Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Pay and overtime

• 17-01-2009 11:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭

I've been doing alot of research on this lately and I have come to the conclusion that,in my opinion,the Gardaí don't get a great pay package.I know alot of people say that Gards get paid a bit more than many of their European counterparts,but when you take into account the cost of living in other European countries the pay pay difference doesn't seem so huge.I've heard alot of people whinging about overtime and so on,but it isn't as if they are working 60 hour weeks.Gardaí should expect to have overtime anyway to supplement their salary.
    Take into account salaries in the LAPD and compare them with the Gardaí:
    A graduate with a BA starts on around 62000 p.a in the LAPD whereas the Gardaí start on something in the region of 27500.Also,LAPD officers are paid from their first day of training!Gardaí only get a small 'allowance' while in training.
    An inspector in the Gardaí can earn a max of 56,000 whereas a Lieutenant in the LAPD can earn a max of 125,000!!!

What are yere opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

go to LA, but mind them bullets!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

I can't help but notice you left out the chances of being killed in the LAPD versus the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

OP if you're serious about this then I suggest you discuss it here.

If it's just a troll thread then carry on, nothing to see here.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Gardai should definitely be paid more.

But it should come in the form of a smiling allowance :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

SteveC wrote: »
    OP if you're serious about this then I suggest you discuss it here.

If it's just a troll thread then carry on, nothing to see here.:)

I considered posting it in Garda recruitment/emergency services,but then I'd only get feedback from Garda's/Garda enthusiast's point of view.At least this way we can see the reaction of people who at least disagree with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ah now I see why yer man ate the kitkat in that ad instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Did you remember to convert from dollars to euro?

Mark200 wrote: »
    Did you remember to convert from dollars to euro?

I thought about that but that would have been pointless as exchange rates fluctuate.Right now the dollar is week but this time next year it could be a completely different story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If the Gardai had a decent wage then I would have applied years ago, but they don't, so I won't.

When I was in Canada I made enquiries about joining the City Police, but you have to be eligible to work in Canada permanently. I tried to see if I could at least apply and then if successful apply to residency, but they wouldn't let me. :(

I couldn't remember the exact wage, but it was approx 65k, rising up to 70+ after a few years. And this was in a town where cost of living is A LOT lower than the likes of Dublin. The RCMP make even more afaik, but you have to be a Citizen to join those guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 tommygirl

As a Garda, the issue of pay is worrying at the moment. I realise I'm lucky in that I have no fear of losing my job, however, I have to pay my mortgage and keep an eye on my bills. Since this 1% income levy came in, I'm down a noticeable amount, the equlivant of my last increment. A 10%pay cut would just break me. OK, we might not be working in condtions like LAPD, but it's not an easy job at 2am, when there's no-one around and the **** is hitting the fan. There are other proposals that would be more acceptable than a straight 10% cut, tho ideally I would like to keep my hard earned wages.... obviously!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭321654

How much holidays do LAPD get?

How many hours do they work a week?

Dont give up the day job for a research job OP.

To Magic Marker.Completely agree with you.You can't compare salries of police officers from country to country based on exchange rate.You have to compare the salaries against the cost of living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Surely Scotland would be a better comparison.

PS. Have you not heard of the R Word lately?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

321654 wrote: »
    How much holidays do LAPD get?

How many hours do they work a week?

Dont give up the day job for a research job OP.

Souldn't differentiate much from the Gardaí.Apply a little common sense man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

They get good money.

They are never going to be millionaires, but at the same time they have a decent standard of living.They have no reason at all to complain imo.

Tony Broke wrote: »
    They get good money.

They are never going to be millionaires, but at the same time they have a decent standard of living.They have no reason at all to complain imo.
    Starting salary for a garda is approx 23k. You think that's good money and reflects the work that they do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Starting salary for a garda is approx 23k. You think that's good money and reflects the work that they do?

You think that they deserve more considering that they don't need any 3rd level education to get qualified? A graduate can expect to earn around that much after 3/4 years studying when someone can join the gardai after completing the leaving certificate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Tony Broke

Yes.

At the end of the day, they have something teachers who get payed more cant buy!

They have certain gifts we dont have and can get away with stuff, they still get free food where I live for example :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Yes.

At the end of the day, they have something teachers who get payed more cant buy!

They have certain gifts we dont have and can get away with stuff, they still get free food where I live for example :pac:

What, a free sandwich or coffee here and there? :rolleyes:

Anyways the Gardai are having their Overtime reduced as much as possible so their not reaping those benefits as much any more

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    You think that they deserve more considering that they don't need any 3rd level education to get qualified? A graduate can expect to earn around that much after 3/4 years studying when someone can join the gardai after completing the leaving certificate.
    I was earning that much straight after school. 23k is pittance tbh.

