Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recession Golf

• 12-01-2009 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭

Alright Lads,

Long time no posting in the Golf Forum. Hope ye all welcome me back with open arms even though even though I left ya.

I had a look at previous posts and nothing seems to relate to it.

Times are tight and money is getting harder to come by and I dont want to let that get in the way of my game. Anyway had a look at teetimes for listings, great value although most of it seems to be mid week. Anyone have any idea of where at the weekends has goo value. For good value I mean maybe 25 - 35 Euro a round.

Your all saying that this year will be the year for the ordinary joe golfer but so far all I can see is midweek golf which dosent suit.

Anyone know ofsomewhere semi decent for in or around that price region?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭1stuey1

Alright Lads,

Long time no posting in the Golf Forum. Hope ye all welcome me back with open arms even though even though I left ya.

I had a look at previous posts and nothing seems to relate to it.

Times are tight and money is getting harder to come by and I dont want to let that get in the way of my game. Anyway had a look at teetimes for listings, great value although most of it seems to be mid week. Anyone have any idea of where at the weekends has goo value. For good value I mean maybe 25 - 35 Euro a round.

Your all saying that this year will be the year for the ordinary joe golfer but so far all I can see is midweek golf which dosent suit.

Anyone know ofsomewhere semi decent for in or around that price region?

depends where? i know a few course in wicklow! glenmalure €25 weekends Wicklow €25 (cracking course) Roundwood/ djouce €25 dargle view in bray € 10 for 9 €20 for 18 ( poor course tho) coolatin is €35 ( one of the nicest i played) hope this helps some what

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Instead of paying €25 to play Glenmalure on a Saturday, I'd much prefer to pay to have my eyeballs sliced up with a rusty blade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,651 ✭✭✭kingshankly

You could do worse than headford €30 or€38 with a grill on a Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

You could do worse than headford €30 or€38 with a grill on a Saturday

That's a phenominal deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Hi I work for Macreddin GC in Wicklow (Paul McGinley Course) and play in Coollattin.
    Coollattin don't do promo rates off season as it's primarily a private member's club.

Macreddin GC Winter Rates:

Oct08-Apr09
    Mon-Fri - €30 (4+)/€40pp
    Sat-Sun - €40 (4+)/€50pp

Rack Rate
    Mon-Fri - €70
    Sat-Sun - €80

(Mod can edit if they see this as a shameless plug, i just think it's good value)

It's a very nice championship course (amazing greens).

See http://www.macreddingolfclub.com
    Affiliated to The Brook Lodge Hotel and Wells Spa http://www.brooklodge.com

Hi I work for Macreddin GC in Wicklow (Paul McGinley Course) and play in Coollattin.
    Coollattin don't do promo rates off season as it's primarily a private member's club.

Macreddin GC Winter Rates:

Oct08-Apr09
    Mon-Fri - €30 (4+)/€40pp
    Sat-Sun - €40 (4+)/€50pp

Rack Rate
    Mon-Fri - €70
    Sat-Sun - €80

(Mod can edit if they see this as a shameless plug, i just think it's good value)

It's a very nice championship course (amazing greens).

See http://www.macreddingolfclub.com
    Affiliated to The Brook Lodge Hotel and Wells Spa http://www.brooklodge.com

Good info there. Great value for there, I hear it's great.

Licksy wrote: »
    Instead of paying €25 to play Glenmalure on a Saturday, I'd much prefer to pay to have my eyeballs sliced up with a rusty blade.

you not like that course? i think its ok. bill hilly tho lol

where is headford?

and id love to play mccreddin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭git_ireland

1stuey1 wrote: »
    dargle view in bray € 10 for 9 €20 for 18 ( poor course tho)

That course is a hole. Played there mid week about two summers ago. Think I was on the back nine and in comes a feckin Heli Chopper and lands right on the feckin fairway> Wouldn have minded half as much if I hadn of hit THE best drive of the day.

Anyway guys were getting on the right track here with the suggestions.

Never played down in Wicklow - A dublin boyo for me sins!
    Think I will give some of the ones suggested a bash.

Does anyone know of Good Deals in Dublin City - County or the surrounding areas??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Have you tried this page? Some decent deals...

http://www.gui.ie/news_detail.asp?area=1&id=1923

Golf and breakfast at Knightsbrook on sat and sun - 49 euro ain't a bad deal.

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Have you tried this page? Some decent deals...

http://www.gui.ie/news_detail.asp?area=1&id=1923

Golf and breakfast at Knightsbrook on sat and sun - 49 euro ain't a bad deal.

