ever been tricked into believing something totally outrageous and felt like a total idiot when they found out it wasn't true?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Piste wrote: »
    He even went to soak towels and block out gaps in the doors.

Lol, you've got to admire his dedication to the joke though.

One of my friends tried telling me that gullible wasn't in the dictionary. I told him it was but there was a massive movement in England to get it removed as officially it isn't a word. He actually believed it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Lol, you've got to admire his dedication to the joke though.

Could be that her dad believed it all himself but then when he found out it was a mock news bulletin, he covered it up by claiming he was winding her up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

i did somthing similar to a dude i worked with, was shortly after the iodine tablets were posted out to everyone, we told him Selafield blew up during the year and when he finishes work he should go home and take one, we said we already took ours and had him worried all day lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

They took gullible out of the dictionary.

But I checked and it's still there

edit - someone already mentioned something similar :( embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Mark200 wrote: »
    They took gullible out of the dictionary.

But I checked and it's still there

edit - someone already mentioned something similar :( embarrassing
    grammardogqz4.th.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I used to believe that this fella came into your house once a year and gave you a big gift.

It turns out that Uncle Paddy wasn't supposed to do that, he'd been lying all along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Well, there was the time I ordered Gullible's Travels online for free.

Still waiting for it...

Seriously, this one time when I was 5, my brother convinced me that the priest was hiding behind the altar at church. We had gone in there with my Mom and Grandmother. My Grandmother wanted to go in there as she had missed Mass that morning. There was noone else in there. He had me so convinced, that I started shouting and laughing at the top of my lungs, and trying to run behind the altar to check...they had my brother take me outside until they were finished.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Seriously, this one time when I was 5, my brother convinced me that the priest was hiding behind the altar at church.
    Oh, the ole "Priest behind the alter trick!";)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

i do that way too often to my friends and family.
    my sister is so easy to get :)

one of the lads from belfast thats down working with us is too easy to get too.
    he lost his security badge for work mid week, so got a temp one from security. the security guy have him hassle telling him to search for his old one first.
    anyway... he was going for a cup of tea and left it sitting on his desk.
    he was asking for it :)
    just for the look on his face.

I know its gonna come back and back fire on me one of these days. but hey its all for a bit of fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Piste wrote: »
    Had anyone else ever been tricked into believing something totally outrageous and felt like a total idiot when they found out it wasn't true?

No but your dad sounds pretty cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Or evil, take your pic!

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Yore Da, I like his style.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

In catering college we convince a mate that McDonnels dont use potato to make their chips, they use a mixture of flour and wheat etc. We forgot about it and a year later we went to a McD's for a project. While we were there, acting all professional, taking samples, records and asking sensible questions, the mate asked "do many customers notice that you dont use potato in your chips?". The manger just looked at us and fell around the room laughing.
    Now he was gullible, we got him on loads of things but this was the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,693 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

my dad conviced my mate to tow him down to the garage and back with an invisible tow rope, just in case a garda stopped him for no tax or insurance, he was going to pretend he's been towed.......so off he went and towed him up and down the road with the invisible rope......I don't think he copped it until he came back and saw us rolling around the floor:D

Mad Dads FTW!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Actually I just remembered a few years before he played the whole Selafield prank on me I pretended I got my lip pierced on the day of my granny's 90th birthday party (appropriately enough it was April Fool's day) and the blood drained from his face as he realised my granny would see me with a pierced lip.

The look on his face was priceless as I took the ring off and burst out laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

jaffa20 wrote: »
    grammardogqz4.th.jpg
    If you're going to try to take the piss out of someone, it's probably best to link properly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Me and a friend convinced a friend that James Blunt was in fact one of a minority of 'ass babys' who are born anally. The guy is about 16 and was absolutely convinced for ages!... until he mentioned it to someone else who set him straight. We had been hoping that he'd bring it up during a biology class or something, now that would have been brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

When I was very little, my brothers convinced me that little girls, were in fact, little boys who's willies had dropped off.

I told my teacher this. She agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

When I was very little, my brothers convinced me that little girls, were in fact, little boys who's willies had dropped off.

I told my teacher this. She agreed.

How freudian!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

When I was really young I asked my mother if I smashed the TV screen and jumped in would I go to wherever I was watching before I smashed it. She just said yes. She's very lucky she didn't end up with a smashed TV. I really wanted to go and meet the Power Rangers but two things stopped me:

1. I was scared I wouldn't be able to get back to Ireland.
    2. The Putty Monsters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

conf101 wrote: »
    When I was really young I asked my mother if I smashed the TV screen and jumped in would I go to wherever I was watching before I smashed it. She just said yes. She's very lucky she didn't end up with a smashed TV. I really wanted to go and meet the Power Rangers but two things stopped me:

1. I was scared I wouldn't be able to get back to Ireland.
    2. The Putty Monsters

Mine was the other way around. I thought if I watched power rangers and I smashed the tv, they would come out and beat up bullies and monsters etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

I'm gonna hold up my hands here and admit to being one of the gullible people.