A Garda may be able to apply as soon as they turn 18, but they are offering a public service and committing to quite a dangerous profession and should be well compensated. The same goes to anyone in the emergency services. A garda should start off on a salary of at least 28k-30k, I don't think that's an unreasonable amount tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

There is no such thing as a 'fair' salary.

You should not be paid high wages just because your job is dirty, difficult or dangerous, or because you live in an expensive area.

When paying salaries out of tax revenue, we should ensure we pay the minimum necessary to fill every position with a qualified applicant.

As there is still stiff competition for these positions, we're paying too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

GA361 wrote: »
    I considered posting it in Garda recruitment/emergency services,but then I'd only get feedback from Garda's/Garda enthusiast's point of view.At least this way we can see the reaction of people who at least disagree with this.
    Thats fair enough, sorry if my earlier comment seemed short.

Your analogy with the LAPD doesn't really hold up though, I get paid a fair wage for what I do, the same guy in LA would get paid twice that just because od where he lives in the world.
    I know a guy who I spent 2 weeks in CA training how to use equipment we'd sold only for him to quit a week later and take a job in LAX cleaning aircraft fuel tanks for 60k.. beggars belief but it's true.

they dont get that pay figure until after 18months training.

They get 34 days annual leave but its not really anymore than someone on 24 days leave when you account that everyone else gets bank holidays off.

They have a secure enough job and a good pension. Ireland cant afford pay increases and will need pay cuts to prevent going bankrupt over the next few years.
    They also have increments and various allowances.

They are fairly paid in my opinion.

The average Garda wage is 60/70k, so if they start on 23k, somebody is making a fortune.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Seanies32 wrote: »
    The average Garda wage is 60/70k, so if they start on 23k, somebody is making a fortune.

And where did you get that statistic?

Links or GTFO :rolleyes:

Alicat wrote: »
    And where did you get that statistic?

Links or GTFO :rolleyes:

Did you not ask that of the OP?

Google it, it's too late! LOL.*

Means Guards and Prison officers are one of the best paid public servants there are. If you don't believe me, disprove me as I've seen the links!

2 men live on an island.

1st man is worth 2 million.

2nd man is a bum and lives in a bucket.

Their average worth is 1 million each.

Get it?

2 men live on an island.

1st man is worth 2 million.

2nd man is a bum and lives in a bucket.

Their average worth is 1 million each.

Get it?

Nah, we know the bum earns 23 k!

Get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

The average garda earned 1205.94 a week in 2007(www.cso.ie). Thats 62708.88 a year. So please stop the poor mouthing, gardai are well paid.

Dob74 wrote: »
    The average garda earned 1205.94 a week in 2007(www.cso.ie). Thats 62708.88 a year. So please stop the poor mouthing, gardai are well paid.
    How many hours were worked to get that average wage and how much does that work out per hour? Also, is this before or after tax?

Did you not ask that of the OP?

Google it, it's too late! LOL.*

Means Guards and Prison officers are one of the best paid public servants there are. If you don't believe me, disprove me as I've seen the links!

I don't believe you, but it doesn't mean I have to disprove you cause I never stated any "facts". I know a few Gardai and they get nowhere near that. That 'fact' I know.

That'd be all the big-wigs raising your fact figures up

And (apparently! ;) ) their overtime is to be reduced to as little as possible so that 'statistic' is more than likely not current or relevant
    Dob74 wrote: »

Who are these average Gardai??

MagicMarker makes a fair point!

I don't believe you, but it doesn't mean I have to disprove you cause I never stated any "facts". I know a few Gardai and they get nowhere near that.

And (apparently! ;) ) their overtime is to be reduced to as little as possible so that 'statistic' is more than likely not current or relevant

The irony here is: Me Da WAS a Guard so I appreciate the job.

He gets a decent pension.

YEP, could be more, but they aren't badly off.

I don't believe you, but it doesn't mean I have to disprove you cause I never stated any "facts". I know a few Gardai and they get nowhere near that. That 'fact' I know.

Ah Google is very tough. The stats may well have been on the Economics forum here. Will dig out tomorrow when sober!

The irony here is: Me Da WAS a Guard so I appreciate the job.

He gets a decent pension.

YEP, could be more, but they aren't badly off.

Never said they were badly off, I just disagree with the statements made by some posters that they are overpaid.

And I disagree with the OP who says they are underpaid! But hey this is AH!

