Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What am I paying for?

• 15-01-2009 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭

Hi. I'm planning on buying an entry levelish road bike. I'm stuck between a cruiser and a racer but that's not what I want to query you on. I was looking at a 2009 Giant FCR 3 (€510) and a 2008 Giant SCR 3 (€610). I like both of these bikes and I'm probably going to buy one of them this week. The SCR was reduced from €750 and I just want to ask why was it that much more expensive? I'm a mountain biker and know nothing about road bike components but what would I be paying the extra money for? Is it just the drop down bars? The components are pretty much the same, likewise the frame - actually it's a little heavier than the FCR. I realise there are some differences but would there of been €240's worth? Sorry, I know this isn't particularly interesting but you've already wasted your time reading this, you might as well click on the links.

Specs can be found here......

FCR 3:
    http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-GB/bikes/road/2431/32468/

SCR 3:
    http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-GB/bikes/road/1399/29641/

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

In short, you are paying for a slightly better components. SCR has a mix of Sora and Tiagra components, FCR has a mix of 2200 another other non-series parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Carbon fork on the SCR3 too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Justlikemike

Ok cool, that's fair enough so. Thanks. In the shop I just had a quick look at the frame, wheels and brakes, suppose it's mtber in me. So, the SCR 3 is a decent starter bike then is it? Finding it hard to get much info on the internet. I would just be using it for say 20 mile spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Ok cool, that's fair enough so. Thanks. In the shop I just had a quick look at the frame, wheels and brakes, suppose it's mtber in me. So, the SCR 3 is a decent starter bike then is it? Finding it hard to get much info on the internet. I would just be using it for say 20 mile spins.

The SCR3 is a very competent starter off bike for road cycling - 20 mile spins should be a doddle - I've had club mates do the Sean Kelly 160km on one!

Well I suppose I won't get higher recommendation than that. Thanks for the quick replies lads. Looks like I'll be introducing another bike to the shed. Hopefully they'll all get along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Apart from what others have said, integrated shifters for drop bars tend to be a lot more expensive than shifters for flat bars; that makes a fair bit of the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

I just got the SCR1 from wiggle. Same as the SCR3 just with a better groupset. Cost just under 750 too with Sterling.

If your worried about assembling things, wiggle put everything together for me including pannier rack and mud guards. Just has to remount the handbars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

How do you find it with the rack and mudguards out of interest- work well? Which rack and mudguards did you get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭paddyb

its fine for that. ive done the wicklow 200 and sean kelly on mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

paddyb wrote: »
    its fine for that. ive done the wicklow 200 and sean kelly on mine

I cycled from Dublin to Galway on one. Not sure what that's an indication of! I haven't had any problems with it. I bought it partially on the basis that the frame was the same as SCR1 and I could gradually up-grade the parts.

These guys see to have good reductions on Giants:
    http://www.wheelworxbikes.com/index.php?manufacturers_id=6&sort=2a&filter_id=17

Although more on the 2009 models than the 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

I was in a similar position 2 weeks ago (Mountain Biker trying to make sense of roads bikes, looking at last years SCR's etc.)

Road stuff is even more confusing when you come from a mountain biking background because you spend so much time trying to figure out the equivalent off road groupsets, then your head really starts to melt when you figure out that equivelance to off road kit is no basis for choosing on road kit!

In the end I bought a Giant Defy 2.5 because I wanted triple rings, carbon fork, a bike to commute from Bray on and get fit to do the Wicklow 100 on.

The reason that I didn't go for the Defy 3 was the little plastic stickey out Sora gear changer was annoying even after the few minutes of fecking about in the shop and I couldnt see it being any more userfriendly when I am cold wet and wearing gloves. The Tiagra bits are allegedly easier to mix and match with better gear if (when) I break stuff. Pedals wise I just got a set of hybrid SPD's that I can use with my existing MTB shoes, although I understand that using my Camelback on a road bike is aparently just wrong!

The other bike that I looked at seriously was the BeOne Storm 1, but this being my first road bike I wanted to get it setup properly in a shop by people that I could go back to if there was a problem.

The price of the wheelworx link for the Defy 2.5 is better than any I have seen locally!

Got it today anyways. I'm awful impatient. Pretty happy so far, haven't had a proper spin yet. Noticed a nasty enough scratch on the fork, which is annoying. It'll take me a while to set it up properly, even on the few miles home from the shop my arms were starting to tire. That might just be down to having zero racer experience. I think I need to tuck my arms in more instead of almost locking them out and putting unnecessary force on my wrists. Funny the stupid things you do before you learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

Got it today anyways. I'm awful impatient. Pretty happy so far, haven't had a proper spin yet. Noticed a nasty enough scratch on the fork, which is annoying. It'll take me a while to set it up properly, even on the few miles home from the shop my arms were starting to tire. That might just be down to having zero racer experience. I think I need to tuck my arms in more instead of almost locking them out and putting unnecessary force on my wrists. Funny the stupid things you do before you learn.

It seems to take a while to get used to drops when moving from a mountain bike. I recently switched and have been out 5 times and still haven't got it to feel as comfortable as my old bike.

That's good to know. Means I won't start unnecessarily fiddling with it until I've put some miles on it and got used to it.