Not a bad deal at all - played there once and thought it was a cracking course -

Any other recs??

Not a bad deal at all - played there once and thought it was a cracking course -

Any other recs??

Headfort old - 40 euro, headfort new 50 euro would be my pick out of all those.

I'm in the same boat as yourself, looking for weekend deals. There are very few out of all those listed on the gui site though unfortunately.

Headfort is in Kells by the way for whoever asked... about 40-50 minute drive north on the n3 from Blanchardstown exit of the M50.

If this doesnt whet the appetite then nothing will... http://www.headfortgolfclub.ie/

I'm in the same boat as yourself, looking for weekend deals. There are very few out of all those listed on the gui site though unfortunately.

Headfort is in Kells by the way for whoever asked... about 40-50 minute drive north on the n3 from Blanchardstown exit of the M50.

If this doesnt whet the appetite then nothing will... http://www.headfortgolfclub.ie/

Yeh thats exactly it! Graeme are you still out in Elm Green ...
    Thinking of joining - what would your opinion be.

Seems to me if your looking for weekend deals they musnt be up to much over there.

Yeh thats exactly it! Graeme are you still out in Elm Green ...
    Thinking of joining - what would your opinion be.

Seems to me if your looking for weekend deals they musnt be up to much over there.

Yes, i've gone for Elmgreen again in 2009. They've new membership options for this year which in terms of value for money were way better than anything else i saw out there in the Dublin area.

I'm not too sure what the weekend deals are up there just now, but i know they've been doing 20 euro golf and a meal type deals. I think on a Saturday you can also play after 1.30pm for around 20 euro.

I like to try and get out and about on Saturday as Elmgreen is usually choked with casual players and it can be a slow round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

1stuey1 wrote: »
    depends where? i know a few course in wicklow! glenmalure €25 weekends Wicklow €25 (cracking course) Roundwood/ djouce €25 dargle view in bray € 10 for 9 €20 for 18 ( poor course tho) coolatin is €35 ( one of the nicest i played) hope this helps some what

Some great deals here, but is it easy to get a tee time on a Saturday or Sunday morning if there are club competitions?

RE: Elmgreen's deals:

Golf,& Breakfast Special
    Play golf (Tues-Fri) before 10.00 a.m. & enjoy Breakfast for only €20 per player

Twilight Special
    Play golf after 1.00 p.m. (midweek) for only €14 per player or on the weekends for only €22 per player

RE: Elmgreen's deals:

Golf,& Breakfast Special
    Play golf (Tues-Fri) before 10.00 a.m. & enjoy Breakfast for only €20 per player

Twilight Special
    Play golf after 1.00 p.m. (midweek) for only €14 per player or on the weekends for only €22 per player

Now theres great value. Pity it aint the weekend. But on my next day off im defo gonna give it a bash. havent played it ina long time but wasnt bad when i played there last.

Graeme your a font of inspiration!!

you can play on saturdays no problem some on sundays after 10.30 the rest are after 1.30

Headford is only €30 for old €40 for new on a Saturday at the moment

You're dead right... just saw their January offer on the website. I fancy a bit of that this weekend!!