PS. The Armed response squads are underpaid.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Ireland cant afford pay increases and will need pay cuts to prevent going bankrupt over the next few years.

This is the nub of the issue, but I think it's something that a lot of people fail to appreciate, so I might expand on it a bit. The government is not the bottomless money pile that it used to be - we are at real risk of default. It's not about what Gardai should be paid, how good/bad the job is or the public/private workers debate that the media are trying to polarise us on at the moment. It's about the government balancing its books at the end of the year. If they don't do this then the whole state is in trouble and the IMF will have to step in. So even though I think we need more and better paid gards on the ground, the reality is that we can't afford them. Nothing else matters. I realise that this means that gardai will be shafted in budget cuts, but that's the lesser evil compared to the state going bankrupt and failing.
    they dont get that pay figure until after 18months training.

They get 34 days annual leave but its not really anymore than someone on 24 days leave when you account that everyone else gets bank holidays off.

Off topic, but you sure have a lot of esoteric knowledge (unless of course you just googled "LAPD jobs").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭The Citizen

OP the Gardai should get one of the highest payrates in the country. It would immediately make the garda career more appealing as a career path. The increase in gardai would mean more warriors to fight against the scum. This would eventually lead to the scum being wiped out for once and for all. Then I could sleep peacefully at night, safe in the knowledge that my job is complete and this city is free from the grasp of the scum.

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

OP the Gardai should get one of the highest payrates in the country. It would immediately make the garda career more appealing as a career path. The increase in gardai would mean more warriors to fight against the scum. This would eventually lead to the scum being wiped out for once and for all. Then I could sleep peacefully at night, safe in the knowledge that my job is complete and this city is free from the grasp of the scum.

Yeah..safe from all the 6 year olds on buses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭The Citizen

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Yeah..safe from all the 6 year olds on buses.

Mock me if you dare, but remember, when the scum are smashing your face open with a hammer don't come crying to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Mock me if you dare, but remember, when the scum are smashing your face open with a hammer don't come crying to me.

I dare to mock you.

how brave am I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭AlanAhern

I love this guy! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

This guy always catches me out

Either incessent mouse hovering for non-existant links or trying to find a hidden message in the underlined words. Aaagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

The figures mentioned in the first post are base figures, you forgot about allowances, these alot! Gardai get extra money for night shifts, sundays, saturdays, bank holidays and the like, uniform allowances and things such as! Also, when they are in court, they must be there for 10am, but the case might not be called until 3pm, thats all some overtime!

An inspector gets lot more than 56000. a sergeant would get more than that without overtime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

They get good money.

Dealing with the kind of classy folk they do, sure why would they.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The increase in gardai would mean more warriors to fight against the scum.

And they'd get capes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

The point of underlining words is to highlight them but when pretty much every noun, verb and adjective is underlined, you're not so much drawing attention to important words as making a mess......

Reminds me of primary school where the teacher would write a sentence on the board and tell you to underline the nouns in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

I am a Garda, my last pay cheque worked out with all the allowances and deductions to be €328 for the week.

People seem to forget that we pay taxes and have other deductions from our pay. Overtime is completely cut, to the extent that most of the time we're "paid" for our overtime with TOIL, I was making that much a week 3 years ago working in a sports shop, and i didn't have to deal with drunken fools and drugged up dopes going mental, i didn't have to deal with syringes and people armed with various types of weapons.

Don't get me wrong i love my job, but i can't stand the way people begrudge us our basic pay that we get.

foinse wrote: »
    I am a Garda, my last pay cheque worked out with all the allowances and deductions to be €328 for the week.

People seem to forget that we pay taxes and have other deductions from our pay. Overtime is completely cut, to the extent that most of the time we're "paid" for our overtime with TOIL, I was making that much a week 3 years ago working in a sports shop, and i didn't have to deal with drunken fools and drugged up dopes going mental, i didn't have to deal with syringes and people armed with various types of weapons.

Don't get me wrong i love my job, but i can't stand the way people begrudge us our basic pay that we get.
    May I ask how long you've been a gard and roughly how many hours you worked for that pay cheque?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

May I ask how long you've been a gard and roughly how many hours you worked for that pay cheque?

You may, I am at the bottom of the ladder, only recently attested, i worked a full week, it's difficult for me to tell you exactly how many hours because we get paid weekly, but we work thusly: week of nights (7 nights straight) 2 days off, then 7 days (mixture of early and late shifts) 3 days off then 6 days (mixture of early and late shifts) then 3 days off, rinse and repeat. each tour is 8 hours long.

however it is salary based, so it's €27,100 divided by 52 minus taxes and deductions that give us the weekly wage.