Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

crisp & teabags into Oz

• 13-01-2009 11:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

Hey there folks

Can I take crisps and teabags through customs without declaring them?

Flying Melbourne via Sydney.

Thanks in advance:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

i'm pretty sure you can't, you have to declare any food, they're REALLY strict on this and will fine the jaysus out of you if they catch you with food.
    By the way, you can buy crisps and tea here you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

As far as I know if its commercially produced and packaged they are good to go. I would declare it anyway. They will most definitely take a quick look at at it and tell you its fine. If its loose and it looks like it just came off a plant expect to get a rap over the knuckles and have it taken off you. The Irish Times (where a group of us Boardies are meeting this Friday) sell Irish tea and chippies but are a bit on the expensive side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭coralcathy

thanks folks.

not for me taking for friends .......:p

Tell them to get themselves down to The Irish Times. They sell Bewleys tea and Tayto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

what about lyons tea? though i think i still have enough here to keep me going a couple months...

yeah, OP, basically on the card, they ask all the different categories, i know in the dairy category, if i have chocolate, ill always just tick 'yes', they'll ask what i have, i tell them and they let me keep it and move on, so dont worry about declaring it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I would think unopened crisps are OK, but I'm not so sure about tea.
    If in doubt, declare them and the worst that can happen is they'll say no you can't take that. Much worse to not declare them and then have them discovered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭missannik

Declare the tea, at least. They got a bit funny with me when I brought some from England, they had to check the ingredients on the computer, as some tea is not allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Keep the packages sealed, and declare them at customs. They'll mostly be fine as LONG AS YOU TELL THEM. I brought a few bottles of artisan vinagrette's in last time and they didn't care a fig because I'd queued at customs for an hour to tell them I had them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Ozeire

Hey coralcathy

That shouldn't be a problem. I've brought such things as Irish bread and cheese into Oz . They had a great laugh with me saying “We do have bread and cheese here to” . My reply was "But it doesn't taste any thing like this".

Just make sure you declare you have food on the landing card. Customs aren't as bad as everyone says. If you’re honest with them they will be ok with you. It’s when you try to hide stuff and they find it then things can be bad. Ireland is on a list that most things are ok coming from here as log as they are in their sealed packaging.

Check out What I Can't take into Australia

Also another option is to check out for Irish things in Oz is

Tasteireland.com.au

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

i was stopped with a sports bag that had nothing but king/meanies and lyons

they just gave me a warning and told me i could of been fined and let me go through...

i guess it depends but you won't get them though the scanners so they will be found it's just a case of will they do anything about it or not some will some wont

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Customs are pretty cool over here yet they do have their head switched on.

I came through and had a suitcase full of prescription drugs (thank you thailand) and I declared them on a card they gave me on the plane.

Unfortunately the card says something like 'Have you got any firearms, narcotics or medicines" so reluctantly I ticked the box. After being processed with my Visa I was approached by security and I told them they were prescription medicines for an ear infection and a few other drugs like Neurofen. I just said I'd rather declare it so I wasn't breaking any laws.

They were cool with it and didn't even open my suitcase.

Oh I've also sent teabags and crisps through the mail, they opened a pack and resealed it but it got through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

My advise is declare them.

They don't mind you making a mistake and bringing something in that you shouldn't once you declare it.

If you don't declare and they find out they get pissed and can fine you. Not nice when you just arrive.

So keep them easily accessible i.e on top of one of your bags. So you can show them if asked.

I know crisps are fine as we brought some on our trip and declared them. I don't know about tea, but I presume once it is store bought and therefore has been processed properly there won't be a problem.

Once again. DECLARE! Watch an episode of Border Patrol (on Living) to see how serious they are about these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Ozeire

Just for anyone who hasn't seen the incoming passenger cards here they are

passenger%20card.jpg

Front of incoming Passenger Card

passenger%20card%20back.jpg

Back of incoming Passenger card

Both can be downloaded from Customs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

As said above, just declare them and you'll be fine.

Actually, on that note, anybody flying into Australia - bring your own pen. That way you can complete a bunch of the required entry paperwork on the plane yourself instead of having to wait for a pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

coralcathy wrote: »
    Hey there folks

Can I take crisps and teabags through customs without declaring them?

Flying Melbourne via Sydney.

Thanks in advance:)

Why would you want to do that when you can buy them at

http://www.tasteireland.com.au/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Miss No Name

I have found that if you tick the 'declare' box your queue can be less than if you have nothing to declare. I brought cheese over from New Zealand and I was so nervous going through customs, I felt like waving my form around and telling everyone in a uniform that I was declaring food - please don't arrest me. :o
    I've obviously watched WAY too much TV!:p

But it was find - they barely even looked at it and just sent me through skipping the xray machine. Talking to people afterwards and they told me that they sometimes buy food on purpose in order to declare in order to skip the long 'nothing to declare' queues.

