Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RPG thread, anyoneses?

• 13-01-2009 10:46pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭

As per the Podcast we did yesterday, the mods are considering making a thread in which we'll be roleplaying as creatures of the night, as vampires, werewolves, etc.

It's a wild idea we had one night and I kind of like it.

But it's just an idea, I'd like to put it out there.

I can perhaps seeing it taking some people out of the Lair a bit, which might be interesting.

Any ideas, if people would be interested in it, how it could be run, will be considered by meself ( I've had more experience with running RPGs than the other lads).

Shoot!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I think it might be a good idea to explain what specifically this will mean to some of the folks here who wouldn't know a LARP from AD&D :D

The idea is that you become a character and only post *as* that character in their own particular, um, err, * SDooM shouts "Idiom!", YES! Thank you Patsy, idiom. So Orestes will shuffle about a bit and look for brains to eat etc...

We're not sure where the characters are going to "start" from or how they will know each other. YOU have the option of suggesting these things. It could start of "as a dark and stormy night" or maybe even all Assassins Creed-like with you being in a hi-tech virtual reality facility where we're all meeting at random to be submersed into a sureal world of monsters (with potential for problems with the software that controls everything and mixing people up!:o)

A note on moderations of this:
    I don't see this as being something that should *have* to be moderated per sé, but normal Nocturnal Forum and boards.ie rules will apply. The mods wil occasionally dip in to maybe steer things along if there's no movement, but I don't think that'll be a big concern.

So lets be having ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I'm a level 24 paladin knight with mithril armour, onyx sword and ring of dexterity...

*rolls a double six*

*fails leadership test*
    *flees*

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Should probably take place in some place where supernatural creatures can meet but not fight... like a magic no fly zone of some kind. :)

I've no desire for it to fall to rule mongering or decision making, so we should try to avoid "combat" unless it's for humour value.

That said if people would rather take part in some tightly structured "session" where I am telling a story and people were taking part, we could too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Gloom

Yes, good idea.

Perhaps a Nocturnal "Street/Club" or something where all sorts hang out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

what are you planing ?
    A merry meet in an elysium of some sort or an actual structured game of sorts ?

Tbh there is a forum for that with a sla game running atm which is open to other's
    starting up games and threads.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    what are you planing ?
    A merry meet in an elysium of some sort or an actual structured game of sorts ?

Tbh there is a forum for that with a sla game running atm which is open to other's
    starting up games and threads.

I was not aware of that!

I haven't decided if it'll be an elysium thing or not. Elysium would be much easier to mod though.

(Elysium is a place where vampires meet in peace where they are not allowed fight but often politic.)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I take off my robe and wizard hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

*raises hand*
    I've ideas,oh i have many many ideas.

I wouldn't mind sharing these and working with someone who actually plays the games(while i look at how i would change,correct,mutate it etc)

SDooM wrote: »
    I was not aware of that!

First rolling of a crit fail right there.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=426
    Is the rpg thread sub forum.

I haven't decided if it'll be an elysium thing or not. Elysium would be much easier to mod though.

(Elysium is a place where vampires meet in peace where they are not allowed fight but often politic.)

Pretty much due to it having standing orders and guards or you could opt for something like Lorn's bar from Angel.

Galvasean wrote: »
    I'm a level 24 paladin knight with mithril armour, onyx sword and ring of dexterity...

*rolls a double six*

*fails leadership test*
    *flees*
    I take off my robe and wizard hat.

Not helping lads, this are serious thread.

* SDooM does a knowledge roll for Boards.ie

All 1's....

SLA industries... I met one of the guys who wrote that, I think, at Corkacon about ten years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

So what would we do in the Elysian fields? Wander around and chat to Russel Crowe?

Galvasean wrote: »
    So what would we do in the Elysian fields? Wander around and chat to Russel Crowe?

Well, that's the big question, isn't it?

Ultimately it'll come down to the people posting in it.

It basically comes down to improvised acting... people will make their own characters, with their own histories, and interact the way those characters would interact with one another.

That, OR I could come up with scenarios the characters would have to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

Sounds interesting.

Kharn wrote: »
    * SDooM does a knowledge roll for Boards.ie

All 1's....

Now now in all fairness some lore has to be passed down and if the tales aren't told
    how are the younglings like these lairlings ment to know.

