Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men

• 13-01-2009 3:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭

Simple Question........

Why does a man take a womans numbers and then never bothers to text or ring?????
    Why don't they just not ask for it in the first place????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Look at how you act and then see what type of lads approach you. There could be a reason why you attract drunken arseholes. Do you drink in Coppers perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

Simple Question........

Why does a man take a womans numbers and then never bothers to text or ring?????
    Why don't they just not ask for it in the first place????

we were drunk and don't even remember you
    we were drunk and can't remember what we chatted about
    the next day we sobered up and our friends told us you were a hound
    we chickened out and thought you only gave the number as a friend type thing
    we have texted/rang loads of women before who never returned our texts or answered the phone so we reckon you'll be no different.

Get the guy's number if you are really interested and text him the following evening. You will prob have more chance of a return of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Aloysius Flyte

I just don't know.

I wish I did.

I'm sorry, I haven't been any help whatsoever, except that I can empathise with your situation.

OR - Another really irritating trait of men.....

Why do they pursue you, send you lots of romantic texts, even buy you presents and then, PUFFF, like magic, they disappear and you never hear from them again. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

who007 wrote: »
    we were drunk and don't even remember you
    we were drunk and can't remember what we chatted about
    the next day we sobered up and our friends told us you were a hound
    we chickened out and thought you only gave the number as a friend type thing
    we have texted/rang loads of women before who never returned our texts or answered the phone so we reckon you'll be no different.

Get the guy's number if you are really interested and text him the following evening. You will prob have more chance of a return of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Put yourself in their shoes, obviously something was good or they might have found someone else, sorry to be blunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I just don't know.

I wish I did.

I'm sorry, I haven't been any help whatsoever, except that I can empathise with your situation.

Why do they pursue you, send you lots of romantic texts, even buy you presents and then, PUFFF, like magic, they disappear and you never hear from them again. :(

Cause sometimes men like flowers too.You're selfish tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭andyournameis

Hello......... This was the next day..... No drink involved then.... when he asked for it:mad:....As one of my friends says he just not that in to you!!!!....
    P.S.... I would never take a guys number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

I just don't know.

I wish I did.

Another thing I hate about men, women and anyone else; SWEEPING GENERALISATIONS.

Ah you're on of those high types. Well good luck in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

I would never take a guys number

Why not? Is it beneath you or something?

Boston wrote: »
    Cause sometimes men like flowers too.You're selfish tbh.

Selfish? Whereever did you get that from?

Where exactly in my post did I say I hadn't given him anything in return.
    Where exactly my post did I say I hadn't called him?
    Where exactly in my post did I say I didn't do anything romantic?
    Where exactly in my post did I say I expected all these things?

My upset isn't about the loss of material things, it's about the loss of him being my life, cos I liked him and I just don't understand why it has stopped.

Anyhow this post isn't about me and I really don't know why I am justifying myself to someone who puts 2 and 2 together and gets 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

this way you didn't have to take his number, so he didn't have to worry about getting texts/calls from you, that his girlfriend could check/see.
    Its easier to forget/not bother to ring/text some one, than to ignore texts/calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Shelly23

if he didnt text back.. he didnt.
    why are you wasting time thinking about it if he's not. and why on earth wud u post about something so trivial??

as u sed, he's just not that into you.. onto the next :)

Hello......... This was the next day..... No drink involved then.... when he asked for it:mad:....As one of my friends says he just not that in to you!!!!....

Probably exactly why he didn't ring. And any bird who uses that "Hello" sarcy sh*t on me.. well good luck and walk on by girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

Why wouldn't you take a guys number if you are interested in him?????

this way you didn't have to take his number, so he didn't have to worry about getting texts/calls from you, that his girlfriend could check/see.
    Its easier to forget/not bother to ring/text some one, than to ignore texts/calls.

love the tarnishing of all men with the one brush here.

Lads, look out,Its open season for generalizations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Codofwar

And why would you not take a guys number? Afraid in case you ring or text the guy and you get no response? Wondering to yourself is the following day to early, would it be weird to text so soon, was he drunk when he gave the number and really regrets it today when he remembers?

Why do you expect a guy to have to go through that every time but you sitting way up there on your high horse are above putting yourself out there to contact someone.

Maybe thats why they dont contact you. If in person you have this air of superiority about yourself that you do in in your posts that explains it right there.

hobochris wrote: »
    love the tarnishing of all men with the one brush here.

Lads, look out,Its open season for generalizations.

It was probably true in this case though..

(the username "andyournameis.." kinda gives away a lot doesn't it?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭That Girl..

