Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dudes wearing scarves

• 14-01-2009 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭

What do you think? I'm talking about wearing a scarf just over either a jumper or t shirt, not with your coat. I'm a bit partial to it.

I'm going to pretend the PLO scarf look doesn't exist so I'm not including that. But I do like a good scarf wrapped around my neck, when I'm wearing a t shirt, I think its a good look and also keeps you cosy. Doesn't necessarily have to be a wool scarf; I quite like one I have which is a big soft cotton one, like wearing a t shirt!

Well?

What do you think? I'm talking about wearing a scarf just over either a jumper or t shirt, not with your coat. I'm a bit partial to it.

I'm going to pretend the PLO scarf look doesn't exist so I'm not including that. But I do like a good scarf wrapped around my neck, when I'm wearing a t shirt, I think its a good look and also keeps you cosy. Doesn't necessarily have to be a wool scarf; I quite like one I have which is a big soft cotton one, like wearing a t shirt!

Well?

No offence meant here - are you gay? Cause it's a bit of a stereotypical gay look.
    I mean, scarves are just hassle really. You wear them when it's cold and put them away when you don't need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

I'd be confused by someone wearing it with a T-Shirt...Scarves are for when you're really cold, don't think they are an extra accessory.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

No I'm not gay but I know what you mean...I like to play around with stereotypes, like mixing punk with preppy. The scarf thing, I just think its a nice look, as an accessory. Now I don't go around the house with one on, but if I'm out and wearing one I might not take it off. I see plenty of guys do the same, and they're not gay either. Its like wearing a hat or jewellery or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭amz5

It is one of least favourite looks for men in bars. It looks awful when they've taken their jacket off and have left the scarf on. Yuck! :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭smares

love scarfs on men but i cant say it would look good with a t-shirt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

The PLO/Keffiyeh scarf look is for muppets alright, culturally and politically ignorant. If you want to look the real deal head off to the Middle East tomorrow, don't wear a highstreet knock-off.

Myself, I'd always wear a scarf in winter. Nice tartan Hibernian F.C (No team markings, just the colours) Tartan scarf from Edinburgh thats all lovely and lambswool and Scottish. The other is a plain black Fred Perry, small laurel on the bottom. MASSSSSSIVE scarf, this time of year its a godsend. They look good too. Agree theres a time to take them OFF though!

Best of luck taking either away from me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

PrivateEye wrote: »
    The PLO/Keffiyeh scarf look is for muppets alright, culturally and politically ignorant. If you want to look the real deal head off to the Middle East tomorrow, don't wear a highstreet knock-off.
    I'd hazard that you're possibly reading too much into it if you're seeing it as a political statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

Pet hates of mine #425: Men wearing a scarf tied with a European loop (especially with no jacket on).

If you had a silk scarf over your t-shirt you might pull it off, but it would still look better with a jacket over it, mod-style. But please, whatever the scarf, tie it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Partial to a nice scarf under my coat.

There's nothing more retarded looking than some idiot in a T-shirt and a fecking scarf!....

it's like going out in shorts and a duffel coat wtf like

it's either cold enough for coat+scarf

or warm enough for a t-shirt...

work it out like..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Like these?

image1xl.jpgimage1xl.jpgimage1xl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

jesus christ all mighty like...

there was no need for that at all..

I'm loving all these comments! :-)

BTW, is a European style when you double it over and then loop it through? Some scarves work best that way, and some scarves work best done in a "mod" style, I know what ya mean.

ntlbell wrote: »

Welcome to the world of fashion! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I dusted off my scarf recently because its bloody cold out. That the only reason you should wear one, end of.

Sean_K wrote: »
    I'd hazard that you're possibly reading too much into it if you're seeing it as a political statement.

Its a modern Cliche Guevara
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keffiyeh#Westerners_in_keffiyeh

It IS a political symbol, that may have been depoliticised over time because it became a piece of mainstream Western culture. The vast majority of the scarves are made in China and not Palestine, they look ridicolous and shouldv'e died a death with the 'military look' that nobody really misses...

BTW, is a European style when you double it over and then loop it through? .

Yep.

Some scarves work best that way

No they don't. Ever.

Well 90% of men and women walking around have their scarves tied that way...

I think the last word on the subject should be....:

Stewart1_ScarfA.jpg

It's up to us 10% to put them right in their way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

Well 90% of men and women walking around have their scarves tied that way...

This is why statistics are broken.

