Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubs vs Wicklow

• 12-01-2009 5:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭

Surprised there wasn't a thread on this.

Wasn't at the game myself due to health but can anyone tell me what it was like? I know there was a weak team played by Giller as the lads had only got back from a week away(or something like that.).

From what I heard it was a shocking performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

WICKLOW 0-9 DUBLIN 0-6 Thanks to blackbelt, i wasnt able to get there myself

An inexperienced Dublin exited the OByrne Cup in this quarter-final tie at Parnell Park on Sunday.

This defeat was the champions of 2007 and 2008 first in the competition in 11 games dating back to January 2006 when Dublin lost to Meath.

Two Tony Hannon frees helped Wicklow to a 0-5 to 0-2 half-time lead and a a third free from Hannon on the restart as well as point from play by Johnny Kinch pushed Wicklow five clear.

Dublin dominated possession in the second half but failed to turn that into scores - going on to shoot 13 wides over the 70 minutes.

Sub Bernard Brogan also had two goal-scoring chances but blazed one wide in the 44th minute and hit an upright with the second 14 minutes later before the ball was recycled for Dean Rock to kick a point.

Wicklow now meet Louth in the semi-final.

SCORERS – Wicklow: T Hannon 0-5 (0-5f), J Kinch 0-2, D Hayden, P Earls 0-1 each. Dublin: D Rock 0-3 (0-2f), D Byrne, J Sheanon, J O’Brien 0-1 each.
    WICKLOW - M Travers; C Hyland, S Kelly, A Byrne; L Glynn, E Keogh, P McWalter; P Brophy, T Hannon; A McLoughlin, J McGrath, D Hayden; D Odlum, P Earls, J Kinch. Subs: D Siney for Odlum (Yellow, 11), F Clune for Hannon (Yellow, 71).
    DUBLIN - D McDonnell; C Moore, G O’Connell, D Daly; J Cooper, C Deasy, D Lally; D O’Mahony, J Sheanon; J O’Brien, C Morley, D Kelly; T Furman, D Rock, C Carthy. Subs: B Brogan for Carthy (23), J O’Connor for Sheanon (43), N Devereux for Deasy (46), N Collins for Morley (47), B Kirby for O’Connor (Yellow, 51), D Byrne for Kelly (53, inj).
    REF - C Sullivan (Meath).

From hill16.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Surprised there wasn't a thread on this.

Wasn't at the game myself due to health but can anyone tell me what it was like? I know there was a weak team played by Piller as

Say what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

GAAman wrote: »

I was about to say the same thing, Pillar has been gone a while now, the guy must have been under a rock or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

As a summary of yesterday: A third rate Dublin team with third rate shooting and third rate rules. The new yellow card rules are ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Rizzla King

GAAman wrote: »

Jaysus only noticed that there:eek:

How on earth did I make that mistake! Now I look like a fool.

I hope none of my Vinnies comrades see this.

Thanks GAAman and blackbelt for that report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

There are negatives and positives to be taken from the game.

Negatives

1. The team that beat Offaly last Sunday week were shafted in favour of the under 21s.While the management have every right to look after the u21s,I felt it did more harm than good to hold back the players who did a fantastic job of accounting for Offaly.

2.The players hit an incredible amount of wides albeit in poor conditions.They also went the scenic route in trying to get scores against an average defence and still couldn't get them.

3.The biggest negative was actually the referee.Now I am a referee myself and I am not whinging here or going to try and take away from Wicklow because they deserved the win on hunger alone.They had more interest than our players.

The referee was a total disgrace.Bernard Brogan kicked a perfectly good point but the ref who was from Meath decided to overrule his own umpires who were adamant it was a point (and it was a point) just because he didn't like it.

He was also too harsh on poor Jamesie O Connor for a legit tackle.He got less than 5mins of action and was making a difference in that short amount of time.The ref didn't like that so he showed him the yellow card at the first chance.

He also blatantly ignored Wicklow when they did overcarry the ball and there were 4 or 5 occasions.Totally inconsistent he was.A ref can have a bad day but if you are bad be bad to both sides.