I was on holiday in The Netherlands during the summer and was not in my right mind to say the least. Me and two of my male friends got chatting about one of our friends who couldn't make it to the festival and they convinced me that this absent friend (who I know very well) had a pet snake. This is quite plausible but I questioned it and they convinced me further. They then went on to tell me that he could talk to said snake, he had perfected a technique of getting his voice to the correct pitch so he could make the snake do things. Parceltongue, yes, like Harry Potter. And yes, I believed it.

It wasn't until the next day when we were all sitting around someone mentioned him in passing and I go ''DID YOU KNOW HE HAS A PET SNAKE?! THAT HE CAN TALK TO?!'' Needless to say everyone rolled around laughing. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

My Dad had a near fatal accident when i was a kid and when my Mam wanted to me to eat beans or peas and i said no why does Dad not have to eat them, he told me the doctor said after the accident he wasnt allowed to eat them.

I believed this until a couple of years ago when i said it to my own kid that granda cant eat them and he laughed and said you still believe that ya fcuking eejit, i'm 34 :o

When I was a teenager I was in the car with my dad and we were coming up a major roundabout, there are yellow strips before the said roundabout, when I asked my dad what they were for he said they were to warn the blind people there was a roundabout ahead - I believed him.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

I also convinced my friend that she'd just missed a really beautiful rainbow....

At like 3 in the morning. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Well, there was the time I ordered Gullible's Travels online for free.

I'm trying to figure out how I can introduce this into conversation, and claim its mine.

Funny.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

When I was a kid we went to Minehead on holidays.On a forest ramble thing I noticed red rings painted around a lot of the trees about four feet up. I asked my dad what these were and he said Robin Hood and his band of merry men painted them so they could navigate the forest and,over time, the trees grew and the rings ascended with them. I believed this until I told my own boy the story. I always knew Robin Hood was fictional but for some reason believed my dads sh1te talk.

Got a bootleg of Braveheart on cassette.Came home early to find my dad and brother were watching it without me.My brother announced to me that he dies at the end(I didn't know it was based somewhat on fact).I had the last laugh because the tape ran out before the film ended.

I often pick up receipts from outside shops, walk in, pick up one of the items on the receipt and return it in exchange for cash......there is no one more gullible than someone that believes in human morality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I was sent to get the packet of Southalls by a chef!

Baxtards. I was 19!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

A few months ago my girlfriend, who is 18, was asking me about catholicism and protestantism etc. I told her that if both of her parents are catholic then that makes her a protestant...And vice versa etc. And made up all these crazy religious rules regarding children that she just believed :confused::o

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    A few months ago my girlfriend, who is 18, was asking me about catholicism and protestantism etc. I told her that if both of her parents are catholic then that makes her a protestant...And vice versa etc. And made up all these crazy religious rules regarding children that she just believed :confused::o

Sounds like she'll swallow anything. \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Like a duck to water.

javaboy wrote: »
    Sounds like she'll swallow anything. \o/

Well she thinks she's Protestant. It's funny they tend to be the antithesis of the name!

French letters and all that.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

PS. I remember telling an ex Cuba and N. Vietnam where still Communist.

She didn't believe me. Seriously!

Took me 5 years to cop she was looped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

For a while there, this dude with a pointy hat had me believing that there was some bloke called jebus (!? open to correction regarding name) that lived in the sky. :confused:

The joke was well and truly on me, I tell ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

my mam used to tell me that if you used too much vinegar on your chips that your blood would dry up and you would die. I do enjoy vinegary chips.

she also used to tell me that if i stood on the cracks in the path the devil would come up and snatch me. Im still wary of walking on cracks......

......maybe she just doesnt like me....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jobucks

My mam used to tell me that if I swallowed the pip from an Apple / Orange/ pear that a tree would grow in my belly.

Also was told on numerous occasions when I was small, that if I kept sticking my finger in my belly button my ass would fall off... believed that one for years!!