Great tip Miss No Name.

Have a cookie! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Sammag

You're mad to be bringing any Irish crisps of tea into Oz - not for the customs issue but most can be bought here either online or direct from a plethora of the UK and Irish food stores which are now very common over here. I spent a small fortune on buying silly sweets, chocolate and crisps before Xmas online only to find there is a store bigger than your average Spar 3 KM from my house in Melbourne CBD - operating for the 3 years I have been down under. (Man did I stock up on Bacon and scampi Fries!:D).

They have everything - any choco bar or packet of Taytos/Walkers/Smiths. They have Odlums quick bread mix packets etc and a gazillion other foods from 'home' readily available here. That aforementioned http://www.tasteireland.com.au even sells Irish White pudding/sausages and dairy goods like Kerrygold butter and the ilk which they deliver straight to your door in a matter of 24 hours if the recipient in based in metro Sydney. Spend your money on something your mates genuinely can't buy here.

yeah, but they're not usually exactly all that cheap ^
    and not everyone can buy stuff online.

yeah, but they're not usually exactly all that cheap ^
    and not everyone can buy stuff online.

I was buying my stuff in my local corner shop in Croydon Sydney, It was supplied by tatse of Ireland and yes it is expensive but we only bought for special occasions.

Better than someone bringing Tayto in their suitcase and is in **** by the time you get to Australia.

well i could take or leave the tayto... lyons teabags are an essential part of most of my days. and i did bring them over to nz, and oz, with no problems once i declared it was just normal teabags in there.

some real Irish pubs sell Irish tea bags under the counter, I kid you not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭otto_26

What is it about the irish ye all head over 2 OZ for a few months and cant live without Barrys or Tayto grow up will ye.. Im Irish and lived in OZ for 2 years and have to say i was embarrassed by the Irish over there. I lived with 4 irish over in OZ and one of them had Barry's Tea sent over from Ireland so i said ill make the tea. Went into the Kitchen and made 4 cups of tea with australian lipton tea came out and said theres 4 cups of barrys tea for ye.... Did they say thats not barry's???? no all i heard was OOOO YAAAA ive missed that mmmmmm thats a real cup of tea i had 2 go into the bathroom 2 laugh my ass off... summed up the irish in OZ to perfection for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Legend100

otto_26 wrote: »
    What is it about the irish ye all head over 2 OZ for a few months and cant live without Barrys or Tayto grow up will ye.. Im Irish and lived in OZ for 2 years and have to say i was embarrassed by the Irish over there. I lived with 4 irish over in OZ and one of them had Barry's Tea sent over from Ireland so i said ill make the tea. Went into the Kitchen and made 4 cups of tea with australian lipton tea came out and said theres 4 cups of barrys tea for ye.... Did they say thats not barry's???? no all i heard was OOOO YAAAA ive missed that mmmmmm thats a real cup of tea i had 2 go into the bathroom 2 laugh my ass off... summed up the irish in OZ to perfection for me!

My girlfriend tried that on me once with own brand Tesco cornflakes....needless to say her plan did not work:rolleyes:

Thats funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

summed up the irish in OZ to perfection for me!

Lying ****ers who promise you Barrys but serve you Lipton ****... :mad:

I did laugh though very good:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭universe777

See that wouldn't happen with Lyons tea because Lipton and Barry's tea both taste like sh*te, Lyons is very nice.
    Put any food through the post, make sure to declare it on the customs declaration label and it'll be fine. I sent over a box of stuff on my last trip to Ireland.
    If you buy Irish stuff from Irish shops online here it'll cost a fortune for the smallest box of tea, not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭ellaq

We bring crisps and teabags into Australia every year. Just declare them. They seem to be used to the teabags in Perth, they just asked my mother were they Lyons.

Make sure you pack your food items somewhere they are easy to access because they will want to see them. Declare everything and you will have no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

What is it about the irish ye all head over 2 OZ for a few months and cant live without Barrys or Tayto grow up will ye.. Im Irish and lived in OZ for 2 years and have to say i was embarrassed by the Irish over there.

You you bring up a 2 year old thread to rant about barrys tea and how you are embarrassed over people liking tea ... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Sorry to drag this up again but is there any shops in Melbourne selling Irish goods. In particular chef brown sauce.
    I know of taste Ireland website but don't fancy paying 15 dollars delivery for a bottle of sauce.