"....nothing but lies, damn lies, and statistics" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭aloevera

ntlbell wrote: »

im laughing hard at these comments....

ok a scarf on a man:

yes: if to be worn with a jacket and shirt - literally for its purpose.
    no: if to be worn in as seen in the pics above. nothing worse than a feminine looking man!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I wear my scarves with the so-called 'European loop'. Anybody who thinks too much about scarf tying preferences may have too much time on their hands.

Wouldn't really wear one without a jacket myself but each to their own. If you want to wear it, do it. No need to seek permission from others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

I wear scarfs a lot but never with a t-shirt only. But that said, it could look great on some people and if you wanna chance it..... go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Cliche Guevara

*APPLAUSE!!!*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭professorpete

Anyone remember "Pete" from eastenders years ago, he used to tie his footy scarf like a neck tie, now he'd be turning in his fictional grave if he saw the young folk of today with their fancy european knots and scarves with t-shirts..

Although I started not taking my scarf off when indoors recently through chronic laziness/ the cold, but I couldn't shake the feeling that I looked like a dope!! Ah well, we do have a lot of time on our hands don't we!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

If I'm cold I'll wear a jacket. I've a fairly decent one so there's no need for any scarf..

Semele wrote: »
    *APPLAUSE!!!*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1RE4E0KLXrY
    I don't come up with this things on my own, shockingly enough.:rolleyes:

The scarf joins the German military jacket look, Che cap and Baader Meinhof t-shirt on the long list of 'no seriously, how the **** did that happen?' I remember seeing actual Palestinians laugh at Central Bank kids wearing them before a demo there a few weeks back, mega lols.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Were I am everybody wears scarves , men, womon ,old people,children,teens, and as as much a fashion item as any other piece of clothing .As long as it's not something from the flat cap ,north east of England Andy capp era

andy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

if i'm cold i'll wear a scarf with a jacket or hoody.

it's a bit ****ing stupid wearing just a t-shirt and then a scarf tbh.

it's like women who complain it's cold but yet wear mini skirts in winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭compsys

Eh, each to their own. Is it really that big of a deal if a bloke wears a scarf? If men all over Europe and other parts of the world can do it there's no reason why an Irish bloke can't. And besides, it's winter and it's f*cking cold out there! The whole, 'uh, it looks gay' thing is so... well... gay. It's reasons like these Irish men are probably the worst dressers in the world!

compsys wrote: »
    Eh, each to their own. Is it really that big of a deal if a bloke wears a scarf? If men all over Europe and other parts of the world can do it there's no reason why an Irish bloke can't. And besides, it's winter and it's f*cking cold out there! The whole, 'uh, it looks gay' thing is so... well... gay. It's reasons like these Irish men are probaably the worst dressers in the world!

+1, a lot of guys are still stuck in the GAA shirt with stone-wash jeans and the NIke Air Max runners scene! Its a confidence thing, a lot of guys don't have the balls to wear something that's diffferent (of course its not really different, they just cant stray away from their safe zone). And if any lad says what I wear is ghey, I take it to mean I look good and they're jealous! Boo Ya!!:p And most of these guys have no idea how much attention girls pay to what we wear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Koushki

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    No offence meant here - are you gay? Cause it's a bit of a stereotypical gay look.
    I mean, scarves are just hassle really. You wear them when it's cold and put them away when you don't need them.

+1.
    Rojo is a ride.

Eh, each to their own. Is it really that big of a deal if a bloke wears a scarf? If men all over Europe and other parts of the world can do it there's no reason why an Irish bloke can't. And besides, it's winter and it's f*cking cold out there! The whole, 'uh, it looks gay' thing is so... well... gay. It's reasons like these Irish men are probably the worst dressers in the world!

I'm all for the wearing of a scarf. It's how you wear it that I take issue with, what with having too much time on my hands to think about these things.

NUTZZ wrote: »
    +1, a lot of guys are still stuck in the GAA shirt with stone-wash jeans and the NIke Air Max runners scene! Its a confidence thing, a lot of guys don't have the balls to wear something that's diffferent (of course its not really different, they just cant stray away from their safe zone). And if any lad says what I wear is ghey, I take it to mean I look good and they're jealous! Boo Ya!!:p And most of these guys have no idea how much attention girls pay to what we wear!

Amen brother! I am proud to state then, that I officially Have The Balls!

