Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silly ways of saving money?

• 13-01-2009 6:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭

OK now we all know there's some genius ways of saving money in these times of economic doom-and-gloom, but in the AH tradition, do any of ye have any stupid little tips that'll save you money?

Mine is:
    I only take a sh1te in college meaning I spend way less on toilet paper than others :pac:

It's over to you AH...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

JohnCleary wrote: »
    I only take a sh1te in college meaning I spend way less on toilet paper

Jeeeeesus, and i thought i was a scabby student?! What the fook do ya do if ya wake up in the middle of the night dying for one.....run over to college?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

go to the toilet in work you save money on bog roll and get payed (not that i condone that sort of thing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Use grass instead of bog roll silly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Quit your job.

Thats a silly way of saving money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

I kill me family so I get more food

showering in the gym (seperate cubicles) is better and cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Mine is:
    I only take a sh1te in college meaning I spend way less on toilet paper than others :pac:

Steal the bog roll from college stupid........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

showering in the gym (seperate cubicles) is better and cheaper.

very expensive shower though if the gym fees i have seen are anything to go by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Mug old people. They rarely, if ever, fight back.

irish-stew wrote: »
    very expensive shower though if the gym fees i have seen are anything to go by

well i use the gym aswell :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

**** in the shower in the gym and wipe with your towel....eliminates the need for jacks roll altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

sillymoo wrote: »
    Steal the bog roll from college stupid........

Too much hassle as it's in dispencers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Dont buy newspapers anymore, its all on the web and much more.

Too much hassle as it's in dispencers :pac:

hammer? feckin amateur

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Facials: Moisturiser for her for free.
    Swallowing: Sore throat medicine for her for free.
    Bum loving: Removes constipation fast for her. For Free.
    Hand Shenanigans: Works up the arm muscles. For her. For Free.
    Walking around naked: Somewhere for her to hang her clothes. For Free.

Basically anything to do with fapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Cannibalism...
    Students would sell corpses to the hungry to raise funds. Livers, lungs, and other body parts were stolen from dissection rooms to be cooked and served for meals

[Source]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Get some scumbag chick preggers so we can get child support monies.

Then do a baby P on the child so we dont have to spend the money on the little bugger....that is a pretty silly way of getting/saving money

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Then do a baby P on the child so we dont have to spend the money on the little bugger....that is a pretty silly way of getting/saving money
    Not bad and then get sent to jail and get everything free :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

visit my parents around dinner time.. they always make me some.

Not bad and then get sent to jail and get everything free :D

Free room, free food, free hugs. Hell yeah. I never thought of that kind of thing from a knackers perspective before but I can see why most of them are doing that kind of stuff now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Free room, free food, free hugs.

Don't forget the free love..... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Cut a hole in the bottom of your car and go to work fred flinstone style...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Using a condom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Try not spending money, i nearly always have more money when im not spending it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

i think we are doing it now. like who needs to go out on a friday and saturday night when ya can sit in and refresh the boards to see who else isnt going out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

Fit a coin lock on your bathroom door and watch the money roll in, Hint increase income with laxatives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭SaintHubbins

Drinking your own piss. It's supposed to be good for skin problems. I bring a bottle daily to college for when I get thirsty in a lecture. Also, I sell my own **** as manure. Well I would if anyone would buy it.

Re-using a condom

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

None of them silly, but all good:

Internet news, no more over-priced Irish Times/redtops.

Getting almost all my music from online sources (hypem.com for one)

ALWAYS carrying the student card now, the reductions in some places (i.e at the cinema) are huge.

Not buying too much in the clothing dept. anymore, much as I love to waste money here.

DELIGHTED I decided to stay at home when I started college, it really is working out in my favour now. My job is only part-time so this way I'm still doing ok, when many of my mates are already up ****-creek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Learn self hypnosis (preferably online for free) and hypnotise yourself into thinking your pissed before heading out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Living on 3rd floor of apartment complex negates the need for
    heating due to the heat rising from the flats below. ;)

Listening to last.fm, reduces the need to buy music or waste time
    looking for free music.

