Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My car was stolen :(

• 15-01-2009 10:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

A garda called to the house this morning to inform me that my car was stolen and found with considerable damage to it! :(

I haven't seen the car myself and its in a compound now. I really don't want to see it either. I am devasted as I loved the car.

What happens next? The car is insured and taxed but it wasn't NCT'd and I am worried this may affect my claim.

Why do people feel it necessary to do such things to people? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

NCT should make no difference whatsoever, in fact it may just add another item to the crimes the f*ckers committed - driving a car not fit for the roads!

Tough break man but your insurance should cover you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

enda1 wrote: »
    NCT should make no difference whatsoever, in fact it may just add another item to the crimes the f*ckers committed - driving a car not fit for the roads!

Tough break man but your insurance should cover you.

Thanks for that, I feel sick to the stomach today!

I guess nothing will happen to them for this!

What is the normal procedure here? I ring the insurance company they go look at car and say yes or no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Won't effect your claim at all, no need to worry. Bad luck though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Sorry to hear that py2006. I really wish scumbag slaying was legal:mad:.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

py2006 wrote: »
    What is the normal procedure here? I ring the insurance company they go look at car and say yes or no?
    Yup, it'll help if you have the name of the Garda who filed the report on the theft but even the station name will do them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Sandraf

Hi, I've no idea what happens next but am sorry to hear about your car. I know if anyone touched mine I'd be furious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Sorry to hear of your loss. Hopefully they die a slow and painful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

A garda called to the house this morning to inform me that my car was stolen and found with considerable damage to it! :(

I haven't seen the car myself and its in a compound now. I really don't want to see it either. I am devasted as I loved the car.

What happens next? The car is insured and taxed but it wasn't NCT'd and I am worried this may affect my claim.

Why do people feel it necessary to do such things to people? :(

Sorry to hear that.... never good,
    but you need to get on the case as soon as possible,
    ring your insurance company first.. lodge claim and find out exactly what your entitled to..
    check who is covering the storage of the car? does your insurance cover this? will they pay for the car to be towed to a bodyshop for assement?
    how quick can they arrange it go to a bodyshop and which one is it going to??
    Also check and see if you are covered for rental car while your car is off the road...
    thats where I would start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

What kind of car is it? Anything particularly desireable to scum?

Stephen wrote: »

It was a japanese imported mazda mx5! They tore the roof to get in, hot wired it, smashed windows, drove it through a field, think he said it was crashed too! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Stephen wrote: »

Most scrotes are looking for cars that are driveable only.

robtri wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that.... never good,
    but you need to get on the case as soon as possible,
    ring your insurance company first.. lodge claim and find out exactly what your entitled to..
    check who is covering the storage of the car? does your insurance cover this? will they pay for the car to be towed to a bodyshop for assement?
    how quick can they arrange it go to a bodyshop and which one is it going to??
    Also check and see if you are covered for rental car while your car is off the road...
    thats where I would start.

Thanks, I can't even bring myself to ring the insurance company yet! I will have to do it shortly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Sorry to hear that. As enda1 said, you have nothing to worry about regarding the NCT. If the insurance company decide to write the car off, don't forget that you can bargain with them regarding the figure, if you can show that the car is worth more than they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

It was a japanese imported mazda mx5! They tore the roof to get in, hot wired it, smashed windows, drove it through a field, think he said it was crashed too! :(

Oh dude, sorry to hear that. I have a soft spot for the MX5, its a special little car.

I hope these little f*ckers die screaming :mad:

TheNog wrote: »
    Most scrotes are looking for cars that are driveable only.

Well I never thought my car would be stolen like that, I always assumed these scum only went for cars that wouldn't attract attention from guards.

KTRIC wrote: »
    Oh dude, sorry to hear that. I have a soft spot for the MX5, its a special little car.

I hope these little f*ckers die screaming :mad:

I know me too, I loved it! It was my first car. 6-Speed, 1.8!

I can't even remember what kind of personal belongings I had in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Wow thats tough. Next time anyone buys an import make sure you put an alarm/immobiliser/steering lock on it alongwith big flasing led's. JDM cars have notoriously low security. (I presume you didn't :()

Anan1 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that. As enda1 said, you have nothing to worry about regarding the NCT. If the insurance company decide to write the car off, don't forget that you can bargain with them regarding the figure, if you can show that the car is worth more than they say.

Doesn't it have to be burned out to be considered a write off?

Wow thats tough. Next time anyone buys an import make sure you put an alarm/immobiliser/steering lock on it alongwith big flasing led's. JDM cars have notoriously low security. (I presume you didn't :()

I thought all imported cars had to have immobilisers in them! Obviously not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Doesn't it have to be burned out to be considered a write off?
    Nope, if they OMSP of your car is less than the repair bill its a write off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Well I never thought my car would be stolen like that, I always assumed these scum only went for cars that wouldn't attract attention from guards.

No when they are stealing a car they have a specific reason in mind whether that be joyriding, for a job, for parts or simply getting from A to B.

Nope, if they OMSP of your car is less than the repair bill its a write off

Forgive my ignorance, but is the OMSP the cars worth if sold today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

An MX5? Ask around down the local hairdressers, they might know something..

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Don't start that sh!t. The man just lost his pride and joy, I think he has enough on his plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,144 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Forgive my ignorance, but is the OMSP the cars worth if sold today?

Usually its what you'd pay for a replacement rather than get if you sold it (slightly higher).

Note however that the insurance firm will usually try to pay you less than the actual replacement cost - you may need to argue with them with printouts of similar cars for sale and so on to get a reasonable sum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Red card for gone drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

Be wary of the storage costs in the compound. The Gardai only pay for two nights and after that it is up to you (granted insurance may cover it eventually). It also costs about €100 to have it towed any where. I got totally stung by this "scam" when my car got trashed by evildoers.