4.We won't have anymore competitive games until Tyrone.Being knocked out may be a hinderance to our preparations.

The Positives

1.The under 21s did stand toe to toe with Wicklow in the physical stakes and I'll use that term lightly as the physicality has been taken out of the game.Wicklow who were playing 4 under 21s,some new players and a good handful of experienced senior players didn't have it all there own way.They were just marginally better than us in taking scores.Our defense limited the likes of Tony Hannon and Glynn and the rest of the Wicklow team to 9 points.

2.I think this game will benefit the under 21s in the long term.They'll know the standard of the next level and learn a lot in going forward to play for the seniors and even juniors.

3.Giller and co have not revealed anything to the media or othe teams.Every player is busy doing something whether playing in Tullamore and training together or playing the u21s in Parnell Park with the rest in Spain last week.Nobody knows what team will be out in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Jaysus only noticed that there:eek:

How on earth did I make that mistake! Now I look like a fool.

I hope none of my Vinnies comrades see this.

Thanks GAAman and blackbelt for that report.

Lol I saw that and I am from Vinnies.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

With most of the squad away, nothing learned for the senior team on this outing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

blackbelt wrote: »
    the ref who was from Meath
    Jesus blackbelt, it's a bit early for the Dubs v Meath stuff. :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Bernard Brogan looked like he's put on a good bit of weight.

Socking amount of wides from Dublin alright, a few easy goal opportunities not taken too.

Ref was atrocious. Plenty of picking up off the ground and throw the ball went unpunished, he also slowed the game down to a crawl taking over a minute to put someone in the book totally taking the momentum away from any attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Its no big deal.

Last years league campaign was more successful given the division the Dubs found themselves in. The O Byrne Cup run has little to do with it. The same applies to the 2007 victory.

Glad to see Declan Lally back. He is a player I have rated for a long time, and hopefully, he may challange Paul Casey and Nolan this term.

Now, who is getting excited about the Tyrone game ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

@ Smashey
    Its nerver too early for Dublin V Meath Stuff - Its a constant battle of good v's savages - Light V's the unwashed - Truth V's eejits ...and so on

@Rizzla - wish I had seen your apologie earlier. I have sent an email to the email addressess below asking for your immidiate removal from the club and potentially the county.

Club Administrator info@stvincentsgaa.ie
    Football Administrator football@stvincentsgaa.ie
    Crimestoppers@garda.ie ( pillar checks that email himself)
    Pgilroy@hill16.ie

Run..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Bernard Brogan looked like he's put on a good bit of weight.

Socking amount of wides from Dublin alright, a few easy goal opportunities not taken too.

Ref was atrocious. Plenty of picking up off the ground and throw the ball went unpunished, he also slowed the game down to a crawl taking over a minute to put someone in the book totally taking the momentum away from any attack.

Was just gonna write that.
    It also seems Brogan had been sent back earlier from "training camp" in Spain together with a few other lads for not turning up on morning training after a "social outing".*
    It seems the manager is trying the disciplin-route to kick the lads into form...
    We might still see a good Dubs season this year, not a bunch of hung-over boys on the pitch.

*pls note word of mouth not actual fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Rizzla King

Alany wrote: »
    @ Smashey
    Its nerver too early for Dublin V Meath Stuff - Its a constant battle of good v's savages - Light V's the unwashed - Truth V's eejits ...and so on

@Rizzla - wish I had seen your apologie earlier. I have sent an email to the email addressess below asking for your immidiate removal from the club and potentially the county.

Club Administrator info@stvincentsgaa.ie
    Football Administrator football@stvincentsgaa.ie
    Crimestoppers@garda.ie ( pillar checks that email himself)
    Pgilroy@hill16.ie

Run..

:eek::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Shineyirish

<snip>

I would have hand no issue if ti wasnt for the spamming - Alany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Good news for dublin from today's herald AM.

According to one of the articles in the sports section - no team that has ever won the O'byrne cup has went on to win the all ireland in the same year. Jesus it's already started about dublin going to win the all ireland. One game at a time and all that!!