Buy Dutch Gold.

Furnish your house with stuff from Adverts.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Re-Use Condoms

I kinda did this while in Edinburgh last September on a stag. Kinda.

Scored this fine lady. Bought a box of willy jackets in the club jacks. Got back to my room, I gaggigidied her with my gaggoodidy(with johnny#1).

ahem She needed a breather. Then hopped back on (with johnny#2). However, as I was putting on #2, I realised the fuppin box only had 2 in it. At this point I was thinking ahead you see, and this is where I impressed myself. Even with two days of liquor inside me, I still had the common sense to think logically. With me being a BIG fan of "the morning after the drunken nite" sex, I didn't want to be stuck for protection when I woke up. So when I finished her off :cool: for a second time, I just decided to leave it on. (It is important to point out at this point I did not climax).

Thankfully when I woke from my 2 hour slumber, it was still on. What made it even funnier was that the johnny was black. And flavoured. And scented. There was a distinct smell of liquorish in the air.

Anywho, I tapped her until she woke and johnny#2 was used for act#3. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

pfft, when I was a student we just stole the toilet paper from the uni.

I also used to photocopy textbooks on loan from the library rather than buy them. Required text for class = 80 to 200 bucks. Photocopying and binding it = 20 to 40 bucks. Saved a bundle that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Gotta agree with ya there Fizman, you can't beat the one for the road in the morning. At any cost :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭BaRcOe

Save up the Dublin bus change tickets, ya no when it cost like 1.80 and u just throw in 2 euro coin. imagin saving 1 million of the change tickets u get.

You be richhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Xiney wrote: »
    pfft, when I was a student we just stole the toilet paper from the uni.

I also used to photocopy textbooks on loan from the library rather than buy them. Required text for class = 80 to 200 bucks. Photocopying and binding it = 20 to 40 bucks. Saved a bundle that way.

This is the sort of enginuitive anti-recession genius that got us out of the last recession. Its also one of the reasons why I am worried about the one that is coming/is here.

Before the last recession, Ireland was not in a terrific state economically speaking. A lot of people didnt even notice the recession coming, as things were always bad for them. To this end, just to survive, many parts of society, especially, students came up with thoroughly inventive ways of saving and making money.

Unfortunately, in the past decade or so, irish people never had it so good, and so the new breed of students are not used to economic gloom. For many of them(not all), their idea of saving money is only having starbucks twice a week. To educate them, can I suggest a thread on clever ways of saving money?

*** Note not a silly way of saving money***
    For example, over the past couple of weeks, everytime I sat down on a seat, be it luas, bus, taxi, and especially those low couchs in pubs/hotels/coffee shops, I felt around under the cushions for any money, even 1 and 2 cents. When I got home I put it into an empty Whislkey tin, and when it was full, I counted it out, got the change in the shop and got the money. Cashed in €40 last night, have about another 60 in €20c coins still to go.

A so called silly way of saving money er.... I dont think there are any silly ways of saving money. If it saves money, it aint so silly IMO.

How about using your John-Thomas as a draft excluder to cut down on heating bills? <-- still not silly in my opinion

BaRcOe wrote: »
    Save up the Dublin bus change tickets, ya no when it cost like 1.80 and u just throw in 2 euro coin. imagin saving 1 million of the change tickets u get.

You be richhh

Saving up to a million of them would be silly. They do expire after all, plus the text fades on them.

Cashing them in? Not silly in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭BaRcOe

syklops wrote: »
    Saving up to a million of them would be silly. They do expire after all, plus the text fades on them.

Cashing them in? Not silly in my opinion.

ah yeh ure right,

I hav bn savin em for a while, got around 30x30 cents ones,

around 9 euro, thats a Jaegar bomb or 9 ham burgers in macdonalds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

use sample aftershave in boots instead of buying some.