Great PI:rolleyes:

No...........I suppose you ..........wouldn't.......having said that.....ever consider......changing that "not taking a guy's number?" instead of coming onto an internet forum complaining how we're all assholes for not reading your mind and taking your number?

If your taking advice from Seks and the City, look closely. It's about four single women who are in their 40s. They must be doing something wrong.

Great PI:rolleyes:

No, THIS is a great PI!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Basically we do this because we are arseholes, I am guilty of doing this a number of time!!!!

Another reason is because we get nervous.

But for me, It's usually because I may like the girl, but I am a nervous arsehole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭smileykey

So you're happy to spend the night with the guy but taking his number is too forward for you? Even if there was no sex involved you're taking a risk going back to a stranger's house or bringing him to yours. And if you don't even ask for a number first you're giving the guy a message that this doesn't entail any attached strings.

Next time get a number, it gives you so much more power, you don't have to wait around and see if he's interested in it happening again, you can text and his response/lack of response will put you out of you misery quicker.

It sucks that you were used but at least learn from your experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭andyournameis

Why I won't take a number is because i'm afraid in case I would text the guy and i wouldn't get a response? so thats why I don't bother in taking their number ....

hehe kinda feeling sorry for the OP now- ego shattered and alone. i think they wanted us to provide sympathy n hugs n a hot male that is into them..

but umm so didn't work lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Why I won't take a number is because i'm afraid in case I would text the guy and i wouldn't get a response? so thats why I don't bother in taking their number ....

That's just not logical, worst case scenario no response, take a number, Girl's making the first move is always good, because it belays fear that she doesn't like us.

Selfish? Whereever did you get that from?

Where exactly in my post did I say I hadn't given him anything in return.
    Where exactly my post did I say I hadn't called him?
    Where exactly in my post did I say I didn't do anything romantic?
    Where exactly in my post did I say I expected all these things?

My upset isn't about the loss of material things, it's about the loss of him being my life, cos I liked him and I just don't understand why it has stopped.

Anyhow this post isn't about me and I really don't know why I am justifying myself to someone who puts 2 and 2 together and gets 7.

well you post was all about the things he gave you and the stuff he did for you, so sorry for thinking that all your cared about.

Shelly23 wrote: »
    hehe kinda feeling sorry for the OP now- ego shattered and alone. i think they wanted us to provide sympathy n hugs n a hot male that is into them..

but umm so didn't work lol

I could provide a hot cup of cocoa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Codofwar

[/QUOTE=andyournameis;58583476]Why I won't take a number is because i'm afraid in case I would text the guy and i wouldn't get a response? so thats why I don't bother in taking their number ....[/QUOTE

Do you think that a guy has no fear in texting a girl, OF COURSE HE DOES!
    Any guy texting a girl he just met for the first time experiences everything you are afraid of. In future you take a number and see how it feels, yes there are times when you might not get a reply but there will be plenty of times when you will. A huge reason why people say its far too hard to meet people is down to the fact that they are afraid. It doesn't and shouldn't always be down to the guy to text first.

I'm sorry but that's just a pathetic excuse. have you ever thought of what its like for the guy? who according to you should be doing all the work.

He has to build up the courage to approach you; risk getting told to **** off or attacked by your overprotective friends. try Get your number; risking being told to **** off then. if he gets "you number" he has to take a chance that its not a fake number. risk lack of response. or if you do respond that you play head games.

Its 50/50 these days, so If a guy has to go through that then why shouldn't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

You don't take a guys number cause you're afraid he won't text back but then you think you're in the position to give out about people who have you're number.

There could be a multitude of reasons why the guy didn't text ranging from he really liked you but lost his phone to he wasn't into you and was only being polite taking your no.

However in general if a guy asks for your number he is in some way interested.

Maybe he doesn't want to text you in case you don't text him back.

Grow up and get off your high horse. If you like a guy get his number. If he doesn't text you back at least you know he's not interested. Some women expect guys to do all the chasing and then wonder why the guy doesn't respond to their mixed messages.

Us guys are simple creatures in the main. Be straight forward with us and don't even attempt subtlety as we prob won't notice.

Maybe he met another girl who did this and decided you're not worth the bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

To be honest, I don't get women.

They complain when men do not approach them yet many would NEVER approach a man themselves.

They complain when I man does not take their number the next day/does take it but does not ring, when they do not take the guys number as they would be afraid of the outcome.

Essentially, women seem to want men to take all the risk and complain when they do not they themselves are too scared to do what the demand from men.

It is in no way hypocritical.

Boston wrote: »
    well you post was all about the things he gave you and the stuff he did for you, so sorry for thinking that all your cared about.

Oooh - A man who can apologise!