Yes it seems I may have to contribute to the miseducation of SDoom.
    'Com're lad and let me tell you a thing or two.

See this here place boards is not just founded of a board for quake,
    no no tis far too simple that, sure board.ie is 10 years old but last year
    Gealcon was 20. Ah yes t'be sure I know you know of gealcon.

Well 6 years ago I went to one ( been many a time before) and sure enough
    there was a who's going thread in the rpg forum I had let it be known I'd be about
    and would be wearing my poppy red docs and a group said they'ed be about.

Now one of those who chimed in on the thread was no one more then DeVore himself
    as he was going to be running the charity auction which is and this phrase may be
    a wee bit familar to you, always ran 'For the children' sure at this stage it's raised over 1/4 of a million.

You see this place wasn't just for computer gamers no, no far be it just that
    this place and indeed Gealcon were the brain children of DeVore himself
    who was one of the founding members of the I.G.A. . I've no doubt you've heard'o them over the years.
    Well you see the man's an all round gamer and really there's nowt he's not played, from D&D to magic the gathering, from chess to go to now poker and everything in between from boardgames to charades.

Sure why d'ye think the gathering cards look the way they do ?

Any way back at that Gealcon Dev had wanted to meet me cos at that
    stage in boards every mod was personally know by the admins and I had well
    slipped in and was made mod of the paganism forum. He asked Lemming
    had he seen Thaed , as the nick was back then and Lemming to his surprise
    pointed out a person in poppy red docs who happened to be female.

And that was the first of many conversations about proper gaming that was had
    and while gaming may have moved on over the years and the interests of the admins themselves
    there will always be a section for us rpgers here, rest assured of that.
    It's part of the legacy DeVore has left for us.

Now really I have no idea how you got so lost and wandered that you came to be
    on boards and indeed a mod and ever knew such a haven existed.
    Sign of the times I guess, damn kids not listening to thier elders and elders thinking
    there'd not be much point in passing on the old tales but there things to be learned
    if you just listen lad and ask the right questions of the right people, sure that part of the fun.

I was playing Settlers of Catan and Formula Dé with DeV and one of the other Gaelcon founders last Saturday and we were making a list of games we wanna start going through :D

SLA industries... I met one of the guys who wrote that, I think, at Corkacon about ten years ago...

You mean Dave ? Played a sla rpg slot he ran two years ago at Gealcon it was a riot. Oh and there is no corkcon, there is how ever warpcon in UCC which is in two weeks time and I am soooooo looking forward do going.

You mean Dave ? Played a sla rpg slot he ran two years ago at Gealcon it was a riot.

That was my first game of SLA and it was indeed a forking riot! Loved it infact. Shoulda joined in that game running on boards, I will the next time!

You mean Dave ? Played a sla rpg slot he ran two years ago at Gealcon it was a riot. Oh and there is no corkcon, there is how ever warpcon in UCC which is in two weeks time and I am soooooo looking forward do going.

Well aware it's called Warpcon... tis humour. :)

Any who, OT...

:P

Dice1lbChessexwithVampireDie.jpg

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I also published PsychoBabble which I wonder if anyone still remembers :)

Its weird to notice how much a part games have played in my life really... they've just always been there.

DeV.

DeVore wrote: »

Its weird to notice how much a part games have played in my life really... they've just always been there.

DeV.

http://irishgamingwiki.com/wiki/Psychobabble

I would hate to think what may have become of you or this country if you had not had such nice distractions. :P

So any more ideas on this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

Sounds interesting but REALLY complicated

rolling of dice and whatnot and other things i have never heard of

DeVore wrote: »

DeV.

No way, really?

I still laugh at the christmas special about santa...

Ais, there'll be no dice. Trust me on this. We'll be making this as simple as possible.

JUST TO MAKE THIS CLEAR
    (and bring this thread back on track)

We're not talking about playing a game, we're talking about taking the "role playing" elements from RPGs and running with that. There won't be a GM as such to steer things along, but we mods may make an occasional *poke* if it goes quiet or somewhere we don't think is gonna work out.

You mean a free form ongoing rpg.

That's exactly it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Well it sounds like super fun :)

I haven't RPed properly in about a year or so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Could be interesting to see how this pans out.

Well what would ye like to see happen? We have our ideas, but we want this to be more for you guys and gals.