On that note, take a sample of hair gel and you'll save yourself having to buy the whole bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Run out of tesco with a trolley full of shopping with out paying.

This may actually cost you money when convicted in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Boooooo!! A pox on thou! :(:mad:

BaRcOe wrote: »
    ah yeh ure right,

I hav bn savin em for a while, got around 30x30 cents ones,

around 9 euro, thats a Jaegar bomb or 9 ham burgers in macdonalds!

Cash them in quick before they fade, or expire, or the terms and conditions of their use changes. Such as, "Receipts received on any Tuesday with more than 16mm of rainfall are exempt from refund."

Another handy money saving technique I learnt from some polish friends. Dont buy shorts in the pub, instead buy a bottle of whiskey, and have a shot from it when you go out for a smoke. Make sure there are no staff outside when you do it.

And if your a jager fan like I am, buy the cheap red bull(Blue bear, white shark etc), and a bottle of Jager, and when you get kicked out of the pub, go back to someones gaff, and then do your Jager-bombs.

One Jager-bomb in pub = €9
    So 5 jager-bombs = €45

One bottle of Jagermeister = In celtic whiskey shop its 23.35, probably cheaper elsewhere
    5 cans of Blue Bear et al = About €5
    Total cost = 28.35 - And there will probably be enough Jager left in the bottle for your hang over cure.

No! Do what the pair in belgium did and sell it to someone in the netherlands. In fact if your feeling entrepreneurial, set up a website and sell babies to europeans and get a cut! Call it babeee-bay.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Shower in your clothes in the gym to save on washing powder and electricity for the washing machine.

Shave your head or grow your hair long to save on barber.

Rob booze off sleeping homeless drunks.

Dump your bf/gf just before valentines day to save buying a present. Actually scratch that. Dump em before xmas and take them back after valentines. Saves buying two presents.

Only have anal sex with your gf. Saves buying contraception. Of course make sure neither have an STD.

The Saint wrote: »
    Shower in your clothes in the gym to save on washing powder and electricity for the washing machine.

Shave your head or grow your hair long to save on barber.

Rob booze off sleeping homeless drunks.

Dump your bf/gf just before valentines day to save buying a present. Actually scratch that. Dump em before xmas and take them back after valentines. Saves buying two presents.

Only have anal sex with your gf. Saves buying contraception. Of course make sure neither have an STD.

Note to self, cancel gym membership tomorrow.

In the days when you had to put a euro into the trollies in Dublin Airport, and money was tight, I would get the bus up for the day and collect the trollies and keep the money. Made 50 euro one day. If things get bad, might do same in the Square in Tallaght or somewhere similar.

Note to self, compare cost of contraception versus lube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Wear a hoodie going shopping and fill the pockets.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

sillymoo wrote: »
    Wear a hoodie going shopping and fill the pockets.............

+1 for originality and surprise factor :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

If theres no milk for cereal use water. More refreshing in my opinion and just as filling!

Only go into a music/ dvd shop to make a mental note of things to download, not to buy the actual cd/ dvd.

If you get a cold dont bother bying lemsip or any other medication. A cold isnt that bad and can be best treated by drinking plenty of water..gotten from a tap of course! Also, it strengthens your immune system in the long run to have your body fight the illness unaided by pharmaceuticals.

No filling for lunch sandwiches? Just use butter. Worked for me for throughout primary school.

If you are craving a cup of tea, dont buy one when your out and about. Just wait and make it when you get home. You will appreciated it more after having waited for it, it will probably taste nicer (as the tea you make at home often does!) and of course you will save E1.50/ E2 (whatever the price of a cup out of a deli or whatever is!)

Buy a battery recharger. Saves money in the long run as new batteries can be expensive!

Sneak your own store-bought sweets into the cinema (if you must have a night out!:p)

Obviously, drink as much as you can before heading out to a night club/ pub.

Every so often, chance your arm not paying for the luas ticket (say once every five goes).