You can buy brown sauce in Safeway (Woolworths). I can get both YR and HP sauce over in Safeway or Coles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Seen that, but its no chef :p
    Wouldn't mind a few Lyons either. Just i know there was a few shops about Sydney that sold stuff. Haven't noticed any in Melbourne yet

hussey wrote: »
    You you bring up a 2 year old thread to rant about barrys tea and how you are embarrassed over people liking tea ... :confused:

I didn't rant about barry's tea or am I embarrassed about people liking tea :rolleyes:

I ranted about how paddies go to oz for a few months and talk rubbish about how much they miss irish tea. Pretending they like barry's tea!!

What difference does it make about how old a thread is?? are there time limits or something! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

I didn't rant about barry's tea or am I embarrassed about people liking tea :rolleyes:

I ranted about how paddies go to oz for a few months and talk rubbish about how much they miss irish tea. Pretending they like barry's tea!!

What difference does it make about how old a thread is?? are there time limits or something! :rolleyes:

2 years first time around and this time 5 months, at least your getting faster!

If no one has posted in a Thread in two years (or even 5 months) its safe to say the thread is dead. You are commenting on opinions given by people ages ago and there opinion may have changed.

Nothing wrong with missing the things you grew up with and the mind is a powerful thing what you caused by saying it was Barry's and giving them another brand is the placebo effect. Plus I don't remember the taste of barrys its been that long since I've had it now, so if someone told me it was Barry's and gave me Lipton I would accept that they hadn't been a dick and gave me what they said they would.

I hate Irish people being refereed to as "paddies" its an ethnic slur. Im Irish I'm not a Paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If you don't like Barrys tea thats fine. But why do you care if somebody else does?
    I go to the shops and have the option of Barrys or Lipton or whatever, I don't mind paying the tiny amount extra for Barrys because I prefer it. Just like any other food or drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Doc wrote: »

I hate Irish people being refereed to as "paddies" its an ethnic slur. Im Irish I'm not a Paddy.
    Thanks Paddy for highlighting that, will try to keep it in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭In Exile

How is it rubbish? I'm not a big fan of Barry's Tea, don't see much difference between it and the Liptons ones marked as "Irish Breakfast", however I do miss Lyons Gold Blend.

If I feel like a really good cup of tea, I would often drive to wherever I can get it because it is what I like and what I want.

I often wonder why people come to the other side of the world and spend their year in an Irish pub. I don't do it, but it is not my place to judge anybody who does. However every now and again I love to do it.

Who are you to judge how people keep their links to home? However tedious you think they are or not? Me? I like to make proper bacon and cabbage now and again or go to an Irish pub and get a big dinner that reminds me of home. It gives me that warm fuzzy feeling and nothing can beat that.

Others like I said like to be surrounded by Irishness and Irish people all the time. And then there are others who think because they don't have anything to do with where they are from then everyone else should act that way too.

Maybe your way of dealing with being away from home is to laugh at other people who like to keep the link to what they grew up with and loved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

catbear wrote: »

As I said my name is not Paddy and you are not funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

catbear wrote: »

Infraction for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Sorry if I offended, I just haven't experienced any abuse in my time in Australia because I'm Irish. If anything it's been a real boon and has opened lots of doors for me. I guess some people have had different experiences.

2 years first time around and this time 5 months, at least your getting faster!

If no one has posted in a Thread in two years (or even 5 months) its safe to say the thread is dead. You are commenting on opinions given by people ages ago and there opinion may have changed.

Ha Ha really this thread is dead is that why your leaving a comment!!:rolleyes:

Well lucky enough if people's options have changed we can all discuss them on this discussion website!!:rolleyes:

I'm sure they will find my comments just like you did! although hard to do if a thread is dead :rolleyes:

Nothing wrong with missing the things you grew up with and the mind is a powerful thing what you caused by saying it was Barry's and giving them another brand is the placebo effect.

I was sick of listening to them say wow they missed barry's tea so much and how they can always tell when it's barry's tea they are drinking because they can tell the difference that's why I did what I did :rolleyes:
    Plus I don't remember the taste of barrys its been that long since I've had it now, so if someone told me it was Barry's and gave me Lipton I would accept that they hadn't been a dick and gave me what they said they would.

Why can't Irish people just go travelling to oz and these places for the few months that their there and just enjoy what the place has to offer. Talking rubbish about how the Irish tea, chocolate and crisps are inferior to any other countries. I was sick of it and proved my point with them.

Mellor wrote: »
    If you don't like Barrys tea thats fine. But why do you care if somebody else does?
    I go to the shops and have the option of Barrys or Lipton or whatever, I don't mind paying the tiny amount extra for Barrys because I prefer it. Just like any other food or drink.

I love Barry's tea.

I don't care if someone else likes it.

I care that Irish people who go travelling always have to start talking rubbish about how our Irish tea, chocolate and crisps are inferior to other countries they are not. They claimed Barry's was so nice they could tell the difference that's why I did what I did because they couldn't tell the difference becuase it's just rubbish talk.