On the other hand, had a bit of a laugh during the week when my other half asked me what was the name of the new movie with Kate Winslet and Leo Di Caprio, told him it was Titanic 2 the sequel.... o how I lol'd when he said "really, cool" (would make quite a good zombie movie though)

used to tell my little sister when she was about six and had a fascination with "Hetty Winthrop Investigates" Told her that was the ladies name, that HettyWinthrop was her first name and "investigates" was her surname. Got years out of that one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I convinced my sister that Haggises were little animals with two short legs on one side specially adapted for living on the steep hillside in the Scottish Highlands. I told here that they could run very fast and were incredibly difficult to catch. The only effective way was to sneak around from the other side of the mountain and force them to turn and run with the short legs on the wrong side. This caused them to tumble down to the bottom of the hill where they could easily be picked up in a dazed state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

samhail wrote: »
    my sister is so easy

O Rly?

I'm a bit of a bastard for winding people up. I gotta say, OP's story is epic. Out and out dedication :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

We used to hang around with a fairly gullible girl when we were about 17. Myself and a mate convinced her that bears didn't exist, when people talked about them they meant teddy bears.

Another time we had her believing that couriers we people who collected curry from the central curry shop in the city centre and delivered it to the chinese takeaways around the city to reheat.

-Funk

When I was a wee lad I had the following conversation with my brother.

:cool: Hey Earthhorse, you know the world is coming to an end on Thursday?
    :confused: What?
    :cool: The world is going to end this Thursday.
    :confused: No it's not. Why?
    :cool: Nostradamus said.
    :confused: Who? Who's he?
    :cool: Nostradamus. Said the world's going to end this Thursday.
    :mad: MOM! Frank says the world is going to end on Thursday.
    :) Pay no attention to him. The world isn't going to end. Not until the four horsemen of the apocalypse arrive.

Okay, that last bit may have been indulged for dramatic effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I knew someone who was going to Finland to visit an Aunt who lived there 'in a big old house'.

I told her to be careful of the infamous 'Finnish House Scorpion (Arachnis habitus Internalis)', a strain of scorpion that evolved to live indoors due to the cold climate in Finland. I told her they seek out warm bodies in houses and curl up beside them at night in beds. I told her that Scorpion stings were the number one cause of death in Finland, second only to death due to accidents on the commuters 'skiing highways'.

That was me convincing someone else. When I was very young a friend of mine once told me that under Irish law Guinness could only use water from the Liffey to brew Guinness and that was why the level of the Liffey rose and dropped during the day. When it was low Guinness were siphoning off the water, when it was high, they weren't siphoning water. I believed it until a week later when I mentioned it to my Mam who told me the truth...once she had stopped laughing :)

Earthhorse wrote: »
    When I was a wee lad I had the following conversation with my brother.

:cool: Hey Earthhorse, you know the world is coming to an end on Thursday?
    :confused: What?
    :cool: The world is going to end this Thursday.
    :confused: No it's not. Why?
    :cool: Nostradamus said.
    :confused: Who? Who's he?
    :cool: Nostradamus. Said the world's going to end this Thursday.
    :mad: MOM! Frank says the world is going to end on Thursday.
    :) Pay no attention to him. The world isn't going to end. Not until the four horsemen of the apocalypse arrive.

Okay, that last bit may have been indulged for dramatic effect.

Names have been changed to protect identities.

javaboy wrote: »
    Names have been changed to protect identities.

Frank - Phil
    Earthhorse - Nostradamus
    Nostradamus - Mom
    Mom - Frank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Ebonyellie

ever been sent to the bookies to put a bet on hoof hearted ?

Ebonyellie wrote: »
    ever been sent to the bookies to put a bet on hoof hearted ?

In fairness puns and joke names are common for horses so that's not so far fetched.

I remember starting work on the first day of my second spell at a particular job and one of the lads (who I bloody worked with for a year before) tried to get me to go next door and ask for a long stand*. Obviously I didn't fall for it but I did get him back a few days later when I asked him to get steam pellets for the fog machine.

*Might have been sky hooks/stripey paint/skirting board ladder etc. It was one of those ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

We convinced a guy that there was a time difference between Ireland and Scotland and he went around Glasgow for the whole weekend thinking it was an hour later than it actually was.

I also convinced a couple in Portugal that it was safe to leave their little kids alone in the apartment. Oh how we laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

My sister's used to convince me as a young lad that they could peel off their skin to reveal alien/lizard look of the Aliens in V. Used to freak me out when they put their hands up to their face to rip their faces off. They used it to make me go to the shop and stuff.

Only realised last week they were taking the p!ss:pac:

My brother met some English girls in Portugal years ago and they didn't have a clue about Ireland. They were asking did we have electricity and television. :rolleyes: So he said yeah we do but they have to overdub a lot of the programs like Eastenders because we can't understand the accent. He had them believing we had a one child law as well to counteract overpopulation.

EDIT: Used to tell my cousin that despite his joypad not being connected, we both in fact had an equal input into the actions of a pixellated plumber. Wireless controllers. That SNES was way ahead of its time.