Special January Offers

Headfort Old - €30pp

Headfort New - €40pp

WEBSITE BONUS - BRING A FOURBALL AND PAY FOR THREE (except Saturdays)

``````````````````````````````
    Golf & Grill

€38 Old Course

€48 New Course

Mon - Sun

For Bookings Call 0469240146 - Mon - Fri

0469240639 Sat/Sun

Another good deal at the moment although probably a bit of a journey for some of yee is greenore play before 10 Mon-fri €20 for greenfees great course with spectacular scenery

Got the teetimes email. great value here but again only midweek.

Should get one on Thursday for the weekend offers

Specials on TeeTimes.ie
    To make a reservation or for more information about a tee time, just click on a tee time link.
    The tee times shown below match your personal Tee Time Notification Criteria.
    You can also view all available tee times.

13 January 2009
    13:00
    Dunmurry Springs
    €15.00 /player
    2 players only
    You Save 50%

14 January 2009
    08:52
    Citywest (C/ship)
    €15.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 57%

12:00
    Charlesland
    €13.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 48%

15 January 2009
    09:03
    St. Margaret's
    €14.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 60%

09:30
    South County
    €14.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 44%

12:00
    Hermitage
    €15.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 50%

12:01
    Delgany
    €12.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 47%

12:04
    Donabate
    €14.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 50%

16 January 2009
    08:32
    Blainroe
    €15.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 57%

09:00
    Hermitage
    €16.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 47%

09:03
    South County
    €14.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 44%

09:10
    Hermitage
    €16.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 47%

10:01
    Delgany
    €12.00 /player
    2 players only
    You Save 47%

10:04
    Citywest (C/ship)
    €16.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 54%

10:09
    Delgany
    €11.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 51%

10:28
    Donabate
    €15.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 46%

10:33
    St. Margaret's
    €18.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 55%

10:40
    Glen of the Downs
    €20.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 59%

11:00
    Hollystown
    €15.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 50%

11:00
    Rathsallagh
    €20.00 /player
    2 to 4 players
    You Save 69%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭ricerocket

lads, i wouldn't recommend headfort at the moment. played it last weekend (old course) and its temporary greens all round and mats for tee-boxes most of the time. absolutely rubbish - nearly reaching green on par 4's with driver and then 4/5 putts on the so-called greens....avoid for the moment unless regular greens are in use!

ricerocket wrote: »
    lads, i wouldn't recommend headfort at the moment. played it last weekend (old course) and its temporary greens all round and mats for tee-boxes most of the time. absolutely rubbish - nearly reaching green on par 4's with driver and then 4/5 putts on the so-called greens....avoid for the moment unless regular greens are in use!

Ahhh, balls to that then. Any idea if the New course is the same? Bit **** that they don't advertise that on the website. Would be pretty disappointed to go all the way up there and find it to be winter greens without having been told previous.

ricerocket wrote: »
    siht i have booked for myself and 11 other lads for this saturday:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 stephenjk

siht i have booked for myself and 11 other lads for this saturday:mad:

Hey - I'm a member down in Headfort and played last weekend on the new course. The 3rd and 11th had temp greens. The rest of the course is in very good nick for this time of the year though. Hope you enjoy it.

stephenjk wrote: »
    Hey - I'm a member down in Headfort and played last weekend on the new course. The 3rd and 11th had temp greens. The rest of the course is in very good nick for this time of the year though. Hope you enjoy it.
    chhers stephen have booked the old course as i am bringing a few lads with high handicaps and some new to the game so i thought the new would be too tough a test and costly on the golf balls .
    welcome to the boards by the way

Cheers for the info Stephen and welcome to the board. Are they making changes to those two greens? The 3rd was always quite soft, but i guess that's to do with the location of it.

Any chance they've taken that hump out the 11th green? Always gets me!!:D

chhers stephen have booked the old course as i am bringing a few lads with high handicaps and some new to the game so i thought the new would be too tough a test and costly on the golf balls .
    welcome to the boards by the way

Thanks Kingshankly.
    You should enjoy the old course - although there will probably still be a couple of temp greens but the main greens are really good on the old course at present, actually the best I've ever seen them for this time of the year. - By the way tells those new guys learning to play not to be hacking up our course!!! Lol! Just kidding. Enjoy.

Cheers for the info Stephen and welcome to the board. Are they making changes to those two greens? The 3rd was always quite soft, but i guess that's to do with the location of it.

Any chance they've taken that hump out the 11th green? Always gets me!!:D

Cheers Graeme - Re 3rd & 11th greens on the new course. I dont think they plan to change the greens too much. The main problem is the lack of sunlight getting onto the greens and causes them to be patchy. So i think they are trying to change the grass and possibly cut down some of the surrounding trees to allow more light in. I never really noticed the 3rd being a soft green to be honest.

Hoping to play down in New Forest this weekend myself. I've driven down there a few times myself but never had the chance to play it yet but it looks really good.

Anyone ever played it?

Yeh Welcome to Boards Stephen,

After hearing what you had to say about Headfort I was going to book a round down there at the weekend, but after looking at the forcast I think I will give it a miss.
    Great value though and sure to be honest temp greens are to be expected with the "great" summers we had last year.

