Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ban UFC/MMA from Ireland.

• 15-01-2009 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The UFC is here in Ireland soon, this weekend.Rich Franklin and Dan Henderson is topping the Bill.

I was listening o Joe Duffy today and there were callers phoning in calling it a blood sport and proclaiming that its a barbaric sport.

Personally i love the sport i think the concept behing merging the skills of all the various martial arts into one makes for very entertaining and interesting bouts.

Basically i was suprised that there were so many callers with such opinions thinking that it should be banned? Any views?

Note: Ive put this in AH to get an unbiased opinion and perhaps a debate, rather than the Boxing/MMA forums where im sure the opinions would be one sided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

It shouldn't be banned, this discussion has come up before, and the answer is always that it shouldn't. It's properly regulated for one thing, and they protect the competitors properly as well. Bloody Liveline......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

How is kicking the s*ite out of each other a sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

It's Joe Duffy. You get every crazy from all over with nothing better to do than stick their noses into other people's business.

A nutters charter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

the mass's are ignorant stop the press

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭apoch632

Its great to have Joe Duffy in one sense.
    Keeps the cranks in one place and out of the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Unaton wrote: »
    ranks, regulations, championship matches...

that was a troll einstein ignore it id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

"put on yer sh!t kickers and kick some sh!t"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

PeakOutput wrote: »
    that was a troll einstein ignore it id say
    noted...me hates close minded people...grrr...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

These people are idiots. If you dont like UFC or MMA of boxing or whatever then just dont watch it. I honestly dont know what possesses(spelling?) people to complain about shit that has absolutely no effect on them or their lives whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

"put on yer sh!t kickers and kick some sh!t"

Quoting House of pain is always an epic win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

So!! lemme see, everyone who disagrees with the views here is an asshole.

I can see the bigger picture,little jerks setting up there own systems in schools and the culture of aggression and injury being legitimised.

I wouldn't say ban it,but I most certainly look on it as a threat and a possible influence in the behaviour and actions of meatheads who go out on a Saturday night.

I would also take a good hard look at the geezers who run it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Joe Duffy gives daft aul ones, who haven nothing better to do with their time, a national audience. Their opinions mean nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

They wear shorts.

Joe Duffy gives daft aul ones, who haven nothing better to do with their time, a national audience. Their opinions mean nothing.

So whose opinions mean something then friend??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

MMA is a legal. It contains disciplined athletes ( and Quinton Jackson ) and involves skill. If you are stupid enough to want this SPORT banned then you should also be on the stop all boxing bandwagon or you look like a fool.

no your not an asshole flutterin dont worry just probably ignorant to the facts

it is no worse( im not going to say no different because it is way way better in every way accept money) than boxing.

people are either thugs or they arent ufc being here is not going to change it either way imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

My post disappeared :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

If Joe Duffy was pullin' the chimp off himself live on air all the owl -wans would be like "ahh jaysus did yeh hear him crackin' one off on deh radio teh -day ,he's great so he is"

Fecker swallowed a bear and left his arse hangin' out of his mouth with that crop on his mush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I can see the bigger picture,little jerks setting up there own systems in schools and the culture of aggression and injury being legitimised.

I wouldn't say ban it,but I most certainly look on it as a threat and a possible influence in the behaviour and actions of meatheads who go out on a Saturday night.

I would also take a good hard look at the geezers who run it.
    Those "meatheads" will fight anyway.
    Do you personally know anybody in mma? The actual fighters rarely drink(usually only after a fight) and I have yet to see one of us throw a punch while out on the town. I've gone drinking with guys who I've fought that night and had a great night out!

If it has no effect on your life you have no right to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Dana white probably pays them ould biddies to phone up talkshows and moan about bloodsports, who'd-want-to-watch-that-Joe?-its-ondly-a-disgrace-Joe etc...lovely free publicity for the UFC

PeakOutput wrote: »
    no your not an asshole flutterin dont worry just probably ignorant to the facts

it is no worse( im not going to say no different because it is way way better in every way accept money) than boxing.

people are either thugs or they arent ufc being here is not going to change it either way imo

Cannot agree with you there.
    It won't reduce the state to a morass of agression,but this stuff just gives the morons and meatheads out there a little touch of acceptability when they want to beat the crap out of someone in Mario's or Guilio's on a Saturday night.