MYOB wrote: »
    Usually its what you'd pay for a replacement rather than get if you sold it (slightly higher).

Note however that the insurance firm will usually try to pay you less than the actual replacement cost - you may need to argue with them with printouts of similar cars for sale and so on to get a reasonable sum.

Ah no, was just looking at ads for similar cars and they have dropped in price a fair but in the last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Gutted for you, its a horrible feeling to have some little scrote violate your property. MX5 is a great little car, hope the insurance looks after you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Sorry to hear. Shower of swines tbh. What neck of the woods was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

Ah no, was just looking at ads for similar cars and they have dropped in price a fair but in the last year.

show them pics/prices from last year then, what its worth when you insured it. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

jesus hardluck op :(

I thought all imported cars had to have immobilisers in them! Obviously not!

Imported cars have very basic and easy to get around alarms.

Its really recommended you get a good alarm into the car when your purchase it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Sorry to hear about what happened OP.

Can imagine how sh1tty a feeling it would be. Remember as much as the car market is depressed at the moment, it's also a bad time to be selling roadsters through winter so this may drop prices also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭ondafly

sorry to hear your news - we can't own anything in this country
    AWhat happens next? The car is insured and taxed but it wasn't NCT'd and I am worried this may affect my claim.

depending on your Insurance co. they will reduce the amount of money your car is valued by if it doesn't have an NCT.

Car might be a total write off! I didn't get to see it as they wouldn't allow me access to it as the guards wanted to do something with it first!

Insurance company will give me a car for 7 days if they can fix mine or 10 days if its a write off!

Intial thoughts from insurance company (without assessing it) is that its a write off because its 10 years old!

:(

Savman wrote: »
    Sorry to hear. Shower of swines tbh. What neck of the woods was it?

Castleknock but found in Blanch! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭DaveD

Sorry to hear about your loss. As ondafly said, if the car is a write off having no NCT will affect the value. Also your policy covers you for the market value of the car at the time of the theft, not what you insured it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

As an MX5 owner, you have my condolences. Utter bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Mildly off topic, but what cars are frequently stolen in Ireland?

Are old cars still the main target because they are so easy to steal.
    I expect anything jap-import needs to be chained down!
    Gutted for you, they might meet a wall the next time with any luck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

h3000 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that py2006. I really wish scumbag slaying was legal:mad:.

h3000 for president!

Sorry to hear about the car op.
    What car was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Condolences OP, I know the feeling oh too well myself. I hope the insurance company don't act the maggot with you and give you what you deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,144 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Mildly off topic, but what cars are frequently stolen in Ireland?

Are old cars still the main target because they are so easy to steal.
    I expect anything jap-import needs to be chained down!
    Gutted for you, they might meet a wall the next time with any luck..

According to a mate who works in Quinn, so possibly very skewed reseults: Japenese imports and older (1997 back or so) cars are the ones most stolen due to poor/no immobiliser and often no alarm; followed by more valuable ones where its more common the keys are stolen.

http://www.homeoffice.gov.uk/about-us/news/car-theft-2006 are the UK figures, notice how theres not a recent car in the list!

NiSmO wrote: »

Nah it was silver!

I'm still waiting for them to get back to me about a replacment car! Apparently I am only entitled to a little 1litre car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Sorry to hear about your car lad... I am gutted for you...! You will get it sorted out - hopefully your NCB isnt affected.

A friend of mine from Strabane got a phonecall from the PSNI last week asking him was he the owner of a Red Vectra reg no ...... He said he was and was then asked "Do you know where it is..?" he said "its outside the door here" they then said "look outside":eek: the thieving scumbags had stolen the car from outside his door at 4pm in the afternoon. This was 8pm. The car was found burned out in Omagh.

The scum definately target older cars unless they burgle your house and steal the keys, which is a worrying development

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Aww no way man, this sucks so bad.
    The MX5 is my favorite car, i'm looking into getting one for myself as my first car now.

If this happened to me i would feel so sh!te.
    Really sorry to hear about it.

Thanks guys!

They gave me a 08 Opel Astra for the week which isn't too bad I guess!

I had only just paid off that car, it took me three years!! I guess I will have to re-join the motor ladder again although I am hearing its next to impossible at the moment to get a car loan as the banks aren't giving out anything.

I've also been advised that if it is a write off I will be doing well if the insurance company offer me 4000 for it. I was considering selling it for about twice that next summer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Sorry to hear that Py, its kinda like losing a testicle really..am sure you will get a new improved motor on the go soon though!.

How did the cops come to tell you it was stolen though?. Did you not notice it gone or did you already report it stolen and then they found it?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Thanks guys!

They gave me a 08 Opel Astra for the week which isn't too bad I guess!

I had only just paid off that car, it took me three years!! I guess I will have to re-join the motor ladder again although I am hearing its next to impossible at the moment to get a car loan as the banks aren't giving out anything.

I've also been advised that if it is a write off I will be doing well if the insurance company offer me 4000 for it. I was considering selling it for about twice that next summer :(

Py,
    Don't worry tooo much. You would never have gotten twice that much for your MX5 - the car market is on the floor and they'll give you the omsp value of the car,no more.
    The good news is that you'll buy plenty of metal with 4k these day....so, its all relative!
    like you can have this for that kinda money with a hard top too!
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mazda/MX-5/1.8-***S/200903191524091/advert
    or just in from japan, this http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mazda/MX-5/Roadster/200850191183430/advert
    Chin up - it'll all pan out for you!