Might try for next weekend. Keep us posted Graeme & Shankley and let us know how you get on. Dont get too wet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Any recession golfer could do worse than join their local Pitch and Putt club and work on their short game. Most clubs cost about 100 euro to join per year and have lively competitive and social scenes.

No better way to improve your game than to take shots of your pitching and putting and this could be a very cheap alternative to lessons or practice rounds at expense clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

Woodenbridge is a lovely course down near Avoca, Co. Wicklow. They have some decent winter rates http://www.woodenbridgegolfclub.com/green-fees.html.
    Also not far from there is Courtown Golf Club just before Gorey which I really like. They aren't dear either http://www.courtowngolfclub.com/play.aspx

Par72 wrote: »
    Woodenbridge is a lovely course down near Avoca, Co. Wicklow. They have some decent winter rates http://www.woodenbridgegolfclub.com/green-fees.html.
    Also not far from there is Courtown Golf Club just before Gorey which I really like. They aren't dear either http://www.courtowngolfclub.com/play.aspx

Both really, really nice courses.

Never played Courtown but played Wooden Bridge with the society last year. Top notch venue. Some of the scenery is amazing. We got a beautiful sunny day, you know what even if you dont play well down there i think that you would still enjoy it.

Im getting some good locations from the thread. Please keep em coming:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

Got the teetimes email. great value here but again only midweek.

13 January 2009
    13:00
    Dunmurry Springs
    €15.00 /player
    2 players only
    You Save 50%

That's brilliant price for Dunmurry, may have to pay a visit at that price! Anybody played it lately? Is it in good shape from the winter? Played it in the summer
    Courtown Golf Club just before Gorey which I really like. They aren't dear either http://www.courtowngolfclub.com/play.aspx

Any time i hear courtown i always think of pirates cove! Definetly due a visit there again!! To work on the short game of course ;)

Castleknock - 50 euro at weekends.

Luttrellstown - 40 euro at weekends (cracking value!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Joey.smart

Golf is great in deer park golf course in howth. Starts from €10.00. nice courses, enexpected views of the city.
    Its great to have some nice grub in the bar after a long day golfing.

Joey.smart wrote: »
    Golf is great in deer park golf course in howth. Starts from €10.00. nice courses, enexpected views of the city.
    Its great to have some nice grub in the bar after a long day golfing.

Clearly your looking to drum up a bit of business for your own establishment here but, you could at least be a bit more upfront about it all. If i'm not mistaken, 10 euro gets you 9 holes on the worst of your courses. If anybody wants a full round it's nearer 20 through the week and 30 at weekends.

Is that good value? Just my opinion, but while the views might be exceptional, the courses themselves are pretty mediocre. Haven't tried the food so i'll reserve judgement.

Again, just my opinion, but near enough €30 euro for 18 holes on a weekend on Deer Park is pretty poor value when the likes of Luttrellstown can be had for 40 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭p.u.d.z.e.r.

Gona bump this thread as funds are low at the moment, if anybody has anything to add feel free. We played Millicent in Kildare last weekend, cracking course for €30. I guess most courses are into summer rates now so if there are any bargains to be had...sharing is caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Trampas

Opens are a great way of planning courses for cheap.

Open fairways helps also

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

for anyone in the midlands - i play moate regularly enough and weekday green fees were €20 up to end of april.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

dunmurry springs for €30 basically anytime of the day/week when you call them on the telephone

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Longford golf club is €20 during the week and €30 at weekends. For the weekends tho you have to ring and book on the timesheet.

Also.... how about a free game in Glasson?
    http://www.glassonresort.com/?page=68434

Dates available are:
    Availability on Wednesday 6th May, Sunday 24th May (strictly after 1.00 p.m.), Wednesday 27th May and Thursday 28th May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Corballis in Donaghbate is €30 at the weekend- haven't played it yet. Also Hollystown is €30 & you get used to the sound of the planes overhead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Hollywood Lakes, Nth Co Dublin

Green Fees
    Monday - Thursday €35
    Friday €40
    With a member (Max 3 guests) €18
    Saturday, Sunday, Bank Holidays €45

Early Bird Rates
    Monday - Friday €20
    Early bird rates available from 8am to 10am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭beaver111

rathcore before twelve is only 20 euros great course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

beaver111 wrote: »
    rathcore before twelve is only 20 euros great course

Now that is serious value for money. And the Dunmurry Springs and Headfort offers are good too. Rather than packing up and spending all that cash flying to Portugal and Spain, where it will be packed anyway, take a few days off and play some of these great clubs instead.

Definitely some great bargains out there, and even if a golf club isn't promoting a special deal at the moment, tell them you have a fourball ready to turn up and they'll give you a deal of some description. It's sad that clubs everywhere are struggling (although some did get a bit above themselves) but it's good news for you and me.

K
    http://golfcoursesireland.blogspot.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 keithf7975

Hey guys,

You know of any good deals going around the North East for 3 guys on the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭conman

keithf7975 wrote: »
    Hey guys,

You know of any good deals going around the North East for 3 guys on the weekend?

are we still talking golf??? ;)

i generally go to gui.ie and look at the courses there, then head for the websites. but if i remember correctly, there's only one or 2 courses listed in louth..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 larry breheny

Anyone interested in playing par three golf on northside?