People who think "it looks gay" are probably the same kind of guys who are shocked and appalled when they see another guy wearing a pink shirt or something in a bright colour. As they try to discreetly wipe the Guinness stain off their Celtic jersey...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

Amen brother! I am proud to state then, that I officially Have The Balls!

People who think "it looks gay" are probably the same kind of guys who are shocked and appalled when they see another guy wearing a pink shirt or something in a bright colour. As they try to discreetly wipe the Guinness stain off their Celtic jersey...

You're talking about one type of person there.

It's not about having the balls or looking gay (I don't think it does), but rather it looks like you're trying too hard and it's pretentious to a degree. Also it's bloody pointless wearing a scarf over a shirt, indoors?! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

KTRIC wrote: »
    I dusted off my scarf recently because its bloody cold out. That the only reason you should wear one, end of.

Absolutely!

Mr. Frost wrote: »
    You're talking about one type of person there.

It's not about having the balls or looking gay (I don't think it does), but rather it looks like you're trying too hard and it's pretentious to a degree. Also it's bloody pointless wearing a scarf over a shirt, indoors?! :rolleyes:

Why? Isn't it like wearing a cap? Isn't wearing a chain around the neck or those leathery things on your wrist pointless? Or rings? Earrings?

Being pretentious is subjective - one man's pretention is another man's run of the mill. IF I wear a scarf indoors its because it feels nice on my neck, is cosy when its cool, and if its a nice scarf, then its a nice scarf.

And if I wanted to wear a cap or a hat it would be for the same reasons. I used to wear a lot of woolly hats (indoors) and I remember one person asking "is your head cold?" Which amused me. But that was their point of view. Someone else could've just gone "grand, nice hat". I mean, there's Jay Kay, Badly Drawn Boy, The Edge... but we're talking about scarves here, not hats.

I haven't worn my scarf in such a way for a while but if I feel like it, I will. And as long as it makes ME feel good then that's all that matters.

Good discussion this! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 markkeane

Wear it when it's cold. Don't do the European knot, too feminine.
    Not with a t-shirt. too girly.
    Your exposing your feminine side if you do.

markkeane wrote: »
    Wear it when it's cold. Don't do the European knot, too feminine.
    Not with a t-shirt. too girly.
    Your exposing your feminine side if you do.

You can balance this out by beating your chest with your fists regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Totally agree and a very Irish concept of thinking about the practicallitys of fashion wear .Europeans and other races dont wear scarves because a certain cleb is wearing them .It's because in cold weather common sense tells them to do so .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

People with a hang up over guys wearing scarves are idiots. I have plenty of scarves and enjoy wearing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I don't normally wear a scarf over a t-shirt when outside because generally if it's cold enough to wear a scarf then I'd also be wearing a jacket. But if I went indoors somewhere where it was warm but not too hot I'd probably take off my jacket and leave the scarf on. I like wearing scarves (normal ones, not those Keffiyah ones) and I couldn't care less whether ot not people thinks it makes me look gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭siobhanoh

I think its "all in" for guys to wear scarves, sure just have a look around barcode or velvet (two VERY warm places) and loads of the fellas are wearing scarves.

Personally I think it looks really well, I like when it looks like he makes an effort into his outfit, but I could understand if people think it is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Aidric wrote: »
    People with a hang up over guys wearing scarves are idiots. I have plenty of scarves and enjoy wearing them.

LOL.

That is all.

I was at a concert the other night full of guys with the same haircut all wearing scarves. Never laughed so hard in my life.

In retrospect the laugh was probably on me for paying to go to said venue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I love scarves on guys, esp the jeans, tshirt, blazer and scarf look - works for me!:)

o1s1n wrote: »
    LOL.

That is all.

I was at a concert the other night full of guys with the same haircut all wearing scarves. Never laughed so hard in my life.

In retrospect the laugh was probably on me for paying to go to said venue.

Some guys are into fashion. Other guys are into pretending to be soldiers with toy guns which shoot little plastic balls at each other (pretty hilarious now that I think of it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭macy9

Wear your scarf....but just not with a short sleeved t-shirt. This look was in a while back but when you see actors off Corrie doing it then you know its going out of fashion.

Keep it masculine baby, its all good!

macy9 wrote: »
    Wear your scarf....but just not with a short sleeved t-shirt. This look was in a while back but when you see actors off Corrie doing it then you know its going out of fashion.

Keep it masculine baby, its all good!

Jaysis. I didn't know the Corrie thing. That's kind of done it for me! :-)

But I am with square_igloo, I sort of do that as well. Eventually I'll take it off.