In Exile wrote: »
    How is it rubbish? I'm not a big fan of Barry's Tea, don't see much difference between it and the Liptons ones marked as "Irish Breakfast", however I do miss Lyons Gold Blend.

If I feel like a really good cup of tea, I would often drive to wherever I can get it because it is what I like and what I want.

That's great and fair play you like it. My problem is the Irish people claiming Barry's is inferior to other brands just because they like it and it's Irish and how they have to make that point to every single Australian and any other person they meet in oz that's what I thought was rubbish.
    Who are you to judge how people keep their links to home? However tedious you think they are or not? Me? I like to make proper bacon and cabbage now and again or go to an Irish pub and get a big dinner that reminds me of home. It gives me that warm fuzzy feeling and nothing can beat that.

I'm not judging anyone I'm simply saying the Irish crowd I met were always talking about how the Irish products were superior to others because they were Irish brands. That's why I did what I did. And I didn't just find this with one group of Irish they were nearly all talking the same rubbish.
    Others like I said like to be surrounded by Irishness and Irish people all the time. And then there are others who think because they don't have anything to do with where they are from then everyone else should act that way too.

That's fine just can't be listening to the Irish claiming the above.
    Maybe your way of dealing with being away from home is to laugh at other people who like to keep the link to what they grew up with and loved?

I must admit I did find it funny when I heard the O YA THAT'S WHAT I CALL A CUP OF TEA rubbish! we all like to keep the link doesn't mean we need to talk rubbish.

In fairness I thought that was hilarious, the tea is probably from the same plantation anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

I love Barry's tea.

I care that Irish people who go travelling always have to start talking rubbish about how our Irish tea, chocolate and crisps are inferior to other countries they are not. They claimed Barry's was so nice they could tell the difference that's why I did what I did because they couldn't tell the difference becuase it's just rubbish talk.
    Dairy milk in aus is NO WAY near as good as dairy milk from Ireland.
    Dairy milk in aus has a higher oil content than that of Ireland. Just read the ingredients
    Just because you cannot tell the difference doesn't mean everyone else cannot either.
    Your i gave them Lipton' test is flawed. If you want to prove it do a blind taste, give them two cups prepared the same way and tell them it's a test.
    It might taste the same when they have no idea they are being tricked but if they know it's a trick at least they can judge for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I love Barry's tea.

You love Barry's tea, but you say there's no difference????

Just because your friends didn't notice doesn't mean it's rubbish talk. I don't doubt some people can't tell the difference, but I've met lots of people who can. Your story doesnt price anything really.

The chocolate here is very different. Different ingredients. I think its pretty bad. I'd find it strange that you can't tell the difference

You should probably google the word inferior, it doesn't make much sense how you used it.

Mellor wrote: »
    You love Barry's tea, but you say there's no difference????

Just because your friends didn't notice doesn't mean it's rubbish talk. I don't doubt some people can't tell the difference, but I've met lots of people who can. Your story doesnt price anything really.

The chocolate here is very different. Different ingredients. I think its pretty bad. I'd find it strange that you can't tell the difference

You should probably google the word inferior, it doesn't make much sense how you used it.

Yes love it I also love lyon's tea and lipton tea and any other kind of tea.

My Friends were talking rubbish maybe not other people, but when my friends say they can tell the difference but really can't then they were talking rubbish.

Yes the chocolate does taste different I actually liked the Australian chocolate more, when I suggested this to my friends I was looked at as if I had 2 heads! :rolleyes: that's my problem other nations seem to not even think about it, but Irish people seem to have more of a patriotic feeling towards Irish goods rather then actually liking it more. Well my friends anyway. Pure rubbish.

hussey wrote: »
    Dairy milk in aus is NO WAY near as good as dairy milk from Ireland.
    Dairy milk in aus has a higher oil content than that of Ireland. Just read the ingredients
    Just because you cannot tell the difference doesn't mean everyone else cannot either.
    Your i gave them Lipton' test is flawed. If you want to prove it do a blind taste, give them two cups prepared the same way and tell them it's a test.
    It might taste the same when they have no idea they are being tricked but if they know it's a trick at least they can judge for themselves.

Why is it flawed, why do they need to know their being tested for it to be credible? If they can tell the difference then they can tell the difference whether they know they are being tested or not simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Irish people seem to have more of a patriotic feeling towards Irish goods rather then actually liking it more.

Whatever about the rest, this is true.

Fair enough, Irish chocolate to me is a lot creamier and therefore nicer but I don't go all argumentative and nazi when someone says it's just alright.

Same goes for tea, and even then is there really much of a difference between Barry's and whatever breakfast tea is here? Probably not.

There's liking something better and there's being a prick about other people's tastes because they don't happen to crave a can of Club Orange, and I've met plenty of Irish here who are the latter.