Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coppers make quarter of a million looking after coats!!!!!!

• 13-01-2009 8:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭

Man this is just crazy - Does anyone know know much it is to put a coat in in CFJs?

If its €1 a piece then that's 251,000 individuals coats. Even if it's €2 thats 125,500 individual coats.
    Copping A Feel...
    ... of 6.6 million bleedin' euro

Proving once again that culchies, Gardaí and nurses really are making too much money, the Sunday Business Post has reported that Copper Face Jack's and the Jackson Hotel made a pre-tax profit last year of €6.6 million.

"A breakdown of revenues last year showed that €9 million came from the licensed trade, €2.5 million from door receipts, €666,200 from accommodation receipts and €251,000 from cloakroom receipts."

€251,000 from coats alone! Whatever business you're in right now, you're in the wrong one.

http://www.thedubliner.ie/the_dubliner_magazine/2009/01/copping-a-feel.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Man this is just crazy - Does anyone know know much it is to put a coat in in CFJs?

If its €1 a piece then that's 251,000 individuals coats. Even if it's €2 thats 125,500 individual coats.

http://www.thedubliner.ie/the_dubliner_magazine/2009/01/copping-a-feel.html

place i worked at last season made 2 million off the books in 5 months how bye screwing the system we used drive to Italy for are booze so that's a van load over the boarder every week..

we'd bye a 2 liter bottle of vodka and use a 1/4 of it in another bottle ad grenadine and lemonade etc ... house shot... you'd get 80 shots to a bottle and wed sell 9 bottles of one flavour a night easily... then there was red eye shots caramel shots mars bars shots jelly shots i swear i spent more time filling bottles with cheep nasty vodka in all my life how ever we go through 45 bottles of jagermeister in one week :cool:....

and staff drank there for free we where open from 8 in the morning till 3 in the morning... was an insane place to work but how i loved it...

and the high light we could get drunk while we where in work have water and just generally party early in the morning. then wed go to the night club and get free drink there all night long was great :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

It's 2 yoyo per jacket. It works out at around 350 people per night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Common enough to hear that. A niteclub in Athlone used to make enough in the cloakroom on a Saturday night to cover all the wages and costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I'd say the condom machines took in a hell of alot more :D.

Not even counting the ones who do actually manage to get laid... there's a whole lot of "Jaysus, just in case" buys.

That's the "coat" figure i'd be interested to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

I'll never forget the last time I was there. I had a coat and a light jumper.

I put the light jumper in the sleeve of the coat, quite small didn't think it'd be an issue

The lady took my jumper out of my sleeve, placed it on a seperate hanger and charged me for 2 items

I can't remember, think is was €4

I told her and she didn't seem to care too much, wasn't getting anywhere and wasn't arguing over €4. Thought it was highly stingy tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I heard that on the continent it's common for the cloakroom to be a different franchise often run by dodgy characters. There is no good system to control receipts etcetera so it's a very lucrative business and that attracts organised crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

I told her and she didn't seem to care too much, wasn't getting anywhere and wasn't arguing over €4. Thought it was highly stingy tbh

I wonder if she was on commission? :P
    biko wrote: »
    I heard that on the continent it's common for the cloakroom to be a different franchise often run by dodgy characters. There is no good system to control receipts etcetera so it's a very lucrative business and that attracts organised crime.

That's a good point - it would also be pretty easy to launder cash through a cloakroom in a nightclub - not huge amounts obviously but you could certainly manage to launder some, especially if you were using other parts of the night-club to launder cash as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

When I read the title, I was expecting an article about how Gardai were assigned to looking after Cowen's new leather coats that were ordered for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

Mark200 wrote: »
    When I read the title, I was expecting an article about how Gardai were assigned to looking after Cowen's new leather coats that were ordered for him.

Ha that's exactly what I was thinkin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Was only there once...does it usually take forty-five minutes to hang up your coat, and the same time again to get it back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Was only there once...does it usually take forty-five minutes to hang up your coat, and the same time again to get it back?

thats your own fault really. if theres a queue, then why bother? and if your not sensible enough to actually go 5 mins before the end, you deserve to queue! same goes for all niteclubs really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

theres 2 cloakrooms in coppers.thats how busy it is, and the queue never fizzles out because people go to coppers so late.so the people arrivin at half one mix in with people that are leaving early.its easily the busiest nightclub in town these days and lately not as full of country people and guards etc.on saturday it was D4 central, full of assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

df1985 wrote: »
    theres 2 cloakrooms in coppers.thats how busy it is, and the queue never fizzles out because people go to coppers so late.so the people arrivin at half one mix in with people that are leaving early.its easily the busiest nightclub in town these days and lately not as full of country people and guards etc.on saturday it was D4 central, full of assholes.

wait till the gaa season gets going :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

whats wrong with stuffing your jacket down behind the couch in reception (under mirror?) or is reception closed off? Havent been there in donkeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

the reception turns into the second cloakroom later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

pipsqueak wrote: »
    whats wrong with stuffing your jacket down behind the couch in reception (under mirror?) or is reception closed off? Havent been there in donkeys

because some girls wear stupidly expensive jackets/coats on a night out (yep even to coppers) whereas us lads don't :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

themadchef wrote: »
    I'd say the condom machines took in a hell of alot more :D.

Apparently not...........................:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

i wonder how much nightclubs in Newcastle make out of their cloakrooms? bugger all probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I never bother bringing a jacket out with me.
    Gotta save that 2 euro!