Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things about not-so-long-ago that shock you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I was thinking to myself not too long ago that the Minister created one hell of a lot of threads.

Needless to say i was totally shocked!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

How bad peoples' teeth were.

In fact, it still shocks me. Have people never heard of the orthodontist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

That roughly 70 million people could die in the course of 6 years because some wanker didn't like jews.

/goes into AH mode.

Also, that gort in county galway would become a popular place for people to live.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I remember when saying I was gay - folk actually knew i was happy,
    I remember when saying I was lying on the grass to a police officer, he didn't strip-search me!
    I remember when I could play with my pussy in public!
    I remember when trying to catch a sheep with wellies on and saying I'm gonna give him a dip, was a nice thing!
    I remember when I could complain about me balls in public being flat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

In fairness minister the second pic appears to be a movie poster, that might not be the same as the first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Honey-ec wrote: »

Listen here Little Miss Shiny Teeth. Not everybody is able to send their orthodontist bill to Daddy dearest. Some people have to scrimp and scrape to get the price of a slice pan. Shiny white teeth are the least of their worries.

Pigheads used to like you Honey- ec but your post has quickly sickened him to the stomach. You're exactly like that big tin of Roses Pighead got from his Aunt Alice over Christmas. They filled me with joy for about an hour but once all the nice ones were gone the joy quickly evaporated and as Pighead robotically chewed through the last of the strawberry creams he realised he actually hated that tin of Roses and Aunty Alice even more so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

just seen your location tullow's a kip I have a second gaff down there im tryin to get rid of in graigowen (spelling) how much!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

The famine...

just seen your location tullow's a kip I have a second gaff down there im tryin to get rid of in graigowen (spelling) how much!

Can't help you there, I'm trying to get rid of my own!

Pighead, I apologise. Would it make you feel better if I let you punch me in the face and knock out a few of my shiny teeth?

*stands still and braces herself*

Can't help you there, I'm trying to get rid of my own!

Pighead, I apologise. Would it make you feel better if I let you punch me in the face and knock out a few of my shiny teeth?

*stands still and braces herself*
    Pighead would never punch a lady. Especially one with lovely white teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

http://pzrservices.typepad.com/advertisingisgoodforyou/images/coffee_2_1.jpg

* Cough * javaboy * Cough *

/ see what happens when you mess with a married woman.:D

Almost forgot the smilie:eek:

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead would never punch a lady. Especially one with lovely white teeth.

Good man pighead ,ladies first and all that;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

mmhm confused

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

A Mars bar used to only be 27p :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mickos

lol 2nd house in Tullow and people wonder how the country went down the crapper

mickos wrote: »
    lol 2nd house in Tullow and people wonder how the country went down the crapper

Yeah cnunts like me buyin' crap houses in tullow.Stayed there a few nights, fcukin' kip.I rekon "Larry Connors" willl buy it for a "carpet and a pie ball"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I was thinking to myself not too long ago that the Minister created one hell of a lot of threads.
    Which of my threads do you think should not have been made?
    In fairness minister the second pic appears to be a movie poster, that might not be the same as the first one.
    It's a comedy.

It was funny that she had a black eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

tribulus wrote: »

A packet of Tayto was 7p, and you could buy halfpenny sweets. Ah, them were the days... /nostalgia

*goes to fetch walking stick...

Lads im gonna sy it now ,and iv'e already emailed tayto on this loads of times.I think we need a partition "BRING BACK AMERICAN CRUNCHOS" 12p at the time used to at them like a rat eating sh1t!

BTW they were hod dog flavor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

The famine...

Was just thinking about this last night actually. Like chances are some of our grandparents grandparents lived through it.....oh oh, British hatred surfacing!!...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

That if you wanted free music, you'd have to talk nicely to your friend that had a double-deck tape recorder. Or tape it off the Hotline.
    People wanted curly hair, not ramrod straight hair...GHD might well have been some sort of chemical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Tom Trojan

9/11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Tom Trojan wrote: »
    9/11

November the ninth?:confused:

Was just thinking about this last night actually. Like chances are some of our grandparents grandarents lived through it.....oh oh, British hatred surfacing!!...

Grandparents? Do you even know when the Famine occurred? My oldest grandmother was born in 1909 (and she died years ago at 95). The Famine ended in 1849. Do you have many friends with 160-year-old grandparents?