The lure of the quick buck is always there as epitomised by some neanderthal putting his daughter forward to be a cage fighter.
    Have some people no common sense, or will we stop at nothing for the quick buck.

Bambi wrote: »
    Dana white probably pays them ould biddies to phone up talkshows and moan about bloodsports, who'd-want-to-watch-that-Joe?-its-ondly-a-disgrace-Joe etc...lovely free publicity for the UFC

:D Wouldnt suprise me at all

Cannot agree with you there.
    It won't reduce the state to a morass of agression,but this stuff just gives the morons and meatheads out there a little touch of acceptability when they want to beat the crap out of someone in Mario's or Guilio's on a Saturday night.
    No, no it doesn't. People are responsible for their own actions.

Those "meatheads" will fight anyway.
    Do you personally know anybody in mma? The actual fighters rarely drink(usually only after a fight) and I have yet to see one of us throw a punch while out on the town. I've gone drinking with guys who I've fought that night and had a great night out!

If it has no effect on your life you have no right to complain.

Listen son, don't make a fool of yourself on the internetz.

Put a bit of thought into your posts and keep down the carbon footprint

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

UFC is one of the most exciting sports in the world right now. Skill, strength, speed, controlled agression, determination, concentration, self-set goals and many other admirable qualities are shown by the fighters, without the over-the-top promotion associated with the top level of boxing. There's nearly always great respect between combatants (shaking hands/embracing after the fight ends). The fighters people want to see are some of the most disciplined athletes on the planet.

Yes, there is an element of violence, that can't be ignored. The men involved take risks with their health, but that can be argued of any competitive sport. Events are broadcast after the watershed so impressionable children shouldn't be aversly affected. As has been mentioned before, virtually all of the idiots you see fighting after too much alcohol would fight even if they spent their evenings watching chess.

I'm guessing that 95% of Joe's callers today have never watched an MMA event, have never taken part in martial arts training and never complain when their favourite soap operas show violent scenes in their story-lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Hmmmm I was wonderin how long it was gonna take till the bitchin about mma started on joe duffy. Ah well.Let them whine.
    *goes back to being giddy about UFC :D*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Yeah leave dat to the experts like the bould Flut :pac:

Put a bit of thought into your posts and keep down the carbon footprint
    Ignore the rest of the post apart from the last line... How about you put a bit of thought into your posts instead of being patronizing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

People fought on the streets before UFC.Just because scumbags who fight happen to watch these "bloodsports" people are quick to blame these sports.

I would rather people would join a club,boxing or MMA and displaying their skills in a controlled enviorment rather than outside a chipper on a saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It's a national passtime for a lot of people. esp in A&E at Galway's University College Hospital.:D

An File wrote: »
    UFC is one of the most exciting sports in the world right now. Skill, strength, speed, controlled agression, determination, concentration, self-set goals and many other admirable qualities are shown by the fighters, without the over-the-top promotion associated with the top level of boxing. There's nearly always great respect between combatants (shaking hands/embracing after the fight ends). The fighters people want to see are some of the most disciplined athletes on the planet.

Yes, there is an element of violence, that can't be ignored. The men involved take risks with their health, but that can be argued of any competitive sport. Events are broadcast after the watershed so impressionable children shouldn't be aversly affected. As has been mentioned before, virtually all of the idiots you see fighting after too much alcohol would fight even if they spent their evenings watching chess.

I'm guessing that 95% of Joe's callers today have never watched an MMA event, have never taken part in martial arts training and never complain when their favourite soap operas show violent scenes in their story-lines.

Fully agree with what you say with the exception of the point i bolded. In particular the UFC have a way of Promoting fights with all the Hype you would see in Boxing. One negative point with MMA that i find is that defeated fighters can get more than a fair amount of chancesat a title fight than you would see in boxing, eg.. tito ortiz being a case in point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Of course bored housewives and people with **** all else to do but complain about everything are not going to want to watch 2 grown men kick the **** out of each other. And what better place to whinge than with the biggest drama queen on any radio station, Joe Duffy.

I would rather people would join a club,boxing or MMA and displaying their skills in a controlled enviorment rather than outside a chipper on a saturday night.

Thats how casius clay was discovered. He was going to beat up the guy that stole his bike, but was told to learn boxing instead and beat up a bag

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

snyper wrote: »
    Fully agree with what you say with the exception of the point i bolded. In particular the UFC have a way of Promoting fights with all the Hype you would see in Boxing. One negative point with MMA that i find is that defeated fighters can get more than a fair amount of chancesat a title fight than you would see in boxing, eg.. tito ortiz being a case in point.

Fair point. I watch it on Setanta fairly often, but I rarely see adverts/promotions outside of the shows. I must be lucky or something!

If you actually listened to the Dufficer today my friend, there were a lot more than bored houswives complaining.

It's a jacked up way of letting semi educated gimps make a few bob out of beating the crap out of each other and feeling all macho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Didn't John McCain want to get it banned too? And its banned in a few places in North America? Personally I think its great!! F**k em up Lesnar!

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Didn't John McCain want to get it banned too? And its banned in a few places in North America? Personally I think its great!! F**k em up Lesnar!
    It's not banned, Just not licenced. There is a difference

If you actually listened to the Dufficer today my friend, there were a lot more than bored houswives complaining.

It's a jacked up way of letting semi educated gimps make a few bob out of beating the crap out of each other and feeling all macho.

And junior soccer isn't? :rolleyes:

Fail

rich franklin is a school teacher. He has a degree in Maths or accounting i believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

An File wrote: »
    Yes, there is an element of violence, that can't be ignored.

Understatement of the year.

Well I suppose that without the access to the English leagues these failures have to do something to make a few bob I guess.

What will it be next I wonder,cordon off an area in the Glen of Imaal and give two of them rifles.

These goons will do anything for a bit of exposure and hard man image I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KiddieKrippler

i hate all these people getting up on there high horse about things they dont have a clue about,especially busybody aul ones who jus give out for the sake of it.people seem to think its just scumbags who want to hurt people and start fights all the time.its quite the opposite actually.it is a sport and takes disapline to get anywhere.the hot-headed scumbags who do start fights outside chippers never get anywhere in the sport.go to any mma event in ireland and you will see lads who were fighting an hour before having a pint and a bit of craic afterwards.from my experience of sports i have done (gaa,soccer,hurling and mma)a night out the mma lads and girls is the one least likely by far to have any sort of trouble comparing to the other teams

Fail

rich franklin is a school teacher. He has a degree in Maths or accounting i believe
    Chuck Lidell is a qualified accountant
    Forrest griffen was a police officer as was Andre Arlovski
    Bj Penn comes from a very wealthy family and has no need to compete.
    Chris Lytle was/is a firefighter
    Thats those I know, There's plenty more out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

What will it be next I wonder,cordon off an area in the Glen of Imaal and give two of them rifles.

I don't like this sport anyway and I know that's supposed to be the worst case scenario but what you just suggested would just be fúcking badass.

Carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Have any of you actually seen UFC late night on Setanta? Of course it should be banned.

Not because it is violent. Because....its utter sh1te. Honest to christ, it is like the fights you used to have in national school.......except in your underpants......with an excessively homo erotic amount of hugging each other or carrying out moves that in some religious virginity cults is known as "dry humping". While it is not exactly Darts there are a serious amount of unfit looking fighters panting their way from the off. Ive never seen a worse excuse for a sport, and I once watched 20 minutes of baseball sober. Even the fat gypsies who knock the head off each other on some laneway on Youtube fight with more skill.

Its generally little scobie knacks who follow this crap anyway, the O2 will be like a Schooter gig :p

Load of attention whores who want people to think they are hard men when all they are are gimps.

In the meantime the little scobie wannabees are beating the crap out of anyone who appears weaker just to emulate these gimps.

They should stick to trying out for Big Brother ,Your a Star, or some of the other crap that goes on.

shane86 wrote: »
    . Even the fat gypsies who knock the head off each other on some laneway on Youtube fight with more skill.

While most of your post is subjectve and a matter of opinion, the above comment is absolute tripe.

Many of the top fighters are professional fighters that have exceled in their own dicipline at national level before turning to this sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

How is throwing darts at a board a sport, or bullfighting, or cricket...? Dunno, they just are.

UFC and all that is great, I love it. It can be a bit greusome, but the fighters know what they are getting themselves in for, so why not? No it shouldn't be banned, same as boxing or any other martial art shouldn't be banned. Sure rugby and GAA can get fairly bloody ;) Will we ban them too?

While most of your post is subjectve and a matter of opinion, the above comment is absolute tripe.

Many of the top fighters are professional fighters that have exceled in their own dicipline at national level before turning to this sport.

Don't feed the troll ;)