You single? :D:D:D

*Sings --Now I ain't sayin' she a gold digger, But she ain't messin' wit no broke niggas ...

hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Boston behave and the rest of you back on topic with helpful posts or esle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Did you sleep with him? Because if you did you're basically saying you'd shag somebody but wouldn't ask him for his number? Weird logic.

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭kingofthecastle

you would never take a guys number! so basically you only believe in equality between the sexes when it suits you.

Who007 - ditto, thats exactly it

Wagon wrote: »
    Look at how you act and then see what type of lads approach you. There could be a reason why you attract drunken arseholes. Do you drink in Coppers perhaps?

i have a serious problem with people who slag off coppers. for a start, its one of the few nightclubs in dublin which does not fall into the following two categories

1. pretentious upper class niteclubs full of wannabe's from ballybrack with fake d4 accents, pretending they are from killiney or worse still z list celebrites with boyband haircuts (krystle, club 92)

2. scrowt haunts full of underage teens just out of young offender institutes, most likely to glass for no apparent reason

coppers is a middle ground if the above two dont appeal

Let me put a few things into perspective for you here.

Men are human beings. We get nervous too. We can also be afraid of getting shot down and it happens to us a lot. And it's not always a simple "sorry, im not interested" it can be a "go **** yourself you ugly prick" or "you must be joking". Keep that in mind perhaps. Think back, you may have even done that yourself.

The truth of the matter is that you are attracting arseholes and gits up for one nighters because you act like that way yourself. Your comment above made me laugh quite a bit, not because of you being scared of rejection, but because you expect the bloke not to be. It says a lot of on how you see men and unless you cop on here and realise that lads are humans too, you'll keep getting the same scenario again and again. So look past the ones who are dancing down your cacks and have a look along the wall for the quieter type. They aren't losers. They're nervous and nicer blokes who aren't just up for getting their hole.

So don't paint us all with the same brush. It pisses halfway decent lads off. Rather than coming on to the internet and complaining about the entire ither gender, why not look at what's causing it?

PS
    kingofthecastle: it was just a bit of craic. Having said that, I've never had a good time in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

Op, don't give yourself a conniption over something as small as this. You haven't invested too much in this man, so forget about him. Don't read too much into someone taking your number, it really doesn't mean a lot...he doesn't owe you anything, and you don't owe him anything.

PS
    kingofthecastle: it was just a bit of craic. Having said that, I've never had a good time in there.

i forgive you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

OP your making my brain sore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭dblennon

lets put a few things in perspective,

1. I once didn't ask for a girls No. after being with her for the night and half of next day (no hadn't slept with her) I just wasn't that into her! well the expression of anguish and hatred on her face was one i'll never forget.

2. Most guys I know will score alot while single and "take digits" It's like a recognition that the girl is into you. you can text her if you want, doesn't mean you have to, "c'est la vie!!"

3. If I asked for a No. after a random day with a girl and I had over 12 hours to go back over in my head, I'm sure I could find about 12 reasons why she wasn't REALLY that into me, and only gave me her No. out of courtesy. I have in the past just decided to leave it and move on. (P.S. college years for this one wouldn't do that now).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭stevelknievel

Wagon is talking a lot of sense. Take a look along the wall for the shy quiet type. Right so you're not really into that, but guaranteed when you get to know them they will probably be a lot of fun and nicer than the guy who goes dancing and chatting up every one on the floor. I'm a big believer in sexual equality and so women with the attitude of "it's the man's job" pisses me off. You just expect us to be better at it and do it easier because we're guys, but if a guy expected you to cook breakfast, clean up and iron his good shirt cos it got rumpled on your bedroom floor, well.... I can't imagine you be too impressed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

kingofthecastle and easyontheeye, there has been a warning on this thread already about off topic posts. Warning given. Next one gets a ban. This is a potential minefield of guff, so everyone please stay on topic, civil and as helpful as poss or bans and thread locking will follow. Thanks.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭SamuelFox

IN my case, when you take the number you are often in a group with a few pints in you and a consequent increase in confidence. Next day, your none of the above plus back at work or whatever and its easy to drop it. Though, in fairness the title of this thread guilted me into texting a girl whose number I took before Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭stevelknievel

SamuelFox wrote: »
    Though, in fairness the title of this thread guilted me into texting a girl whose number I took before Christmas!

Wouldn't you love it if OP was the girl? How cool would that be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

stevelknievel banned for off topic and unhelpful posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If your taking advice from Seks and the City, look closely. It's about four single women who are in their 40s. They must be doing something wrong.

:D ABSOLUTE GENIUS! LMAO!!! :D