God, I'm very impatient tonight.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Yank calendar

9/11
    TheZohan wrote: »

Lotto numbers.;)
    We will get the next two any minuet now.

/ Get's a pen..

Grandparents? Do you even know when the Famine occurred? My oldest grandmother was born in 1909 (and she died years ago at 95). The Famine ended in 1849. Do you have many friends with 160-year-old grandparents?

God, I'm very impatient tonight.
    He said granparents grandparents. As in the grandparents of his grandparents. Did you think he had a stammer?

Pighead wrote: »
    He said granparents grandparents. As in the grandparents of his grandparents. Did you think he had a stammer?

Dammit!

*climbs down off high horse*

That's what I get for posting with the guts of 2 bottles of wine on board.

I'll just go and get an egg from the kitchen to wipe all over my face

Lotto numbers.;)
    We will get the next two any minuet now.

/ Get's a pen..
    Too late! BINGO!

9/11

9/11 shocked the world.
    What shocks me is America's inability to catch Bin Laden.:confused:

9/11 shocked the world.
    Waves from cave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

The famine...
    Never happened.
    The Irish at the time were too stupid to know how to grow other crops.

Lads im gonna sy it now ,and iv'e already emailed tayto on this loads of times.I think we need a partition "BRING BACK AMERICAN CRUNCHOS" 12p at the time used to at them like a rat eating sh1t!

BTW they were hod dog flavor
    10p crisps coming in 20g packs.
    They reduced the size to 16g and charged 20c for them.
    I think they're about 40 or 50c now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Being able to buy Rice Crispie buns and their Cornflake equivalent in supermarkets. Honestly, anyone who can't make or be bothered making Rice Crispie buns in their own kitchen deserves to be ripped off.

9/11 shocked the world.
    Waves from cave.

Shoot's back.
    Now , if it was only that easy.;)

Dammit!

*climbs down off high horse*

That's what I get for posting with the guts of 2 bottles of wine on board.

I'll just go and get an egg from the kitchen to wipe all over my face
    Hope it's not red wine. It'll ruin your pearly whites. If Pighead had two bottles of wine he'd be on a boards rampage at this stage. Calling people ninnys, telling 6th he's not magic, getting banned from forums, left, right and centre.
    Thats why Pighead never posts whilst drunk.

Shoot's back.
    Now , if it was only that easy.;)
    AK-47 twenty-one gun salute

9/11 shocked the world.

Ahh FFS politics of war ,not really bin laden.And I mean everyone I know ,even 2 current TD's I know reckon it was a stunt for war.You don't have to be in the conspiracy forum for that! It's how the world works mate

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Zzippy wrote: »
    A packet of Tayto was 7p, and you could buy halfpenny sweets. Ah, them were the days... /nostalgia

*goes to fetch walking stick...

You was robbbed... I remember when we could buy milk for 3p a pint.

You don't have to be in the conspiracy forum for that! It's how the world works mate

Have we mated?

/ Takes off tin foil hat , puts on thinking cap..

Have we mated?
    Shocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The complete LACK of politcial correctness. Oh, those were dark days indeed.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Never happened.
    The Irish at the time were too stupid to know how to grow other crops.

10p crisps coming in 20g packs.
    They reduced the size to 16g and charged 20c for them.
    I think they're about 40 or 50c now.

Do you mean american crunchos are comin' back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    The complete LACK of politcial correctness. Oh, those were dark days indeed.
    They sho' were cute though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

tribulus wrote: »

i remember it going from 30 to 32p and the ructions it caused!

Which of my threads do you think should not have been made?

That never actually entered my head, but was i looking at the AH forum today, and i'd swear there were at least five threads started by you.

Are you on Thread Viagra?

Thread Steroids?

5 second thread workout?

neil_hosey wrote: »
    i remember it going from 30 to 32p and the ructions it caused!

That made a right balls of buying the Beano, a big of crisps and a mars bar for me. Put it over the pound.

Long time ago now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

I am so shocked that bull fighing is still around, for some ridiculus reason the first time i went to spain (Was about 15) i though that it was a thing from the roman days or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

That until 1993 homosexuality was illegal here, and also until some time in the 70's if you were found with contraception you could be arrested as they were illegal too

Matter of fact we have a woman with the surname of McGEE to thank for contraception ban to be repealed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

Those were the days!!!!!

"women know your place"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

that some guy in a dress told the government what to do....and they did it :eek: