Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ghost Bike Scheme

• 15-01-2009 2:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭

Hi All,

To remove this discussion from the Harold's Cross thread
    I have taken the majority of feedback on the ghost bike scheme and placed it here.

It looks like it is 'go' for this project.

I suggest we use the existing http://www.ghostbikes.org/ site.
    I'll contact them and tell them we sadly want http://www.ghostbikes.org/dublin

It looks like a good site that would meet all the needs of this project.

So now it's down to:
    1. bike and paint - Húrin mentions he has his.
    2. spray http://www.ghostbikes.org/dublin onto bike (once agreed with site)
    3. placement - need to decide where to put this. There are railings on the disused factory as you continue past AMPM on that road - that would work.
      I suggest removing the handlebars to avoid causing pedestrians problems.
    4. Securing bike - tie wraps or donated lock? anyone suggestions?
    5. Contact news papers and radio stations

All previous info from the Harold's Cross thread below (apologies for any misquotes):

CheGuedara
    could the ghost bike movement be introduced to Ireland to remember those lives lost on bikes? Very simple - a bike is painted all white and locked to a nearby post or railing with a small dedication to the individual lost at that place. Good idea/bad idea?

There's a site about it http://www.ghostbikes.org/

Knifey_Spooney
    Don't the ghost bikes normally get stripped of anything useful anyhow, and are actually just frame wheels cranks, bars and a saddle. No tires, brakes, chain etc makes it pretty unappealing to thieves.

They're a good idea, saw a few in NY, its a little disconcerting TBH.

Húrin has bike and paint

dubmess
    I've lived and worked in NYC and been part of many ghost bike rides while I was there. They are a beautiful and lasting tribute and reminder.

Independent of this forum I was discussing with other messnengers about the idea of placing a ghost bike at the junction. We, as I'm sure many of you do, have many contacts in bike shops throughut Dublin City who, I think, would be happy to give donor scrap bikes, locks etc. to this idea. I think to do it anonymously is also a good idea. Talking to the guy who runs the bike shop there would be a good step, he's been there for God know's how long. I live quite close to this shop so would be quite happy to have a chat to him about it tomorrow and get the ghost bike up and running over the weekend.

I don't want to clash with anyone on here though so if others are serious about this, pm me and let me know so we can make this a collaborative effort and keep it going throughout the year.

Graham

charlietangodel
    All we need is an old bike, devoid of its cables, chain and pedals and then give it a quick dash of white paint.
    The only real expense is a sturdy U lock so that the bike can't be gotten rid of easily. The idea is that it stays there!

If even one newspaper picked up on the story, then there's a whole lot of cycle awareness reaching thousands of people.

Hungrycol
    On a practical issue I think heavy duty zip ties would be fine instead of a lock.

cmyk
    True, maybe if the bike were to be positioned at a safer location a little farther down the Harold's Cross road? (I realise that defeats some of its purpose) But considering the lack of visibility is already what makes it a dangerous junction.

Being the first Ghost bike it prob would get some sort of publicity.

Eoin_d
    On Ghostbike.ie there could be statistics, locations of accident blackspots, explanation of the ghostbike etc.

CheGuedara
    There seems to be good support for this for both a memorial for the cyclist and as an awareness raising move. It looks as if there's a bike and paint available (graciously offered by Húrin) and if contact could be made with the shop to OK it with them it sounds like it's a runner. I'm not sure what more I can do to help things along but I'll do my bit if I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

What about asking the family's permission to errect this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Itsfixed

I think this would be very important. Might be a bit difficult getting in touch just at the moment, though.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Yes, personally I wouldn't feel comfortable erecting a memorial for someone I didn't know without asking their family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

The family should really be asked alright. Maybe I'm alone on this, but when I first heard the idea, I thought it was a little strange, but, after reading the ghost bike website I agree its a great idea.

If the family were unaware of it's presence and saw it they could get an awful shock and may have the initial reaction I had, but while grieving, making it worse. Who knows, they might (hopefully) love the idea, but it should be approached in whatever way has the best interests of his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Howitzer

granted - it would be good to consider them - didn't think of that, thanks for pointing it out.
    They may have to walk by there everyday.

Maybe hold off and somehow get in touch a month or more from now (or more).
    We could present to them the scheme and idea etc. then.
    The memorial if it went ahead would still have good effect.

How would you find their contact details? Send a letter via the Gards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Knifey_Spooney

I can't see the family having any issue, but yes its possible that they might not like it and so should really be consulted I guess, although it seems like a odd thing to be asking a random family who doesn't know you while their in mourning....

Also should we bother asking the council?, they'll probably say yes but it really depends on who you get on the phone.

It'd be nice to get it out this weekend if someone has a donor bike... I don't even have a bike at the mo (stupid bike thieves) so I'm useless, but I'll help who ever takes charge of this in whatever way I can just let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Howitzer wrote: »
    How would you find their contact details? Send a letter via the Gards?
    It all depends ( I think ) if the family wish to give out the details of the accident to the public, in wish case the garda might be able to give you the details or give them yours so they can contact you. (You might want to contact the main ghost bike site admins to see how they got organized.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Contact the Guards for information. There was talk on the other thread that he was Asian. Not sure how accurate this is but the Guardai might be liasing with the appropriate embassy if his family lives in his home country. This may be time consuming and the idea of a ghost bike might be lost in translation, tread carefully...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

RSA and a few other government agencies are going to knock this one on the head. As it is they are against road side memorials.

Better to invest time, effort and money in rider training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 qbasic

What about doing the first Ghost bike for all bygone cyclists in a place not related to this most recent event,say Stephen's' Green or O'Connell Street.

This way hopefully people will spread the word so that if the time comes to place one at the spot of an accident, it may not come as such a shock to people close to the person.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

tunney wrote: »
    Better to invest time, effort and money in rider training.

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭jollylee

There was a ghost bike here in Castletroy, Limerick until very recently. It was removed but I don't know who was responsible for putting it there or taking it away. I never knew the idea behind it until I saw a post about ghost bikes here. If you guys are placing a ghost bike then please make sure the website is very clear so people can actually investigate the purpose and idea behing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

I think its a really good idea, its visible, its immediate, it'll also draw attention to cyclist safety by its presence and by mentions in the media, and it shows that the cyclists in Dublin care when someone is killed to collectively act (however small a gesture).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

I agree with Caroline_ie, itfixed and el tonto, really the way to pursue this (if it is to be) is to give the family a wide birth for a while - they certainly don't need strangers, no matter how well meaning, right now.

I guess Hungrycol & Howitzer are right about approaching them via the Gardai with the idea and purpose behind it and leave it up to them to decide.

If they're happy with the idea of the memorial it should be a case of liasing with the Council to ok it there. If people want to introduce it as an awareness raising exercise also it would just be a case of emailing the desired parts of the media.

qbasic's idea may also be worth considering as a starting point though.

Of course prevention is better than memorial so yeah, tunney and el tonto are spot on, make a safer cyclist and we wouldn't have as many casualties and need to consider ghost bikes in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 tpedoussaut

I'm a Dublin Cycling Campaign member and I'm organising the ghost bike.

I've been in touch with Terenure Garda station, who are putting me in touch with the family.

To make the story short, what we need at the moment is volunteers to distribute flyers the days before the placement of the ghostbike to gather a good crowd of concerned cyclists.

Just PM me if you can spare just 30 minutes in the morning to hand those leaflets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tayto2000

Tie wraps will last no time at all, they can be burst by twisting the bike itself. Lock or nothing.

Might be worth putting a spot of weld onto the components that are going to be left on before painting, makes them valueless and impossible to remove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

Please do the Ghost Bike. I've seen two ghost bikes now and they're generally left alone - probably both because people know its for a dead person, the bikes are usually done with older beat up bikes, and also maybe because the components are covered in white paint, so taking them and cleaning off the paint isnt worth the while.

I think contacting the family is a good idea, to let them know that their son's death isnt gone unnoticed by other people in the wider community, especially if he is an immigrant and maybe doesnt have that many connections here. It says that people care. As someone else mentioned, they will be grieving at the moment, and I think any gesture by others to express sympathy would be well received. There's some reactions by family members to other ghost bikes here. Perhaps other ghost bike memorial erectors have advice on how the family should be approached, but I think once you're respectful and human about it, they will be grateful.

No reason why both an education campaign and a ghost bike cant happen, but the ghost bike will actually happen now, and is a gesture of sympathy from cyclists in the city, whereas an education campaign is really something that can only be done by local or national authorities, not the local cycling community, and would either be months or years down the line before seeing the light of day (if at all).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Pris

I'm a cyclist and freelance journalist. I think the ghost bike idea is great. Had a close call myself a few weeks ago whilst cycling 100% legally and carefully and have been so much more concerned with cycling safety since then. This accident was heartbreaking and I'd be more than happy to give ye a hand publicising this in the press.
    Just pm me if ye need any help.

Pris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 tpedoussaut

after many discussion here and at other places, we will unveil a ghost bike at Harolds Cross Bridge Sat 14th at 10:30AM, exactly 1 month after the accident that cost the life of Paul. Just pop in if you want to pay your respect, not for a political agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Has all necessary equipment and paint been acquired? I have been working hard on my college thesis for a month, so I haven't engaged much with this issue unfortunately lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 rotharrage

Hi

The Ghostbike went up as planned at 10:30 on Saturday 14 Feb.
    There are some photos at
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/rothartaibhsi/
    We're getting it added to the main ghostbikes site
    www.ghostbikes.org

Good luck
    rotharrage