Broadly speaking, we're talking Vampires and Werewolves and "the things that go bump in the night" all meeting up and interacting. This could be a bar or a castle in the mists, whatever! We'd love to hear ideas, especially from people who may have never RPed before and so have no pre-conceived notions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Nice one, I'm in!

Now off to create some form of nocturnal gnome based character....... that doesn't steal underpants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

I heard you lot talking about this in the podcast and i fell in love with the idea immediately. ive never RP'd before so i might need a wee bit of guidance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I was always a Call of the Cthulhu fan myself when I was younger.

I wouldn't mind giving this ago....

I could be a gentleman scholar who devotes his time to the hunting of hunchbacks. He is in possession of many arcane texts such as the unholy "Spina Bifida Occulta"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

i vant to be a vampire.....bleah

the-count.jpg

I was always a Call of the Cthulhu fan myself when I was younger.

I wouldn't mind giving this ago....

I could be a gentleman scholar who devotes his time to the hunting of hunchbacks. He is in possession of many arcane texts such as the unholy "Spina Bifida Occulta"

Let it go :D

Well, as there is an RPG form already, I definitely think that if we do this it shoud be heavily noc themed.

Chutulu is a great game but it's very personal and small level in general, I don't think it would work as a (largely unmoderated) online thread.

I'm guessing I am default GM and decision maker. We'll need at least one other at the start and possibly more as time goes on.

I have a small idea, that we could use.

I'd really, really like other people to expand on this. I don't want this to end up an "SDooM" thread, I really want it to be something the Nocturnal forum work on together.

My idea is that late at night, all the creatures of the night meet up in Dublin in a real, well known location. (This is a really standard plot device in RPGs.).

I was thinking a building with genuine history, such as the GPO or the Gate theatre.

We could make a kind of "court", with different characters having different positions.

This is already in play over in BGRH where yore ma's has a barman, etc. Like that.

"Conflict resolution" could be done by a mod... if you want to, for example, steal something off someone, the mod can decide if you managed or not, based on the characters.

Have a think about this. I wold really, really love to hear an idea how we can make this unique. I don't want to be doing something that could (and should) be done elsewhere.

Dublin Castle.
    Collins Barracks ( it closes at 5pm to the public, plans easily advailible, on the luas line, close to rail lines and the phenoix park ).

could i be some sort of pixie/fairy type creature?

Dublin Castle.
    Collins Barracks ( it closes at 5pm to the public, plans easily advailible, on the luas line, close to rail lines and the phenoix park ).

LOL @ the mental image of werewolves catching the luas...

I like Dublin Castle, having been in the Vaults there, and seen the sword of Dublin.
    could i be some sort of pixie/fairy type creature?

I would be disappointed if no one was. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Dublin Castle also has the Poddle River running under it.

800px-Poddle_Opening.jpg

I would be disappointed if no one was. :)

yay
    i has a happy

Dublin Castle also has the Poddle River running under it.

800px-Poddle_Opening.jpg

See, this is the kind of interesting and unusual stuff we could use to make this really good...

We could twist the real nocturnal, dark and spooky history of Ireland into it...

Actually it has an underground moat, were they diverted the river into it and then it was paved over.

http://humphrysfamilytree.com/Sidney/dublin.castle.html
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_Castle
    http://www.dublincastle.ie/maps.html#

Actually it has an underground moat, were they diverted the river into it and then it was paved over.

http://humphrysfamilytree.com/Sidney/dublin.castle.html
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_Castle
    http://www.dublincastle.ie/maps.html#

Very interesting, you learn something new every day.

... still, an even more interesting location for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I had forgotten that actually.

Yeah, the Castle would be one good option certainly, has a huge history, much of it dark, must be potentially some interesting ghosts hanging around there ...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,865 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

Me so want in on this. Count me in as a werewolf.

Very interesting, you learn something new every day.

... still, an even more interesting location for this.

I've used it as a setting before :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Hey gais! wth happened?

this was such a good idea, and we let it die.
    Well i refuse to let it go and say "DooM, Get the defibrillator and revive this thread!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

quadruple yes from me, would love the idea of a rpg vampire & etc thread. it sounds so cool. as long as i can have secret vendettas against people :D:D:D

do you hear me cyberwolf